DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ando et al. (JP2016007966).
Regarding claim 1, Ando teaches “A vehicle upper structure comprising:
a hatchback door (see Ando, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1); and
a rail garnish covering a roof side rail, wherein the rail garnish includes:
a base provided along the roof side rail, and having a rear end which extends to a region proximate a front end of the hatchback door in a closed state (see Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1); and
a wall extending downward from a rear end of the base (see Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1), and
an upper end portion of a rear side surface of the wall is inclined forward in a front-rear direction of the vehicle toward a lower side (see Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1).”
Ando, Figure 1, Annotation Set 1
Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1
Regarding claim 2, Ando teaches “The vehicle upper structure according to claim 1, wherein a lower end portion of the rear side surface of the wall is inclined rearward in the front-rear direction of the vehicle toward a lower side (see Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 1).”
Regarding claim 3, Ando teaches “The vehicle upper structure according to claim 2, wherein a position of the lower end portion of the rear side surface of the wall in the front- rear direction of the vehicle is at the same position as a position of the upper end portion of the rear side surface of the wall in the front-rear direction of the vehicle, or is at a rear side in the front-rear direction of the vehicle than the position of the upper end portion of the rear side surface of the wall in the front-rear direction of the vehicle (see Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 2).”
Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 2
Regarding claim 4, Ando teaches “The vehicle upper structure according to claim 2, wherein the rear side surface of the wall is curved along a trajectory of movement of the front end of the hatchback door due to opening or closing of the hatchback door (Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 3).”
Ando, Figure 7, Annotation Set 3
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ando et al. (JP2016007966), in view of Kamimura et al. (US 10889329 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Ando teaches all of the limitations of the claims, as applied to claim 1 above, except for “the rail garnish is made of a resin.”
However, Kamimura teaches “the rail garnish is made of a resin (see Kamimura, Abstract).”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention, to form the rail garnish assembly as taught by Ando out of resin as taught by Kamimura, in order to maximize weather durability and impact resistance of the rail garnish, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited reference also discloses rail garnish assembly:
Maeda Yuuji (JP H0240622 U) discloses a similar arrangement where the rail garnish wall follows the swing trajectory of the door
/JRC/
/JASON S MORROW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612