Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 13, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13, 17-23 and 27-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilytsch et al (US 11,054,896).
As per claim 1 Wilytsch et al discloses: A method comprising:
at a computer system in communication with a display generation component 100 {figure 1}, one or more input devices:
while a three-dimensional environment 200 {figure 2} is visible via the display generation component 100, wherein the three-dimensional environment 200 includes a first physical surface 115 that does not include sensors for detecting touch inputs { [column 3, lines 33-37] While FIG. 1 includes an integrated camera 120c and two external cameras 120a, 120b, alternative camera configurations are possible. For example, one or more cameras integrated into the HMD 100 sufficiently capture images of the user's hands 105, 110.},
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to designate a first portion of the first physical surface 115 as a first input region 325 {figure 3}; while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting, via the input devices, movement of a first portion of a person 101 {figure 1} directed to the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 38-44] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}; and
in response to detecting the movement of the first portion of the person 101:
in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first portion of the person 101 was directed to the first input region 325, performing an operation at the computer system in accordance with the movement of the first portion of the person 101 relative to the first input region 325; and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first portion of the person 101 was not directed to the first input region 325, forgoing performing the operation at the computer system in accordance with the movement of the first portion of the person 101 relative to the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 51-64] User interactions with virtual interaction objects can cause one or more virtual interaction images to be displayed to the user 101. A virtual interaction image is a visual indicator that shows an interaction with a virtual interaction object occurred. Virtual interaction images can also include audio and haptic indicators. In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.}.
As per claim 2 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein detecting, via the one or more input devices, the first input corresponding to the request to designate the first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325 comprises detecting a second portion of the person 101 performing a first gesture directed to the first portion of the first physical surface 115 that satisfies one or more criteria {[column 4, lines 51-64] In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.}.
As per claim 3 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the first gesture is a first pose performed within a threshold distance of the first portion of the first physical surface 115 {[column 4, lines 47-50] For example, tapping the reference plane 315 (e.g., bringing finger within a threshold distance of the reference plane 315) at a location of a key of the keyboard 325 can corresponded to pressing the key.}.
As per claim 4 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the second portion of the person 101 comprises a palm of the person's hand 105 & 110, and wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the computer system detects that the palm of the person 101 is located within the threshold distance from the first portion of the surface {[column 6, lines 41-55] FIGS. 5B and 5C illustrate the user 101 in front of the surface 115 with the left hand 105 over the surface 115 and the right hand 110 on the surface 115, according to an embodiment. The right hand 110 is flat on the surface 115, and thus the user's palms are parallel to the surface 115. In the examples of FIGS. 5B and 5C the right hand 110 is in a first predetermined shape 515a. In FIG. 5B, the fingertips 505 and distances between adjacent fingers (referred to as fingertip distances 510) of the right hand 110 are indicated. In some embodiments, the HMD 100 tracks the fingertips 505 and fingertip distances 510 of each hand in real time. In FIG. 5C, a reference plane 315 is defined parallel to the palm of the right hand 110 and a perimeter of the reference plane 315 encloses the right hand 110 (as seen from a view perpendicular to the surface 115).}.
As per claim 5 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 3, wherein the second portion of the person 101 comprises one or more fingers 505 & 605 of a hand 105 & 110 of the person 101, and wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the computer system detects that the one or more fingers 505 & 605 of the person’s hand 105 & 110 are extended and are located within the threshold distance from the first portion of the first physical surface 115 {[column 6, lines 41-55] FIGS. 5B and 5C illustrate the user 101 in front of the surface 115 with the left hand 105 over the surface 115 and the right hand 110 on the surface 115, according to an embodiment. The right hand 110 is flat on the surface 115, and thus the user's palms are parallel to the surface 115. In the examples of FIGS. 5B and 5C the right hand 110 is in a first predetermined shape 515a. In FIG. 5B, the fingertips 505 and distances between adjacent fingers (referred to as fingertip distances 510) of the right hand 110 are indicated. In some embodiments, the HMD 100 tracks the fingertips 505 and fingertip distances 510 of each hand in real time. In FIG. 5C, a reference plane 315 is defined parallel to the palm of the right hand 110 and a perimeter of the reference plane 315 encloses the right hand 110 (as seen from a view perpendicular to the surface 115).}.
