DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-17, 21-23 in the reply filed on 04/02/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites “the BiDi switch enables the battery to trickle charge the LV battery.” The term “the battery” lacks antecedent basis because claim 12 recites only “a low voltage (LV) battery.” Further, if “the battery” is interpreted as the previously recited “low voltage battery”, the claim would recite that the LV battery trickle charges itself, which renders the scope of the claim unclear. Accordingly, it is unclear what battery is performing the recited trickle-charging function, and the metes and bounds of the claim cannot be determined with reasonable certainty. For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted as “the battery to trickle charge when a vehicle is in a standby mode” similarly to previously recited limitation in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by over Chen et al. (US 2025/0226647 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches an apparatus comprising a battery [see (Fig. 2, items 211 and 221; paras. 0056-0062) first battery 211 and second battery 221 included in first and second power supply circuits - Chen teaches a battery], a low voltage (LV) direct current to direct current converter (DCDC) [see (Fig. 2, items 212 and 222; paras. 0056-0062) DC/DC converters 212 and 222 included in the first and second power supply circuits - Chen teaches a LV DCDC], and a bidirectional (BiDi) switch connected with the battery and the LV DCDC [see (Fig. 2, item 23; paras. 0059-0062) switch 23 disposed between the first power supply circuit and the second power supply circuit and configured to selectively connect and disconnect the power supply circuits; see also (para. 0074) The switch 33 may be an electronic switch, for example, a bidirectional (also referred to as a back-to-back) switching transistor - Chen expressly teaches a bidirectional switch and further teaches that the switch may be implemented using a MOSFET, IGBT, or BJT].
Regarding claim 2, Chen teaches invention set forth above, Chen further teaches comprising one or more vehicle loads [see (Fig. 1, item 16) low-voltage load 16; see also (Fig. 2, items 213 and 222; paras. 0035-0037, 0053-0054) first load 213 and second load 222 supplied by the first and second power supply circuits - Chen teaches one or more vehicle loads].
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches wherein the battery comprises a low voltage battery [see (Fig. 1, item 12) "Low-voltage battery"; see also (para. 0054) “The second battery 12 may be a low-voltage battery, and may be configured to charge the vehicle through a low-voltage battery, and the first battery 11 may be a high-voltage battery” - Chen teaches the battery comprises a low voltage battery].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 8, 11 and 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0226647 A1) in view of Smith (US 2021/0070191 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches a low-voltage battery, a low-voltage direct current to direct current converter (LV DCDC), and a bidirectional switch electrically connected between the low-voltage battery and the LV DCDC [see (Chen, Fig. 2, items 211, 212, and 23); see also (Chen, para. 0057) “The first power supply circuit 21 includes a first battery 211 and a DC/DC converter 212 connected to the first battery 211”; (Chen, para. 0058) “The switch 23 is configured to connect the first power supply circuit 21 and the second power supply circuit 22”].
However, Chen does not expressly teach an electronic control unit configured to operate the bidirectional switch in different operating modes based on a vehicle state.
In an analogous art, Smith teaches a controller that monitors a charge level of an energy storage device while a vehicle is not in operation and determines a mode of operation for a power supply device, and controls switching elements based on the determined mode [see (Smith, para. 0028) “the charge level is monitored while the vehicle 100 is not in operation”; (Smith, para. 0030) “connect the converter 210 to the energy storage device 215 to exit a sleep mode and enter a charge mode” and “disconnect the converter 210 from the energy storage device 215 to exit the charge mode and enter the sleep mode”; see also (Smith, para. 0052) describing first and second operating modes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the mode-based switch control of Smith in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that an electronic control unit is configured to operate the bidirectional switch in different operating modes based on a vehicle state, thereby providing controlled power management and switching operation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches invention set forth above, Chen further teaches a battery, a LV DCDC, and a bidirectional (BiDi) switch [see (Fig. 2, items 211, 221, and 23; paras. 0056-0062); see also (para. 0074) "The switch 33 may be an electronic switch, for example, a bidirectional (also referred to as a back-to-back) switching transistor" - Chen teaches a bidirectional switch architecture connected with the battery and DCDC].
