Status of Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 2/20/25 has been entered. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kershbaumer (US 20210074119 A1), in view of Kolls (US 7464867 B1).
Re-claim 1, Kershbaumer teaches --A mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines, comprising:
-a housing enclosing logic and control circuitry; wherein the logic and control circuitry comprises: communication circuitry operable to communicate over a wireless network;
-input/output circuitry operable to interface with and communicate with a gaming machine in which the mobile payment and monitoring device is installed; and
(see e.g. [0062] Payment device 330 may be any suitable device for accepting and processing wireless payments such as, for example, payments made via a smart device (e.g., smartphone). Payment device 330 may be an electronic payment device. Payment device 330 may run software for processing electronic payments via wireless networks for facilitating payment to automated machines (e.g., machine 305). For example, payment device 330 may include a transceiver for wirelessly communicating (e.g., via Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, Near Field communication, and/or any other suitable method) with mobile devices such as smartphones or smart tablets to make payments. Payment device 330 may be electrically connected to (e.g., installed in) machine 305 to allow users to make credit card payments to utilize machine 305. Payment device 330 may include a relay board and any other suitable components for facilitating wireless payments.)
[0084] In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed method may include providing an operation assembly (e.g., operation assembly 315) of a game machine, connecting an electric relay (e.g., relay 325) to the operation assembly, connecting a tracking device (e.g., tracking device 335) to the electric relay, connecting an electronic payment device (e.g., payment device 330) to the electric relay, )
-a processor, a memory device, and a storage device, wherein the memory device has stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform operations comprising:
-receiving, from a third-party mobile payment service, payment authorization transmitted over the Internet; -activating the gaming machine in response to the received payment authorization;
(see e. g. [0155] A user may activate the system based on using a mobile device (e.g., mobile application) or other suitable device to activate payment device 965 for example as described herein. For example, the user may use a mobile device to provide payment to payment device 965 to activate the timing circuit of system 900 (e.g., as illustrated in FIG. 17) without involving or using mechanical payment (e.g., coin or cash payment).
[0076] For example when a user initiates the operation for example as described above (e.g., via wireless commands provided to a smartphone or similar device), payment device 330 may emit an electrical pulse to operation assembly 315 to perform a desired operation (e.g., dropping pool balls), which may also be received by tracking device 335 either directly or via relay 325 (e.g., and/or operation assembly 315).
-storing information related to the
(see e.g. [0063] Tracking device 335 may include a storage medium for storing data of measurements or counts of an operation of components of system 300 such as described herein
[0141] . Tracking device 335 and/or the tracking device of the exemplary disclosed display assembly (e.g., display assembly 320, display assembly 520, or display assembly 620) may track or count each time actuator 550 is actuated to operate operation assembly 315 (e.g., to drop balls).
-monitoring and periodically storing machine operational data and performance information in the storage.
(see e.g. [0079] . Data measured and stored by any desired number of tracking systems 310 regarding any desired number of machines 305 may be combined, analyzed, and/or processed by system 300 as desired. For example, data from one or more tracking systems 310 may be processed by system 300 to provide analysis results for one or more machines 305 such as number of operations, time of machine use, revenue, and/or other data by machine 305, location, and/or any other desired parameter. )
Kershbaumer does not teach the following limitation.
However, Kolls teaches --storing information related to the payment authorization in the storage device; and
(see e.g. col. 32, lines 4-14 --In addition, the payment identification data can be utilized to authorize the use of and payment for goods and services vended from vending equipment interconnected with system 500. Such payment identification data can be locally authorized at the system 500, and or remotely authorized at a remote data processing resource or other remote locations. In addition, the payment identification data may be retained at the system 500 and utilized in the local authorization databases to authorize a user presenting the same payment identification data for subsequent cashless transactions.)
Kolls also teach ---receiving, from a third-party mobile payment service, payment authorization transmitted over the Internet;
(see e.g. col. 88, lines 1-6 --- In an exemplary embodiment system 500 accepts user payment identification data, card data, or other user cashless vending data to initiate a cashless vending transaction. The system 500 authorizes the user's ID and upon determining that the ID is authorized transacts a cashless vending transaction between the user and vending equipment. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kershbaumer, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Kolls, in order to utilize in the local authorization databases to authorize a user presenting the same payment identification data for subsequent cashless transactions and also reduce authorization time (col. 32, lines 11-14; col. 81, lines 5-7).
Re-claim 2, Kershbaumer teaches --The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 1, wherein the memory device has further stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform further operations comprising:
-detecting payments received from payment mechanisms installed in the gaming machine, wherein the payment mechanisms comprise currency bill mechanisms, coin mechanisms, token mechanisms, credit card payment mechanisms, or combinations thereof;
(see e.g. [0137] A user (e.g., a player) may insert bills or coins (e.g., quarters) or use an app to pay and to drop pool balls to play (e.g., via an operation of operation assembly 315).
[0096] For example, when a player inserts quarters or uses an app to pay as described for example above, vending Challenger LED 1 may light up solid.