As per claim 6 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the computer system detects the second portion of the person 101 performing a framing gesture directed to the first portion of the first physical surface 115 {figure 5B}.
As per claim 7 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 2, wherein the second portion of the person 101 comprises a plurality of fingers 505 & 605 of the person's hand 105 & 110, and wherein the one or more criteria include a criterion that is satisfied when the computer system detects that the plurality of fingers 505 & 605 is concurrently performing a gesture directed to the first portion of the first physical surface 115 {[column 6, lines 41-55] FIGS. 5B and 5C illustrate the user 101 in front of the surface 115 with the left hand 105 over the surface 115 and the right hand 110 on the surface 115, according to an embodiment. The right hand 110 is flat on the surface 115, and thus the user's palms are parallel to the surface 115. In the examples of FIGS. 5B and 5C the right hand 110 is in a first predetermined shape 515a. In FIG. 5B, the fingertips 505 and distances between adjacent fingers (referred to as fingertip distances 510) of the right hand 110 are indicated. In some embodiments, the HMD 100 tracks the fingertips 505 and fingertip distances 510 of each hand in real time. In FIG. 5C, a reference plane 315 is defined parallel to the palm of the right hand 110 and a perimeter of the reference plane 315 encloses the right hand 110 (as seen from a view perpendicular to the surface 115).}.
As per claim 8 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: before detecting, via the one or more input devices, the first input corresponding to the request to designate a first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325, displaying a designation user interface that prompts the person 101 to provide the first input corresponding to the request to designate the first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325 {figure 3}.
As per claim 9 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in response to detecting the first input corresponding to the request to designate the first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325, displaying a calibration user interface that prompts the person 101 to provide one or more second inputs for calibrating the first input region 325 {[column 5, lines 40-47] A predetermined shape is a hand shape that indicates a desired location for a reference plane 315 to be established. Specifically, the predetermined shape may indicate the desired position in space, desired orientation, and desired size for a reference plane 315. The predetermined shape may be defined by the HMD 100 or the user, for example during a calibration mode.}.
As per claim 10 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 9, wherein the one or more second inputs for calibrating the first input region 325 comprise a plurality of taps at a plurality of locations on the first input region 325 {[column, 6 lines 30-35] FIGS. 5A-5D are a sequence of diagrams illustrating the establishment of a reference plane, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, FIGS. 5A-5D illustrate steps that occur during a calibration mode of the HMD 100. The diagrams illustrated in the figures may be views captured from a camera 120, such as camera 120a.}.
As per claim 11 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325 {figure 1}:
detecting one or more second inputs at the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 38-44] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}; and
in response to detecting the one or more second inputs at the first input region 325, calibrating the first input region 325 according to a first set of calibration parameters corresponding to the one or more second inputs; and detecting one or more third inputs, different from the one or more second inputs, at the first input region 325; and in response to detecting the one or more third inputs, different from the one or more second inputs, at the first input region 325, calibrating the first input region 325 according to a second set of calibration parameters corresponding to the one or more third inputs {[column, 6 lines 30-35] FIGS. 5A-5D are a sequence of diagrams illustrating the establishment of a reference plane, according to some embodiments. In some embodiments, FIGS. 5A-5D illustrate steps that occur during a calibration mode of the HMD 100. The diagrams illustrated in the figures may be views captured from a camera 120, such as camera 120a.}.
As per claim 12 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, displaying, on the first physical surface 115, a visual indicator that indicates an extent of the first input region 325 {figure 3}.
As per claim 13 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 12, wherein the visual indicator is an input region user interface, and wherein the input region user interface comprises one or more selectable options for providing input to the computer system, and wherein the method further comprises:
while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a second input directed to a first selectable option of the one or more selectable options of the input region user interface; and in response to receiving the second input directed to the first selectable option, performing an operation at the computer system in accordance with the received second input {[column 4, lines 56-64] In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.}.
As per claim 17 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting via the one or more input devices, a first air gesture not directed to the first input region 325; and in response to detecting the first air gesture, performing an operation at the computer system in accordance with the detected first air gesture while maintaining designation of the first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the input region {[column 3, lines 29-33] Additionally, the cameras 120 are generally located to capture images of the user's hands 105, 110. Based on the image data from the cameras, the HMD 100 can track movement, gestures, locations, shapes, etc. of the user's hands 105, 110}.
