DETAILED ACTION
This final action is in response to Applicant’s filing dated July 17, 2026. Claims 1-7 are currently pending and have been considered, as provided in more detail below.
*Examiner Note: Claim language is bolded. Cited References and Applicant’s arguments are italicized. Examiner interpretations are preceded with an asterisk *.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 7/17/26 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are directed toward subject matter that has not been previously considered and has necessitated a new ground of rejection as outlined below. While the new ground of rejection may rely on some of the previous references applied in the prior rejection of record, a new additional reference has been added to the combination and introduced for Applicant’s consideration given the amended independent claims as discussed in detail below.
Response to Amendment
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, amendments made to the claims have necessitated new grounds of rejection as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi (US20040064241A1) in view of Inoue (US 2022/0309804 A1) in view of Lee US20090037062A1 further in view of Nasu WO2023238588A1.
Regarding claim 1, Sekiguchi discloses recognizing surrounding conditions of a vehicle
based on a detection result (see at least para. [0019] of Sekiguchi which discloses “the apparatus establishes a traveling region B corresponding to the solid object based on at least either of the traveling region A and the traveling road information and judges whether the solid object is a preceding vehicle, a tentative preceding vehicle or others according to the state of existence of the solid object in the traveling regions A and B. As a result of the judgment, a preceding vehicle in front of the own vehicle 1 is extracted and the result is outputted to the traveling control unit 3”) of an external environment detection device (Fig. 1, 4 of Sekiguchi and see at least para. [0019] of Sekiguchi which discloses “vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus 5 inputs respective signals indicative of picture images from the stereoscopic camera 4, vehicle speeds, steering angle, yaw rate and turn signal and detects frontal information about solid objects, side walls and lane markers in front of the vehicle 1 based on the picture images inputted from the stereoscopic camera 4”), wherein the surrounding conditions comprise a curved road (see at least para. [0076] of Sekiguchi which discloses “when the vehicle transfers from curved road to straight road, ψ is established to a small value so as to impose more weight on the own traveling path E (Xpre[i], i=0 to 23) calculated newly, presently and otherwise ψ is established to a large value so as to impose more weight on the own traveling path“) being present in a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least para. [0045] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The correction coefficient α is established to a value (0) from 0 to 1.0. When the vehicle travels straight or when the vehicle transfers from curve to straight, the correction coefficient α is established to a small value so as to reduce the curvature of the traveling path. When the vehicle turns a curve, the correction coefficient α is established to 1.0 so as to employ the curvature derived from the yaw rate γ as it is”, *Sekiguchi discloses recognizing surrounding conditions of a host vehicle based on a detection result of an external-environment detection device. Sekiguchi further discloses a monitoring apparatus for observing a vehicle’s surroundings and for receiving image signals captured by a stereoscopic camera and recognizing external road related features which include lane markers, side walls and objects in front of the host vehicle, etc. Additionally, Sekiguchi calculates and estimates an own vehicle traveling path using the recognized road related features combined with vehicle speed, steering wheel angle and yaw rate. Since Sekiguchi determines the curvature of the host vehicle traveling path and specifically performs path estimation/correction while the host vehicle turns through a curve, Sekiguchi teaches recognizing surrounding conditions that include a curved road present in the vehicle’s traveling direction); setting a first target speed of the vehicle (see at least para. [0023] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The constant speed traveling switch 10 is constituted by a speed setting switch for setting a target vehicle speed at the constant speed traveling mode, a coast switch for changing the target vehicle speed in a descending direction and a resume switch for changing the target vehicle speed in an ascending direction. Further, a main switch (not shown) for turning the traveling control on or off is disposed in the vicinity of the constant speed traveling selector lever”, *Sekiguchi teaches determining a desired or command speed for the subject vehicle using information indicative of conditions surrounding the vehicle, including information concerning a preceding vehicle. Because the resulting desired or command speed is used to control the subject vehicle and is determined in response to the detected surrounding traveling path, the desired speed corresponds to the claimed first target speed, as broadly as recited) based on the surrounding conditions (see at least para. [0023] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The traveling control unit 3 is equipped with a function of a constant speed traveling control for maintaining the vehicle speed at a value inputted by the vehicle driver and a function of a follow-up traveling control for following up the preceding vehicle in a condition to keep the intervehicle distance between the own vehicle 1 and the preceding vehicle constant” and see at least para. [0024] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The constant speed traveling switch 10 is constituted by a speed setting switch for setting a target vehicle speed at the constant speed traveling mode, a coast switch for changing the target vehicle speed in a descending direction and a resume switch for changing the target vehicle speed in an ascending direction. Further, a main switch (not shown) for turning the traveling control on or off is disposed in the vicinity of the constant speed traveling selector lever”, *Sekiguchi discloses setting a first target speed of the vehicle based on the surrounding conditions. Sekiguchi’s vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus recognizes a preceding vehicle form external environmental information and provides the recognition result to the traveling control unit 3. When the recognized preceding vehicle travels at a speed lower than the vehicle speed established by the driver, traveling control unit 3 automatically changes from a constant speed traveling mode to a follow-up traveling control mode. In the follow-up traveling control mode, the own vehicle travels at a speed targeted to the speed of the preceding vehicle while maintaining a constant intervehicle distance. Therefore, the presence and traveling speed of the preceding vehicle are the surrounding conditions upon which Sekiguchi establishes the vehicle’s target traveling speed. Additionally, Sekiguchi expressly discloses a target vehicle speed setting switch in the constant-speed traveling mode).
Sekiguchi may not explicitly disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium
storing computer-readable instructions that when executed by at least one processor of a computer, facilitate performance of operations.
