Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of copending Application No. 18/458,817 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the related patent application and is covered by the related patent application. Both applications are claiming common subject matter.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 19/059386
Application No. 18/458817
2. A method comprising:
receiving a request for a first content item that is relevant to searched content item; determining result content items based on a similarity relationship to the searched content item and a metric of how likely a user account is to relate the first content item to the searched content item; and sending at least one result content item of the result content items in response to the request.
A method for ranking content items comprising:
identifying a plurality of result content items matching at least one criterion, the plurality of result content items identified from content items in a collection of content items; ranking the content items in the plurality of result content items based on a similarity relationship that defines a relative likeness between the content items in the plurality of result content items, and an influence relationship indicative of a correlation between user engagement between pairs of content items in the content items in the plurality of result content items.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claimed invention recites “receiving a request for a first content item that is relevant to searched content item; determining result content items based on a similarity relationship to the searched content item and a metric of how likely a user account is to relate the first content item to the searched content item; and sending at least one result content item of the result content items in response to the request.” These limitations describe an abstract idea, namely the mental process of evaluating relationships between information, applying criteria (similarity relationships and user-based metrics), and generating a result that can be performed by using mere thought or using pen and paper.
The claims fail to recite any computer processor, or other hardware components necessary to perform the recited functions. As such the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and instead merely describe a software based concept or result without any recited structure for implementation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The terms included in the claim limitations including: “a metric of how likely a user account”. These terns are dot defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a particularly defined definition or process to describe the function of “how likely” and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 10, 11, and 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassa et al. (Patent No. 8,756,224 filed June 16, 2011, hereinafter Dassa) and Wang et al. (Publication No. 2015/0120753 filed October 24, 2013, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 16, Dassa teaches receiving a request for a first content item that is relevant to searched content item (Abstract, specifically, detecting similarities between each of plurality of content snippets; column 8, lines 61-65, real-time ranking module (element 240) or any other component of the application can extract entities, keywords, and/or other elements from the received set of content snippets for comparison with entities, keywords, and/or other elements in the trend index. Column 9, lines 1-6, real-time ranking module (element 240) can match trend data and user influence data to information obtained from the content snippets and generate a score for each of the snippets); determining result content items based on a similarity relationship to the searched content item (Abstract, specifically, detecting similarities between each of plurality of content snippets; column 8, lines 61-65, real-time ranking module (element 240) or any other component of the application can extract entities, keywords, and/or other elements from the received set of content snippets for comparison with entities, keywords, and/or other elements in the trend index. Column 9, lines 1-6, real-time ranking module (element 240) can match trend data and user influence data to information obtained from the content snippets and generate a score for each of the snippets) and is to relate the first content item to the searched content item (Abstract, specifically, detecting similarities between each of plurality of content snippets; column 8, lines 61-65, real-time ranking module (element 240) or any other component of the application can extract entities, keywords, and/or other elements from the received set of content snippets for comparison with entities, keywords, and/or other elements in the trend index. Column 9, lines 1-6, real-time ranking module (element 240) can match trend data and user influence data to information obtained from the content snippets and generate a score for each of the snippets); and sending at least one result content item of the result content items in response to the request (Abstract, specifically, detecting similarities between each of plurality of content snippets; column 8, lines 61-65, real-time ranking module (element 240) or any other component of the application can extract entities, keywords, and/or other elements from the received set of content snippets for comparison with entities, keywords, and/or other elements in the trend index. Column 9, lines 1-6, real-time ranking module (element 240) can match trend data and user influence data to information obtained from the content snippets and generate a score for each of the snippets).
Dassa does not expressly teach a metric of how likely a user account is to relate the first content item.
Wang teaches a metric of how likely a user account is to relate the first content item (see Abstract, indexing content based upon index features (e.g., temporal features, user engagement features, and/or outlier features), and/or for providing content within a search result interface based upon such index features and/or rankings. For example, user reaction data associated with content (e.g., a microblog message, a social network post, etc.) may be evalutated to generate a user engagement feature that may be constrained to a time window feature (e.g., the number of shares of a message within the first 10 minutes from publication of the message) to create an index feature for indexing the content within a content index).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Wang’s method with Dassa’s method because Wang’s method provides a user engagement feature constrained to a time window by indexed featured query content.
