Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sung et al. US 2007/0199283 (hereinafter Sung).
Regarding claim 1, Sung discloses a multifunctional sealing machine (vacuum sealer V; figs 1-3; par 0048), comprising a base (lower body 10), a cover body (upper body 20) and an air extraction mechanism (vacuum pump 40; figs.11-12; par 0053), when the base (10) and the cover body (20) being in a combined state, an air extraction chamber being formed between the base and the cover body (par 0050; Vacuum channels C and C’ provide the end which is evacuated when the upper body 20 pivots to closed lower body 10), the air extraction chamber being in communication with a first air inlet (par 0022-0023; par 0077) of the air extraction mechanism (40) in the base (10), and the base and the cover body cooperating to clamp an object to be air extracted which extends into the air extraction chamber (par 0050; 10 and 20 pivot to clamp a bag/object to be evacuated and sealed),
wherein the multifunctional sealing machine further comprises a connector for external air extraction connection (auxiliary connector 80), the connector is movably connected to the base (connected to the base 10 by pump nozzle 241 which is fitted to nozzle 51a; par 0088-0092), a cavity channel in communication with an air inlet end of the air extraction mechanism is provided on the base (fitting 84; par 0093), and a second air inlet of the cavity channel is located at the position where the connector is connected with the base (at pump nozzle 241; fig.25); and the connector is provided with a first air outlet and a third air inlet in communication with an inner channel of the connector (connector 80 has a check valve as a vacuum release means interpreted as a third air inlet; par 0102-0103), and a position of the connector (80) is adjusted relative to the base (10) so that the first air outlet of the connector corresponds to the second air inlet of the cavity channel so as to be in a communication state or misaligned to disconnect communication (par 0102-0108; which describes how the vacuum sealer works incorporating the universal connector for external air extraction).
Regarding claim 2, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, wherein the connector (80) is pivotally connected at an end face of an end portion of the base (10) and the first air outlet is located at a peripheral wall of the connector; the second air inlet located in the cavity channel is provided at a side wall of a mounting groove at the end face of the end portion of the base for mounting the connector; and the connector is rotated relative to the base so that the first air outlet of the connector corresponds to or is misaligned with the second air inlet of the cavity channel (par 0077; 0079; “exhaust hole 51A, and is thus coupled to the vacuum space R. The other coupling part is coupled to the third tube T3, forming the air inlet part IF of the vacuum release means F. As shown in FIG. 12, the third tube is coupled to an air inlet hole 1F1 of the air inlet part 1F. The air inlet hole of the drawing is formed in the lower body”).
Regarding claim 3, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 2, wherein the multifunctional sealing machine further comprises an elastic adapter (fitting 84), the elastic adapter comprises a transverse portion and a longitudinal portion (flange portion and elongated portion connecting the external connector), a channel in the transverse portion is in communication with a channel in the longitudinal portion (flexible hose that goes between external sealer and base of the body of the vacuum sealer), an end portion of the longitudinal portion is located in the second air inlet of the cavity channel, the transverse portion is sleeved on a tail end of the connector (par 0077-0079), and the connector is rotated relative to the elastic adapter so that the first air outlet corresponds to
or is misaligned with a channel inlet in the longitudinal portion (if connector is rotated and misaligned the vacuum pressure is released).
Regarding claim 4, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 3, wherein the connector comprises a cylindrical main body and a insertion post located at a tail end of the main body (connector 80 has fitting 84), a diameter of the insertion post is less than a diameter of the main body (tapered to fit as seen in figure 25), a channel in the insertion post is in communication with a channel in the main body par 0102-0103), the longitudinal portion in the elastic adapter (flexible hose connected fitting 84 and connector 80) is sleeved on the insertion post, and the first air outlet port in communication with the channel in the insertion post is arranged at a peripheral wall of the insertion post; and a limiting plate (flange of 84) is provided on the main body or the insertion post, a limiting block is provided in the base, and the limiting block is located on a rotation path of the limiting plate to limit a
rotation amplitude thereof (fig.25; par 0077-0079l par 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 5, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, wherein the second air outlet of the cavity channel (C,C’)is located at a cavity wall (fig.12) of the air extraction chamber (50) to communicate the cavity channel with the air extraction chamber (par 078).
Regarding claim 10, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, wherein the connector is slidably connected to the base, and the connector is moved back and forth relative to the base so that the first air outlet of the connector corresponds to or is misaligned with the second air inlet of the cavity channel (par 0077; 0079; “exhaust hole 51A, and is thus coupled to the vacuum space R. The other coupling part is coupled to the third tube T3, forming the air inlet part IF of the vacuum release means F” where if the connector is removed, or misaligned the first air outlet is no longer in communication with the second air inlet).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. US 2007/0199283 in view of Liu USPN 12,338,020.
