DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged (US Provisional Application 63/647,364 filed on May 14th, 2024).
Response to Arguments
Applicant amended claims 2, 10 – 11, 14, 17 – 18, and 20 beyond formalities and 112 Rejections.
The pending claims are 1 – 20 [Page 7 lines 1 – 4].
Applicant contends the Drawings are proper arguing against Examiner’s Drawing Objections [Page 7 lines 15 – 22]. The Specification does not define the “No” and “Yes” steps as alleged and reference characters are not limited to just being numerical designations and may including words / alphanumeric characters. Thus, the arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant amends the claims to address Examiner’s 112(b) Rejections [Page 7 line 23 – Page 8 line 30]. The Examiner reconsiders the 112(b) Rejections in view of the amended claims.
Applicant's arguments filed July 1st, 2026 [Regarding Examiner’s 112(b) Rejections Page 7 line 28 – Page 8 line 18] have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant contends the claimed features are not relative terms, but merely reiterates claim language and refers to Figure 11 without specific Specification citations. The Examiner after reviewing the alleged Specification support disagrees with Applicant’s contentions as there is no adequate description anywhere in the Specification to understand any different if at all between the “base range symbols”, “low range symbols”, and “high range symbols” requiring different contexts and thus the Examiner maintains the Rejection for the reasons given: One of ordinary skill in the art is not fairly apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim and thus it is Indefinite [“If the language of the claim is such that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement, a rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See IBSA Institut Biochimique, S.A. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 966 F.3d 1374, 1378-81, 2020 USPQ2d 10865 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court affirmed a district court’s finding of indefiniteness based upon a detailed analysis of the claim language itself as well as intrinsic and extrinsic evidence); Morton Int’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470, 28 USPQ2d 1190, 1195 (Fed. Cir. 1993)” MPEP2173.02 II].
Applicant's arguments filed July 1st, 2026 [Regarding Examiner’s 103 Rejection: Page 9 lines 1 – Page 10 line 10 line 25] have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, the Applicant recites the references against the claims [Page 7 lines 5 – 12].
Second, the Applicant contends the “determining a first context …” limitation is not taught by the combination of references cited [Page 9 lines 1 – 7].
Third, the Applicant contends Hasse does not render obvious the dispute limitation of claim 20 and cites various positions of Hasse in making their arguments [Page 9 line 8 – Page 10 line 7]. However, the Applicant does not appreciate the Examiner’s citations of Hasse in Paragraphs 235 – 244 where context models for the sign symbol and various other symbols / range elements are taught and the selection is from at least three context models (the limitation does not address using bypass coding of the high range symbols) where Paragraph 864 – 874 further renders obvious using at least 3 context models for encoding the claimed symbols thus rendering obvious the disputed claim limitation.
Fourth, the Applicant contends Schwarz does not teach features of the disputed claim limitation [Page 10 lines 8 – 17]. However, Schwarz teaches syntax / signaling of the contexts used for the three claimed symbols (sign, base, and low range symbol) in the cited sections (e.g. Paragraphs 384 -403) in which the probability models / contexts is viewed as syntax to supplement the teachings of Hasse.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Fifth, the Applicant concludes the claims are allowable for at least the reasons given [Page 10 lines 18 – 25].
While the Applicant’s points may possibly be understood to which the Examiner respectfully disagrees; the Rejection is maintained.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 9th, 2026; June 7th, 2026; and July 12th, 2026 were filed before the mailing date of the Final Rejection (this Office Action). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 18th, 2025 was filed before the mailing date of the First Action on the Merits (mailed April 1st, 2026). The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “No” and “Yes” [Figures 3, 5, and 10].
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the claims “base range symbol”, “low range symbol”, and “high range symbol” have Indefinite metes and bounds and the generated information is merely repeated without any exemplary embodiments of process showing the generation or associated syntax elements processing the generated information claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art is not fairly apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim and thus it is Indefinite [“If the language of the claim is such that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement, a rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, is appropriate. See IBSA Institut Biochimique, S.A. v. Teva Pharm. USA, Inc., 966 F.3d 1374, 1378-81, 2020 USPQ2d 10865 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court affirmed a district court’s finding of indefiniteness based upon a detailed analysis of the claim language itself as well as intrinsic and extrinsic evidence); Morton Int’l, Inc. v. Cardinal Chem. Co., 5 F.3d 1464, 1470, 28 USPQ2d 1190, 1195 (Fed. Cir. 1993)” MPEP2173.02 II].
