DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Application 63/647,364 filed on May 14th, 2024).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 18th, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Due to the excessively lengthy Information Disclosure Statement submitted by applicant, the examiner has given only a cursory review of the listed references. In accordance with MPEP 609.04(a), applicant is encouraged to provide a concise explanation of why the information is being submitted and how it is understood to be relevant. Concise explanations (especially those which point out the relevant pages and lines) are helpful to the Office, particularly where documents are lengthy and complex and applicant is aware of a section that is highly relevant to patentability or where a large number of documents are submitted and applicant is aware that one or more are highly relevant to patentability. Applicant is required to comply with this statement for any non-English language documents. See 37 CFR § 1.56 Duty to Disclose Information Material to Patentability.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “No” and “Yes” [Figures 3, 5, and 10].
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation – Functional Analysis
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “one or more processors […] are configured to …” in claim 20.
The Examiner notes in system claim 20 the claimed “memories” and “processors” are readily recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art as connoting sufficient structure.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “cause the one or more processors to perform the steps of:’ [Claim 11] has been evaluated under the three-prong test set forth in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, but the result is inconclusive. Thus, it is unclear whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim is unclear as being an article of manufacture (non-transitory computer readable media) or a functionally claimed program / software claim using obvious variant of “step for” or “step” invocations of Functional Analysis. The boundaries of this claim limitation are ambiguous; therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
In response to this rejection, applicant must clarify whether this limitation should be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Mere assertion regarding applicant’s intent to invoke or not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph is insufficient. Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim to clearly invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by reciting “means” or a generic placeholder for means, or by reciting “step.” The “means,” generic placeholder, or “step” must be modified by functional language, and must not be modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function;
(b) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, should apply because the claim limitation recites a function to be performed and does not recite sufficient structure, material, or acts to perform that function;
(c) Amend the claim to clearly avoid invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, by deleting the function or by reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to perform the recited function; or
(d) Present a sufficient showing that 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, does not apply because the limitation does not recite a function or does recite a function along with sufficient structure, material or acts to perform that function.
Regarding claims 12 – 19, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of their respective independent claim and thus are similarly Rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0392717 A1 referred to as “Chuang” throughout), and further in view of Xu, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0133210 A1 referred to as “Xu” throughout citations will come from the US PG PUB in lieu of enabling US Provisional Application 63/544,938) and Schwarz, et al (US PG PUB 2021/0084304 A1 referred to as “Schwarz” throughout) [Cited in Applicant’s November 18th, 2025 IDS].
Regarding claim 1, see claim 20 which is the system performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 20 which is the system performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 15, see claim 6 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 16, see claim 7 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 8 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 9 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 10 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 20, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
one or more memories storing instructions [Chuang Figures 1 and 9 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 84 (flash memory, CPU / DSP (processor obvious variants to one of ordinary skill in the art), media, hard disk and other memory implementation storing programs) and 87 – 88 (programs on memories for processors / CPUs to execute)]; and
one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories and, when executing the instructions, are configured to perform the steps of [Chuang Figures 1 and 9 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 84 (flash memory, CPU / DSP (processor obvious variants to one of ordinary skill in the art), media, hard disk and other memory implementation storing programs) and 87 – 88 (programs on memories for processors / CPUs to execute)]:
generating a vector of transform coefficients of prediction residues that are associated with a block of source video data [Chuang Figure 1 (subfigures included and see at least reference character 116 and its output to the transform step in reference character 118 and quantizer in reference character 120) as well as Paragraphs 4 – 5 (transform and quantize residues / residuals), 32, and 34 (quantizing transformed residues); Schwartz Figure 5 as well as Paragraphs 112 – 113 (rendering obvious organizing the block data as vectors)];