Regarding claims 6-7, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, but fails to explicitly teach wherein the multifunctional sealing machine further comprises a water storage tank, a slot is provided on the base, and the water storage tank is inserted into the slot; an inlet pipe of the water storage tank protrudes from a bottom surface of the base; the inlet pipe of the water storage tank is located in the air extraction chamber when the cover body is combined with the base; and an outlet pipe of the water storage tank is in communication with the first air inlet of the air extraction mechanism. wherein an outlet pipe head end and an inlet pipe head end of the water storage tank are located at a same surface of a tank body of the water storage tank, and a water discharge port is provided at a tank surface of the water storage tank between the outlet pipe head end and the inlet pipe head end of the water storage tank; a sealing plug is provided at the water discharge port; and an outlet pipe tail end and an inlet pipe
tail end both extend into a tank body cavity in the water storage tank, and a baffle is provided
around the inlet pipe tail end.
However Liu teaches a multifunctional vacuum air extraction device comprising a water storage tank 136, inserted into slot of convex part 137;fig.3. and communicating hole 135, and air extraction chamber 13, “ the inner convex part 137 and an inner wall of the vacuum sucker 13 jointly form a water storage tank body 136 for storing a certain amount of the condensed water; a blocking block 138 for blocking air from flowing upwards quickly is further arranged on an upper side of the inner convex part 137; a communicating hole 135 communicating with the annular groove body 134 is formed in the air circulation channel 133 of the vacuum sucker 13; and air flows into the annular groove body 134 through the communicating hole 135 from the air circulation channel 133”col.6 lines 40-67). Further vacuum extraction connector 115 regulates the connection between the vacuum air extractor and the container being vacuum sealed acting a baffle controlling the flow, additionally, block 138 blocks air from flowing upwards and communicates with annular groove body 134 to control the flow and the water storage tank 136.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the multifunctional sealing device as taught by Sung with the water storage tank and flow control as taught by Liu, to easily vacuum seal and be able to store a variety of types of containers.
Regarding claim 11, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, wherein Sung further teaches the base (10) comprises an upper portion (detachable member 50; fig.3) and a lower portion which are connected by insertion (par 0053); a control board (control unit/control board CB on which a microprocessor is mounted; par 0079), a pressure sensor and the air extraction mechanism are provided at a surface of the lower portion facing the upper portion (when the pressure value in the vacuum space R detected by the pressure sensor exceeds a reference value the microprocessor determines to stop or continue operation; par 0079); the cover body (20) is pivotally connected at an edge side of a bottom surface of the lower portion (fig.2), a recess is provided at a surface of the cover body facing the base, and a first sealing strip is provided around a notch of the recess; a second sealing strip is provided at a surface
of the first sealing strip corresponding to the base (sealing member 55 and 56 seal during pressure between movement of the cover 20 and the base 10 surrounding a channel C or recess); in the combined state of the cover body and the base, the first sealing strip abuts against the second sealing strip (first and second sealing strips 55,56; par 0079), a heating mechanism (heater 30) for sealing is provided in a ring mouth surrounded by the second sealing strip (fig.11; par 0047-0048), and control keys are provided at a top surface of the upper portion (actuating buttons 40a,40b; par 0065); the heating mechanism (30), the air extraction mechanism (40), the control keys (40,ab) and the pressure sensor are all connected with the control board, and the pressure sensor is configured to detect pressure of the air extraction chamber; and when the pressure exceeds a set pressure, the control board stops action of the air extraction mechanism (when the pressure value in the vacuum space R detected by the pressure sensor exceeds a reference value the microprocessor determines to stop or continue operation; par 0079).
Sung discloses a control unit but fails to explicitly disclose a battery for operating use.
However Liu teaches a multifunctional sealing tool that uses battery power for operation (rechargeable battery assembly 157; col.7 lines 45-50).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the Sealing device as taught by Sung with the power provided using a battery as disclosed by Liu as a simple substitution between types of powered operating devices with the motivation that a battery operated tool allows for greater flexibility in where the device is used since it does not need to be plugged into an outlet.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. US 2007/0199283 in view of Fehr et al. US 2026/0117924 (hereinafter Fehr. Filing date 10/24/2024).
Regarding claim 8, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, but fails to teach wherein a magnetic attraction member is provided on the cover body or the base, and the sealing machine is suspended by magnetic attraction between the magnetic attraction member and the object to be mounted.
However Fehr teaches an adjustable magnetic universal mount (101) for use with small appliances or other items to magnetically mounted to a surface (par 0014).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the vacuum sealing device as taught by Sung with the magnetic mounting ability as taught by using the magnetic mount of Fehr in order to easily mount a variety of items wherever it is needed to attach such as refrigerators (Fehr par 0015).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung et al. US 2007/0199283 in view of Sung US 2005/0050860.
Regarding claim 9, Sung discloses the multifunctional sealing machine according to claim 1, wherein Sung further teaches a placement groove is provided at an upper edge side of a surface of the base facing the cover body (channel C), but fails to explicitly teach a cutter is inserted into the placement groove.
However Sung 860’ teaches a vacuum packaging machine and system comprising a cutter 36 for cutting the vacuum packaging bag 50 along slot 36a’ par 0091; fig.2.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the vacuum sealer as taught by Sung 283’ with the cutter as taught by Sung 860’ in order to easily adjust the size of the vacuum bag for whatever item is being sealed into a pouch.
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731