DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 202410383172.5, filed on 12/20/2024 in China.
Oath/Declaration
The oath/declaration filed on 02/20/2025 is acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-11 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 7, there is no antecedent basis for “the screen.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding You-Xiang [CN 113366557].
Regarding claim 1, Ding You-Xiang discloses an electronic device (100, figures 1-14) comprising:
a first body (21, figures 1-3);
a connector (a connector 25 connects between a first frame 21 and a second frame 23, figures 1-3);
a second body (23, figures 1-3) connected to the first body through the connector;
a deformable screen (33, figures 1-3), including a first part (335, figures 1-3) fixed to the first body, a second part (333, figures 1-3) fixed to the second body, and a deformation part (331, figures 1-3) between the first part and the second part; and
a deformable band (50/51, figures 1-3) covering an edge of the deformation part and including:
a first deformation arm (a left portion of the deformation band 50/51 which is connected to the first body 21, figures 1-3) including a plurality of first teeth (a plurality of protrusions disposed under the left deformation portion, figure 1) facing toward the screen; and
a second deformation arm (a right portion of the deformation band 50/51 which is connected to the second body 23, figures 1-3) including a plurality of second teeth (a plurality of protrusions disposed under the right deformation portion, figure 1) facing toward the screen; wherein:
the first body includes a first frame (21, figures 1-3) covering an edge of the first part; and
the second body includes a second frame (23, figures 1-3) covering an edge of the second part.
Regarding claim 7, Ding You-Xiang discloses wherein the plurality of first teeth form a plurality of first blocking ribs arranged in parallel (the plurality of protrusions are parallel and disposed under the first deformation portion, figure 1) and each extending along the first deformation arm, teeth of the plurality of first blocking ribs being staggered with each other; and the plurality of second teeth form a plurality of second blocking ribs arranged in parallel (the plurality of protrusions are parallel and disposed under the second deformation portion, figure 1) and each extending along the second deformation arm, teeth of the plurality of second blocking rib being staggered with each other (figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Ding You-Xiang discloses wherein the first frame (21, figures 1-3) covers a portion of the first deformation arm, and the first deformation arm is movably connected to the first frame; and the second frame (23, figures 1-3) covers a portion of the second deformation arm, and the second deformation arm is movably connected to the first frame.
Regarding claim 10, Ding You-Xiang discloses a band (100, figures 1-14) comprising:
a main body (20, figures 1-3),
a first deformation arm (a left portion of the deformation band 50/51 which is connected to the first body 21, figures 1-3), located on a first side of the main body and including a plurality of first teeth (a plurality of protrusions disposed under the left deformation portion, figure 1) facing toward a target direction; and
a second deformation arm (a right portion of the deformation band 50/51 which is connected to the second body 23, figures 1-3), located on a second side of the main body that is opposite to the first side, and including a plurality of second teeth (a plurality of protrusions disposed under the right deformation portion, figure 1) facing toward the target direction.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 9 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claim 2 discloses the combination features of “wherein the deformable band further includes a boss on a side facing the screen and configured to press against the screen.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records. Claims 4-6 depend on the allowed claim 2.
The claim 9 discloses the combination features of “wherein the deformable band further includes a boss configured to press against the screen and a connection wall configured to be fixedly connected to the connector; the connection wall and the boss are located on a same side of the deformable band; and a connection line between the connection wall and the boss on the deformable band is perpendicular to a surface where the connection wall is located.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 1, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
The claim 11 discloses the combination features of “a connection wall formed by a portion of the main body protruding toward a target direction and for assembly and connection; and a boss formed by a portion of the main body protruding toward the target direction and configured to limit movement of a target member.” These features, in conjunction with other features, as claimed in the claim 10, were neither found to be disclosed, nor suggested by the prior art of records.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lee et al. [US 2015/02333162] disclose hinge device and foldable display; and
Jia [US 2020/0152096] discloses display panel, display device.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center.
for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUNG S. BUI/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/HUNG S. BUI/Primary Examiner, 2841/2800