Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nisperos, US PGPUB 20160031052, in view of Minei et al., US PGPUB 20200269694 hereinafter referenced as Minei.
As to claim 1, Nisperos discloses a pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display, comprising: a head-up display provided in a cockpit of a vehicle (e.g., head-up displays 216 and 218),
the head-up display comprising a case (e.g., bracket 324, fig. 3); and
a pseudo-combined portion configured to support a fixing member, the fixing member being a bolt or screw configured to join the head-up display with an inner side of the cockpit, the pseudo-combined portion being affixed at a portion of an outer surface of the case of the head-up display (e.g., alignment adjusters 426, fig. 4; wherein In some illustrative examples, number of alignment adjusters 426 may be number of alignment screws 427),
wherein the pseudo-combined portion comprises: a pseudo-combined member, pseudo-combined member being integrally provided on the outer surface of the case of the head-up display and configured to hold the fixing member in an aligned state on the pseudo-combined portion prior to installation of the head-up display in the cockpit, thereby joining the fixing member with the head-up display for (As shown in fig. 12, second centering guide 1122 and bracket 1102 from within box 12-12 of FIG. 11 prior to positioning alignment tool 700 relative to bracket 1102).
Nisperos does not specifically disclose a pseudo-combined portion configured to support a fixing member.
However, in the same endeavor, Minei discloses a pseudo-combined portion configured to support a fixing member ([0042] In the mounting structure according to the above aspect, a first cowl reinforcement and a second cowl reinforcement may be attached to the cowl panel, with the head-up display device interposed between the first cowl reinforcement and the second cowl reinforcement, on a rear side of the cowl panel in the vehicle front-rear direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to modify the disclosure of Nisperos to further include Minei’s fixing mechanism in order to improve the flexibility of the head-up display.
As to claim 2, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the fixing member is configured to maintain a state of being aligned with the pseudo-combined portion, based on a fixing force generated from the pseudo- combined member (Minei, [0052] A front windshield glass 18 is provided above the instrument panel 16. The front windshield glass 18 is supported by a cowl 20 provided forward of the instrument panel 16 so as to extend along substantially the entire region of the vehicle width).
As to claim 3, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined portion is provided on a lower case of the head- up display (Minei, [0018] In the head-up display device of the above aspect, the casing of the head-up display device includes the upper case constituting the upper part of the casing and the lower case constituting the lower part of the casing).
As to claim 4, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 3. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined portion includes a through hole defined therein, the through hole being configured to receive the fixing member in the lower case, and wherein the pseudo-combined portion further comprises a nut configured to generate a combining force by engaging with a portion of the fixing member received within the through hole (Minei, [0069] Although not shown, the upper case 68 is fixed to the lower case 70 via screws (connecting tools) 74 with connecting holes formed in the connecting piece 72 and connecting holes formed in the wall 70B of the lower case 70 aligned with each other).
As to claim 5, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is configured to partially protrude from an inner surface of the pseudo-combined portion in a direction of a central axis, wherein the pseudo-combined member is further configured to extend upward in a protruding shape in the direction of the central axis, and wherein the pseudo-combined member is configured to be snap-fit combined with the fixing member (Nisperos, Fastener assembly 500 may maintain its alignment relative to the hole. Fastener assembly 500 may be installed with a longitudinal axis of fastener assembly 500 from about perpendicular to a bracket to up to about 8 degrees from perpendicular to a bracket).
As to claim 6, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is provided at a position corresponding to the pseudo-combined portion on an upper case, the head-up display comprising a case including the upper case, and wherein the fixing member is received in the pseudo-combined member to be caught by the pseudo-combined member (Nisperos, [0052] In attaching head-up display projector 215 and head-up display projector 217, individual variations of the aircraft are taken into account. In one illustrative example, head-up display projector 215 and head-up display projector 217 may each be attached to a respective bracket in cockpit 200).
As to claim 7, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 6. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is configured to be broken from the upper case due to a predetermined amount of an external force being applied from below to assemble the fixing member to the pseudo-combined portion (Nisperos, [0106] As can be seen from view 800, stop 802 is associated with first clamp 736. Stop 804 is associated with second clamp 738. Stop 802 and stop 804 may prevent first clamp 736 and second clamp 738, respectively, from rotating an undesirable amount).
As to claim 8, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 7. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is disposed between the fixing member and the pseudo-combined portion to increase a combined strength of the fixing member on the pseudo-combined portion (Minei, [0042] In the mounting structure according to the above aspect, a first cowl reinforcement and a second cowl reinforcement may be attached to the cowl panel, with the head-up display device interposed between the first cowl reinforcement and the second cowl reinforcement, on a rear side of the cowl panel in the vehicle front-rear direction).
As to claim 9, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is disposed so that one side is in contact with a head of the fixing member and a second side is in contact with one surface of the pseudo-combined portion, and the pseudo-combined member is configured to align the fixing member on the pseudo-combined portion, based on an elastic deformation of the pseudo-combined member (Nisperos, [0070] In these examples, prior to installation in mounting bracket 324, number of fastener assemblies 326 is associated with alignment tool 304).
As to claim 10, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is configured to be provided into and combined with a portion of a thread of the fixing member, and wherein the pseudo-combined member is configured to be mounted on one side of the pseudo-combined portion, and to align the fixing member on the pseudo-combined portion (Nisperos, [0070] In these examples, prior to installation in mounting bracket 324, number of fastener assemblies 326 is associated with alignment tool 304).
As to claim 11, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is formed in a discontinuous annular shape on an inner surface of a through hole defined in the pseudo-combined portion, and is configured to expand in a circumferential direction when fixed to the fixing member (Minei, [0069] The connecting piece 72 overlaps, from outside, an upper end 70B1 of the wall 70B of the lower case 70 in the vehicle up-down direction. Although not shown, the upper case 68 is fixed to the lower case 70 via screws (connecting tools) 74 with connecting holes formed in the connecting piece 72 and connecting holes formed in the wall 70B of the lower case 70 aligned with each other).
As to claim 12, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is provided on an upper case and is configured to be broken from the upper case due to an external force, and wherein, after breaking, the pseudo-combined member is disposed between the fixing member and the pseudo-combined portion to prevent the fixing member from damaging or wearing a surface of the pseudo-combined portion (Nisperos, As shown in fig. 12, second centering guide 1122 and bracket 1102 from within box 12-12 of FIG. 11 prior to positioning alignment tool 700 relative to bracket 1102).
As to claim 13, the combination of Nisperos and Minei discloses the pseudo-combined assisting apparatus for a head-up display of claim 1. The combination further discloses the pseudo-combined member is a compression spring configured to generate a reaction force in a z-axis direction against a vertical force in the (-)z-axis direction, the vertical force being generated based on the self-weight of the fixing member (Nisperos, [0087] In some illustrative examples, number of lock washers 508 may take the form of number of spring helical lock washers 514).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lambert, US PGPUB 20190227313 discloses a head-up display unit having a segmented cover includes a housing having an upper surface defining an aperture to an interior space and holding a combiner. The combiner is movable between a storage position within the housing and an operational position extending through the aperture. The segmented cover is movable between a closed position covering the aperture and an opened position uncovering the aperture. The segmented cover includes a plurality of flaps of rigid material, each having a generally rectangular elongated profile and arranged adjacent and parallel to one another. The segmented cover also includes a flexible connection between adjacent ones one of the flaps to allow the segmented cover to be rolled cylindrically into the opened position. The flexible connection includes flexible material overmolded on the flaps in one or more different configurations. A method of constructing the segmented cover for a head-up display unit is also provided.
/SAHLU OKEBATO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625 7/11/2026