The terms “low” and “high” in claim 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “low” and “high” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 20 which is the system implementing the method of claim 1 and thus is similarly Rejected.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 20 which is the system implementing the program of claim 11 and thus is similarly Rejected.
Regarding claims 2 – 10 and 12 – 19, the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of their respective independent claim and thus are similarly Rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 10 – 14, and 17 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0045973 A1 referred to as “Hasse” throughout) and further in view of Schwarz, et al. (US PG PUB 2025/0254313 A1 referred to as “Schwarz” throughout) and Balcilar, et al. (WO2025/214702 A1 referred to as “Balcilar” throughout) [Previously Cited in the Office Action mailed April 1st, 2026].
Examiner Note: Schwarz Paragraph 249 at least (Hasse citations may be provided as well) renders obvious entropy coding techniques for transform coefficients and quantization indices to be obvious variants to one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, citations regarding transform coefficients render obvious claimed quantization indices techniques. This rationale is applied throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 1, see claim 20 which is the system performing the steps of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 11, see claim 20 which is the system performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 17, see claim 10 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 18, see claim 2 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 19, see claim 3 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 20, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
one or more memories storing instructions [Hasse Paragraphs 885 – 888 and 896 – 902 (e.g. digital storage media storing programs for execution)]; and
one or more processors that are coupled to the one or more memories and, when executing the instructions, perform operations that include [Hasse Paragraphs 885 – 888 and 896 – 902 (microprocessors / computers to implement programs as obvious variants of the processors claimed to execute programs where Balcilar in Figure 1 (reference character 110) as well as Page 5 lines 24 – Page 6 line 10 (processors and memories to execute programs))]:
decomposing a quantization index associated with a block of source video data to generate a sign symbol, a base range symbol, one or more low range symbols, and one or more high range symbols [Hasse Paragraphs 221 – 227 (Section 2.2.4.2 where entropy encoding / encoder have for the break-down of quantization indices) 230 – 246 (Section 2.2.4.4 where a sign_flag, abs_level_greater_X flags (X = 1, 2, or 3 would be obvious selection from finite number of elements (KSR Rationale (E)) and “rem” (remainder) combinable with Schwarz and Balcilar) where Schwarz Figures 14 and 17 – 18 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 249 and 254 – 270 (rendering obvious the gt2_flag and gt1_flag and rem / remainder components of values and passes to assign flags / values and par_flag and remainder for the high range symbols)];
determining a first context for the sign symbol, a second context for the base range symbol, and a third context for the one or more low range symbols based on quantization metadata associated with the block of source video data [Hasse Paragraphs 235 – 244 (at least 4 context models for the sign flag and the abs greater than flags) and 864 – 874 (different contexts for the abs_level_greater_X / 2X flags and at least 23 context models for selection for the sign symbol); Schwarz Paragraphs 382 – 403 ()probability model indices for the various flags and 4 parameters used / computed to select context tables for the different low range symbols)];
performing one or more coding operations on the one or more high range symbols to generate one or more encoded high range symbols [Schwarz Paragraphs 71 (CALVC / variable length coding) and 242 – 251 (variable length coding of remainder values to modify coding of “rem” in Hasse Paragraphs 228 and 245); Balcilar Page 20 lines 5 – 23 (including equations 7 – 10) where bypass mode and CABAC coding options are taught for the symbols / flags and the “rem” is an obvious variants of the high range symbol claimed)], on the sign symbol with the first context to generate an encoded sign symbol, on the base range symbol with the second context to generate an encoded base range symbol, and on the one or more low range symbols with the third context to generate one or more encoded low range symbols [Hasse Figure 11 as well as Paragraphs 235 – 242 (two contexts chosen based on the sign flag and up to three contexts available for the sign flag for entropy coding) and 864 – 874 (index selection for context tables selected based on parameters to encode from at least three tables); Schwarz Figures 14 – 19 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 241 – 252 (passes to code the various flags and context model selection) and 381 – 403 (multiple models for selection based on index values see that Gt1 and Gt2 have different models / contexts separate from the contexts for the sign symbols)];
generating an encoded version of the quantization index using the encoded sign symbol, the encoded base range symbol, the one or more encoded low range symbols, and the one or more encoded high range symbols [See previous two limitations for citations (context selection for the ranges / sign / symbols) as well as Schwarz Figure 1 (see at least the “entropy coding”) as well as Paragraphs 41 and 52 (entropy encoding quantization indices to put in a bitstream), 71 – 73 (use of CABAC / CAVLC techniques for entropy coding)]; and
transmitting the encoded version of the quantization index to an endpoint device [See previous limitation (bitstream formation with encoded versions of data) as well as Bacillar Figures 1 – 2 and 10 – 11 as well as Page 30 lines 18 – 25 (transmission between devices of information) and Page 31 line 27 – Page 32 line 25 (entropy encoding for transmission)].
