CTNF 19/059,221 CTNF 86258 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Onaka (Japanese Patent Publication 2019-145640). All text citations refer to the attached machine translation . Regarding claim 1, Onaka discloses an imaging element unit that is built in a housing of an imaging apparatus, the imaging element unit comprising: an imaging element that images a subject (figure 2 exhibits image element 2 as disclosed at paragraph 11); at least two thermally conductive members (figure 2 exhibits thermal sheet 17 which comprises two sheets as disclosed at paragraph 13) to which heat of the imaging element is conducted (figure 2 shows sheet 17 connected to image sensor 2 as disclosed at paragraph 11) and which are connected to each other at a member connecting portion (figure 6 exhibits a connecting portion of the two sheets as disclosed at paragraph 16); and a reinforcing member that reinforces connection between the two thermally conductive members at the member connecting portion (figure 6 exhibits fixing member 30 as disclosed at paragraph 16). Regarding claim 3, Onaka discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 1, in addition, Onaka discloses wherein the reinforcing member is adhered to the two thermally conductive members by an adhesive at the member connecting portion (paragraph 16 discloses using adhesive to both the two sheets). Regarding claim 5, Onaka discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a housing (figure 2 shows a housing 10 as disclosed at paragraph 11); and the imaging element unit according to claim 1 (see claim 1) that is built in the housing (figure 2 shows the imaging element unit in the housing) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 6-12, 16, 21-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Abe (WIPO Publication 2020/202811). All text citations refer to the attached machine translation . Regarding claim 6, Abe discloses an imaging element unit that is built in a housing of an imaging apparatus, the imaging element unit comprising: an imaging element that includes an imaging surface for imaging a subject (figure 3 exhibits image sensor 23 as disclosed at paragraph 58); an anti-vibration function to move the imaging element in plane directions of the imaging surface (paragraph 48 teaches that the sensor is moved in directions perpendicular to the optical axis to correct image blur); and a thermally conductive member to which heat of the imaging element is conducted and which is deformed to be capable of following movement of the imaging element caused by the anti-vibration function (figure 6 exhibits heat transfer plate 39 which is deformably attached to moveable body 8 and conducts heat from the image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 94), wherein the thermally conductive member includes an outer layer portion and at least one inner layer portion disposed inside the outer layer portion (figure 7 shows a plurality of layers 40 including an inner layer and an outer layer as disclosed at paragraph 99), each of the outer layer portion and the inner layer portion includes a bent portion that allows the thermally conductive member to be deformed (figure 7 shows that each layer bends at continuous portion 45c), and a bending angle of the bent portion of the inner layer portion is smaller than a bending angle of the bent portion of the outer layer portion (figures 7 and 23 show that the inner layer bends less than the outer layer such that an air gap is formed between the layers at bend point 45c as disclosed at paragraphs 100 and 130). Regarding claim 7, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 6, in addition, Abe discloses wherein the inner layer portion is disposed in a space formed by the outer layer portion (figure 7 shows that the inner layer is formed in a space formed by the outer layer). Regarding claim 8, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 6, in addition, Abe discloses wherein the bent portion of the outer layer portion and the bent portion of the inner layer portion protrude outward (figure 23 shows that the bent portions protrude outward). Regarding claim 9, Abe discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a housing (figure 1 exhibits a housing); and the imaging element unit according to claim 6 (see claim 6) that is built in the housing (figure 1 shows that the image sensor is located in the housing). Regarding claim 10, Abe discloses an imaging element unit that is built in a housing of an imaging apparatus, the imaging element unit comprising: an imaging element that includes an imaging surface for imaging a subject (figure 3 exhibits image sensor 23 as disclosed at paragraph 58); an anti-vibration function to move the imaging element in plane directions of the imaging surface (paragraph 48 teaches that the sensor is moved in directions perpendicular to the optical axis to correct image blur); and a thermally conductive member to which heat of the imaging element is conducted and which is deformed to be capable of following movement of the imaging element caused by the anti-vibration function (figure 6 exhibits heat transfer plate 19 which is deformably attached to moveable body 8 and conducts heat from the image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 94), wherein the thermally conductive member includes an outer layer portion and at least one inner layer portion disposed inside the outer layer portion (figure 7 shows a plurality of layers 40 including an inner layer and an outer layers as disclosed at paragraph 99, the two outermost layers are interpreted as the outer layer portion and the innermost layer is interpreted as the inner layer portion), the outer layer portion has a structure of which thermal conductivity is higher than thermal conductivity of the inner layer portion (by having two layers in the outer layer portion and one layer in the inner layer portion, the conductivity is higher in the outer layer portion), and the inner layer portion has a structure of which mobility is higher than mobility of the outer layer portion (by having two layers in the outer layer portion and one layer in the inner layer portion, the mobility is higher in the inner layer portion). Regarding claim 11, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 10, in addition, Abe discloses wherein the inner layer portion is disposed in a space formed by the outer layer portion (figure 7 shows that the inner layer is formed in a space formed by the outer layer). Regarding claim 12, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 10, in addition, Abe discloses wherein the outer layer portion is thicker than the inner layer portion (by having two layers in the outer layer portion and one layer in the inner layer portion, the thickness is higher in the outer layer portion). Regarding claim 16, Abe discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a housing (figure 1 exhibits a housing); and the imaging element unit according to claim 10 (see claim 10) that is built in the housing (figure 1 shows that the image