Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, US PGPUB 20190302457 in view of Minei et al., US PGPUB 20200269694 hereinafter referenced as Minei.
As to claim 1, Kim discloses a pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display, comprising: a head-up display provided in a cockpit of a vehicle (e.g., head-up display 1, fig. 1); and
a pseudo-combined portion configured to support a fixing member (e.g., combiner 50, fig. 1), the fixing member being configured to join the head-up display with an inner side of the cockpit, the pseudo- combined portion being affixed at a portion of the head-up display ([0078] Referring to FIGS. 1, 2 and 8 to 15, the holder section 400 in accordance with the embodiment of the present disclosure, which is coupled with the combiner 50 and is rotatably coupled to the moving section 200, includes a holder shaft 410, the holder body 420, holder rotating parts 430 and elastic members 440),
wherein the pseudo-combined portion comprises: a pseudo-combined member, pseudo-combined member being integrally provided on an outer side of the head-up display to join the fixing member with the head-up display ([0062] Referring to FIGS. 1, 2, 7 and 11 to 15, the tilt section 300 in accordance with the embodiment of the present disclosure, which is connected to the moving section 200 and linearly reciprocates on the moving section 200 by the rotation movement of the rotating section 600 to adjust the angle of the combiner 50, includes a tilt body 310 and pressing parts 320).
Kim does not specifically disclose a pseudo-combined portion configured to support a fixing member.
However, in the same endeavor, Minei discloses a pseudo-combined portion configured to support a fixing member ([0042] In the mounting structure according to the above aspect, a first cowl reinforcement and a second cowl reinforcement may be attached to the cowl panel, with the head-up display device interposed between the first cowl reinforcement and the second cowl reinforcement, on a rear side of the cowl panel in the vehicle front-rear direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Kim to further include Minei’s fixing mechanism in order to improve the resolution of the head-up display.
As to claim 2, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the fixing member is configured to maintain a state of being aligned with the pseudo- combined portion, based on a fixing force generated from the pseudo-combined member (Minei, [0052] A front windshield glass 18 is provided above the instrument panel 16. The front windshield glass 18 is supported by a cowl 20 provided forward of the instrument panel 16 so as to extend along substantially the entire region of the vehicle width).
As to claim 3, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined portion is provided on a lower case of the head-up display (Kim, [0070] As described above, the head-up display apparatus 1 for the vehicle in accordance with the embodiment of the present invention, which is configured such that the combiner C is tilted while the holder member 240 moves along the tilting guide member 260, allows the holder member 240 to be precisely moved, in comparison with a conventional head-up display apparatus for a vehicle tilted about a lower end of a combiner as a central axis, thus remarkably enhancing the resolution of the combiner C).
As to claim 4, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 3. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined portion includes a through hole defined therein, the through hole being configured to receive the fixing member in the lower case, and wherein the pseudo-combined portion further comprises a nut configured to generate a combining force by engaging with a portion of the fixing member received within the through hole (Minei, [0069] Although not shown, the upper case 68 is fixed to the lower case 70 via screws (connecting tools) 74 with connecting holes formed in the connecting piece 72 and connecting holes formed in the wall 70B of the lower case 70 aligned with each other).
As to claim 5, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is configured to partially protrude from an inner surface of the pseudo-combined portion in a direction of a central axis, wherein the pseudo-combined member is further configured to extend upward in a protruding shape in the direction of the central axis, and wherein the pseudo-combined member is configured to be snap-fit combined with the fixing member (Kim, [0007] Referring to FIG. 1, in the conventional combiner head-up display, a central axis AX about which the combiner M rotates is located at a lower end of the combiner M).
As to claim 6, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is provided at a position corresponding to the pseudo- combined portion on an upper case, the head-up display comprising a case including the upper case, and wherein the fixing member is received in the pseudo-combined member to be caught by the pseudo-combined member (Kim, [0124] The rail block 720 may be coupled to the upper side of the rail member 710 to be movable along the rail member 710).
As to claim 7, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 6. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is configured to be broken from the upper case due to a predetermined amount of an external force being applied from below to assemble the fixing member to the pseudo-combined portion (Kim, [0123] The rail member 710 may be in the shape of a rail, for example. The rail member 710 may be mounted on the bottom surface of the housing 100).
As to claim 8, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 7. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is disposed between the fixing member and the pseudo-combined portion to increase a combined strength of the fixing member on the pseudo-combined portion (Minei, [0042] In the mounting structure according to the above aspect, a first cowl reinforcement and a second cowl reinforcement may be attached to the cowl panel, with the head-up display device interposed between the first cowl reinforcement and the second cowl reinforcement, on a rear side of the cowl panel in the vehicle front-rear direction).