The motivation to combine Schwarz with Hasse is to combine features in the same / similar field of invention of coding quantization information of images / pictures / video [Schwarz Paragraphs 2 – 3] in order to improve coding efficiency to combine coding dependent quantization with CABAC techniques [Schwarz Paragraphs 3 – 4 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (B), (D), or (F) are also applicable].
The motivation to combine Balcilar with Schwarz and Hasse is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video coding and quantization in such schemes [Page 1 lines 6 – 20] in order to improve efficiency in compression schemes [Page 1 lines 13 – 20 and Page ]
This is the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 2, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
wherein the one or more coding operations performed on the one or more high range symbols comprise one or more entropy coding operations [Schwarz Figure 1 (see the “entropy coding” block) as well as Paragraphs 43 – 46 and 71 (CALVC / variable length coding) and 242 – 251 (variable length coding of remainder values to modify coding of “rem” in Hasse Paragraphs 228 and 245); Balcilar Page 20 lines 5 – 23 (including equations 7 – 10) where bypass mode and CABAC coding options are taught for the symbols / flags and the “rem” is an obvious variants of the high range symbol claimed)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Regarding claim 3, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
wherein the one or more entropy coding operations comprise one or more variable-length coding operations performed in a bypass mode [Hasse Paragraphs 232 – 244 (bypass mode for the remainder / rem high range symbols); Schwarz Figure 1 (see the “entropy coding” block) as well as Paragraphs 43 – 46 and 71 (CALVC / variable length coding as obvious to use instead of CABAC or in combination) and 242 – 251 (variable length coding of remainder values to modify coding of “rem” in Hasse Paragraphs 228 and 245); Balcilar Page 20 lines 5 – 23 (including equations 7 – 10) where bypass mode and CABAC coding options are taught for the symbols / flags and the “rem” is an obvious variants of the high range symbol claimed)] .
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Regarding claim 4, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
wherein the one or more coding operations performed on the sign symbol, the base range symbol, and the one or more low range symbols comprise one or more adaptive multi-symbol arithmetic coding operations [Hasse Figure 11 (CABAC as part of the entropy coder) as well as Paragraphs 221 (CABAC to be an adaptive multi-symbol coding operation), 228 – 233 (CABAC models / techniques used with multiple symbols / bins), 235 – 242 (two contexts chosen based on the sign flag and up to three contexts available for the sign flag for entropy coding) and 864 – 874 (index selection for context tables selected based on parameters to encode from at least three tables); Schwarz Figures 14 – 19 (subfigures included) as well as Paragraphs 241 – 252 (passes to code the various flags and context model selection) and 381 – 403 (multiple models for selection based on index values see that Gt1 and Gt2 have different models / contexts separate from the contexts for the sign symbols)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Regarding claim 10, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
wherein transmitting the encoded version of the quantization index to the endpoint device comprises appending the encoded version of the quantization index to a bitstream of encoded video data [Balcilar Figures 1 – 2 (subfigures included see also reference characters 230 and 245) and Figures 8 and 10 – 11 (encoding quantization information to transmit appended to a bitstream) as well as Page 15 line 17 – Page 16 line 14 (RDOQ / scalar quantizers and the use of TCQ / trellis based quantizer coding) and Page 21 line 4 – Page 22 line 21 (enabling TCQ / trellis / dependent quantizes to replace scalar / RDOQ methods to combine with Page 13 lines 11 – 15 (entropy encoding syntax elements))] that is transmitted to the endpoint device [See claim 11 or 20 last limitation for citations of transmitting to an endpoint device].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Regarding claim 12, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
wherein the endpoint device includes a decoder that reconstructs the first context, the second context, and the third context [See claim 20 (or 11) “determining a first context …” limitation for citations and additionally Balcilar Figures 1 – 3 (see at least reference character 330 for entropy decoding) and 9 – 11 (see at least reference character 901) as well as Page 13 line 24 – Page 14 line 5 (devices with decoders), Page 29 line 1 – Page 30 line 14 (entropy decoding contexts / quantization values combinable with Hasse Paragraph 153), Page 30 lines 18 – 25 (transmission between devices of information) and Page 31 line 27 – Page 32 line 25 (entropy encoding for transmission and received and decoded by endpoint devices)].