[0075] If system 300 determines that the operation (e.g., of operation assembly 315) has been initiated by mechanical credit, process 400 may proceed to step 420. At step 420, tracking device 335 may receive a pulse from operation assembly 315. For example when a user inserts coins or currency into operation assembly 315 and actuates operation assembly 315, operation assembly 315 may perform a desired operation (e.g., dropping pool balls) and emit an electrical pulse as described for example above (e.g., to tracking device 335 either directly or via relay 325).
-counting and categorizing the detected payment types and values; and
(see e.g. 0075] If system 300 determines that the operation (e.g., of operation assembly 315) has been initiated by mechanical credit, process 400 may proceed to step 420.
[0076] If system 300 determines that the operation (e.g., of operation assembly 315) has been initiated by App credit, process 400 may proceed to step 425. --- Tracking device 335 may measure (e.g., “count”) and record data regarding the operation of operation assembly 315 (e.g., regarding any desired attribute such as the exemplary attributes described above) and/or payment device 330.
[0070] The tracking device may be a 12 volt DC coin counter. The tracking device may be a pool table tracking device or an automated teller machine tracking device.)
Kershbaumer does not teach the following limitation.
However, Kolls teaches -storing information related to the detected payments from the payment mechanisms installed in the gaming machine in the storage device.
Kolls
(see e.g. col. 32, lines 4-14 --In addition, the payment identification data can be utilized to authorize the use of and payment for goods and services vended from vending equipment interconnected with system 500. Such payment identification data can be locally authorized at the system 500, and or remotely authorized at a remote data processing resource or other remote locations. In addition, the payment identification data may be retained at the system 500 and utilized in the local authorization databases to authorize a user presenting the same payment identification data for subsequent cashless transactions.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kershbaumer, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Kolls, in order to utilize in the local authorization databases to authorize a user presenting the same payment identification data for subsequent cashless transactions. (see e.g. col. 32, lines 11-14).
Re-claims 3, 4, Kershbaumer teaches --The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 2, wherein the memory device has further stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform further operations comprising: detecting whether an active Internet connection is available via the communication circuitry; and if an active Internet connection is not detected, storing transaction information received from the credit card payment mechanism in the storage for later processing.
4. The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 3, wherein the memory device has further stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform further operations comprising: upon detection of an active Internet connection, processing stored payment transactions.
(see e.g. [0177] While such components/modules are offline, and the data they generated will then be transmitted to the relevant other parts of the system once the offline component/module comes again online with the rest of the network (or a relevant part thereof). According to an embodiment of the present disclosure, some of the applications of the present disclosure may not be accessible when not connected to a network, however a user or a module/component of the system itself may be able to compose data offline from the remainder of the system that will be consumed by the system or its other components when the user/offline system component or module is later connected to the system network.).
Re-claim 5, Kershbaumer teaches The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 1, wherein the memory device has further stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform further operations comprising:
--detecting items dispensed from the gaming machine; counting and categorizing the items dispenses; and storing information related to the dispensed items in the storage.
(see e.g. [0057] In at least some exemplary embodiments and as illustrated in FIG. 1, an exemplary system 300 may include a machine 305 and a tracking system 310. Tracking system 310 may track a use (e.g., machine use) of machine 305. For example, tracking system 310 may track a number of times and/or a length of time machine 305 is used, an amount of money paid to machine 305 (e.g., by coin, currency, or electronic payment as described for example herein), an amount of material or goods dispensed by machine 305, and/or any other suitable measure of an operation of machine 305. Tracking system 310 may be disposed within and/or on machine 305. In at least some exemplary embodiments, tracking system 310 may be disposed partially or substantially entirely within machine 305.).
Re-claim 6, Kershbaumer teaches The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 1, wherein the detected items comprise tickets, prizes, products, coins, tokens, or combinations thereof.
(see e.g. [0067] Display assembly 320 may be any suitable assembly or device for displaying information to users of system 300 (e.g., game players when machine 305 is a game, users when machine 305 dispenses goods, material, or currency, or any other suitable user).
[0059] For example, a user may insert coins into operation assembly 315 and push a component in or out to insert the coins into machine 305, which may cause operation assembly 315 to operate (e.g., drop pool balls, provide a material, product, or good, allow a user to operate machine 305, and/or any other suitable operation)
Re-claim 7, Kershbaumer teaches --The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 1, wherein the memory device has further stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform further operations comprising:
--detecting an attempt to connect to the device over the wireless network;
--presenting a user interface to a user attempting to connect to the device;
[0088] In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary disclosed system, method, and apparatus may provide output and receive input from a system operator, a location owner of machine 305 (e.g., bar owner), and/or players via any suitable user interface as described for example herein. For example, users may access the system using a smartphone app. In at least some exemplary embodiments, the exemplary component or application (e.g., Pay Range) may use an internet connection via a mobile phone to operate (e.g., and/or any other suitable network connection as described for example below.)