As per claim 18 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input corresponding to a request to designate a second portion of the first physical surface 115 as a second input region 330, different from the first portion of the first physical surface 115 {figure 3}; in response to detecting the second input: designating the second portion of the first physical surface 115 as the second input region 330 {figure 3}; while the second portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the second input region 330, detecting, via the one or more input devices, movement of a second portion of the person 101 directed to the second input region 330 {figure 3}; and in response to detecting the movement of the second portion of the person 101 directed to the second input region 330, performing an operation at the computer system in accordance the movement of the second portion of the person 101 relative to the second input region 330 {[column 4, lines 38-43] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}.
As per claim 19 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the movement of the first portion of the person 101 is a tap input {[column 4, lines 47-50] For example, tapping the reference plane 315 (e.g., bringing finger within a threshold distance of the reference plane 315) at a location of a key of the keyboard 325 can corresponded to pressing the key.}.
As per claim 20 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the movement of the first portion of the person 101 is an input that includes movement {[column 4, lines 38-43] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}.
As per claim 21 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, displaying a content user interface on the first input region 325, wherein the content user interface includes one or more interactive controls; and wherein the movement of the first portion of the person 101 includes an interaction with the one or more interactive controls of the content user interface displayed on the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 38-43] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}.
As per claim 22 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, displaying a content user interface on the first input region 325, wherein the content user interface includes content; and wherein performing the operation at the computer system in accordance with the detected first gesture comprises performing an operation on the content of the content user interface displayed on the first input region 325 { figure 3 & [column 4, lines 38-43] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}.
As per claim 23 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein performing the operation at the computer system in accordance with the detected first gesture includes: in accordance with a determination that attention of the person 101 is directed to a first location in the three-dimensional environment 200 {figure 2}, performing a first operation associated with the first location at the computer system in accordance with the detected first gesture; and in accordance with a determination that the attention of the person 101 is directed to a second location, different from the first location, in the three-dimensional environment 200, performing a second operation, different from the first operation, associated with the second location at the computer system in accordance with the detected first gesture {[column 4, lines 38-43] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}.
As per claim 27 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the one or more input devices include one or more remote body tracking devices, and wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting movement of the one or more remote body tracking devices; and in response to detecting the movement of the one or more input devices: in accordance with a determination that at least a portion of the first input region 325 is outside of a field of sensing limit of the one or more remote body tracking devices, displaying, via the display generation component 100, a visual indicator in the three-dimensional environment 200 indicating that at least a portion of the first input region 325 is outside of the field of sensing limit of the one or more remote body tracking devices. { [column 6, lines 41-65] FIGS. 5B and 5C illustrate the user 101 in front of the surface 115 with the left hand 105 over the surface 115 and the right hand 110 on the surface 115, according to an embodiment. The right hand 110 is flat on the surface 115, and thus the user's palms are parallel to the surface 115. In the examples of FIGS. 5B and 5C the right hand 110 is in a first predetermined shape 515a. In FIG. 5B, the fingertips 505 and distances between adjacent fingers (referred to as fingertip distances 510) of the right hand 110 are indicated. In some embodiments, the HMD 100 tracks the fingertips 505 and fingertip distances 510 of each hand in real time. In FIG. 5C, a reference plane 315 is defined parallel to the palm of the right hand 110 and a perimeter of the reference plane 315 encloses the right hand 110 (as seen from a view perpendicular to the surface 115). In some embodiments, HMD 100 tracks the fingertip distances 510 between two or more fingers to determine if one or more hands 105, 110 are in a predetermined shape. For example, the HMD 100 determines a hand 105 or 110 is in a predetermined shape if a fingertip distance 510 between two fingertips 505 substantially equals a value (e.g., within a few millimeters). Referring to FIG. 5B, the HMD 100 may determine that the right hand 110 is in a predetermined shape (e.g., flat) by determining that each of the fingertip distances 510 are above one or more threshold values.}