See claim 11 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Regarding claim 13, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
wherein an entropy coding engine included in an encoder determines the first context, the second context, and the third context using a plurality of operations [Hasse Paragraphs 235 – 244 (at least 4 context models for the sign flag and the abs greater than flags) and 864 – 874 (different contexts for the abs_level_greater_X / 2X flags and at least 23 context models for selection for the sign symbol); Schwarz Figure 1 (see at least the “entropy coding”) as well as Paragraphs 41 and 52 (entropy encoding quantization indices to put in a bitstream), 71 – 73 (use of CABAC / CAVLC techniques for entropy coding), and Paragraphs 382 – 403 (probability model indices for the various flags and 4 parameters used / computed to select context tables for the different low range symbols)], and the decoder reconstructs the first context, the second context, and the third context based on the plurality of operations [Balcilar Figures 1 – 3 (see at least reference character 330 for entropy decoding) and 9 – 11 (see at least reference character 901) as well as Page 13 line 24 – Page 14 line 5 (devices with decoders), Page 29 line 1 – Page 30 line 14 (entropy decoding contexts / quantization values combinable with Hasse Paragraph 153)].
See claim 11 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Regarding claim 14, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar. The combination teaches
generating a flag value indicating whether trellis coded quantization or scalar quantization is used when encoding the block of source video data, encoding the flag value [Balcilar Figures 1 – 2 (subfigures included see also reference characters 230 and 245) and Figures 8 and 10 – 11 (encoding quantization information to transmit to combine with Schwarz Figures 14 and 17 (appending encoded information to a bitstream)) as well as Page 15 line 17 – Page 16 line 14 (RDOQ / scalar quantizers and the use of TCQ / trellis based quantizer coding) and Page 21 line 4 – Page 22 line 21 (enabling TCQ / trellis / dependent quantizes to replace scalar / RDOQ methods to combine with Page 13 lines 11 – 15 (entropy encoding syntax elements))], and
transmitting the flag value to the endpoint device [See claim 11 or 20 last limitation for citations of transmitting to an endpoint device].
See claim 11 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
Claim(s) 5 – 9 and 15 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar, and further in view of Wang, et al. (US Patent #12,101,107 B2 referred to as “Wang” throughout).
Regarding claim 15, see claim 8 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 16, see claim 9 which is the method performing the steps of the claimed program.
Regarding claim 5, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques. Wang teaches signaling various information in metadata used to affect context model selection for coding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar with syntax included in metadata to use for adjusting context models as taught by Wang. The combination teaches
wherein the first context, the second context, and the third context are further determined based on contextual metadata [Hasse Figure 11 as well as Paragraphs 658 – 680 (metadata with information to affect NN topology to affect context modeling – combinable with Wang), and Paragraphs 701 – 705 (including Table 3); Wang Figures 3 and 6 – 11 (syntax elements in metadata / organization of data to affect coding / contexts in NN compression including context modeling – see at least “ctu_partition_flag” including dimensions / size information (Figure 10) or “ctu_scan_order” (Figure 11)) as well as Column 7 lines 32 – 49 and Column 10 line 64 – Column 11 line 26 (metadata affecting context model / size to use with other considerations affecting the size of the context models where Column 8 line 48 – Column 9 line 67 (scan order and block size part of metadata)].
See claim 1 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, and Balcilar.
The motivation to combine Wang with Balcilar, Schwarz, and Hasse is to combine features in the same / related field of invention of video image processing including compression / decompression [Wang Column 1 lines 23 – 25, Column 6 lines 20 – 49 and Column 7 lines 8 – 15] in order to improve performance of compression / decompression [Wang Column 1 lines 23 – 45 where the Examiner observes at least KSR Rationales (D) or (F) are also applicable].
This is the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, Balcilar, and Wang which will be used throughout the Rejection.
Regarding claim 6, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques. Wang teaches signaling various information in metadata used to affect context model selection for coding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar with syntax included in metadata to use for adjusting context models as taught by Wang. The combination teaches
wherein the contextual metadata includes at least one of a coding plane type, a transform size, a transform or scan type, a coefficient position within a transform block, or one or more neighboring coefficient indices [Hasse Figure 11 as well as Paragraphs 38 – 40 (scan order considered), Paragraphs 636 – 645 (transform parameter / type affecting context models), 658 – 680 (metadata with information to affect NN topology to affect context modeling – combinable with Wang), and Paragraphs 701 – 705 (including Table 3); Wang Figures 3 and 6 – 11 (syntax elements in metadata / organization of data to affect coding / contexts in NN compression including context modeling – see at least “ctu_partition_flag” including dimensions / size information (Figure 10) or “ctu_scan_order” (Figure 11)) as well as Column 7 lines 32 – 49 and Column 10 line 64 – Column 11 line 26 (metadata affecting context model / size to use with other considerations affecting the size of the context models where Column 8 line 48 – Column 9 line 67 (scan order and block size part of metadata)].