However, Inoue disclose A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see at least
para. [0017] of Inoue which discloses “a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium storing a program”) storing computer-readable instructions that when executed by at least one processor (see at least para. [0046] of Inoue which discloses “a hardware processor such as a central processing unit (CPU) executing a program (software). Some or all of these components may be implemented by hardware”) of a computer, facilitate performance of operations (see at least para. [0017] of Inoue which discloses “a computer of a vehicle control device to: recognize a first road marking for partitioning a traveling lane of a vehicle on the basis of an output of a detection device that has detected a surrounding situation of the vehicle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sekiguchi to include A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing computer-readable instructions that when executed by at least one processor of a computer, facilitate performance of operations, as taught by Inoue with a reasonable expectation of success in order to store Sekiguchi’s expressly disclosed vehicle surrounding monitoring program as instructions on the non-transitory storage medium and execute those instructions with the processor taught by Inoue. This combination uses a known processor and memory implementation to carry out Sekiguchi’s known program controlled vehicle monitoring functions, yielding the predictable result of a programed vehicle monitoring control system.
Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue, may not explicitly disclose setting a second target speed of
the vehicle based on map information wherein the map information comprises the curved road being present in the traveling direction of the vehicle.
However, Lee discloses setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on map
information (Fig. 1, 32 and see at least para. [0017] of Lee which discloses “The curve speed control system 12 receives various vehicle parameter inputs, such as … map information from a map database 32“) wherein the map information comprises the curved road being present in the traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least para. [0018] of Lee which discloses “the curve speed control system 12 that provides acceleration and deceleration commands to the brake control module 22 and the acceleration control module 24. A map processor 40 is used in association with the map database 32, and can be any suitable processor” and see at least para. [0009] of Lee which describes “a map database to know the vehicle's position relative to curves in the road. Depending on the speed of the vehicle, the system generates a curvature profile for different curvature data points at or around the curve in front of the vehicle. Based on the curvature profile information, the system generates a desired speed profile for the curvature points. The desired speed profile and the actual vehicle speed are compared to determine whether the vehicle is traveling too fast for the target speed at each profile point”. Accordingly, Lee teaches setting a target speed based on map information, as the curvature used to determine the target speed is derived from the map information, *Lee’s curve speed control system receives map information from map database 32 and vehicle position information from GPS receiver 34. The map database includes information concerning road curves, including road curvature and road geometry and curvature data that are stored such that they can be reference using vehicle position. Lee’s curvature profile processor generates a curvature profile of an upcoming curve base don curvature data points for the curve. Thus, the map information identifies a curved road located ahead of the vehicle in its direction of travel) based on the curved road being present (see at least para. [0009] of Lee which discloses “detecting a road curve as a vehicle approaches the curve, automatically providing road curvature information and controlling vehicle speed”,*Lee’s map database includes information concerning road curves, including road curvature information. Lee determines a curvature profile for an upcoming curve based on map-derived curvature data points.Lee’s desired speed profile processor then generates a desired or target vehicle speed profile that provides a target speed for each curvature data point by using a target speed lookup table corresponding to the curvature of the curve or the road radius. Therefore, Lee sets a target vehicle speed based on the curved road being present ahead of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the operations of Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue, to include setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on map information wherein the map information comprises the curved road being present in the traveling direction of the vehicle based on the curved road being present, as taught in Lee with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine an appropriate vehicle speed that accounts for both real-time surrounding conditions and upcoming road geometry, thereby improving driving safety and control, particularly when approaching curved road segments. See para. [0009] of Lee for motivation.
Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue and Lee, may not explicitly disclose setting a third target
speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed at a ratio of the first target speed to the second target speed, wherein the ratio was selected according to traveling conditions of the vehicle; and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the third target speed.
However, Nasu discloses a first target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which
discloses “a first target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a first target speed/acceleration based on a running route of the host vehicle including a curve”) and a second target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “a second target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a second target speed/acceleration based on factors other than factors that bend the vehicle”) and setting a third target speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “a third target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a third target speed/acceleration that is a command value when the own vehicle is running. 3 target speed/acceleration calculation section, the third target speed/acceleration calculation section is configured to calculate the host vehicle based on the other factors based on the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration”) at a ratio of the first target speed to the second target speed, wherein the ratio was selected according to traveling conditions of the vehicle (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d determines whether the host vehicle travels along the route command value P based on the presence or absence, magnitude, and position of occurrence of the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration. The speed/acceleration (hereinafter referred to as "third target speed/acceleration") that will be the actual command value is calculated” and see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The map information storage unit 13 stores general road information used in navigation systems, etc., road information including information on curves such as road width and road curvature, information on road surface conditions and traffic conditions, and the driving of other vehicles. Stores state information such as the vehicle and surrounding environment. Note that information such as the vehicle and the surrounding environment is updated one by one using information acquired through vehicle-to-vehicle communication and road-to-vehicle communication via the external communication device 11”, * Nasu teaches calculating a third target speed/acceleration command from first and second target commands in response to the vehicle’s travel plan evaluation instead of abruptly switching between the commands); and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the third target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d determines whether the host vehicle travels along the route command value P based on the presence or absence, magnitude, and position of occurrence of the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration. The speed/acceleration (hereinafter referred to as "third target speed/acceleration") that will be the actual command value is calculated. The information output section 43e outputs the third target speed/acceleration from the third target speed/acceleration calculation section 43d to the information output section 44 as a speed/acceleration command value” and see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “the third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d calculates that the first target speed for solo travel included in the speed/acceleration plan when the own vehicle V travels along the route command value P is It is determined whether the speed is always higher than the second target speed for driving. If the first target speed is higher than the second target speed, that is, if the own vehicle V approaches the preceding vehicle T (step S5, YES), the process proceeds to step S6, and the first target speed is lower than or equal to the second target speed. In this case, that is, when the host vehicle V does not approach the preceding vehicle T (step S5, NO), the process proceeds to step S7”, *Nasu discloses the third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d calculates the third target speed that serves as an actual command value. The information output unit 43e outputs the third target speed acceleration calculated in step S6 or S7 as a speed/acceleration command value to the travel control unit. The travel control unit sets target driving force and target braking force such that the vehicle follows the travel trajectory and controls the power trains systems and brake system based on the command value. Therefore, Nasu controls the vehicle speed based on the third target speed, as broadly as recited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of
Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue and Lee, to include setting a third target speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed at a ratio of the first target speed to the second target speed, wherein the ratio was selected according to traveling conditions of the vehicle; and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the third target speed, as taught in Nasu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid abrupt switching between the traffic responsive first target speed and the map/curve responsive second target speed in order to provide a smooth transitional longitudinal speed command that accommodates both currently detected traffic conditions and upcoming route conditions, suppresses vehicle shaking and improves occupant ride comfort).