As to claim 9, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is disposed so that one side is in contact with a head of the fixing member and a second side is in contact with one surface of the pseudo-combined portion, and the pseudo-combined member is configured to align the fixing member on the pseudo-combined portion, based on an elastic deformation of the pseudo-combined member (Kim, [0070] As described above, the head-up display apparatus 1 for the vehicle in accordance with the embodiment of the present invention, which is configured such that the combiner C is tilted while the holder member 240 moves along the tilting guide member 260, allows the holder member 240 to be precisely moved, in comparison with a conventional head-up display apparatus for a vehicle tilted about a lower end of a combiner as a central axis, thus remarkably enhancing the resolution of the combiner C).
As to claim 10, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is configured to be provided into and combined with a portion of a thread of the fixing member, and wherein the pseudo-combined member is configured to be mounted on one side of the pseudo-combined portion, and to align the fixing member on the pseudo-combined portion (Kim, [0081] To be more specific, the tilting unit 500 may move along with the moving unit 300 in a first section of the interior space of the housing 100 as the driving unit 400 operates).
As to claim 11, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is formed in a discontinuous annular shape on an inner surface of a through hole defined in the pseudo-combined portion, and is configured to expand in a circumferential direction when fixed to the fixing member (Minei, [0069] The connecting piece 72 overlaps, from outside, an upper end 70B1 of the wall 70B of the lower case 70 in the vehicle up-down direction. Although not shown, the upper case 68 is fixed to the lower case 70 via screws (connecting tools) 74 with connecting holes formed in the connecting piece 72 and connecting holes formed in the wall 70B of the lower case 70 aligned with each other).
As to claim 12, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is provided on an upper case and is configured to be broken from the upper case due to an external force, and wherein, after breaking, the pseudo-combined member is disposed between the fixing member and the pseudo-combined portion to prevent the fixing member from damaging or wearing a surface of the pseudo-combined portion (Kim, [0080] The sliding member 510 may be moved by the driving unit 400 in the state where the moving unit 300 stops moving, and may cause the holder member 240 to be tilted as the external force acts on the holder member 240).
As to claim 13, the combination of Kim and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is a compression spring configured to generate a reaction force in a z-axis direction against a vertical force in the (-)z-axis direction, the vertical force being generated based on the self-weight of the fixing member (Kim, [0071] The elastic member 270 may be installed to elastically support the holder rotary member 220 and the holder member 240. If external force exerted on the holder member 240 is eliminated, the elastic member 270 may cause the holder member 240 to be restored to a position before it is tilted).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 6 of REMARKS that “A. Kim Fails to Disclose the Pseudo-Combined Member
Claim 1 requires a "pseudo-combined member... integrally provided on an outer side of the head-up display to join the fixing member with the head-up display." This feature relates to the external installation interface of the HUD to the vehicle.
The Office Action (p. 3) identifies the "tilt body 310" and "pressing parts 320" of Kim as the claimed "pseudo-combined member." However, Kim clearly describes the "tilt body 310" as a component that "linearly reciprocates... to adjust the angle of the combiner 50" (Kim at [0062]). The "tilt body" is an internal optical adjustment mechanism that moves the combiner glass.
This internal mechanism is not provided on an outer side of the display, nor does it perform the function of joining an external mounting bolt (fixing member) to the HUD. The Office has conflated the HUD's internal optical system with its external mounting system. A component that moves a glass screen inside the housing cannot reasonably be interpreted as a member that joins a mounting bolt to the housing for vehicle installation. The structures are distinct in location, function, and operation.
B. Minei Fails to Cure the Deficiency of Kim.
Minei is cited merely to show the general concept of mounting a HUD with screws. Minei does not disclose a "pseudo-combined member" that integrates with the fixing member to hold it on the housing. Therefore, the combination of Kim (unrelated internal mechanism) and Minei (loose screw mounting) fails to teach the claimed structural feature of a member that joins the fixing member to the HUD as a pre-assembly or alignment aid”.
In accordance with MPEP, “USPTO personnel to give the claims, as specifically recited, their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification.
For instant case, Applicant does not specify what pseudo-combined member exactly is. The only specification in the limitation is "pseudo-combined member... integrally provided on an outer side of the head-up display to join the fixing member with the head-up display."
Kim further discloses in paragraph [0054] that, “The tilting unit 500 may be slidably coupled to the moving unit 300, and may be coupled to the driving unit 400. As the tilting unit 500 is moved by the driving unit 400, it may tilt the combiner C with respect to an imaginary central axis P1 that is transverse to the combiner C”. The inventive concept relates to a head-up display apparatus for a vehicle, and more particularly, to a head-up display apparatus for a vehicle, which is capable of giving vehicle information to a user.
Minei also further discloses in paragraph [0052] that “A front windshield glass 18 is provided above the instrument panel 16. The front windshield glass 18 is supported by a cowl 20 provided forward of the instrument panel 16 so as to extend along substantially the entire region of the vehicle width, upper portions of the front pillars disposed at both ends of the vehicle 10 in the vehicle width direction, and a front header panel (not shown) provided on the upper side of the front pillars so as to extend along the vehicle width direction”. With broadest reasonable interpretation, the combined references disclose applicant’s claimed invention.
Therefore, the current 103 rejection is sustained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 4/6/2026