DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated April 27, 2026 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated January 28, 2026.
The specification objection in the previous Office action is withdrawn in view of amendments to the specification addressing the objection.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 rejections in the previous Office action are maintained as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, at the bottom of page 3 of the Remarks section, Speakman (U.S. Patent No. 3,075,234) does not teach or disclose Applicant’s claimed plurality of rings on the first and second hinge tabs because Speakman’s ring lobes 18 (see Fig. 2) are “not rounded”. Examiner agrees Speakman’s ring lobes 18 are not completely round. However, claim 1 does not include a limitation requiring that the claimed rings are round or rounded. Examiner interprets lobes 18 as being “rings” because they have the structure of a ring.
Applicant argues, in the middle of page 4, Speakman’s disclosed sealed hinge is not capable of operating or being used as a paintless dent repair tool. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained in the rejection of claim 1 below, Speakman’s sealed hinge is capable of operating or being used as a paintless dent repair tool in that the bottom surfaces of leaves 10 and 12 in Fig. 2 may be detachably connected to a vehicle dent by glue and strip 28 is capable of being detachably connected to a paintless dent removal tool and pulled upward.
Applicant argues, starting at the bottom of page 4, Speakman does not describe lobes 18 as being “rings” or having a circular shape. In response, as Applicant acknowledges at the beginning of page 1, anticipation is not an ipsissimis verbis test. Therefore, the fact Speakman does not use the word “ring” is not determinative as to whether Speakman’s lobes 18 may reasonably be interpreted as “rings”. Examiner takes the position lobes 18 may reasonably be interpreted as “rings” because they have the structure of “rings”. The same response also applies to Speakman’s clips 24 in Fig. 3.
Applicant argues, in the middle of page 5, Speakman’s sealing strip 28 is flexible such that it cannot be used as Applicant’s “hinge lift”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Claim 1 does not include a limitation regarding the rigidity of the hinge lift. Speakman’s sealing strip 28 is disclosed as having all of the claimed structural features of claim 1’s “hinge lift” and is capable of lifting hinge tab leaves 10 and 12 when pulled upon. Accordingly, Speakman’s sealing strip 28 may reasonably be interpreted as disclosing Applicant’s hinge lift.
Applicant argues, in the bottom half of page 5, Speakman’s sealed hinge is not capable of being used as a paintless dent removal tool as claimed. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Speakman sealed hinge discloses all of the structural limitations of claim 1, as explained in detail in the rejection of claim 1 below, and is capable of being used as a paintless dent repair glue tab tool for removing dents. As previously explained, recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all of the structural limitations of the claim. See M.P.E.P. 2114,II. In this case, Applicant’s arguments center on the intended use of the claimed apparatus in a manner which does not differentiate Applicant’s tool from Speakman’s sealed hinge.
Applicant argues, in the middle of page 6, Speakman does not disclose a hinge lift with a T-shaped configuration. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained in the rejection below, Speakman’s projecting portions 37 in Fig. 3 may reasonably be interpreted as the vertical portion of a “T” and Speakman’s web 32 may reasonably be interpreted as the horizontal portion of a “T” such that strip 28 has a “T-shaped configuration”.
Applicant argues, in the top half of page 11, Marsic (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0251871 A1) is non-analogous to Applicant’s claimed invention and teaches away from Applicant’s claimed invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees. M.P.E.P. 2141.01(a),I states “In order for a reference to be proper for use in an obviousness rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, the reference must be analogous art to the claimed invention. In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325, 72 USPQ2d 1209, 1212 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (even if it addresses a different problem); or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Note that "same field of endeavor" and "reasonably pertinent" are two separate tests for establishing analogous art; it is not necessary for a reference to fulfill both tests in order to qualify as analogous art. See Bigio, 381 F.3d at 1325, 72 USPQ2d at 1212.” In this case, Marsic may be considered as analogous art because Marsic is at least reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, with the problem being faced by the inventor being retention of the pin in the hinge assembly. Marsic teaches a pin with a ball detent at one end in an hinge assembly to solve this problem. Accordingly, Marsic is analogous art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 3,075,234 to Speakman, hereinafter “Speakman”.