Regarding claim 2, Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue, Lee and Nasu, discloses wherein the
operations further comprise decreasing the ratio when a relative speed between the third target speed and a speed of the vehicle is large (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “ When the first target speed is higher than the second target speed, a third target speed is calculated by adding the second target acceleration to the first target acceleration so that the second target acceleration is equal to or less than a predetermined value. - Set the acceleration to the target speed/acceleration of the own vehicle, and if the occurrence of the second target speed/acceleration is not predicted or the first target speed is less than or equal to the second target speed, the first target speed・Suppress vibration as much as possible by setting the acceleration to the target speed and acceleration of the own vehicle to minimize the number of accelerations and decelerations, and gradually expanding the range in which longitudinal acceleration occurs until the physical quantities related to vehicle behavior are within specified values. However, physical quantities related to vehicle behavior can be kept within specified values without impairing passenger comfort and comfort”).
Regarding claim 3, Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue, Lee and Nasu, discloses wherein the
instructions include increasing the ratio when a relative speed between the third target speed and a speed of the vehicle is small (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “Further, FIG. 6C is an example of physical quantities related to the vehicle behavior of the host vehicle V that occurs when the host vehicle V runs at the third speed/acceleration command value generated in step S6, and the graph structure is similar to that in FIG. 6A and the like. Common. FIG. 6C shows a case where the specified value of (d) longitudinal acceleration is smaller than in FIG. 6B, and in order to suppress vibration and keep (d) longitudinal acceleration etc. within the specified value, the speed/acceleration command value in step S6 is changed. By using this, the vehicle behavior can be adjusted by moving the deceleration start point toward you (toward the vehicle V) when decelerating, and moving the acceleration end point toward the back (away from the vehicle V) when accelerating”).
Regarding claim 4, Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue, Lee and Nasu, discloses wherein the
operations further comprise: based on the detection result, setting the first target speed according to at least one of a curvature radius or a curvature of the curved road (see at least para. [0009] of Lee which discloses “detecting a road curve as a vehicle approaches the curve, automatically providing road curvature information and controlling vehicle speed. The system uses a locating device, such as a GPS receiver, and a map database to know the vehicle's position relative to curves in the road” and see at least para. [0022] of Lee which discloses “The road curvature profile is then sent to a desired speed profile processor 48 that generates a desired or target vehicle speed profile that provides a target speed for each curvature data point 66 by referring to a target speed look-up table computed offline for a given curvature or road radius. The target speed profile is modified based on vehicle characteristics, driver preference or other road information such as, bank angle, road gradient and other conditions”); and based on the map information, setting the second target speed according to at least one of the curvature radius or the curvature of the curved road (see at least para. [0017] of Lee which discloses “map information from a map database 32, and GPS position signals from a GPS receiver 34. The GPS receiver 34 may be replaced or augmented with any suitable locator system that provides the geographic location of the vehicle 10. The map database 32 will include the necessary information required by the system 12, and may include information about road curvature, curve bank angle, road surface co-efficient of friction, road surface material, etc.” and see at least para. [0019] of Lee which discloses “The curvature of the curve 64 may be computed as a reciprocal of the radius of a circle fitted for the neighboring three data points of the curve. For simulated road geometry, the road geometry data is computed offline using a cubic B-spline fitted to the whole path and stored with the curvature data in a table format so that it can be referenced using the vehicle position”).
Regarding claim 5, Sekiguchi, as modified by Inoue, Lee and Nasu, discloses wherein the
operations further comprise adjusting the first target speed based on a yaw rate or steering angle of the vehicle (see at least para. [0017] of Lee which discloses “The curve speed control system 12 receives various vehicle parameter inputs, such as vehicle speed signals from a vehicle speed sensor 26, yaw rate signals from a yaw rate sensor 28, vehicle steering angle signals from a steering angle sensor 30, map information from a map database 32, and GPS position signals from a GPS receiver 34”).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekiguchi (US20040064241A1) in view of Lee US20090037062A1 in view of Nasu (WO2023238588A1) and further in view of Miyajima (US20100082212A1).
Regarding claim 6, Sekiguchi discloses a recognition unit (Fig. 1, 5 and see at least para.