However, Chen does not expressly teach wherein the BiDi switch enables the battery to trickle charge when a vehicle is in a standby mode.
In an analogous art, Smith teaches monitoring battery charge while a vehicle is in a sleep or inactive state [see (para. 0028)]; Smith further teaches controlling switching elements to connect a converter to the battery when the battery charge level falls below a threshold and entering a charge mode [see (paras. 0030-0031)]. Smith additionally teaches charging the battery during the sleep/standby state and returning the system to the sleep mode after charging is completed [see (para. 0037)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the standby-mode battery charging control and threshold-based charge logic of Smith in the bidirectional switching architecture of Chen to enable charging of the battery while the vehicle is in a standby mode, thereby maintaining battery charge during vehicle inactivity with predictable results.
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Chen does not expressly teach further comprises one or more vehicle loads, wherein the BiDi switch comprises a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, wherein power is transmitted from the battery to the one or more vehicle loads when the first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and the second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor are closed.
In an analogous art, Smith teaches a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor [see (Smith, para. 0024) “Each set of back-to-back switches may comprise PMOS transistors” and “Each transistor 300/305/310/315 may be individually controllable by the controller 230” - Smith teaches first and second MOSFETs forming a controllable switching arrangement] Smith further teaches “the controller 230 controls the transistors 310 and 315 to be on” [see (Smith, para. 0061)]; Smith teaches the first MOSFET and the second MOSFET are closed while maintaining the connection of the energy storage device to the load.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the back-to-back MOSFET switching architecture of Smith in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the BiDi switch comprises a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, wherein power is transmitted from the battery to the one or more vehicle loads when the first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and the second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor are closed, thereby providing controlled power delivery from the battery to vehicle loads with predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Chen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Chen does not expressly teach further comprises one or more vehicle loads, wherein the BiDi switch comprises a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, wherein the first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor is open and the second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor is closed.
In an analogous art, Smith teaches a first transistor 310 and a second transistor 315 forming part of a back-to-back switching arrangement [see (Smith, para. 0024; Fig. 3)]; Smith further teaches “the controller 230 controls the second transistor 315 to be on and the first transistor 310 to be off” [see (Smith, para. 0064)]; Smith teaches the first MOSFET is open and the second MOSFET is closed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the independently controllable MOSFET switching arrangement of Smith in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor is open and the second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor is closed, thereby providing selective switching with predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, Chen and Smith teach the invention set forth above; However, combination does not expressly teach "during a standby mode of the vehicle, the electronic control unit controls the bidirectional switch to allow a limited trickle-charge current to the low-voltage battery while blocking full charge or discharge current."
Smith further teaches monitoring the charge level of the energy storage device while the vehicle is not in operation, connecting the converter to the energy storage device to enter a charge mode, disconnecting the converter to enter a sleep mode, and periodically charging the energy storage device to a predetermined threshold before returning to a lower-power sleep state [see (Smith, para. 0028) "the charge level is monitored while the vehicle 100 is not in operation"; (Smith, para. 0030) "connect the converter 210 to the energy storage device 215 to exit a sleep mode and enter a charge mode" and "disconnect the converter 210 from the energy storage device 215 to exit the charge mode and enter the sleep mode"; (Smith, para. 0037) "periodic wake-up and charge or hibernation mode" and "charge the energy storage device 215 up to a pre-determined threshold before turning off and sending the system back into a lower power sleep state"] This teaches standby battery-maintenance charging using controlled switching between sleep and charge modes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to operate the bidirectional switch of Chen according to the standby battery-maintenance charging technique taught by Smith so that the low-voltage battery receives charging during standby operation while avoiding unnecessary full charging or discharge operation, thereby reducing standby power consumption and maintaining battery charge with predictable results.