As per claim 28 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 27, wherein displaying the visual indicator indicating that at least the portion of the first input region 325 is outside of the field of sensing limit of the one or more input devices includes: in accordance with a determination that the first input region 325 does not include interactive content, displaying the visual indicator at a first content window displayed in the three-dimensional environment 200, the first content window including interactive content that is interactable via the first input region 325; and in accordance with a determination that the first input region 325 includes interactive content, displaying the visual indicator at the first input region 325. { figure 3 & [column 4, lines 38-43] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}
As per claim 29 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein designating the first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325 includes: in accordance with a determination that a first object in the three-dimensional environment 200 is located at a first location in the three-dimensional environment 200, orienting the first input region 325 at a first orientation with respect to the three-dimensional environment 200; and in accordance with a determination that the first object in the three-dimensional environment 200 is located at a second location, different from the first location, in the three-dimensional environment 200, orienting the first input region 325 at a second orientation, different from the first orientation, with respect to the three-dimensional environment 200 {[column 4, lines 4-21] The reference plane 315 is a virtual plane that determines the position and orientation of interaction objects. The virtual plane 315 is generated by the HMD 100 and may be displayed to the user. As further described below, the position, orientation, and size of the reference plane 315 can be defined by the user 101 by placing their hands 105, 110 in predetermined shapes. This allows the user 101 to establish a reference plane 315 and interact with virtual interaction objects regardless of the physical environment he or she is in. In FIG. 3, the reference plane 315 is on the surface 115 of a real-world object (e.g., a table). The reference plane 315 can be generated on other physical surfaces, such as a desk, a canvas on an easel, a wall, etc. Additionally, the reference plane 315 may not be generated on a surface of a real-world object. For example, the reference plane 315 may be generated in mid-air with respect to surfaces and a user may not require interaction with a surface to form the predefined shape.}
As per claim 30 Wilytsch et al discloses: The method of claim 1, wherein the first physical surface 115 is not an input device. {[column 4, lines 14-16] The reference plane 315 can be generated on other physical surfaces, such as a desk, a canvas on an easel, a wall, etc}
As per claim 31 Wilytsch et al discloses: A computer system that is in communication with a display generation component 100 and one or more input devices, the computer system comprising:
one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs {[column 9, lines 46-53] Such a computer program may be stored in a non-transitory, tangible computer readable storage medium, or any type of media suitable for storing electronic instructions, which may be coupled to a computer system bus. Furthermore, any computing systems referred to in the specification may include a single processor or may be architectures employing multiple processor designs for increased computing capability.} including instructions for:
while a three-dimensional environment 200 is visible via the display generation component 100, wherein the three-dimensional environment 200 includes a first physical surface 115 that does not include sensors for detecting touch inputs { [column 3, lines 33-37] While FIG. 1 includes an integrated camera 120c and two external cameras 120a, 120b, alternative camera configurations are possible. For example, one or more cameras integrated into the HMD 100 sufficiently capture images of the user's hands 105, 110.},
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to designate a first portion of the first physical surface 115 as a first input region 325; while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting, via the input devices, movement of a first portion of a person 101 directed to the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 38-44] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}; and
in response to detecting the movement of the first portion of the person 101:
in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first portion of the person 101 was directed to the first input region 325, performing an operation at the computer system in accordance with the movement of the first portion of the person 101 relative to the first input region 325; and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first portion of the person 101 was not directed to the first input region 325, forgoing performing the operation at the computer system in accordance with the movement of the first portion of the person 101 relative to the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 51-64] User interactions with virtual interaction objects can cause one or more virtual interaction images to be displayed to the user 101. A virtual interaction image is a visual indicator that shows an interaction with a virtual interaction object occurred. Virtual interaction images can also include audio and haptic indicators. In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.}.
