DETAILED ACTION
This is a reply to the application filed on 2/20/2025, in which, claims 1-7 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
When making claim amendments, the applicant is encouraged to consider the references in their entireties, including those portions that have not been cited by the examiner and their equivalents as they may most broadly and appropriately apply to any particular anticipated claim amendments.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 2/20/2025 are accepted.
Specification
The disclosure filed on 2/20/2025 is accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180349893 A1 (hereinafter ‘Tsai’) in view of US 20230147221 A1 (hereinafter ‘Felicia’).
As regards claim 1, Tsai (US 20180349893 A1) discloses: A method of deploying a generated work comprising: creating, by a user computer processor of a user computer, a registration on a registration computer located remotely from the user computer; (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, ¶11-¶13, i.e., the user registering transactions associated product at a remote computer)
generating, by the user computer processor, a representation of a generated work; (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, ¶35-¶36, i.e., user generating a digital representation of the product in the form of QR code)
associating, by the user computer processor, the representation of the generated work with the registration on the registration computer; (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, ¶11-¶13, ¶35-¶36, i.e., the user registering transactions associated product at a remote computer)
encrypting, by the user computer processor of the user computer, the representation of the generated work with a private key; and (Tsai: ¶32-¶35, i.e., encrypted storage with a key)
However, Tsai does not teach “private” key but in analogous art, Felicia (US 20230147221 A1) teaches using a private key of a public-private key to encrypt representation of a product (Felicia: ¶24-¶34)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsai to include using a private key of a public-private key to encrypt representation of a product as taught by Felicia with the motivation to provide authentication of the registered product (Felicia: ¶24-¶34)
Tsai et al combination further teaches: storing, by a registration computer processor of the registration computer, the registration, and the representation of the generated work in association with the registration on a registration computer storage device of the registration computer, (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶11-¶13, ¶31-¶43) wherein the storing, by the registration computer processor of the registration computer, of the registration and the representation of the generated work in association with the registration on the registration computer storage device of the registration computer is executed privately without a publication that is accessible without permission from the user computer due to the encrypting of the representation of the generated work. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶11-¶13, ¶31-¶35, i.e., user permission is required to access the generated work stored under encryption. See also, Felicia: ¶24-¶34)
As regards claim 2, Tsai et al combination teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: creating a sample of the generated work; (Tsai: ¶31) generating, by the registration computer processor, a unique identifier; (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, ¶35) associating, by the registration computer processor, the unique identifier with the registration; (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, ¶35) generating, by the user computer processor, a physical copy of the unique identifier; (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, 7, ¶39-¶43) attaching the physical copy to the sample; and (Tsai: Figs. 1-3, 7, ¶39-¶43) taking an image of the sample with the physical copy attached to the sample, wherein the representation of the generated work includes the image. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43)
As regards claim 3, Tsai et al combination teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the representation of the generated work is a first data element that is stored in a first data field by the registration computer processor, further comprising: generating, by the user computer processor, a second data element in addition to the representation of a generated work; (Tsai: ¶30-¶35, i.e., the various data items that are stored along with the object) storing, by a registration computer processor, the second data element in a second field in association with the registration; (Tsai: ¶30-¶35, i.e., the various data items that are stored along with the object) and decrypting, by the registration computer processor, one of the data elements, while not decrypting another one of the data elements, with a private key. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶11-¶13, ¶31-¶35, i.e., user permission is required to access the generated work stored under encryption. See also, Felicia: ¶24-¶34, i.e., decrypting some fields such UID associated with the product)
As regards claim 6, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the representation of the generated work includes at least one of: an image of a sample of the generated work; a unique identifier; and a licensed identifier. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43)
As regards claim 7, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the registration computer processor, a hash of data of the registration; and (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43) recording, by the registration computer processor, the hash in a ledger that is coped to a plurality of nodes. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43)
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai in view of Felicia in view of US 20220103369 A1 (hereinafter ‘Adams’).
As regards claim 4, Tsai et al combination teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: storing, by the registration computer processor, the public key in association with the registration on the registration computer storage device of the registration computer; (Felicia: ¶24-¶34, ¶62, Table 6, i.e., the PKI keys are stored on the server)
However, Tsai et al do not but in analogous art, Adams (US 20220103369 A1) teaches: encrypting, by the registration computer processor, the private key with a password of a user of a user computer having the user computer processor; (Adams: ¶158-¶160, i.e., user’s password is used to encrypt/decrypt the private key) and decrypting, by the registration computer processor, the private key with the password, wherein the decryption of the private key causes the registration computer processor to decrypt the first data element. (Adams: ¶158-¶160, i.e., user’s password is used to encrypt/decrypt the private key)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsai to include using a user’s password to encrypt/decrypt private key as taught by Adams with the motivation to protect the key (Adams: ¶158-¶160)
As regards claim 6, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the representation of the generated work includes at least one of: an image of a sample of the generated work; a unique identifier; and a licensed identifier. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43)
As regards claim 7, Tsai discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating, by the registration computer processor, a hash of data of the registration; and (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43) recording, by the registration computer processor, the hash in a ledger that is coped to a plurality of nodes. (Tsai: Figs. 1-7, ¶31-¶43)
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected. Claim recites allowable subject matter: “transmitting, by the registration computer processor of the registration computer, the licensed identifier to a remote data computer system, wherein the remote data computer system uses the licensed identifier to determine an occurrence of the licensed identifier in a data store and transmits the occurrence to the registration computer if the occurrence exists in the data store; receiving, by the registration computer processor of the registration computer, the occurrence from the remote data computer system; and executing, by the registration computer processor of the registration computer, a compensation routine based on the occurrence” not taught by prior art taken alone or in combination. Claim would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the respective base claims and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SYED A ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432