Claim(s) 6-7, 12-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0226647 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0086655 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Chen teaches a vehicle comprising a low voltage (LV) battery [see (Fig. 2, items 211 and 221; paras. 0056-0062) first battery 211 and second battery 221 included in first and second power supply circuits - Chen teaches a LV battery]; a battery management system (BMS), wherein the BMS comprises a LV direct current to direct current converter (LV DCDC) [see (Fig. 3, item 314; paras. 0063-0068) BMS 314 associated with the battery system; see also (Fig. 2, items 212 and 222; paras. 0056-0062) DC/DC converters 212 and 222 - Chen teaches a BMS comprising a LV DCDC]; an electronic control unit (ECU) [see (Fig. 2, item 213; paras. 0063-0068) controller 213 configured to control operation of the vehicle power system - Chen teaches an ECU]; a bidirectional (BiDi) switch [see (Fig. 2, item 23; paras. 0059-0062) switch 23 disposed between the first and second power supply circuits; see also (para. 0074) "The switch 33 may be an electronic switch, for example, a bidirectional (also referred to as a back-to-back) switching transistor" - Chen expressly teaches a bidirectional switch including MOSFET, IGBT, and BJT implementations]; Chen further teaches wherein the BiDi switch is connected with the LV battery and the LV DCDC [see (Fig. 2, items 211, 212, 221, 222, and 23; paras. 0056-0062) switch 23 electrically connects the power supply circuits including the batteries and DC/DC converters - Chen teaches the claimed connection relationship].
However, Chen does not expressly teach that the bidirectional (BiDi) switch is incorporated within the ECU architecture as recited by "wherein the ECU comprises a bidirectional (BiDi) switch."
In an analogous art, Li teaches a vehicle power management system including an ECU and back-to-back blocking elements comprising MOSFETs [see (para. 0014) "two pairs of blocking elements controlled by an electronic control unit (ECU)" and "the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs"]; Li further teaches that the back-to-back blocking elements may comprise solid-state switches, such as MOSFETs, that are embedded in a printed circuit board (PCB) of a power system or ECU [see (para. 0032) "Each set of back-to-back blocking elements may comprise solid state switches, such as MOSFETs, which can be embedded in a printed circuit board (PCB) of a power system or ECU"]; Li additionally teaches that the blocking elements are individually controllable by the controller or ECU [see (para. 0040)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ECU-integrated back-to-back MOSFET switching architecture of Li in the invention of Chen to incorporate the bidirectional switch within the ECU architecture, thereby providing an ECU-integrated bidirectional switching architecture for coordinated vehicle power management with predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Chen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Chen does not expressly teach wherein the BiDi switch comprises one or more field- effect transistors (FETs) that may be opened or closed.
In an analogous art, Li teaches back-to-back MOSFET blocking elements [see (Li, para. 0014) “the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs”]. Li further teaches that “The blocking elements are individually controllable by the controller 230 or ECU 330” [see (Li, para. 0040)]; Li teaches individually controllable MOSFET blocking elements.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the individually controllable MOSFET switching architecture of Li in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the BiDi switch comprises one or more field-effect transistors (FETs) that may be opened or closed, thereby providing controlled bidirectional switching with predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, combination Chen and Li teaches the invention set forth above; Li further teaches wherein the one or more field-effect transistors (FETs) comprise a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET) [see (Li, para. 0014) “the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs” - Li teaches the one or more field-effect transistors (FETs) comprise a MOSFET].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the MOSFET implementation of Li in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the one or more field-effect transistors (FETs) comprise a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor (MOSFET), thereby providing a known solid-state switching implementation with predictable results.
