DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Applicants’ filing of February 20, 2025. Claims 1-10 are presented for examination, with Claim 1 being the only one in independent form.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on January 20, 2026 and May 24, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2016-127705A (“Masuda”), machine translation provided herewith, pinpoint citations are to the translation.
Regarding Claim 1, Masuda discloses a lighting device driving power supply capable of forming dual closed loops (6 in Figs. 10A-B; [0061]-[0063]; [0101]-[0107]; double closed loops i105-106 and i107-108), comprising:
a rectification module connected to a power grid ([0006], lines 8-11; Fig. 13);
a first energy storage module connected to the rectification module (61);
a second energy storage module connected to the rectification module (63, 64), the first energy storage module (61), and a light source (3);
a switch module connected to the rectification module (62), the first energy storage module (61), and the second energy storage module (63, 64);and
a third energy storage module (66) connected to the first energy storage module (61), the second energy storage module (63, 64), the switch module (62), and the light source (3);
wherein when the switch module is turned on (62 in Fig. 10A), the rectification module receives an input voltage from the power grid to output a rectified voltage to drive the light source ([0006], lines 8-11) and charge the first energy storage module (61), the second energy storage module (63, 64), and the third energy storage module (66; all charged via i105-106 in Fig. 10A), wherein when the switch module is turned off (62 in Fig. 10B), the first energy storage module (61) and the second energy storage module (63, 64) form a first closed loop (i107 in Fig. 10B), while the third energy storage module (66) and the light source (3) form a second closed loop (i108 in Fig. 10B).
Regarding Claim 2, Masuda further discloses wherein when the switch module is turned off (62 in Fig. 10B; [0063]), the first energy storage module discharges to generate a first current (61), and the first current charges the second energy storage module (63, 64) and forms the first closed loop (i107), and the third energy storage module discharges to generate a second current (66), and the second current passes through the light source (3) and forms the second closed loop (i108).
Regarding Claim 3, Masuda further discloses wherein the first energy storage module comprises a first inductor (61 in Figs. 10A-B).
Regarding Claim 4, Masuda further discloses wherein the second energy storage module comprises a first capacitor (63, 64 in Figs. 10A-B).
Regarding Claim 5, Masuda further discloses wherein the third energy storage module comprises a second inductor (66 in Figs. 10A-B).
Regarding Claim 6, Masuda further discloses wherein the light source is a light-emitting diode or a light-emitting diode array (3 in Figs. 10A-B; [0036]).
Regarding Claim 7, Masuda further discloses a voltage stabilization module connected to the light source in parallel (67 in Figs. 10A-B).
Regarding Claim 8, Masuda further discloses wherein the voltage stabilization module comprises a second capacitor (67 in Figs. 10A-B).
Regarding Claim 9, Masuda further discloses wherein the switch module is a metal-oxide-semiconductor field-effect transistor or a bipolar junction transistor ([0022]).
Regarding Claim 10, Masuda further discloses wherein the rectification module is a bridge rectifier ([0006], lines 8-11; Fig. 13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Publication No. 2018/0368225 (“Chou”) relates to a LED power supply device.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0169176 (“Pan”) relates to a non-isolated AC/DC converter with power factor correction.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0115926 (“Song”) relates to a power supply device.
U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0263627 (“Sagneri”) relates to a multi-path power factor correction power converter.
/PEDRO C FERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/ALEXANDER H TANINGCO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845