Regarding claim 1, Speakman discloses a sealed hinge (title) capable of being used as a paintless dent repair glue tab tool for removing dents from a vehicle (The preamble of claim 1 is not considered a limitation of the claim because it merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention and the body of the claim fully sets forth all of the limitations of the claim. See M.P.E.P. 2111.02,II.), the paintless dent repair glue tab tool comprising:
a hinge tab assembly (hinge assembly shown in Fig. 2; col. 2, line 21 through col. 3, line 15) comprising:
a first hinge tab (hinge tab leaf 10 in Fig. 2), the first hinge tab having a first end (front end of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), a second end (back end of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), a first side (the right side-edge of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), a second side (the left side-edge of leaf 10 in Fig. 2 opposite the right side-edge), a top surface (the surface of leaf 10 facing away from fixed member 14 in Fig. 2), a bottom surface (the surface of leaf 10 engaging fixed member 14 in Fig. 2), and a plurality of rings positioned along the first side of the first hinge tab (ring lobes 18 of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), the plurality rings configured for receiving a ball detention pin therethrough (lobes 18 of leaf 10 in Fig. 2 have apertures 22 configured to receive a ball detention pin therethrough);
a second hinge tab (hinge tab leaf 12 in Fig. 2), the second hinge tab having a first end (front end of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), a second end (back end of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), a first side the left side-edge of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), a second side (the right side-edge of leaf 12 in Fig. 2 opposite the left side-edge), a top surface (the surface of leaf 12 facing away from movable member 16 in Fig. 2), a bottom surface (the surface of leaf 12 engaging movable member 16 in Fig. 2), and a plurality of rings positioned along the first side of the second hinge tab (ring lobes 18 of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), the plurality of rings configured for receiving a ball detention pin therethrough(lobes 18 of leaf 12 in Fig. 2 have apertures 22 configured to receive a ball detention pin therethrough);
a hinge lift (hinge lift sealing strip 28 in Fig. 2), having a T-shaped configuration for detachably connecting the hinge lift to a paintless dent removal tool (hinge lift sealing strip 28 has a T-shaped configuration as shown in Fig. 3 with projecting portion 37 being the vertical portion of the “T” and web 32 being the horizontal portion of the “T”), the hinge lift having a first end (front end of strip 28 in Fig. 2), a second end (the back end of strip 28 in Fig. 2), a first side (the left side of strip 28 in Figs. 2 and 3 including the left side of projecting portions 37), a second side (the right side of strip 28 in Figs. 2 and 3 including the right side of projecting portions 37), a top surface (the outer surface of web 32 in Fig. 3), a bottom surface (the inner surface of web 32 in Fig. 3 and the bottom surface of projecting portion 37), and a plurality of rings positioned along the bottom surface (ring clips 24 in Fig. 3), wherein the top surface has a horizontal orientation (the top surface of web 32 has a horizontal orientation) and the first side and second side have a vertical orientation in relation to the top and bottom surface (the left and right sides of projecting portions 37 have a vertical orientation), forming the T-shaped configuration (web 32 and projecting portions 37 form a “T-shaped” configuration), so that the hinge lift may be detachably connected to a paintless dent repair tool by slidably engaging the hinge lift with a lift mechanism of a paintless dent removal tool (this “so that” clause is not considered a limitation of the claim because it merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention. See M.P.E.P. 2111.02,II.), the plurality of rings configured for receiving a ball detention pin therethrough (ring clips 24 in Fig. 3 have aligned apertures 40 therethrough configured to receive a ball detention pin therethrough);
a ball detention pin (The term “ball detention” has no claimed structure. Pin 26 in Fig. 2 of Speakman therefore anticipates the claimed pin.), the ball detention pin detachably connected to the first hinge tab, the second hinge tab, and the hinge lift, by insertion of the ball detention pin through the plurality of rings on the first hinge tab, second hinge tab, and hinge lift, wherein, the first hinge tab, second hinge tab, and hinge lift rotate about the ball detention pin (pin 26 in Fig. 2 inserts through ring lobes 18 of leaves 10 and 12 and ring clips 24 of strip 28 to detachably connect leaves 10 and 12 and strip 28 together where leaves 10 and 12 and strip 28 are rotatable about pin 26); and
wherein, the bottom surface of the first hinge tab and the bottom surface of the second hinge tab are configured to be detachably connected to a vehicle by glue (the bottom surfaces of leaves 10 and 12 in Fig. 2 engaged with fixed member 14 and movable member 16, respectively, are configured to be detachably connected to a vehicle by glue in that they are flat surface capable of receiving glue in the same way applicant’s hinge tabs 115 and 125 are so configured) and the hinge lift is configured to be detachably connected to a paintless dent removal tool and pulled upward, wherein the first hinge tab and the second hinge tab rotate about the ball detention pin to pull up and out a dent on a vehicle at a peak (hinge lift strip 28 in Fig. 2 is capable of being detachably connected to a paintless dent removal tool and pulled upward such that tab leaves 10 and 12 rotate about pin 26 to pull up and out a dent on a vehicle at a peak during use).