As per claim 32. Wilytsch et al discloses: A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of a computer system that is in communication with a display generation component 100 and one or more input devices {[column 9, lines 46-53] Such a computer program may be stored in a non-transitory, tangible computer readable storage medium, or any type of media suitable for storing electronic instructions, which may be coupled to a computer system bus. Furthermore, any computing systems referred to in the specification may include a single processor or may be architectures employing multiple processor designs for increased computing capability.}, cause the computer system to perform a method comprising:
while a three-dimensional environment 200 is visible via the display generation component 100, wherein the three-dimensional environment 200 includes a first physical surface 115 that does not include sensors for detecting touch inputs { [column 3, lines 33-37] While FIG. 1 includes an integrated camera 120c and two external cameras 120a, 120b, alternative camera configurations are possible. For example, one or more cameras integrated into the HMD 100 sufficiently capture images of the user's hands 105, 110.},
detecting, via the one or more input devices, a first input corresponding to a request to designate a first portion of the first physical surface 115 as a first input region 325; while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting, via the input devices, movement of a first portion of a person 101 directed to the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 38-44] The virtual keyboard 325 and trackpad 330 are examples of virtual interaction objects. Interaction with these virtual interaction objects is typically provided by the user interacting with the real-world environment at the location corresponding to the location of the interaction objects.}; and
in response to detecting the movement of the first portion of the person 101:
in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first portion of the person 101 was directed to the first input region 325, performing an operation at the computer system in accordance with the movement of the first portion of the person 101 relative to the first input region 325; and in accordance with a determination that the movement of the first portion of the person 101 was not directed to the first input region 325, forgoing performing the operation at the computer system in accordance with the movement of the first portion of the person 101 relative to the first input region 325 {[column 4, lines 51-64] User interactions with virtual interaction objects can cause one or more virtual interaction images to be displayed to the user 101. A virtual interaction image is a visual indicator that shows an interaction with a virtual interaction object occurred. Virtual interaction images can also include audio and haptic indicators. In the case of FIG. 3, interactions with the virtual keyboard 325 and virtual trackpad 330 can result in virtual interaction images being displayed on the virtual screen 320. For example, the user 101 can move a cursor across the virtual screen 320 by dragging a finger across a portion of the reference plane corresponding to the trackpad 330. In another example, the message 335 is displayed responsive to the user 101 interacting with the virtual keyboard 325.}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilytsch et al (US 11,054,896) in view of Kandur Raja et al (US 2016/0209928).
Regarding claim 14 Wilytsch et al is silent as to: The method of claim 1, wherein the first input includes detecting a second portion of the person 101 in a first pose, and wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the second portion of the person 101 changing from having the first pose to having a second pose, different from the first pose; and in response to detecting the second portion of the person 101 changing from having the first pose to having the second pose, ceasing designation of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325.
With respect to claim 14 Kandur Raja et al discloses: wherein the first input includes detecting a second portion of the person in a first pose, and wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface is designated as the first input region, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the second portion of the person changing from having the first pose to having a second pose, different from the first pose {[0096] In operation 801, the first sensor 110 may detect the number of user hands. According to various embodiments of the present disclosure, the first sensor 110 may detect the number of fingers, and may detect the number of hands based on the number of the fingers. & [0097] In operation 803, the processor 200 may determine the number of the hands detected in operation 801. For example, the processor 200 may determine the number of the hands detected in operation 801 through specific image processing. In the case where the number of the hands is one, the procedure may proceed to operation 823. In the case where the number of the hands is two, the procedure may proceed to operation 805. In the case where the number of the hands is greater than or equal to three, the procedure may proceed to operation 829.}; and
in response to detecting the second portion of the person changing from having the first pose to having the second pose, ceasing designation of the first physical surface as the first input region {figure 8: END}.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method of Wilytsch et al with the first input includes detecting a second portion of the person in a first pose, while the first portion of the first physical surface is designated as the first input region, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the second portion of the person changing from having the first pose to having a second pose, different from the first pose; and in response to detecting the second portion of the person changing from having the first pose to having the second pose, ceasing designation of the first physical surface as the first input region as taught by Kandur Raja et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method with the first input includes detecting a second portion of the person in a first pose, while the first portion of the first physical surface is designated as the first input region, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the second portion of the person changing from having the first pose to having a second pose, different from the first pose; and in response to detecting the second portion of the person changing from having the first pose to having the second pose, ceasing designation of the first physical surface as the first input region so that the screen is able to be cleared and display alternate objects for the user.
Claims 15-16 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilytsch et al (US 11,054,896) in view of Demir et al (US 2024/0355076).
Regarding claim 15 Wilytsch et al is silent as to: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting that an elapsed time since input has been detected at the first input region 325 is greater than a time threshold; and in response to detecting that the elapsed time is greater than the time threshold, ceasing designation of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325. Regarding claim 16 Wilytsch et al is silent as to: The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second gesture corresponding to a request to terminate the designation of the first portion of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325; and in response to detecting the second gesture, ceasing designation of the first physical surface 115 as the first input region 325.