[0020] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus 5 comprises forward information detecting means, preceding vehicle recognizing means, own traveling path estimating means, first evacuation possibility judging means and second evacuation possibility judging means”) which recognizes surrounding conditions of a vehicle based on detection result (see at least para. [0019] of Sekiguchi which discloses “the apparatus establishes a traveling region B corresponding to the solid object based on at least either of the traveling region A and the traveling road information and judges whether the solid object is a preceding vehicle, a tentative preceding vehicle or others according to the state of existence of the solid object in the traveling regions A and B. As a result of the judgment, a preceding vehicle in front of the own vehicle 1 is extracted and the result is outputted to the traveling control unit 3”) of an external environment detection device (Fig. 1, 4 of Sekiguchi and see at least para. [0019] of Sekiguchi which discloses “vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus 5 inputs respective signals indicative of picture images from the stereoscopic camera 4, vehicle speeds, steering angle, yaw rate and turn signal and detects frontal information about solid objects, side walls and lane markers in front of the vehicle 1 based on the picture images inputted from the stereoscopic camera 4”); a target speed setting unit which sets a first target speed of the vehicle (see at least para. [0023] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The constant speed traveling switch 10 is constituted by a speed setting switch for setting a target vehicle speed at the constant speed traveling mode, a coast switch for changing the target vehicle speed in a descending direction and a resume switch for changing the target vehicle speed in an ascending direction. Further, a main switch (not shown) for turning the traveling control on or off is disposed in the vicinity of the constant speed traveling selector lever”, *Sekiguchi teaches determining a desired or command speed for the subject vehicle using information indicative of conditions surrounding the vehicle, including information concerning a preceding vehicle. Because the resulting desired or command speed is used to control the subject vehicle and is determined in response to the detected surrounding traveling path, the desired speed corresponds to the claimed first target speed, as broadly as recited) based on the surrounding conditions (see at least para. [0023] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The traveling control unit 3 is equipped with a function of a constant speed traveling control for maintaining the vehicle speed at a value inputted by the vehicle driver and a function of a follow-up traveling control for following up the preceding vehicle in a condition to keep the intervehicle distance between the own vehicle 1 and the preceding vehicle constant” and see at least para. [0024] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The constant speed traveling switch 10 is constituted by a speed setting switch for setting a target vehicle speed at the constant speed traveling mode, a coast switch for changing the target vehicle speed in a descending direction and a resume switch for changing the target vehicle speed in an ascending direction. Further, a main switch (not shown) for turning the traveling control on or off is disposed in the vicinity of the constant speed traveling selector lever”, *Sekiguchi discloses setting a first target speed of the vehicle based on the surrounding conditions. Sekiguchi’s vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus recognizes a preceding vehicle form external environmental information and provides the recognition result to the traveling control unit 3. When the recognized preceding vehicle travels at a speed lower than the vehicle speed established by the driver, traveling control unit 3 automatically changes from a constant speed traveling mode to a follow-up traveling control mode. In the follow-up traveling control mode, the own vehicle travels at a speed targeted to the speed of the preceding vehicle while maintaining a constant intervehicle distance. Therefore, the presence and traveling speed of the preceding vehicle are the surrounding conditions upon which Sekiguchi establishes the vehicle’s target traveling speed. Additionally, Sekiguchi expressly discloses a target vehicle speed setting switch in the constant-speed traveling mode); wherein the target speed setting unit further, when a curved road (see at least para. [0076] of Sekiguchi which discloses “when the vehicle transfers from curved road to straight road, ψ is established to a small value so as to impose more weight on the own traveling path E (Xpre[i], i=0 to 23) calculated newly, presently and otherwise ψ is established to a large value so as to impose more weight on the own traveling path“) is present in a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least para. [0045] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The correction coefficient α is established to a value (0) from 0 to 1.0. When the vehicle travels straight or when the vehicle transfers from curve to straight, the correction coefficient α is established to a small value so as to reduce the curvature of the traveling path. When the vehicle turns a curve, the correction coefficient α is established to 1.0 so as to employ the curvature derived from the yaw rate γ as it is”, *Sekiguchi discloses recognizing surrounding conditions of a host vehicle based on a detection result of an external-environment detection device. Sekiguchi further discloses a monitoring apparatus for observing a vehicle’s surroundings and for receiving image signals captured by a stereoscopic camera and recognizing external road related features which include lane markers, side walls and objects in front of the host vehicle, etc. Additionally, Sekiguchi calculates and estimates an own vehicle traveling path using the recognized road related features combined with vehicle speed, steering wheel angle and yaw rate. Since Sekiguchi determines the curvature of the host vehicle traveling path and specifically performs path estimation/correction while the host vehicle turns through a curve, Sekiguchi teaches recognizing surrounding conditions that include a curved road present in the vehicle’s traveling direction).
Sekiguchi may not explicitly disclose setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on
map information.