Regarding claim 3, Speakman anticipates the hinge tab assembly of claim 1 as explained above. Speakman further discloses the first hinge tab (tab leaf 10 in Fig. 2) and the second hinge tab (tab leaf 12 in Fig. 2) are the same size (leaves 10 and 12 are shown as being the same size).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speakman in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2010/0251871 A1 by Marsic et al., hereinafter “Marsic”.
Regarding claim 1, Speakman discloses a sealed hinge (title) capable of being used as a paintless dent repair glue tab tool for removing dents from a vehicle (The preamble of claim 1 is not considered a limitation of the claim because it merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention and the body of the claim fully sets forth all of the limitations of the claim. See M.P.E.P. 2111.02,II.), the paintless dent repair glue tab tool comprising:
a hinge tab assembly (hinge assembly shown in Fig. 2; col. 2, line 21 through col. 3, line 15) comprising:
a first hinge tab (hinge tab leaf 10 in Fig. 2), the first hinge tab having a first end (front end of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), a second end (back end of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), a first side (the right side-edge of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), a second side (the left side-edge of leaf 10 in Fig. 2 opposite the right side-edge), a top surface (the surface of leaf 10 facing away from fixed member 14 in Fig. 2), a bottom surface (the surface of leaf 10 engaging fixed member 14 in Fig. 2), and a plurality of rings positioned along the first side of the first hinge tab (ring lobes 18 of leaf 10 in Fig. 2), the plurality rings configured for receiving a ball detention pin therethrough (lobes 18 of leaf 10 in Fig. 2 have apertures 22 configured to receive a ball detention pin therethrough);
a second hinge tab (hinge tab leaf 12 in Fig. 2), the second hinge tab having a first end (front end of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), a second end (back end of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), a first side the left side-edge of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), a second side (the right side-edge of leaf 12 in Fig. 2 opposite the left side-edge), a top surface (the surface of leaf 12 facing away from movable member 16 in Fig. 2), a bottom surface (the surface of leaf 12 engaging movable member 16 in Fig. 2), and a plurality of rings positioned along the first side of the second hinge tab (ring lobes 18 of leaf 12 in Fig. 2), the plurality of rings configured for receiving a ball detention pin therethrough(lobes 18 of leaf 12 in Fig. 2 have apertures 22 configured to receive a ball detention pin therethrough);
a hinge lift (hinge lift sealing strip 28 in Fig. 2), having a T-shaped configuration for detachably connecting the hinge lift to a paintless dent removal tool (hinge lift sealing strip 28 has a T-shaped configuration as shown in Fig. 3 with projecting portion 37 being the vertical portion of the “T” and web 32 being the horizontal portion of the “T”),the hinge lift having a first end (front end of strip 28 in Fig. 2), a second end (the back end of strip 28 in Fig. 2), a first side (the left side of strip 28 in Figs. 2 and 3 including the left side of projecting portions 37), a second side (the right side of strip 28 in Figs. 2 and 3 including the right side of projecting portions 37), a top surface (the outer surface of web 32 in Fig. 3), a bottom surface (the inner surface of web 32 in Fig. 3), and a plurality of rings positioned along the bottom surface (ring clips 24 in Fig. 3), wherein the top surface has a horizontal orientation (the top surface of web 32 has a horizontal orientation) and the first side and second side have a vertical orientation in relation to the top and bottom surface (the left and right sides of projecting portions 37 have a vertical orientation), forming the T-shaped configuration (web 32 and projecting portions 37 form a “T-shaped” configuration), so that the hinge lift may be detachably connected to a paintless dent repair tool by slidably engaging the hinge lift with a lift mechanism of a paintless dent removal tool (this “so that” clause is not considered a limitation of the claim because it merely states the purpose or intended use of the invention. See M.P.E.P. 2111.02,II.), the plurality of rings configured for receiving a ball detention pin therethrough (ring clips 24 in Fig. 3 have aligned apertures 40 therethrough configured to receive a ball detention pin therethrough);