15. Regarding Claims 3 and 11, Wang teaches the metric of how likely the user account is to relate the first content item to the searched content item is an influence relationship metric (see Abstract, indexing content based upon index features (e.g., temporal features, user engagement features, and/or outlier features), and/or for providing content within a search result interface based upon such index features and/or rankings. For example, user reaction data associated with content (e.g., a microblog message, a social network post, etc.) may be evalutated to generate a user engagement feature that may be constrained to a time window feature (e.g., the number of shares of a message within the first 10 minutes from publication of the message) to create an index feature for indexing the content within a content index).
Claims 4, 8, 9, 12, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassa et al. (Patent No. 8,756,224 filed June 16, 2011, hereinafter Dassa) and Wang et al. (Publication No. 2015/0120753 filed October 24, 2013, hereinafter Wang) as applied to claims 2, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Duan et al. (Publication No. 2020/0401634 filed June 20, 2019, hereinafter Duan).
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 17, Dassa teaches determining the influence relationship metric between the first content item and a second content item in a collection of content items based on content item transitions (column 7, lines 66-67, column 8, lines 1-2, user influence data can be indexed into trend index 230. For example, a real-time ranking module 240 of the application can determine real-time online trends (e.g., the latest trends and topics)) and review data (column 12, lines 44-45, the user also reviews recent news and postings).
Dassa and Wang do not expressly teach target campaign data.
However, Duan teaches targeted campaign data ([0044] targeted by the campaign).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Duan’s method with Dassa’s and Wang’s method because Duan’s method provides generating scores for the ranking of content items and a subset of content items being selected for delivery based on the ranking.
Claims 8, 9, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dassa et al. (Patent No. 8,756,224 filed June 16, 2011, hereinafter Dassa) and Wang et al. (Publication No. 2015/0120753 filed October 24, 2013, hereinafter Wang) as applied to claims 2, 10, and 16 above, and further in view of Yee et al. (Patent No. 9,129,227 filed September 8, 2015, hereinafter Yee).
Regarding Claim 8, Dassa teaches prior to the determining the result content items, creating a graph based on the similarity relationship between the searched content item and candidate content items considered potentially relevant to the searched content item (Abstract, lines 7-8, user influence information, column 2, lines 66-67, column 3, lines 1, detecting similarities between each of the plurality of content snippets and the determined real-time trend information, column 7, lines 26-29, User influence data can be used to provide an indication that allows real-time content to be differentiated based on the influence score of the user).
However, Dassa and Wang do not expressly teach filtering the graph to identify a top n edges, wherein the top n edges identify the result content items.
Yee teaches filtering the graph to identify a top n edges, wherein the top n edges identify the result content items (column 8, lines 38 & 41, topic graph includes a set of related topic nodes also including topic clusters e.g., edges)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of Yee’s method with Dassa’s and Wang’s method because Yee’s method provides generating the ranking of content items based on determined probabilities and a selection of a subset of content items being recommended to a user based on the ranked content items.
Regarding Claims 9 and 21, Yee teaches constructing a graph of relationships between content items in a collection of content items, wherein edges connecting the content items to other content items are defined by the content items connected by the edges (Abstract, ranking the plurality of content items, column 8, lines 38 & 41, topic graph includes a set of related topic nodes also including topic clusters e.g., edges), and
filtering the graph to identify a top n edges, wherein the top n edges identify the result content items column 8, lines 38 & 41, topic graph includes a set of related topic nodes also including topic clusters e.g., edges).
Dassa teaches the relevance value being made up of the similarity relationship and the influence relationship metric and a relevance value that represents a relevance (Abstract, lines 7-8, user influence information, column 7, lines 26-29, User influence data can be used to provide an indication that allows real-time content to be differentiated based on the influence score of the user.).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13-15, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art of record, Dassa, (Patent No. 8,756,224) teaches detecting similarities between each of a plurality of content snippets.
Next, the prior art of record, Rodrigues (Publication No. 2022/0114205) teaches ranking signals for content items given a weighted average.
However, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest in combination with a context -driven factor from the result content items, wherein when ranking the result content items, the similarity relationship is weighted by the contest-driven factor and the influence relationship metric is weighted by the inverse of the context driven factor.
Next, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest in combination with the context-driven factor is a quantification of popularity of at least one content item in the result content items, and wherein the content-driven factor is smaller when the at least one content item in the result content items is more popular.
Also, the prior art of record does not teach or suggest in combination with sending a targeted content item along with the at least one result content item in response to the request, wherein the targeted content item is targeted to be presented in association the at least one result content item.
Conclusion
/CHERYL LEWIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166 April 4, 2026