However, Lee discloses setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on map
information (Fig. 1, 32 and see at least para. [0017] of Lee which discloses “The curve speed control system 12 receives various vehicle parameter inputs, such as … map information from a map database 32“ and see at least para. [0018] of Lee which discloses “the curve speed control system 12 that provides acceleration and deceleration commands to the brake control module 22 and the acceleration control module 24. A map processor 40 is used in association with the map database 32, and can be any suitable processor” and see at least para. [0009] of Lee which describes “a map database to know the vehicle's position relative to curves in the road. Depending on the speed of the vehicle, the system generates a curvature profile for different curvature data points at or around the curve in front of the vehicle. Based on the curvature profile information, the system generates a desired speed profile for the curvature points. The desired speed profile and the actual vehicle speed are compared to determine whether the vehicle is traveling too fast for the target speed at each profile point”. Accordingly, Lee teaches setting a target speed based on map information, as the curvature used to determine the target speed is derived from the map information,*Lee’s curve speed control system receives map information from map database 32 and vehicle position information from GPS receiver 34. The map database includes information concerning road curves, including road curvature and road geometry and curvature data that are stored such that they can be reference using vehicle position. Lee’s curvature profile processor generates a curvature profile of an upcoming curve base don curvature data points for the curve. Thus, the map information identifies a curved road located ahead of the vehicle in its direction of travel) based on the curved road being present (see at least para. [0009] of Lee which discloses “detecting a road curve as a vehicle approaches the curve, automatically providing road curvature information and controlling vehicle speed”,*Lee’s map database includes information concerning road curves, including road curvature information. Lee determines a curvature profile for an upcoming curve based on map-derived curvature data points. Lee’s desired speed profile processor then generates a desired or target vehicle speed profile that provides a target speed for each curvature data point by using a target speed lookup table corresponding to the curvature of the curve or the road radius. Therefore, Lee sets a target vehicle speed based on the curved road being present ahead of the vehicle).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the operations of Sekiguchi to include setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on map information, as taught in Lee with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine an appropriate vehicle speed that accounts for both real-time surrounding conditions and upcoming road geometry, thereby improving driving safety and control, particularly when approaching curved road segments. See para. [0009] of Lee for motivation.
Sekiguchi as modified by Lee may not explicitly disclose a speed control unit which selects
one of the first target speed and the second target speed and controls the speed of the vehicle based on the selected target speed.
However, Miyajima discloses a speed control unit (Fig. 2, A4 and see at least para. [0011] of
Miyajima which discloses “a vehicle speed control unit that controls the speed of the vehicle based on the target vehicle speed (characteristics) and the vehicle speed“ and see at least para. [0053] of Miyajima which discloses “A vehicle speed control unit A4 controls the speed of the vehicle based on the speed of the vehicle (vehicle speed) Vx acquired by a vehicle speed acquiring unit A5 (wheel speed sensors WS**) and on the target vehicle speed Vto (Vt to be described later) in the host vehicle position Pvh. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4, first a comparing unit A41 calculates a difference between the vehicle speed Vx and the target vehicle speed Vto (Vt) (speed deviation ΔVx), and then a vehicle speed control amount calculating unit A42 calculates a vehicle speed control amount Gst based on the speed deviation ΔVx and the map”) which selects one of the first target speed and the second target speed and controls the speed of the vehicle based on the selected target speed (see at least para. [0054] of Miyajima which discloses “Based on the vehicle speed control amount Gst, the vehicle speed Vx is controlled so as not to exceed the target vehicle speed Vto (Vt to be described later) by using at least one of engine output reduction control by an engine output reduction unit A43, reduction ratio control by a transmission control unit A44, and wheel brake (brake pressure) control by a wheel brake control unit A45. As a result, the vehicle can be decelerated based on the first target vehicle speed Vto1, and then the vehicle speed can be maintained constant based on the second target vehicle speed Vto2”, *Miyajima discloses a speed control unit that selects one of a first target vehicle speed and a second target vehicle speed and controls vehicle speed based on the selected speed. Specifically, a switching unit selects a first target vehicle speed Vto1 before passing a first reference point and slects a second target vehicle speed Vto2 after passing that point. Vehicle speed control unit A4 controls vehicle speed based on selected speed Vto and actual speed Vx).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sekiguchi, as modified by Lee to include a speed control unit which selects one of the first target speed and the second target speed and controls the speed of the vehicle based on the selected target speed, as taught in Miyajima with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitates the system’s ability to select the target speed applicable to the presently governing operating condition. This provides a predictable and efficient target selection mechanism, avoids simultaneous enforcement of incompatible candidate speed values and permits the controller to use an appropriate speed target before applying Nasu’s smooth third command transition strategy.
Sekiguchi, as modified by Lee and Miyajima, may not explicitly disclose setting a third target
speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed at a ratio selected according to traveling conditions of the vehicle, and wherein the speed control unit controls a speed of the vehicle based on the set third target speed.