selecting a first stage of a trellis data structure and a first transform coefficient included in the vector of transform coefficients [Chuang Figures 2 – 5 (see at least reference character 510 for the first coefficient) and 6 – 9 (Figure 4 and 7 – 8 for the trellis structure) as well as Paragraphs 40 – 43 and 70 – 73 (initial state for initial coefficient and quantizer used); Xu Figures 4 – 10 (states and transition processing transform coefficients and quantizers to use see at least reference characters S1010 and S1020) as well as Paragraphs 83 – 89 (initial state in the trellis data structure based on the first transform coefficient and first state transition / stage based on coefficients), 112 – 115 and 130 – 134 (methods for processing first transform coefficients)];
for each state included in the first stage of the trellis data structure, computing a cumulative cost function value for each of reconstructing the first transform coefficient at a zero quantization index, coding the first transform coefficient with a selected sub-quantizer at a closest non-zero quantization index with even parity, and coding the first transform coefficient with the selected sub-quantizer at a closest non-zero quantization index with odd parity, wherein each cumulative cost function value includes a coding cost and a distortion [Chuang Figures 2 – 9 as well as Paragraphs 34 – 38 (see MSE and number of bits for a cost in Paragraph 34 rendering obvious the “cost function” claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art also in combination with Schwartz Paragraphs 103 – 110, 229, and 240 (Lagrangian cost function or use of RDOQ cost functions); Also building / traversing states by the coefficients and vector / lists of quantizer jumps (even or odd) in Paragraphs 37 – 38), 40 – 43 (including Table 1 in which traversal of the trellis is described basing state transition on odd / even parity with accumulated cost consideration with the parameters / flags in Paragraphs 45 – 60), 67 – 71 (dependent quantization / TCQ equivalents and Table 2 based on parity); Xu Figures 4 – 8 (state transitions and parity considerations) and 9 – 10 (methods to traverse the state tables) as well as Paragraph 70 – 76 (shifts / changes in quantizers based on transform coefficient with cost considerations in accumulating cost function basing state transition on odd / even parity), and 109 (select near 0 quantizer shift /changes rendering obvious selecting quantizer changes near zero to one of ordinary skill in the art combinable with Schwartz Paragraphs 121 – 128 (Figures 6 – 8 in which the changes in state are small / near zero to take))];
for each state included in the first stage of the trellis data structure, modifying the trellis data structure with branches corresponding to the zero quantization index and the cumulative cost function value computed for reconstructing the first transform coefficient at the zero quantization index, the closest non-zero quantization index with even parity and the cumulative cost function value computed for coding the first transform coefficient at the closest non-zero quantization index with even parity, and the closest nonzero quantization index with odd parity and the cumulative cost function value computed for coding the first transform coefficient at the closest non-zero quantization index with odd parity [See previous limitation for citations (cost functions, stages, and trellis structures to traverse with odd / even parity) and additionally Chuang Paragraph 42 (reducing complexity using trellis tree / path traversal based on odd / even parity of the change in quantizer), 42 – 57 (traversing between stages and accumulating costs based on parity); Xu Paragraphs 72 – 78 and 87 – 92 (minimum cumulative cost for traversing the trellis structure and quantizer selection); Schwarz Figures 14 – 16 and 20 (selecting path / state transitions) as well as Paragraphs 72 and 112 – 118 (quantization state selected and traversal of the states based on scan order of transform coefficients) 228 – 240 (pruning connections based on minimize cost (e.g. RDOQ) in which the minimum cost aggregated removes / reduces paths to traverse)];
generating a vector of quantization indices that corresponds to a path that passes through all stages of the trellis data structure and has a lowest overall cumulative cost function value [Chuang Figures 2 – 7 as well as Paragraphs 42 and 67 – 73 (smallest cost of the path to entropy encode / provide as the quantizer- combinable with Xu Paragraph 72 (smallest cost path to encode)); Schwartz Figures 5 and 8 as well as Paragraphs 112 – 113 (rendering obvious organizing the block data / paths as vectors), 130 – 134 (vector indices as traversing the path), 226 – 240 (path with minimum cost as an array / vector (combine with Paragraphs 112 – 113)), and 244]; and
performing one or more entropy coding operations on the vector of quantization indices to generate an encoded version of the block of source video data [See previous limitation for citations and additionally Chuang Figure 1 (see at least reference character 122) as well as Paragraphs 39 – 47 (entropy encoded path of minimum cost); Schwartz Figure 6 (see at least reference character 42) as well as Paragraphs 112 – 118 (suggestions / teaching for the path to be represented as a vector), 132 – 134, 150 – 163 (entropy encoding trellis paths / indices / quantizer state changes where the parts are treated as vectors), 167 – 174 (scan order / 1D treatment to build / determine minimum cost paths) and 226 – 240 (entropy encode the minimum cost path / traversal)].