See claim 5 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, Balcilar, and Wang.
Regarding claim 7, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques. Wang teaches signaling various information in metadata used to affect context model selection for coding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar with syntax included in metadata to use for adjusting context models as taught by Wang. The combination teaches
wherein at least a portion of the contextual metadata is generated by a prediction engine included in an encoder [Hasse Figure 1 – 2 and 11 as well as Paragraphs 38 – 40 (scan order considered), Paragraphs 636 – 645 (transform parameter / type affecting context models), 658 – 680 (metadata with information to affect NN topology to affect context modeling – combinable with Wang), and Paragraphs 701 – 705 (including Table 3); Wang Figures 3 and 6 – 11 (syntax elements in metadata / organization of data to affect coding / contexts in NN compression including context modeling – see at least “ctu_partition_flag” including dimensions / size information (Figure 10) or “ctu_scan_order” (Figure 11)) as well as Column 7 lines 32 – 49 and Column 10 line 64 – Column 11 line 26 (metadata affecting context model / size to use with other considerations affecting the size of the context models where Column 8 line 48 – Column 9 line 67 (scan order and block size part of metadata), and Columns 31 – 32 (see Tables 8 and 9 with predicted metadata used as part of Balcilar Figures 2 – 3 (see at least reference characters 260, 360, 370, and 375) as well as Page 12 line 20 – Page 13 line 10 and Page 14 lines 6 – 27].
See claim 5 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, Balcilar, and Wang.
Regarding claim 8, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques. Wang teaches signaling various information in metadata used to affect context model selection for coding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar with syntax included in metadata to use for adjusting context models as taught by Wang. The combination teaches
wherein the quantization metadata includes at least one of a parity of a previous quantization index, a trellis state associated with the quantization index, one or more trellis states associated with one or more previous quantization indices, or a sub-quantizer used to generate the quantization index [Hasse Figure 11 as well as Paragraphs 658 – 680 (metadata with information to affect NN topology to affect context modeling – combinable with Wang), and Paragraphs 701 – 705 (including Table 3); Wang Figures 3 and 6 – 12 (syntax elements in metadata / organization of data to affect coding / contexts in NN compression including context modeling – see at least “quantization_step_size” (Figure 10) and “stateId" (Figure 12) with trellis / DQ based on index) as well as Column 7 lines 32 – 49 and Column 10 line 64 – Column 11 line 26 (metadata affecting context model / size to use with other considerations affecting the size of the context models where Column 8 line 48 – Column 9 line 67 (scan order and block size part of metadata)].
See claim 5 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, Balcilar, and Wang.
Regarding claim 9, Hasse teaches processing quantization indices similar to transform coefficients and has various bins and entropy encoding techniques to binarize the parsed information of indices / coefficients. Schwarz has similar teachings to Hasse and includes details on by-pass operations for some groups of data / bins. Balcilar teaches trellis coding state transitions and entropy encoding quantization indices techniques with bypass / variable length coding techniques. Wang teaches signaling various information in metadata used to affect context model selection for coding.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Hasse with the context models and entropy coding techniques taught by Schwarz and the trellis state transitions for quantization indices as taught by Balcilar with syntax included in metadata to use for adjusting context models as taught by Wang. The combination teaches
wherein at least a portion of the quantization metadata is generated by a trellis coded quantization engine included in an encoder [Hasse Figure 11 as well as Paragraphs 658 – 680 (metadata with information to affect NN topology to affect context modeling – combinable with Wang), and Paragraphs 701 – 705 (including Table 3); Wang Figures 3 and 6 – 12 (syntax elements in metadata / organization of data to affect coding / contexts in NN compression including context modeling – see at least “quantization_step_size” (Figure 10) and “stateId" (Figure 12) with trellis / DQ based on index) and 16 as well as Column 7 lines 32 – 49 and Column 10 line 64 – Column 11 line 26 (metadata affecting context model / size to use with other considerations affecting the size of the context models where Column 8 line 48 – Column 9 line 67 (scan order and block size part of metadata), Column 17 line 19 – Column 18 line 56 (DQ / TCQ used with state transitions in an engine to combine with Columns 42 – 44 (see at least tables 19 – 20 and the state transition table used between the tables))].
See claim 5 for the motivation to combine Hasse, Schwarz, Balcilar, and Wang.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TYLER W. SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487