However, Nasu discloses a first target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which
discloses “a first target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a first target speed/acceleration based on a running route of the host vehicle including a curve”) and a second target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “a second target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a second target speed/acceleration based on factors other than factors that bend the vehicle”) and setting a third target speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “a third target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a third target speed/acceleration that is a command value when the own vehicle is running. 3 target speed/acceleration calculation section, the third target speed/acceleration calculation section is configured to calculate the host vehicle based on the other factors based on the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration”) at a ratio selected according to traveling conditions of the vehicle (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d determines whether the host vehicle travels along the route command value P based on the presence or absence, magnitude, and position of occurrence of the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration. The speed/acceleration (hereinafter referred to as "third target speed/acceleration") that will be the actual command value is calculated” and see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The map information storage unit 13 stores general road information used in navigation systems, etc., road information including information on curves such as road width and road curvature, information on road surface conditions and traffic conditions, and the driving of other vehicles. Stores state information such as the vehicle and surrounding environment. Note that information such as the vehicle and the surrounding environment is updated one by one using information acquired through vehicle-to-vehicle communication and road-to-vehicle communication via the external communication device 11”, * Nasu teaches calculating a third target speed/acceleration command from first and second target commands in response to the vehicle’s travel plan evaluation instead of abruptly switching between the commands) controls a speed of the vehicle based on the set third target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d determines whether the host vehicle travels along the route command value P based on the presence or absence, magnitude, and position of occurrence of the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration. The speed/acceleration (hereinafter referred to as "third target speed/acceleration") that will be the actual command value is calculated. The information output section 43e outputs the third target speed/acceleration from the third target speed/acceleration calculation section 43d to the information output section 44 as a speed/acceleration command value” and see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “the third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d calculates that the first target speed for solo travel included in the speed/acceleration plan when the own vehicle V travels along the route command value P is It is determined whether the speed is always higher than the second target speed for driving. If the first target speed is higher than the second target speed, that is, if the own vehicle V approaches the preceding vehicle T (step S5, YES), the process proceeds to step S6, and the first target speed is lower than or equal to the second target speed. In this case, that is, when the host vehicle V does not approach the preceding vehicle T (step S5, NO), the process proceeds to step S7”, *Nasu discloses the third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d calculates the third target speed that serves as an actual command value. The information output unit 43e outputs the third target speed acceleration calculated in step S6 or S7 as a speed/acceleration command value to the travel control unit. The travel control unit sets target driving force and target braking force such that the vehicle follows the travel trajectory and controls the power trains systems and brake system based on the command value. Therefore, Nasu controls the vehicle speed based on the third target speed, as broadly as recited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of
Sekiguchi, as modified by Lee and Miyajima, to include setting a third target speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed at a ratio of the first target speed to the second target speed, wherein the ratio was selected according to traveling conditions of the vehicle; and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the third target speed, as taught in Nasu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid abrupt switching between the traffic responsive first target speed and the map/curve responsive second target speed in order to provide a smooth transitional longitudinal speed command that accommodates both currently detected traffic conditions and upcoming route conditions, suppresses vehicle shaking and improves occupant ride comfort).
Regarding claim 7, Sekiguchi discloses recognizing surrounding conditions of a vehicle
based on detection result (see at least para. [0019] of Sekiguchi which discloses “the apparatus establishes a traveling region B corresponding to the solid object based on at least either of the traveling region A and the traveling road information and judges whether the solid object is a preceding vehicle, a tentative preceding vehicle or others according to the state of existence of the solid object in the traveling regions A and B. As a result of the judgment, a preceding vehicle in front of the own vehicle 1 is extracted and the result is outputted to the traveling control unit 3”) of an external environment detection device (Fig. 1, 4 of Sekiguchi and see at least para. [0019] of Sekiguchi which discloses “vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus 5 inputs respective signals indicative of picture images from the stereoscopic camera 4, vehicle speeds, steering angle, yaw rate and turn signal and detects frontal information about solid objects, side walls and lane markers in front of the vehicle 1 based on the picture images inputted from the stereoscopic camera 4”); setting a first target speed of the vehicle (see at least para. [0023] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The constant speed traveling switch 10 is constituted by a speed setting switch for setting a target vehicle speed at the constant speed traveling mode, a coast switch for changing the target vehicle speed in a descending direction and a resume switch for changing the target vehicle speed in an ascending direction. Further, a main switch (not shown) for turning the traveling control on or off is disposed in the vicinity of the constant speed traveling selector lever”, *Sekiguchi teaches determining a desired or command speed for the subject vehicle using information indicative of conditions surrounding the vehicle, including information concerning a preceding vehicle. Because the resulting desired or command speed is used to control the subject vehicle and is determined in response to the detected surrounding traveling path, the desired speed corresponds to the claimed first target speed, as broadly as recited) based on the surrounding conditions (see at least para. [0023] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The traveling control unit 3 is equipped with a function of a constant speed traveling control for maintaining the vehicle speed at a value inputted by the vehicle driver and a function of a follow-up traveling control for following up the preceding vehicle in a condition to keep the intervehicle distance between the own vehicle 1 and the preceding vehicle constant” and see at least para. [0024] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The constant speed traveling switch 10 is constituted by a speed setting switch for setting a target vehicle speed at the constant speed traveling mode, a coast switch for changing the target vehicle speed in a descending direction and a resume switch for changing the target vehicle speed in an ascending direction. Further, a main switch (not shown) for turning the traveling control on or off is disposed in the vicinity of the constant speed traveling selector lever”, *Sekiguchi discloses setting a first target speed of the vehicle based on the surrounding conditions. Sekiguchi’s vehicle surroundings monitoring apparatus recognizes a preceding vehicle form external environmental information and provides the recognition result to the traveling control unit 3. When the recognized preceding vehicle travels at a speed lower than the vehicle speed established by the driver, traveling control unit 3 automatically changes from a constant speed traveling mode to a follow-up traveling control mode. In the follow-up traveling control mode, the own vehicle travels at a speed targeted to the speed of the preceding vehicle while maintaining a constant intervehicle distance. Therefore, the presence and traveling speed of the preceding vehicle are the surrounding conditions upon which Sekiguchi establishes the vehicle’s target traveling speed. Additionally, Sekiguchi expressly discloses a target vehicle speed setting switch in the constant-speed traveling mode); wherein the surrounding conditions comprise a curved road (see at least para. [0076] of Sekiguchi which discloses “when the vehicle transfers from curved road to straight road, ψ is established to a small value so as to impose more weight on the own traveling path E (Xpre[i], i=0 to 23) calculated newly, presently and otherwise ψ is established to a large value so as to impose more weight on the own traveling path“) being present in a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least para. [0045] of Sekiguchi which discloses “The correction coefficient α is established to a value (0) from 0 to 1.0. When the vehicle travels straight or when the vehicle transfers from curve to straight, the correction coefficient α is established to a small value so as to reduce the curvature of the traveling path. When the vehicle turns a curve, the correction coefficient α is established to 1.0 so as to employ the curvature derived from the yaw rate γ as it is”, *Sekiguchi discloses recognizing surrounding conditions of a host vehicle based on a detection result of an external-environment detection device. Sekiguchi further discloses a monitoring apparatus for observing a vehicle’s surroundings and for receiving image signals captured by a stereoscopic camera and recognizing external road related features which include lane markers, side walls and objects in front of the host vehicle, etc. Additionally, Sekiguchi calculates and estimates an own vehicle traveling path using the recognized road related features combined with vehicle speed, steering wheel angle and yaw rate. Since Sekiguchi determines the curvature of the host vehicle traveling path and specifically performs path estimation/correction while the host vehicle turns through a curve, Sekiguchi teaches recognizing surrounding conditions that include a curved road present in the vehicle’s traveling direction).