Regarding claim 13, combination Chen and Li teaches the invention set forth above; Li further teaches wherein the low voltage battery is approximately 12 volts to 15 volts [see (Li, para. 0024) “the power system 205 may also include a low voltage power source, such as a rechargeable 12V battery, to power critical loads on a low voltage power network” - Li teaches the low voltage battery is approximately 12 volts to 15 volts].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the rechargeable 12V battery of Li in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the low voltage battery is approximately 12 volts to 15 volts, thereby providing a conventional low-voltage vehicle battery for powering vehicle systems with predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, combination of Chen and Li teaches invention set forth above, Chen further teaches comprising one or more vehicle loads connected with the ECU [see (Fig. 3, items 313, 315, and 322; paras. 0063-0068) controller 313 operates within the vehicle power system including first load 315 and second load 322 supplied by the first power supply circuit 31 and second power supply circuit 32; Chen teaches one or more vehicle loads connected with the ECU within the vehicle power architecture]
Regarding claim 16, combination of Chen and Li teaches invention set forth above, Li further teaches ECU-controlled blocking elements comprising back-to-back MOSFETs [see (para. 0014) "two pairs of blocking elements controlled by an electronic control unit (ECU)" and "the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs"]; Li also teaches that each set of back-to-back blocking elements may comprise solid-state switches, such as MOSFETs, embedded in a power system or ECU PCB [see (para. 0032)]; Li additionally teaches control lines between the ECU and the MOSFET switching elements and teaches that the blocking elements are individually controllable by the ECU [see (paras. 0028, 0032, and 0040)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ECU-controlled back-to-back MOSFET switching architecture of Li in the vehicle power architecture of Chen to implement the bidirectional switch using FET-based switching circuitry, thereby providing ECU-controlled bidirectional switching and vehicle power management with predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, combination Chen and Li teaches the invention set forth above; Li further teaches wherein the BiDi switch comprises a first metal-oxide- semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor [see (Li, para. 0032) “the blocking element 320 may include a set of back-to-back blocking elements 320A and 320B. Likewise the blocking element 325 may include a set of back-to-back blocking elements 325A and 325B”; see also (Li, para. 0014) “the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs” - Li teaches a BiDi switch comprising a first MOSFET and a second MOSFET].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the back-to-back MOSFET switching architecture of Li in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the BiDi switch comprises a first MOSFET and a second MOSFET, thereby providing controlled bidirectional current flow and switching with predictable results.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0226647 A1) in view of Mahmoud et al. (US 2020/0324719 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Chen teaches the invention set forth above. However, Chen does not expressly teach further comprises one or more vehicle loads, wherein the BiDi switch comprises a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, wherein the battery is disconnected from transmitting power to the one or more vehicle loads when the first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and the second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor are open.
In an analogous art, Mahmoud teaches one or more vehicle loads [see (Mahmoud, para. 0032) subsystems 250-1 to 250-N receiving power from the DC-DC converter 211 or 12V battery 212; see also (para. 0041) subsystems SUB-1 to SUB-10 powered through power rail 331]; Mahmoud further teaches first and second FET transistors that open or close a connection [see (Mahmoud, para. 0039) “SW1 316-1 and SW2 316-2 include FET transistors to open or close a connection”]; Mahmoud additional teaches opening FET switching elements to disconnect and isolate a power source from the power rail supplying vehicle subsystems [see (Mahmoud, para. 0042) “the μcontroller 370 can open SW1 316-1 (turned off) such that DC-DC converter 311 is isolated from the power rail 331”; see also (para. 0043) “the μcontroller 370 can open (turned off) SW2 316-2 and close (turned on) SW1 316-1”]. Mahmoud therefore teaches that opening the FET switching elements disconnects the corresponding power source from transmitting power to vehicle subsystems connected to the power rail.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the FET-based isolation switching architecture of Mahmoud in the vehicle power architecture of Chen so that the apparatus further comprises one or more vehicle loads, wherein the BiDi switch comprises a first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and a second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor, wherein the battery is disconnected from transmitting power to the one or more vehicle loads when the first metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor and the second metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor are open, thereby providing controlled disconnection of battery power from vehicle loads with predictable results..
