DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al (Pub 2019/0386522, further referred to as Park).
As to claim 1, Park teaches a power transmission apparatus comprising (figs 2 and 12):
a power transmission unit (200a) configured to wirelessly transmit power to a power reception apparatus (200b);
a negotiation unit (630 and 640) configured to negotiate with the power reception apparatus (paragraphs 222-224);
a processing unit (610) configured to execute, calibration for foreign object detection (S1201, paragraph 364) processing that is based on a power loss (paragraphs 57, 174, 175) and execute foreign object detection processing (paragraph 365);
wherein the negotiation unit limits negotiable power (power outputted is fixed, paragraph 379) in an absence of a successfully completed calibration (S1202 detected foreign object, and FOD detection is completed) after a Power Transfer phase is started (s1212, paragraph 382).
As to claim 2, Park teaches the negotiation unit limits the negotiable power in a case where a timeout has occurred (paragraph 187)
As to claim 4, Park teaches calibration is executed based on received power obtained from the power reception apparatus and a transmission power (paragraphs 240 and 241)
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ettes et al (Pub 2021/0218282, further referred to as Ettes)
As to claim 5, Ettes teaches a method performed by a power transmission apparatus comprising (figs 2 and 7):
executing a calibration for foreign object detection processing that is based on a power loss (paragraphs 14);
wirelessly transmitting power to a power reception apparatus in a power transfer phase (paragraph 97);
executing the foreign object detection processing in the power transfer phase (paragraphs 107-110, FOD is done throughout the charging session just at a lower power); and
limiting negotiable power in an absence of a successfully completed calibration after a power transfer phase is started (paragraph 84, reduce maximum power if FOD is detected).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
None of the cited prior art teaches or suggest setting the power limit wherein information for the calibration isn’t received in a predetermined time.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY M SHIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2849