DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 8, 10, 13, 14, 17, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosspietsch (DE 10301504B4).
Claim 1
Grosspietsch discloses a clutch assembly for selectively coupling one of a first output shaft (22) and a second output shaft (24) with an input shaft (34), wherein the clutch assembly comprises (see only figure with the disclosed alternative where one clutch is biased open and one clutch is biased closed):
an input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65 which rotate with 60) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the input shaft (34);
a first coupling means (64) rotatable around a first axis;
a second coupling means (72) rotatable around a second axis;
a first output flange (82) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the first output shaft (22); and
a second output flange (86) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the second output shaft (24); and
a biasing means (“diaphragm springs” disclosed in the specification so that one clutch is biased to be engaged and the other clutch is biased to be disengaged) that biases both of the clutches;
wherein the second output shaft (24) is a hollow shaft and the first output shaft (22) is arranged inside the second output shaft (24);
wherein the first coupling means (64) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60) and drivingly connected to the first output flange (82);
wherein the first coupling means (84) drivingly connects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the first output flange (82) when in an engagement state; and
wherein the first coupling means (64) drivingly disconnects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the first output flange (82) when in a disengagement state;
wherein the second coupling means (72) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and drivingly connected to the second output flange (86), wherein the second coupling means (72) drivingly connects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the second output flange (86) when in an engagement state; and
wherein the second coupling means (72) drivingly disconnects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the second output flange (86) when in a disengagement state.
Grosspietsch discloses that one of the two clutches is normally open, meaning biased into the disengagement state, and the other is normally closed, meaning biased into the engagement state. Grosspietsch does not disclose which of the two clutches is normally closed and which one is normally open. However, there are only two arrangements that satisfy the alternative disclosed on page 8 of the translation, second paragraph. The outer clutch 64 may be normally open and the inner clutch 72 may be normally closed, or instead the outer clutch 64 may be normally closed and the inner clutch 72 may be normally open. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Grosspietsch to make the outer (first) clutch normally open, which is biased into the disengagement state, and the inner (second) clutch 64 normally closed, which is biased into the engagement state because this is one of two known identified solutions which would yield predictable results. In this case, in the event of a power/actuator failure, the gear ratio connected to the clutch 64 is atomically engaged and the other clutch is disengaged. This avoids a potential lockup of the transmission by inadvertently engaging two different gear ratios while allowing for a gear ratio to be engaged to provide power.
As so modified, Grosspietsch discloses wherein the second coupling means is biased into the engagement state and the first coupling means is biased into the disengagement state by the biasing means.
Claim 2
Grosspietsch discloses wherein the second coupling means (72) is [one or more of axially and] radially nested in the first coupling means (64).
Claim 3
Grosspietsch discloses wherein one or more of the first axis and the second axis coincide and one or more of a middle axis of the input flange, a middle axis of the first output flange and a middle axis of the second output flange coincide (see only figure illustrating all axes coinciding).
Claim 4
Grosspietsch discloses wherein the first coupling means (64) is a first multi-plate clutch comprising a plurality of first plates (76), a first outer plate carrier (62) and a first inner plate carrier (see annotated figure below); and wherein the second coupling means (72) is a second multi-plate clutch, comprising a plurality of second plates (74), a second outer plate carrier (70) and a second inner plate carrier (see annotated figure below).
[AltContent: textbox ( Second inner plate carrier)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox ( First inner plate carrier)][AltContent: arrow]
Claim 5
Grosspietsch discloses wherein one or more of: the first outer plate carrier (62) is fixedly connected to the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65 which rotate with 60), the first inner plate carrier (see annotated figure above) is fixedly connected to the first output flange (82), the second inner plate carrier (see annotated figure above) is fixedly connected to the second output flange (86).
Claim 7
Grosspietsch discloses wherein the second outer plate carrier (70) comprises: an actuation interface surface (left surface of 522 or right surface of 65 engaging with 506) for receiving an axial actuation force.
Claim 8
Grosspietsch discloses wherein the biasing means (“diaphragm springs” illustrated as 500 and 502) is axially supported on the second outer plate carrier (70) (via 65) and axially supported on the first outer plate carrier (62) (via 63).