The motivation to combine Xu with Chuang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding [Xu Paragraph 2] in order to improve compression efficiency by improving the quantization shifting / adjustment state machine [Xu Paragraphs 64 – 66 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Schwartz with Xu and Chuang is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of quantizing a residual signal [Schwartz Paragraphs 2 – 4] in order to reduce the bitrate needed to encode the video [Schwartz Paragraphs 3 – 4 and 16 – 18 where the Examiner observes KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
selecting a second stage included in the trellis data structure and a second transform coefficient included in the vector of transform coefficients [See “for each state […] computing …” limitation as the second stage is an obvious duplicate of the first stage (Obvious to Duplicate MPEP2144.04 VI B) and additionally Xu Figures 3 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 100 – 106 (second stage / second machine) and 125 – 137 (second state transition similar to the first transition processed); Schwartz Figure 8 as well as Paragraphs 127 – 133 (second stage / quantization to process after the first, 137 – 139 and 142 – 149 (second states / processes for trellis traversal)];
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 3, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
for each state included in the second stage of the trellis data structure, selecting a sub-quantizer to use when coding the second transform coefficient at a closest non-zero quantization index with even parity and when coding the second transform coefficient at a closest non-zero quantization index with odd parity [See claim 1 “for each stage […] computing …” limitation and claim 2 “second stage” for citations as the second stage is an obvious duplicate of the first stage (Obvious to Duplicate MPEP2144.04 VI B)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 4, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
for each state included in the second stage of the trellis data structure, modifying the trellis data structure with branches corresponding to a zero quantization index and a cumulative cost function value computed for reconstructing the second transform coefficient at a zero quantization index, the closest non-zero quantization index with even parity and a cumulative cost function value computed for coding the second transform coefficient at the closest non-zero quantization index with even parity, and the closest non-zero quantization index with odd parity and a cumulative cost function value computed for coding the second transform coefficient at the closest non-zero quantization index with odd parity [See claim 1 “for each stage […] modifying …” limitation and claim 2 “second stage” for citations as the second stage is an obvious duplicate of the first stage (Obvious to Duplicate MPEP2144.04 VI B)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 5, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
further comprising, for a first destination state included in a third stage of the trellis data structure, retaining a first corresponding branch that is associated with a lowest cumulative cost function value, and pruning any other corresponding branch that is associated with a cumulative cost function value that is greater than the lowest cumulative cost function value [Chuang Figures 4 and 7 – 8 (traversal of the trellis structure) as well as Paragraph 42 (reducing complexity using trellis tree / path traversal based on odd / even parity of the change in quantizer), 43 – 57 (traversing between stages and accumulating costs based on parity); Xu Paragraphs 72 – 78 and 87 – 92 (minimum cumulative cost for traversing the trellis structure and quantizer selection); Schwarz Figures 14 – 16 and 20 (selecting path / state transitions and pruning the path with costs computed) as well as Paragraphs 72 and 112 – 118 (quantization state selected and traversal of the states based on scan order of transform coefficients) 228 – 240 (pruning connections based on minimize cost (e.g. RDOQ) in which the minimum cost aggregated removes / reduces paths to traverse)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 6, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
generating quantization metadata, and storing at least a portion of the metadata in memory [See claim 1 for citations of the claimed “memory” and additionally Xu Paragraphs 38 – 40, 49, and 56 (metadata for prediction / decoding blocks including reconstruction information thus rendering obvious the inclusion of the quantization trellis structure to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 7, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