Claim(s) 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0226647 A1) in view of Smith (US 2021/0070191 A1) further in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0086655 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Chen and Smith teaches invention set forth above, However, Chen and Smith do not expressly teach wherein the BiDi switch comprises a field-effect transistor (FET) driver.
In an analogous art, Li teaches ECU-controlled blocking elements comprising back-to-back MOSFETs [see (para. 0014) "two pairs of blocking elements controlled by an electronic control unit (ECU)" and "the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs"]. Li further teaches that each set of back-to-back blocking elements may comprise solid-state switches, such as MOSFETs, embedded in a power system or ECU PCB [see (para. 0032)]; Li additionally teaches control lines between the ECU and the MOSFET switching elements [see (Fig. 3; paras. 0028 and 0032)], thereby teaching an ECU-controlled MOSFET switching architecture].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ECU-controlled back-to-back MOSFET switching architecture of Li in the standby-mode charging system of Chen and Smith to implement the bidirectional switch using FET-based switching circuitry, thereby providing ECU-controlled bidirectional battery charging and switching with predictable results.
Regarding claim 5, Chen, Smith, and Li teach the invention set forth above; Smith further teaches monitoring the charge level of an energy storage device while a vehicle is not in operation and controlling switching elements to connect a converter to the energy storage device to enter a charging mode when the charge level falls below a threshold and to disconnect the converter when a threshold charge level is reached [see (paras. 0028, 0030-0031)]. Smith teaches selectively enabling charging of the energy storage device through back-to-back switching elements while isolating one or more loads during a sleep or standby operating mode [see (para. 0037)].
Li further teaches ECU-controlled blocking elements comprising back-to-back MOSFETs [see (para. 0014) "two pairs of blocking elements controlled by an electronic control unit (ECU)" and "the blocking elements comprise back-to-back MOSFETs"] Li further teaches that each set of back-to-back blocking elements may comprise solid-state switches, such as MOSFETs, embedded in a power system or ECU PCB [see (para. 0032)]; Li additionally teaches control lines between the ECU and the MOSFET switching elements and teaches that the blocking elements are individually controllable by the ECU [see (paras. 0028, 0032, and 0040)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ECU-controlled back-to-back MOSFET switching architecture of Li in the standby-mode battery charging arrangement of Chen and Smith so that battery trickle charging performed during standby operation is implemented through FET-controlled switching circuitry, thereby providing controlled standby battery charging, low-quiescent-current switching, and predictable battery power management using known MOSFET-based vehicle power switching techniques.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US 2025/0226647 A1) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0086655 A1), further in view of Smith (US 2021/0070191 A1).
Regarding claim 15, combination of Chen and Li teaches invention set forth above; combination does not expressly teach wherein the BiDi switch enables the battery to trickle charge the LV battery when a vehicle is in a standby mode.
In an analogous art, Smith teaches monitoring the charge level of an energy storage device while a vehicle is not operating or is parked [see (para. 0028)]; Smith further teaches controlling switching elements to connect a converter to the energy storage device and enter a charge mode when the battery charge level falls below a threshold [see (paras. 0030-0031)]; Smith additionally teaches charging the battery during a sleep or standby operating mode and returning the system to the sleep mode after charging is completed [see (para. 0037)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the standby-mode battery charging control and threshold-based charging logic of Smith in the vehicle power architecture of Chen and Li to enable charging of the LV battery through the bidirectional switching architecture while the vehicle is in a standby mode, thereby maintaining LV battery charge during vehicle inactivity with predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 23, Chen and Smith teaches invention set forth above, However, Chen and Smith do not expressly teach wherein, during the standby mode, the bidirectional switch operates in a diode-mode configuration that permits transient current flow from the LV DCDC to supply wake-up or transient loads while limiting current flow into the low-voltage battery.
Hence claim 23 will be deemed allowable if written in independent form.
Conclusion
/AQEEL H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2836