Sekiguchi may not explicitly disclose setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on
map information, wherein the surrounding conditions comprise a curved road being present in a traveling direction of the vehicle; or the second instance of the curved road stating when a curved road is present in a traveling direction of the vehicle.
However, Lee discloses setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on map
information (Fig. 1, 32 and see at least para. [0017] of Lee which discloses “The curve speed control system 12 receives various vehicle parameter inputs, such as … map information from a map database 32“), wherein the surrounding conditions comprise a curved road being present (see at least para. [0009] of Lee which discloses “detecting a road curve as a vehicle approaches the curve, automatically providing road curvature information and controlling vehicle speed” in a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least para. [0018] of Lee which discloses “the curve speed control system 12 that provides acceleration and deceleration commands to the brake control module 22 and the acceleration control module 24. A map processor 40 is used in association with the map database 32, and can be any suitable processor” and see at least para. [0009] of Lee which describes “a map database to know the vehicle's position relative to curves in the road. Depending on the speed of the vehicle, the system generates a curvature profile for different curvature data points at or around the curve in front of the vehicle. Based on the curvature profile information, the system generates a desired speed profile for the curvature points. The desired speed profile and the actual vehicle speed are compared to determine whether the vehicle is traveling too fast for the target speed at each profile point”. Accordingly, Lee teaches setting a target speed based on map information, as the curvature used to determine the target speed is derived from the map information, *Lee’s curve speed control system receives map information from map database 32 and vehicle position information from GPS receiver 34. The map database includes information concerning road curves, including road curvature and road geometry and curvature data that are stored such that they can be reference using vehicle position. Lee’s curvature profile processor generates a curvature profile of an upcoming curve based on curvature data points for the curve. Thus, the map information identifies a curved road located ahead of the vehicle in its direction of travel, *Lee’s map database includes information concerning road curves, including road curvature information. Lee determines a curvature profile for an upcoming curve based on map-derived curvature data points. Lee’s desired speed profile processor then generates a desired or target vehicle speed profile that provides a target speed for each curvature data point by using a target speed lookup table corresponding to the curvature of the curve or the road radius. Therefore, Lee sets a target vehicle speed based on the curved road being present ahead of the vehicle); when a curved road is present in a traveling direction of the vehicle (see at least para. [0020] of Lee which discloses “A curvature profile processor 46 receives and stores the curvature path geometry and curvature data information at every predetermined period of time, such as 100 ms, for the curvature data points 66 from the map processor 40. The curvature profile processor 46 generates a curvature profile of an upcoming curve in the road based on the data points 66 that is adaptable to the vehicle speed signal Vx. The road curvature estimation or profile can be defined by the curvature data points 66 along the curve”, *Lee’s map database includes road curvature information and uses vehicle position to create a curvature profile for an upcoming curve. Thus, the map information identifies a curved road in the vehicle’s traveling direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the operations of Sekiguchi to include setting a second target speed of the vehicle based on map information, wherein the surrounding conditions comprise a curved road being present in a traveling direction of the vehicle; when a curved road is present in a traveling direction of the vehicle, as taught in Lee with a reasonable expectation of success in order to determine an appropriate vehicle speed that accounts for both real-time surrounding conditions and upcoming road geometry, thereby improving driving safety and control, particularly when approaching curved road segments. See para. [0009] of Lee for motivation.
Sekiguchi as modified by Lee may not explicitly disclose selecting one of the first target
speed and the second target speed and controlling a speed of the vehicle based on the selected target speed.
However, Miyajima discloses selecting one of the first target speed and the second target
speed and controlling a speed of the vehicle based on the selected target speed ((Fig. 2, A4 and see at least para. [0011] of Miyajima which discloses “a vehicle speed control unit that controls the speed of the vehicle based on the target vehicle speed (characteristics) and the vehicle speed“ and see at least para. [0053] of Miyajima which discloses “A vehicle speed control unit A4 controls the speed of the vehicle based on the speed of the vehicle (vehicle speed) Vx acquired by a vehicle speed acquiring unit A5 (wheel speed sensors WS**) and on the target vehicle speed Vto (Vt to be described later) in the host vehicle position Pvh. Specifically, as shown in FIG. 4, first a comparing unit A41 calculates a difference between the vehicle speed Vx and the target vehicle speed Vto (Vt) (speed deviation ΔVx), and then a vehicle speed control amount calculating unit A42 calculates a vehicle speed control amount Gst based on the speed deviation ΔVx and the map” and see at least para. [0054] of Miyajima which discloses “Based on the vehicle speed control amount Gst, the vehicle speed Vx is controlled so as not to exceed the target vehicle speed Vto (Vt to be described later) by using at least one of engine output reduction control by an engine output reduction unit A43, reduction ratio control by a transmission control unit A44, and wheel brake (brake pressure) control by a wheel brake control unit A45. As a result, the vehicle can be decelerated based on the first target vehicle speed Vto1, and then the vehicle speed can be maintained constant based on the second target vehicle speed Vto2”, *Miyajima discloses a speed control unit that selects one of a first target vehicle speed and a second target vehicle speed and controls vehicle speed based on the selected speed. Specifically, a switching unit selects a first target vehicle speed Vto1 before passing a first reference point and slects a second target vehicle speed Vto2 after passing that point. Vehicle speed control unit A4 controls vehicle speed based on selected speed Vto and actual speed Vx).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to modify the system of Sekiguchi, as modified by Lee to include selecting one of the first target speed and the second target speed and controls the speed of the vehicle based on the selected target speed, as taught in Miyajima with a reasonable expectation of success in order to facilitates the system’s ability to select the target speed applicable to the presently governing operating condition. This provides a predictable and efficient target selection mechanism, avoids simultaneous enforcement of incompatible candidate speed values and permits the controller to use an appropriate speed target before applying Nasu’s smooth third command transition strategy.
