DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/5/26 was filed after the mailing date of the previous Office Action on 9/5/25. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colter et al (WO 2023/044385 A1 hereafter Cotler) in view of Salamore et al (US 2016/0303281 hereafter Salamore) and Zhou et al (CN 113736043 A hereafter Zhou).
Cotler discloses a hydrogel composition comprising a crosslinked methacrylate hyaluronic acid polymer comprising hormones that are encapsulated by the polymer [0026, 0109, 0115, 0121, 0217], meeting limitations of claim 1 and 13. The hydrogel is formulated for sustained release over a period of at least 1 week [0152], meeting limitations of claim 1. The hydrogel mixture further comprises a photoinitiator such as lithium phenyl-2,4,6-trimethylbenzoylphosphinate, where the hydrogel mixture is crosslinked by an ultraviolet light [0109, 0116, 0176], meeting the limitations of claims 5, 6 and 17. The hydrogels are biocompatible [0024, 0038], meeting the limitations of claims 12. The hydrogel formulation can be in the form of microparticles [0217-0218], meeting the limitations of claim 7 and 19. The hydrogel can have a diameter from 100-150 microns [0178], meeting limitations of claims 9, 11 and 20.
The reference, while disclosing a hydrogel comprising a crosslinked methacrylate hyaluronic acid polymer that encapsulates an active agent, which can include hormones, the reference is silent to the specific hormones of the instant claims. The use of testosterone and estradiol in hydrogel formulation is known in the art as seen in the Salamore.
Salamore discloses a crosslinked hydrogel comprising hyaluronic acid and methacrylate polymers [abstract, claims]. The hydrogels comprise estradiol and testosterone [claims 14], meeting the claims of 2-4, 14, 15 and 18. The hydrogels can be spherically shaped as microbeads with sizes from 75-250 microns [0103], meeting the limitations of claims 9-11 and 20. It would have been obvious to include the hormones of Salamore into the crosslinked hydrogel of Cotler as they comprise similar components and solve the same problem.
While the combination discloses a hydrogel formulation comprising crosslinked methacrylate hyaluronic acid polymer that encapsulates hormones, the reference is silent to the specific type of hyaluronic acid. Cotler disclose that the hyaluronic acid polymer is chemically modified, but is silent to the inclusion of sodium hyaluronic variations. The use of sodium hyaluronic acid in crosslinked hydrogels is known in the art as seen in the Zhou patent.
Zhou discloses a hydrogel composition comprising a crosslinked methacrylate hyaluronic acid formed from sodium hyaluronate (abstract). The crosslinking is formed via UV radiation where the crosslinked polymer encapsulates the active agent (Examples). It would have been obvious to include the sodium hyaluronate into the combination as it solves the same problem of forming a hydrogel formulation.
With these aspects in mind, it would have been obvious to combine the prior art in order to form a stable hydrogel useful for drug delivery to the body. It would have been obvious to combine the specific hormones of Salamore into the hydrogel of Cotler for sustained release as the hydrogels both comprise crosslinked methacrylate hyaluronic polymer solving the same problem. It would have been obvious to include the specific hyaluronate of the Zhou as it solves the same problem and delivers an active agent to the body. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art component into a stable crosslinked hydrogel for drug delivery to the body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Salamore and Zhou are applied in a different manner, however their disclosures remain relevant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICAH PAUL YOUNG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1618