--authorizing the user's credentials and granting access to the device;
(see e.g. [0182] For instance, a user of a mobile device 801 may be able to connect to application server 802. Application server 802 may be able to enhance or otherwise provide additional services to the user by requesting and receiving information from one or more of an external content provider API/website or other third party system 803, a constituent data service 804, one or more additional data services 805 or any combination thereof. Additionally, application server 802 may be able to enhance or otherwise provide additional services to an external content provider API/website or other third party system 803, a constituent data service 804, one or more additional data services 805 by providing information to those entities that is stored on a database that is connected to the application server 802. )
Kershbaumer, in view of Koll, do not explicitly teach--retrieving stored transactional and machine operational information to the user in response to user queries.
However, it is considered an obvious variation of both Kershbaumer, and Koll, since they teach storing operational information and transactional information respectively. Furthermore, Koll specifically teach the transactional information is used in subsequent transaction.
Re-claim 8, Kershbaumer teaches --The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 7, wherein the memory device has further stored thereon executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the mobile payment and monitoring device to perform further operations comprising: presenting financial and inventory reports in predetermined formats to the user.
(see e.g. [0140] an owner of machine 305 may generate and track revenue from tournament play, including greens fee tournaments or any other suitable type of tournament)
[0166] Display assembly 1205 may also include a game counter 1220 that may display a number of games that have been played (e.g., for example a number of games that have been played during a predetermined time period such as free play or league play).
Furthermore, Kershbaumer teaches -- Applications in the server 203 may retrieve and manipulate information in storage devices and exchange information through a WAN 201 (e.g., the Internet). Applications in server 203 may also be used to manipulate information stored remotely and process and analyze data stored remotely across a WAN 201 (e.g., the Internet). (see e.g. [0178]).
The Examiner notes since each machine may have a different owner, it is possible that each piece of information analyzed and manipulated by the server may be outputted in a different format.
Re-claim 9, Kershbaumer teaches --The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 1, wherein activating the machine comprises
storing a dollar value of credit on the machine;
transmitting signals to the machine simulating the signals generated by coin, bill, or token mechanisms; or combinations thereof.
(see e.g. claim 1 ---wherein the operation assembly performs an operation when the electrical pulse is transferred to the tracking device; and wherein the operation includes activating one or more actuators to move the operation assembly that is a structural member.
[0097] Money or an app may cause operation assembly 315 to activate to cause pool balls to drop. The Challenger LED 1 light may light up solid. ).
Re-claim 10, Kershbaumer teaches -- The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 9, wherein the signals simulating the signals of coin, bill or token mechanisms comprises voltage levels, current levels, pulse width signals, or combinations thereof.
(see e.g. [0063] Tracking device 335 may receive and/or emit electrical pulses to or from other suitable components of tracking system 310 and/or machine 305. For example, tracking device 335 may receive and/or emit DC electrical pulses (e.g., 5 volt, 12 volt, 24 volt, or any other desired voltage). Tracking device 335 may count or measure an operation of operation assembly 315, payment device 330, and/or any other desired component of system 300 based on receiving and/or emitting pulses, and thereby track or measure an operation of one or more machines 305.) .
Claim 14 recites similar limitations as claims 1 and 4, and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 15 recites similar limitations as claim 2 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 16 recites similar limitations as claim 3 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 17 recites similar limitations as claim 4 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 18 recites similar limitations as claims 5 and 6 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 19 recites similar limitations as claim 7 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 20 recites similar limitations as claim 8 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kershbaumer (US 20210074119 A1), in view of Kolls (US 7464867 B1), in further view of Blad et al. (US 20020063035 A1).
Re-claims 11-13 Kershbaumer, in view of Kolls, do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, Blad et al. teach --11. The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 1, further comprising a unique device identifier allowing the device to be associated with the gaming machine. 12. The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 11, wherein the unique device identifier is a QR code, a barcode, or other unique code to allow an owner or operator of the machine to identify and correlate a particular gaming machine to the device.
13. The mobile payment and monitoring device for gaming machines of claim 11, wherein the unique device identifier is used to install and initialize the device for use with a gaming machine.
(see e.g. [0052] The currency container ID is considered permanent data and remains constant throughout the service life of the currency container 100. After currency container 100 has been initialized, it may be installed in any compatible gaming machine, step 202, in a manner well known to service personnel in gaming casinos. -- Assuming that memory device 102 has been properly initialized, ID/DU 112 writes the identification code for the gaming machine (not shown) into which currency container 100 has just been inserted, step 206
claim 20 - a unique ID of said currency container,
[0015] Accepted currencies are stored in removable currency containers within individual gaming machines, each container having a non-volatile memory chip attached for storing such information as a unique container ID, the ID of the gaming machine into which the currency container has been inserted, the date and time the current "valid life cycle" began, an audit trail of where the container has been, and other such information.
[0064] When the presence of a currency container 100 is sensed, controller 360 attempts to establish communications with the newly-added currency container 100, step 404.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Kershbaumer, in view of Kolls, and include the steps cited above, as taught by Blad et al. in order to provide a complete audit trail, tracking a currency container through a facility having vending or gaming machines, (see e.g. [0015]).
Conclusion
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
June 19, 2026