Sekiguchi, as modified by Lee, may not explicitly disclose setting a target speed by
combining the first target speed and the second target speed at a ratio according to traveling conditions of the vehicle; and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the set target speed.
However, Nasu discloses a first target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which
discloses “a first target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a first target speed/acceleration based on a running route of the host vehicle including a curve”) and a second target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “a second target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a second target speed/acceleration based on factors other than factors that bend the vehicle”) and setting a target speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “a third target speed/acceleration calculation unit that calculates a third target speed/acceleration that is a command value when the own vehicle is running. 3 target speed/acceleration calculation section, the third target speed/acceleration calculation section is configured to calculate the host vehicle based on the other factors based on the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration”) at a ratio according to traveling conditions of the vehicle (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d determines whether the host vehicle travels along the route command value P based on the presence or absence, magnitude, and position of occurrence of the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration. The speed/acceleration (hereinafter referred to as "third target speed/acceleration") that will be the actual command value is calculated” and see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The map information storage unit 13 stores general road information used in navigation systems, etc., road information including information on curves such as road width and road curvature, information on road surface conditions and traffic conditions, and the driving of other vehicles. Stores state information such as the vehicle and surrounding environment. Note that information such as the vehicle and the surrounding environment is updated one by one using information acquired through vehicle-to-vehicle communication and road-to-vehicle communication via the external communication device 11”, * Nasu teaches calculating a third target speed/acceleration command from first and second target commands in response to the vehicle’s travel plan evaluation instead of abruptly switching between the commands); and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the third target speed (see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “The third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d determines whether the host vehicle travels along the route command value P based on the presence or absence, magnitude, and position of occurrence of the first target speed/acceleration and the second target speed/acceleration. The speed/acceleration (hereinafter referred to as "third target speed/acceleration") that will be the actual command value is calculated. The information output section 43e outputs the third target speed/acceleration from the third target speed/acceleration calculation section 43d to the information output section 44 as a speed/acceleration command value” and see at least the translation of Nasu which discloses “the third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d calculates that the first target speed for solo travel included in the speed/acceleration plan when the own vehicle V travels along the route command value P is It is determined whether the speed is always higher than the second target speed for driving. If the first target speed is higher than the second target speed, that is, if the own vehicle V approaches the preceding vehicle T (step S5, YES), the process proceeds to step S6, and the first target speed is lower than or equal to the second target speed. In this case, that is, when the host vehicle V does not approach the preceding vehicle T (step S5, NO), the process proceeds to step S7”, *Nasu discloses the third target speed/acceleration calculation unit 43d calculates the third target speed that serves as an actual command value. The information output unit 43e outputs the third target speed acceleration calculated in step S6 or S7 as a speed/acceleration command value to the travel control unit. The travel control unit sets target driving force and target braking force such that the vehicle follows the travel trajectory and controls the power trains systems and brake system based on the command value. Therefore, Nasu controls the vehicle speed based on the third target speed, as broadly as recited).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of
Sekiguchi, as modified by Lee, to include setting a target speed by combining the first target speed and the second target speed at a ratio according to traveling conditions of the vehicle; and controlling the speed of the vehicle based on the set target speed, as taught in Nasu with a reasonable expectation of success in order to avoid abrupt switching between the traffic responsive first target speed and the map/curve responsive second target speed in order to provide a smooth transitional longitudinal speed command that accommodates both currently detected traffic conditions and upcoming route conditions, suppresses vehicle shaking and improves occupant ride comfort).
Additional Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Higuchi (US 2005/0161920A1) discloses a ratio between an amplitude L1 of a peak of the plastic deformation pulse and an amplitude L2 of the elastic deformation pulse corresponding to the peak of the plastic deformation pulse is expressed as L1/L2. The ratio becomes larger as the vehicle speed increases. A ratio between the average accelerations G1 and G2, that is, the weighting factor WI also becomes larger as the vehicle speed increases. The plastic deformation pulse becomes more distinguishable by using the weighting factor W1. Therefore, the severity determination becomes easier. Shiiba (US 7,469,178 B2) discloses a deceleration control apparatus for a vehicle, which performs deceleration control on the vehicle by an operation of a brake system which applies a braking force to the vehicle and a shift operation which shifts a transmission of the vehicle into a relatively low speed or speed ratio. This apparatus includes a controller which i) sets a deceleration to be applied to the vehicle as a base deceleration based on a curvature or curvature radius of a curve in a road ahead of the vehicle, and ii) determines a correction amount of the deceleration to be applied to the vehicle in addition to the base deceleration, based on the distance to the curve.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANA D IVEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/D.D.I/October 1, 2026
/JELANI A SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662