With respect to claims 15-16 Demir et al discloses: [0054] In some embodiments, the virtual reality system 100 may employ the gesture detection software to determine whether the user 104 is no longer performing a gesture (e.g., the first gesture 402, the second gesture 410, and/or the third gesture 500) and may stop translation or rotation of the user 104 though the VR environment based on the determination. For instance, if the virtual reality system determines the user 104 is no longer performing the second gesture 410, then the virtual reality system 100 may stop modifying the image data based on the adjusted user coordinate related to translation. As another example, if the virtual reality system 100 determines the user 104 is no longer performing the third gesture 500, then the virtual reality system 100 may stop modifying the image data based on the adjusted user coordinate related to rotation.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method of Wilytsch et al with the first portion of the of the first physical surface is designated as the first input region, detecting that an elapsed time since input has been detected at the first input region is greater than a time threshold; and in response to detecting that the elapsed time is greater than the time threshold, ceasing designation of the first physical surface as the first input region as taught by Demir et al. The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method with the first portion of the of the first physical surface is designated as the first input region, detecting that an elapsed time since input has been detected at the first input region is greater than a time threshold; and in response to detecting that the elapsed time is greater than the time threshold, ceasing designation of the first physical surface as the first input region. so that the screen is able to be cleared and display alternate objects for the user.
Regarding claim 24 Wilytsch et al is silent as to: The method of claim 1, the method further comprising: while the first portion of the first physical surface 115 is designated as the first input region 325, detecting, via the one or more input devices, a second input; and in response to detecting the second input: in accordance with a determination that the second input corresponds to a request to relocate the first input region 325 in a first manner, relocating the first input region 325 from the first portion of the first physical surface 115 to a respective portion of a second surface in the three-dimensional environment 200; and in accordance with a determination that the second input corresponds to a request to relocate the first input region 325 in a second manner, different from the first manner, relocating the first input region 325 from the first portion of the first physical surface 115 to a respective portion of a third surface in the three-dimensional environment 200.
Regarding claim 25 Wilytsch et al is silent as to: The method of claim 24, wherein the method further comprises: while a movement portion of the second input is ongoing: detecting that the first input region 325 reaches a first movement threshold; and in response to detecting that the first input region 325 has reached a first movement threshold, displaying a first visual indicator at the first input region 325 indicating that the first movement threshold has been reached.
Regarding claim 26 Wilytsch et al is silent as to: The method of claim 25, wherein the method further comprises: while displaying the first visual indicator at the first input region 325 indicating that the first movement threshold has been reached, detecting further input corresponding to movement of the first input region 325 beyond the first movement threshold followed by termination of the further input; in response to detecting the further input, moving the first input region 325 beyond the first movement threshold in accordance with further input; and in response to detecting the termination of the further input, displaying an animation of the first input region 325 moving back to within the first movement threshold.
With respect to claims 24-26 Demir et al depicts in figure 4 and discloses: [0053] At process block 314, the virtual reality system 100 may modify the image data based on the adjusted user coordinate. That is, the 3D coordinate system 406 may be associated with the VR environment, such that the translation and rotation within the 3D coordinate system 406 corresponds to movement and rotation within the VR environment. The movement vector (e.g., 418 and 508) may be indicative of the user 104 translation and rotation within the VR environment. As an example, illustrated in FIG. 4, if the 3D user coordinate translates 30 units up and 90 units to the left, then the image data being displayed to the user 104 may depict the user 104 moving through the VR environment 30 units up and 90 units to left (e.g., as shown in the second visualization 414).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to provide the method of Wilytsch et al with detecting that the first input region reaches a first movement threshold; and in response to detecting that the first input region has reached a first movement threshold, displaying a first visual indicator as taught by Demir et al.
The rationale is as follows: one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed would have been motivated to provide a method with detecting that the first input region reaches a first movement threshold; and in response to detecting that the first input region has reached a first movement threshold, displaying a first visual indicator so that the user is able to visually see the boundaries when moving regions.
Conclusion
/DAVID D DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627
DDD