Claim 10
Grosspietsch discloses a ring-shaped part (510 or 520), wherein the ring-shaped part (510 or 520) is rotatorily coupled to the first outer plate carrier (62) and is axially movable relative to the first outer plate carrier (62), wherein the ring-shaped part comprises an annular abutment surface (right surface of 510 or left surface of 520) arranged adjacent to one of the second plates (76) and configured for abutting against one of the second plates (see only figure).
Claim 13
Grosspietsch discloses wherein the clutch assembly comprises an actuator (e.g., 514, 516, 220, 222, 226, 227, 228, 229) drivingly coupled to the actuation interface surface (surface of 510).
Claim 14
Grosspietsch discloses wherein the axial actuation force is applied on the actuation interface surface via an axial roller bearing (228).
Claim 17
Grosspietsch discloses a transmission unit comprises:
a clutch assembly for selectively coupling one of a first output shaft (22) and a second output shaft (24) with an input shaft (34), wherein the second output shaft (24) is a hollow shaft and the first output shaft (22) is arranged inside the second output shaft (24); and
wherein the clutch assembly comprises:
an input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65 which rotate with 60) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the input shaft (34);
a first coupling means (64) rotatable around a first axis;
a second coupling means (72) rotatable around a second axis;
a first output flange (82) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the first output shaft (22); and
a second output flange (86) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the second output shaft (24); and
a biasing means (“diaphragm springs” disclosed in the specification so that one clutch is biased to be engaged and the other clutch is biased to be disengaged) that biases both of the clutches;
wherein the first coupling means (64) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60) and drivingly connected to the first output flange (82);
wherein the first coupling means (84) drivingly connects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the first output flange (82) when in an engagement state; and
wherein the first coupling means (64) drivingly disconnects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the first output flange (82) when in a disengagement state;
wherein the second coupling means (72) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and drivingly connected to the second output flange (86), wherein the second coupling means (72) drivingly connects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the second output flange (86) when in an engagement state; and
wherein the second coupling means (72) drivingly disconnects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the second output flange (86) when in a disengagement state;
wherein the input shaft (34) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65 which rotate with 60);
wherein the first output shaft (22) is drivingly connected to the first output flange (82); and
wherein the second output shaft (24) is drivingly connected to the second output flange (86).
Grosspietsch discloses that one of the two clutches is normally open, meaning biased into the disengagement state, and the other is normally closed, meaning biased into the engagement state. Grosspietsch does not disclose which of the two clutches is normally closed and which one is normally open. However, there are only two arrangements that satisfy the alternative disclosed on page 8 of the translation, second paragraph. The outer clutch 64 may be normally open and the inner clutch 72 may be normally closed, or instead the outer clutch 64 may be normally closed and the inner clutch 72 may be normally open. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Grosspietsch to make the outer (first) clutch normally open, which is biased into the disengagement state, and the inner (second) clutch 64 normally closed, which is biased into the engagement state because this is one of two known identified solutions which would yield predictable results. In this case, in the event of a power/actuator failure, the gear ratio connected to the clutch 64 is atomically engaged and the other clutch is disengaged. This avoids a potential lockup of the transmission by inadvertently engaging two different gear ratios while allowing for a gear ratio to be engaged to provide power.
As so modified, Grosspietsch discloses wherein the second coupling means is biased into the engagement state and the first coupling means is biased into the disengagement state by the biasing means.