sensor is located in the housing). Regarding claim 21, Abe discloses an imaging element unit that is built in a housing of an imaging apparatus, the imaging element unit comprising: an imaging element that includes an imaging surface for imaging a subject (figure 3 exhibits image sensor 23 as disclosed at paragraph 58); an anti-vibration function implemented by a movable member that holds the imaging element and moves the imaging element in plane directions of the imaging surface and a stationary member which holds the movable member to allow the movable member to move and of which a position in the housing is fixed (paragraph 48 teaches that the sensor is moved in directions perpendicular to the optical axis to correct image blur; figure 2 exhibits a fixed body 7 which is fixed and a movable member 8 that holds image sensor 23 as disclosed at paragraph 48); and a first thermally conductive member that is connected to the movable member and the stationary member and conducts heat of the imaging element, which is stored in the movable member, to the stationary member, and that includes a flexural portion allowing the movable member to move (figure 5 exhibits thermal conductive member 46 which is connected to the image sensor through board with a flexural portion 52c as disclosed at paragraph 82). Regarding claim 22, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 21, in addition, Abe discloses a flexible board that is connected to the imaging element and includes a flexural portion allowing the movable member to move (figure 6 exhibits flexible printed circuit board 37 which has a bent portion that allows the movable body to move as disclosed at paragraph 74), wherein the first thermally conductive member is disposed in a space formed by the flexural portion of the flexible board (figure 6 shows that the heat transfer sheet 46 is in the space formed by the flex of flexible board 37). Regarding claim 23, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 22, in addition, Abe discloses wherein the first thermally conductive member has a shape along the flexible board (figure 6 shows that an shape of the heat transfer sheet is along the direction of the flexible board 37). Regarding claim 25, Abe discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a housing (figure 1 exhibits a housing); and the imaging element unit according to claim 21 (see claim 21) that is built in the housing (figure 1 shows the imaging element in the housing) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 21 and 24 are are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Hojo (Japanese Patent Publication 2010-074722). All text citations refer to the attached machine translation . Regarding claim 21, Hojo discloses an imaging element unit that is built in a housing of an imaging apparatus, the imaging element unit comprising: an imaging element that includes an imaging surface for imaging a subject (figure 6 exhibits image sensor 5 as disclosed at paragraph 14); an anti-vibration function implemented by a movable member that holds the imaging element and moves the imaging element in plane directions of the imaging surface (figure 6 exhibits mounting plate 6 as disclosed at paragraph 20) and a stationary member which holds the movable member to allow the movable member to move and of which a position in the housing is fixed (figure 6 exhibits stationary member 7 as disclosed at paragraph 23); and a first thermally conductive member that is connected to the movable member and the stationary member and conducts heat of the imaging element, which is stored in the movable member, to the stationary member, and that includes a flexural portion allowing the movable member to move (figure 6 exhibits flexible member 8a-8d which conduct heat and allow the image sensor to move as disclosed at paragraph 25). Regarding claim 24, Hojo discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 21, in addition, Hojo discloses wherein the stationary member is connected to the housing via a second thermally conductive member (figure 9 shows the fixed member 7 connected to the housing via portions 71B) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 2 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onaka in view of Abe (WIPO Publication 2020/202811). All text citations refer to the attached machine translation . Regarding claim 2, Onaka discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 1, in addition, Onaka discloses a function to move the imaging element in plane directions of an imaging surface (paragraph 38 teaches that the sensor can be moved in planes perpendicular to the optical axis). However, Onaka fails to disclose that the function is an anti-vibration function, wherein one of the two thermally conductive members is deformed to be capable of following movement of the imaging element caused by the anti-vibration function. Abe is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Abe teaches an imaging device wherein the motivation of reducing blur in captured images would have prompted a predictable variation of Onaka by applying Abe’s known principal of an anti-vibration function (paragraph 48 teaches that the sensor is moved in directions perpendicular to the optical axis to correct image blur), wherein one of the two thermally conductive members is deformed to be capable of following movement of the imaging element caused by the anti-vibration function (figure 6 exhibits heat transfer plate 19 which is deformably attached to moveable body 8 and conducts heat from the image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 94). In view of the motivations such as reducing blur in captured images one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Onaka. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 4 is are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onaka in view of Nakanishi et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0097353), hereinafter referenced as Nakanishi . Regarding claim 4, Onaka discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 1, in however, Onaka fails to disclose wherein the reinforcing member includes a thermally conductive material having a thermal conductivity of 500 W/m·K or more. Nakanishi is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Nakanishi teaches an adhesive used to thermally bond components wherein the motivation of ensuring that heat is properly conducted between the thermal sheets would have prompted a predictable variation of Onaka by applying Nakanishi’s known principal of using a thermally conductive adhesive having a thermal conductivity of 500 W/m·K or more (paragraph 181 discloses using an adhesive with thermal conductivity of 500 W/m·K or more). In view of the motivations such as ensuring that heat is properly conducted between the thermal sheets one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Onaka. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 13-15 and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe in view of Kawamura et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2019/0373775), hereinafter referenced as Kawamura . Regarding claim 13, Abe discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 10, however, Abe fails to disclose wherein a plurality of thermally conductive layers including a thermally conductive material are laminated in the outer layer portion. Kawamura is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kawamura teaches a heat conductive sheet wherein the motivation of improving heat radiation of the outermost layer by removing the air gap between sheets would have prompted a predictable variation of Abe by applying Kawamura’s known principal of laminating layers together (figure 3 exhibits two heat conductive sheets laminated together as disclosed at paragraph 40). In view of the motivations such as improving heat radiation of the outermost layer by removing the air gap between sheets one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Abe. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 14, Abe in view of Kawamura discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 13, in addition, Abe discloses wherein the inner layer portion includes a thermally conductive layer including a thermally conductive material (paragraph 76 teaches that layer 40 is made of graphite, graphite is thermally conductive), and the number of thermally conductive layers laminated in the outer layer portion is larger than the number of thermally conductive layers laminated in the inner layer portion (figure 7 shows a plurality of layers 40 including an inner layer and an outer layers as disclosed at paragraph 99, the two outermost layers are interpreted as the outer layer portion and the innermost layer is interpreted as the inner layer portion). Regarding claim 15, Abe in view of Kawamura discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 13, in addition, Abe discloses wherein a density of the thermally conductive material of the outer layer portion is higher than a density of the thermally conductive material of the inner layer portion (by having two layers of graphite in the outer layer portion and one layer of graphite in the inner layer portion, the density of graphite is higher in the outer layer portion). Regarding claim 17, Abe discloses an imaging element unit that is built in a housing of an imaging apparatus, the imaging element unit comprising: an imaging element that images a subject (figure 3 exhibits image sensor 23 as disclosed at paragraph 58); and a thermally conductive member to which heat of the imaging element is conducted (figure 6 exhibits heat transfer plate 19 which is deformably attached to moveable body 8 and conducts heat from the image sensor as disclosed at paragraph 94), wherein a plurality of thermally conductive layers including a thermally conductive material are in the thermally conductive member (figure 7 shows a plurality of layers 40 including an inner layer and an outer layers as disclosed at paragraph 99). However, Abe fails to disclose that the layers are laminated and two adjacent thermally conductive layers among the plurality of thermally conductive layers are connected to each other by a connecting portion and are laminated by being bent at the connecting portion. Kawamura is a similar or analogous system to the claimed invention as evidenced Kawamura teaches a heat conductive sheet wherein the motivation of improving heat radiation would have prompted a predictable variation of Abe by applying Kawamura’s known principal of providing two adjacent thermally conductive layers among the plurality of thermally conductive layers are connected to each other by a connecting portion and are laminated by being bent at the connecting portion (figure 6 shows two layers 11 connected to each other by connecting portion 10a and are laminated with adhesive 15 by being bent at 10a as disclosed at paragraphs 25 and 26). In view of the motivations such as improving heat radiation one of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented the claimed variation of the prior art system of Abe. Therefore, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Regarding claim 18, Abe in view of Kawamura discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 17, in addition, Kawamura discloses wherein the two adjacent thermally conductive layers are adhered to each other by an adhesive (figure 6 shows two layers 11 connected to each other by connecting portion 10a and are laminated with adhesive 15 by being bent at 10a as disclosed at paragraphs 25 and 26). Regarding claim 19, Abe in view of Kawamura discloses the imaging element unit according to claim 17, in addition, Kawamura discloses an anti-vibration function to move the imaging element in plane directions of an imaging surface (paragraph 48 teaches that the sensor is moved in directions perpendicular to the optical axis to correct image blur), wherein the thermally conductive member includes a bent portion that is deformed to be capable of following movement of the imaging element caused by the anti-vibration function (figure 7 exhibits a bent portion 45c), and the combination discloses the connecting portion is provided at an unbent portion other than the bent portion (Kawamura shows the connecting portion at an edge of the sheets, therefore, when incorporating this into Abe, it would have been obvious to locate the connecting portion at one of the mounting portions, such as one side of portion 44). Regarding claim 20, Abe in view of Kawamura discloses an imaging apparatus comprising: a housing (Abe figure 1 exhibits a housing); and the imaging element unit according to claim 17 (see claim 17) that is built in the housing (Abe figure 1 shows that the image sensor is located in the housing). Citation of Pertinent Art 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park (United States Patent Application Publication 2024/0340509) teaches a camera module. Wang et al. (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0357636) teaches a camera assembly . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JASON A FLOHRE whose telephone number is (571)270-7238. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00-3:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sinh Tran can be reached at 571-272-7564. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JASON A. FLOHRE Patent Examiner Art Unit 2637 /JASON A FLOHRE/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 2 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 3 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 4 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 5 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 6 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 7 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 8 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 9 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 10 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 11 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 12 Art Unit: 2637 Application/Control Number: 19/059,221 Page 13 Art Unit: 2637