DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: “patten” in line 11 should be --pattern--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the wireless equipment" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 3-7 depend on claim 2; therefore, they suffer the same deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mathews (US 20130272223 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, Mathews discloses a method and system to control wireless node (commissioned device 700 includes an optical sensor 701, Para. 58) by visible light flash pattern recognition, comprising following steps:
S1: flashing and illuminating, through a light-emitting device, a photo sensor on a wireless device according to a preset frequency or coding way (the commissioned device 700 includes an optical sensor 701 that is employed as a transducer to receive WLAN configuration data packets which are transmitted over an optical channel 709 by a commissioning device, Para. 58);
S2: continuously reading, through the wireless device, sample data from the photo sensor, and based on the sample data, decoding a flash frequency or coding way of the light-emitting device (The demodulator 702 may employ accurate timebase data to sample the transmission at a higher rate than the original timebase 604 used by the modulator 605 of FIG. 6, Para. 58);
S3: entering, through the wireless device, different states or carries out operations corresponding to the coding way according to a result data gained by decoding (The commissioning messages provide the WLAN configuration data 706, which is used by the product to join the WLAN, Para. 58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathews, and further in view of Fujita (US 6288455 B1).
Regarding claim 2, 9, Mathews discloses wherein the step S2 further comprises following steps: S21: continuously reading, through the wireless equipment, readouts of the photo sensor; S22: according to readout variations by the photo sensor, calculating an artificial visible light flash frequency and outputting it to a follow-up recognition process flow (The output of the demodulator 702 is then sent to clock recovery 704. The clock recovery utilizes the line coding added by the transmitter to discover the original timebase used by the modulator 605. The clock recovery 704 then discards any extra samples and removes the line coding. The output of clock recovery 704 is then sent to an FEC decoder 705 which corrects any errors found in the transmission and recovers one or more commissioning messages, Para. 58).
Mathews fails to disclose the step of powering on the wireless equipment first.
Fujita teaches a device’s power supply can be turned on by receiving an optical signal (col. 6, lines 13-19).
From the teachings of Fujita, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews to include the step of powering on the wireless equipment first in order to receive additional optical communications to allow configuration of the wireless device.
Regarding claim 3, Mathews discloses wherein in the step S21, analyzing a proportional change of the readouts of the photo sensor or an absolute value change exceeding to a certain threshold to determine whether it is an artificial visible light flash; if it is, then carrying out the step S22 (Operationally, the microcontroller 401 includes processing circuits that are employed to format and configure WLAN configuration packets which are optically transmitted by the camera flash 407 by modulating the flash 407 on and off to transmit the packets according to any well known communication protocol or via a proprietary protocol, Para. 29);
if not, returning to the step S21 (via light received not according to a communication protocol or proprietary protocol, Para. 49).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mathews, and further in view of Sadwick (US 20190013960 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Mathews and Fujita teach The method to control wireless node by visible light flash pattern recognition according to claim 3, wherein the step S3 comprises following steps:
S31: powering on the wireless device to initialize a pattern recognition state machine and continuously reading out the currently read by the photo sensor (via optical signal to power on device, see rejection of claim 2 above);
S32: determining whether it is the artificial visible light flash (light received according to a communication protocol or proprietary protocol, Para. 49); if it is, calculating frequency and time and updating the pattern recognition state machine, then returning to the step S31 (The output of the demodulator 702 is then sent to clock recovery 704. The clock recovery utilizes the line coding added by the transmitter to discover the original timebase used by the modulator 605. The clock recovery 704 then discards any extra samples and removes the line coding. The output of clock recovery 704 is then sent to an FEC decoder 705 which corrects any errors found in the transmission and recovers one or more commissioning messages, Para. 58 of Mathews).
Mathews and Fujita fail to disclose if not, matching a corresponding pattern in accordance with a condition of the pattern recognition state machine and carrying out a next step; S33: determining whether the pattern recognition state machine matches any preset pattern; if yes, carrying out operations corresponding to a matched pattern or entering a corresponding state; if not, resetting to the pattern recognition state machine and returning to the step S31.
Sadwick teaches a wireless device sending optical commands and recognizing the optical commands at an electronic device to allow remote preset operations of the electronic device (an infrared LED that can output commands the devices recognize, Para. 45, 118).
From the teachings of Sadwick, it would have been obvious to try to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mathews and Fujita to include if not, matching a corresponding pattern in accordance with a condition of the pattern recognition state machine and carrying out a next step; S33: determining whether the pattern recognition state machine matches any preset pattern; if yes, carrying out operations corresponding to a matched pattern or entering a corresponding state; if not, resetting to the pattern recognition state machine and returning to the step S31 in order to allow remote control or not of the wireless device based on result of recognition of the optical commands.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7 and 10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/YONG HANG JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689