a pin (pin 26 in Fig. 2), the pin detachably connected to the first hinge tab, the second hinge tab, and the hinge lift, by insertion of the pin through the plurality of rings on the first hinge tab, second hinge tab, and hinge lift, wherein, the first hinge tab, second hinge tab, and hinge lift rotate about the pin (pin 26 in Fig. 2 inserts through ring lobes 18 of leaves 10 and 12 and ring clips 24 of strip 28 to detachable connect leaves 10 and 12 and strip 28 together where leaves 10 and 12 and strip 28 are rotatable about pin 26); and
wherein, the bottom surface of the first hinge tab and the bottom surface of the second hinge tab are configured to be detachably connected to a vehicle by glue (the bottom surfaces of leaves 10 and 12 in Fig. 2 engaged with fixed member 14 and movable member 16, respectively, are configured to be detachably connected to a vehicle by glue in that they are flat surface capable of receiving glue in the same way applicant’s hinge tabs 115 and 125 are so configured) and the hinge lift is configured to be detachably connected to a paintless dent removal tool and pulled upward, wherein the first hinge tab and the second hinge tab rotate about the ball detention pin to pull up and out a dent on a vehicle at a peak (hinge lift strip 28 in Fig. 2 is capable of being detachably connected to a paintless dent removal tool and pulled upward such that tab leaves 10 and 12 rotate about pin 26 to pull up and out a dent on a vehicle at a peak during use).
To the extent a person of skill in the art would not recognize pin 26 of Speakman as a ball detention pin, Marsic teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a ball detention mechanism on a pin coupling hinge tab members together. See lock pin 224 in Fig. 3 with ball detent 258 and its written description in paragraphs [0047] and [0048].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a ball detention mechanism on an end of Speakman’s pin 26 to retain pin 26 in place in the same way Marsic teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Marsic to the structure of Speakman would achieve the predictable result of Speakmans hinge tab assembly with a ball detention mechanism.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art reference combination of Speakman in view of Marsic renders the hinge tab assembly according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Speakman further discloses the first hinge tab (tab leaf 10 in Fig. 2) and the second hinge tab (tab leaf 12 in Fig. 2) are the same size (leaves 10 and 12 are shown as being the same size).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speakman in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,845,693 to Li et al., hereinafter “Li”.
Regarding claim 2, Speakman anticipates the hinge tab assembly of claim 1 as explained above. However, Speakman does not disclose a lateral tension block as claimed in claim 2.
Li teaches a hatch stop which prevents a hinge from rotating when used as shown in Fig. 4. Fig. 3 of Li shows hatch stop 30 is E-shaped with a plurality of prongs 32, 34 and 36 which form recesses therebetween along one side of the stop. See column 2, line 6-15.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an insertable E-shaped stop with the hinge assembly disclosed by Speakman to limit the movement of Speakman’s leaves 10 and 12 in relation to strip 28 where the recesses of the E-shaped stop receive ring lobes 18 and prongs 32, 34 and 36 prevent strip 28 from rotating about pin 26 in the same way Li teaches inserting structure within the recesses of E-shaped stop 30 to prevent rotation of hinge 24. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Li to the hinge structure of Speakman would provide Speakman’s hinge structure with a stop which provides structural rigidity to the hinge structure when the stop is inserted between strip 28 and pin 26.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speakman.
Regarding claim 4, Speakman anticipates the hinge tab assembly of claim 1 as explained above. But, Speakman does not disclose the first hinge tab and the second hinge tab are of different size as claim 4 claims. However it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to size tab leaf 10 of Speakman different from tab leaf 12 when the intended use of the assembly requires them to be of differing size.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/BOBBY YEONJIN KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725