Claim 20
Grosspietsch discloses a vehicle comprising a transmission unit, wherein the transmission unit comprises a clutch assembly for selectively coupling one of a first output shaft (22) and a second output shaft (24) with an input shaft (34), wherein the clutch assembly further comprises:
an input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65 which rotate with 60) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the input shaft (34);
a first coupling means (64) rotatable around a first axis;
a second coupling means (72) rotatable around a second axis;
a first output flange (82) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the first output shaft (22); and
a second output flange (86) comprising a radially extending portion configured for coupling to the second output shaft (24); and
a biasing means (“diaphragm springs” disclosed in the specification so that one clutch is biased to be engaged and the other clutch is biased to be disengaged) that biases both of the clutches;
wherein the second output shaft (24) is a hollow shaft and wherein the first output shaft (22) is arranged inside the second output shaft (24);
wherein the first coupling means (64) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60) and drivingly connected to the first output flange (82);
wherein the first coupling means (84) drivingly connects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the first output flange (82) when in an engagement state; and
wherein the first coupling means (64) drivingly disconnects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the first output flange (82) when in a disengagement state;
wherein the second coupling means (72) is drivingly connected to the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and drivingly connected to the second output flange (86), wherein the second coupling means (72) drivingly connects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the second output flange (86) when in an engagement state; and
wherein the second coupling means (72) drivingly disconnects the input flange (60; or alternatively 63 and 65) and the second output flange (86) when in a disengagement state.
Grosspietsch discloses that one of the two clutches is normally open, meaning biased into the disengagement state, and the other is normally closed, meaning biased into the engagement state. Grosspietsch does not disclose which of the two clutches is normally closed and which one is normally open. However, there are only two arrangements that satisfy the alternative disclosed on page 8 of the translation, second paragraph. The outer clutch 64 may be normally open and the inner clutch 72 may be normally closed, or instead the outer clutch 64 may be normally closed and the inner clutch 72 may be normally open. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Grosspietsch to make the outer (first) clutch normally open, which is biased into the disengagement state, and the inner (second) clutch 64 normally closed, which is biased into the engagement state because this is one of two known identified solutions which would yield predictable results. In this case, in the event of a power/actuator failure, the gear ratio connected to the clutch 64 is atomically engaged and the other clutch is disengaged. This avoids a potential lockup of the transmission by inadvertently engaging two different gear ratios while allowing for a gear ratio to be engaged to provide power.
As so modified, Grosspietsch discloses wherein the second coupling means is biased into the engagement state and the first coupling means is biased into the disengagement state by the biasing means.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosspietsch in view of Bradley (US 2011/0192693).
Claim 16
Grosspietsch discloses that both shafts 22 and 24 are transmission shafts but does not specifically disclose wherein the clutch assembly comprises a first gearwheel fixedly attached to the first output shaft and a second gearwheel fixedly attached to the second output shaft. However, Bradley discloses a double clutch with two transmission shafts (inner/first shaft 62, outer/second shaft 72) including a first gearwheel (66) fixedly attached to the first output shaft (62) and a second gearwheel (76) fixedly attached to the second output shaft (72) (see FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Grosspietsch to include a gearwheel on each of the output shafts in order to provide a structure to transfer power to shiftable portions of the transmission.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grosspietsch in view of Aschauer (US 2,919,778).
Claim 19
Grosspietsch does not necessarily disclose wherein one or more of i) the first output shaft is radially supported on the input flange and ii) the first output shaft and the second output shaft are radially supported on one another. However, Aschauer discloses clutch hubs connected to shafts, wherein one of the shafts (37) is hollow and another shaft (15) is inside of the hollow shaft where the two concentric shafts are supported on one another by a bearing (38) (see FIG. 1). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Grosspietsch to add a bearing between the two concentric output shafts in order to prevent bending and/or to provide more stability and support.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Amendment, filed February 3, 2026, with respect to the rejection under 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection under 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 9, 11, 12, 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With reference to claim 6, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a clutch assembly comprising the combination of features as recited including “wherein the second outer plate carrier comprises: a first abutment surface arranged adjacent to one of the first plates and configured for abutting against one of the first plates; and wherein the second outer plate carrier comprises a second abutment surface arranged adjacent to one of the second plates and configured for abutting against one of the second plates, and wherein the first abutment surface is formed as a ring-shaped plate.”
With reference to claim 9, the prior art does not disclose or render obvious a clutch assembly comprising the combination of features as recited including “wherein the second outer plate carrier comprises: a plurality of biasing arms extending axially; and wherein the biasing means is axially supported by the plurality of biasing arms.”
Conclusion
/STACEY A FLUHART/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655