wherein the quantization metadata includes at least one of a parity of a previous quantization index, a trellis state associated with the quantization index, one or more trellis states associated with one or more previous quantization indices, or a sub-quantizer used to generate the quantization index [Chuang Figures 2 – 7 as well as Paragraphs 42 and 67 – 73 (smallest cost of the path to entropy encode / provide as the quantizer- combinable with Xu Paragraphs 38 – 40, 49, and 56 (metadata for prediction / decoding blocks including reconstruction information thus rendering obvious the inclusion of the quantization trellis structure to one of ordinary skill in the art) and 72 (smallest cost path to encode); Schwartz Figures 5 and 8 as well as Paragraphs 112 – 113 (rendering obvious organizing the block data / paths as vectors), 130 – 134 (vector indices as traversing the path thus the states with the indices and previous states are part of the metadata), 226 – 240 (path with minimum cost as an array / vector (combine with Paragraphs 112 – 113) rendering obvious trellis states used), and 244].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 8, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
further comprising transmitting the vector of quantization indices to an entropy coding engine that performs the one or more entropy coding operations [Chuang Figure 1 (see at least reference character 122), and 2 – 7 as well as Paragraphs 39 – 47 (entropy encoded path of minimum cost) and 67 – 73 (smallest cost of the path to entropy encode / provide as the quantizer- combinable with Xu Paragraph 72 (smallest cost path to encode)); Xu Figure 3 (see at least reference character 340) as well as Paragraphs 50 – 54 (transmitting encoded data); Schwartz Figure 5 – 8 (see at least reference character 42) as well as Paragraphs 112 – 118 (suggestions / teaching for the path to be represented as a vector), 130 – 134 (vector indices as traversing the path), 150 – 163 (entropy encoding trellis paths / indices / quantizer state changes where the parts are treated as vectors), 167 – 174 (scan order / 1D treatment to build / determine minimum cost paths), 226 – 240 (path with minimum cost as an array / vector (combine with Paragraphs 112 – 113) and entropy encode the minimum cost path / traversal), and 244].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 9, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
generating an initial version of the trellis data structure that includes sequential trellis stages, wherein each trellis stage corresponds to a different transform coefficient [Chuang Figures 3 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 42 – 44 (traversing the states in the trellis structure) and 71 – 73 (traversing states and transform coefficients to process where the coefficients correspond to next states / traverse of the trellis structure); Xu Figures 5 – 7 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 89 (traversing trellis structure / state machine scanning through transform coefficients); Schwartz Figures 5 – 8 (subfigures included)) and 13 – 16 (state update / change with each new coefficient to process) as well as Paragraphs 104 – 110 (scanning / going through the transform coefficients), 166 – 174 (coefficient scan order and state / trellis stage relationship), 193 – 198 (initial coefficient and state information for the path / traversal of the state machine)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 10, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
wherein an initial stage included in the initial version of the trellis data structure includes an uncoded state and a different state for each sub-quantizer included in a plurality of sub-quantizers, and a subsequent stage included in the initial version of the trellis data structure includes an uncoded state and a different state for each state represented in a state transition table [Chuang Figures 3 – 8 as well as Paragraphs 42 – 44 (traversing the states in the trellis structure) and 71 – 73 (traversing states and transform coefficients to process where the coefficients correspond to next states / traverse of the trellis structure); Xu Figures 5 – 7 as well as Paragraphs 83 – 89 (traversing trellis structure / state machine scanning through transform coefficients); Schwartz Figures 5 – 8 (subfigures included)) and 13 – 16 (state update / change with each new coefficient to process) as well as Paragraphs 104 – 110 (scanning / going through the transform coefficients), 166 – 174 (coefficient scan order and state / trellis stage relationship), 193 – 198 (initial coefficient and state information for the path / traversal of the state machine), 221 (considerations in regular quantization state transitions / using dependent (TCQ) transitions), and 228 – 240 (cost of traversing trellis computing from an initial state based on each transform coefficient)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 12, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
for each state included in the first stage of the trellis data structure, selecting a sub-quantizer to use when coding the first transform coefficient at the closest non-zero quantization index with even parity and when coding the first transform coefficient at the closest non-zero quantization index with odd parity [Chuang Figures 2 – 9 as well as Paragraphs 34 – 38 (see MSE and number of bits for a cost in Paragraph 34 rendering obvious the “cost function” claimed to one of ordinary skill in the art also in combination with Schwartz Paragraphs 103 – 110, 229, and 240 (Lagrangian cost function or use of RDOQ cost functions); Also building / traversing states by the coefficients and vector / lists of quantizer jumps (even or odd) in Paragraphs 37 – 38), 40 – 43 (including Table 1 in which traversal of the trellis is described basing state transition on odd / even parity with accumulated cost consideration with the parameters / flags in Paragraphs 45 – 60), 67 – 71 (dependent quantization / TCQ equivalents and Table 2 based on parity); Xu Figures 4 – 8 (state transitions and parity considerations) and 9 – 10 (methods to traverse the state tables) as well as Paragraph 74 – 80 (shifts / changes in quantizers based on transform coefficient with cost considerations in accumulating cost function basing state transition on odd / even parity where odd parity of the quantization index is considered for the state change), and 109 (select near 0 quantizer shift /changes rendering obvious selecting quantizer changes near zero to one of ordinary skill in the art combinable with Schwartz Paragraphs 121 – 128 (Figures 6 – 8 in which the changes in state are small / near zero to take))].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 13, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
for a first destination state included in a second stage of the trellis data structure, retaining a first corresponding branch that is associated with a lowest cumulative cost function value, and pruning any other corresponding branch that is associated with a cumulative cost function value that is greater than the lowest cumulative cost function value [Chuang Figures 4 and 7 – 8 (traversal of the trellis structure) as well as Paragraph 42 (reducing complexity using trellis tree / path traversal based on odd / even parity of the change in quantizer), 43 – 57 (traversing between stages and accumulating costs based on parity); Xu Paragraphs 72 – 78 and 87 – 92 (minimum cumulative cost for traversing the trellis structure and quantizer selection); Schwarz Figures 14 – 16 and 20 (selecting path / state transitions and pruning the path with costs computed) as well as Paragraphs 72, 112 – 118 (quantization state selected and traversal of the states based on scan order of transform coefficients), and 228 – 240 (pruning connections based on minimize cost (e.g. RDOQ) in which the minimum cost aggregated removes / reduces paths to traverse where the final node is an obvious variant of the claimed destination state to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Regarding claim 14, Chuang teaches techniques of trellis / dependent quantization with state transition with suggestions of pruning / making the traversing efficient. Xu teaches cost computation considerations in trellis / dependent quantization state traversal. Schwartz teaches additional considerations / simplifications to quantization states using known techniques and traversal methods to combine with Xu and Chuang.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Chuang with the cost computation considerations of Xu and the state transition considerations of Schwartz. The combination teaches
assigning the lowest cumulative cost function value to the first destination state [Chuang Figures 4 and 7 – 8 (traversal of the trellis structure) as well as Paragraph 42 (reducing complexity using trellis tree / path traversal based on odd / even parity of the change in quantizer), 43 – 57 (traversing between stages and accumulating costs based on parity); Xu Paragraphs 72 – 78 and 87 – 92 (minimum cumulative cost for traversing the trellis structure and quantizer selection); Schwarz Figures 14 – 16 and 20 (selecting path / state transitions and pruning the path with costs computed) as well as Paragraphs 72 and 112 – 118 (quantization state selected and traversal of the states based on scan order of transform coefficients) 228 – 240 (pruning connections based on minimize cost (e.g. RDOQ) in which the minimum cost aggregated removes / reduces paths to traverse and the location of the cost determined as minimum is the destination state as the end of the traverse where the final node is an obvious variant of the claimed destination state to one of ordinary skill in the art)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Chuang, Xu, and Schwartz.
Conclusion
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487