DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
“connecting slot” in claims 1, 3, 9, 11, 17 and 19. Note that connecting slot 132 shown in Fig. 3 appears to point to one of the guide plate 135, which one of ordinary skill in the art would not considered as a “slot”. Furthermore, based on claim 3, two guide plates 135 form the connecting slot 132, but that would mean it’s the same as notch 134. Thus, it’s unclear where and what exactly is a connecting slot.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “connecting slot”. However, it’s unclear what is the difference between connecting slot 132 and notch 134. Claim3 also claims that two guide pates 135 form the connecting slot 132, but that appears to be the same as notch 134. Thus, the term “connecting slot” is indefinite.
Claims 2-8 depends on claim 1.
Claims 9 and 17 have similar issue as claim 1 above.
Claims 10-16 depends on claim 9.
Claims 18-24 depends on claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagahata et al. (US 5,739,837; hereinafter “Nagahata”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Nagahata discloses a spring clip structure (Figs. 23-25), comprising:
an upper plate (121, Fig. 25), comprising:
an upper plate main body (main body of 121) comprising an upper plate connecting portion (right portion of 121 directly connecting to 123 in Fig. 25); and
a concave arc structure (121a, Fig. 25) integrally and concavely disposed on the upper plate main body, and the concave arc structure located on a side (left portion of 121) of the upper plate main body different from the upper plate connecting portion;
a connecting plate (123, Fig. 25) integrally connected to the upper plate, and the connecting plate connected to the upper plate connecting portion; and
a lower plate (122, Fig. 25) integrally connected to the connecting plate, wherein the upper plate and the lower plate are disposed facing each other, and the lower plate comprises:
a lower plate main body (main body of 122) comprising a lower plate connecting portion (right portion of 122 directly connecting to 123 in Fig. 25), and the lower plate connecting portion integrally connected to the connecting plate; and
a connecting slot (connecting slot of 122, Fig. 25) located on a side of the lower plate main body different from the lower plate connecting portion;
wherein a clamping space (124, Figs. 23, 25) is defined by the upper plate, the connecting plate and the lower plate, the concave arc structure is disposed facing the lower plate to form an opening, and a notch (notch of 122) of the connecting slot communicates with the opening.
Regarding claim 2, Nagahata discloses the spring clip structure of claim 1, and Nagahata further discloses wherein the upper plate further comprises: a positioning member (125, Fig. 25) integrally connected to the concave arc structure, and the positioning member protruding into the clamping space.
Regarding claim 3, Nagahata discloses the spring clip structure of claim 1, and Nagahata further discloses wherein the lower plate further comprises: two guide plates (same as the two free ends of 122, Fig. 25) respectively and integrally connected to the lower plate main body, and the two guide plates connected to the lower plate main body to form the connecting slot.
Regarding claim 4, Nagahata discloses the spring clip structure of claim 3, and Nagahata further discloses wherein at least one of the two guide plates comprises an abutting member (same as 122a, Figs. 23-25), and the abutting member protrudes into the clamping space.
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN-207161445).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Chen discloses a spring clip structure (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
an upper plate (3), comprising:
an upper plate main body (main body of 3) comprising an upper plate connecting portion (left portion of 3 connecting to 2 in Fig. 1); and
a concave arc structure (between 3 and 4 have concave structure, see Figs. 1-2) integrally and concavely disposed on the upper plate main body, and the concave arc structure located on a side (right side of main body of 3) of the upper plate main body different from the upper plate connecting portion;
a connecting plate (2) integrally connected to the upper plate, and the connecting plate connected to the upper plate connecting portion; and
a lower plate (1 and 11) integrally connected to the connecting plate, wherein the upper plate and the lower plate are disposed facing each other (as shown in Figs. 1, 2), and the lower plate comprises:
a lower plate main body (main body of 1) comprising a lower plate connecting portion (left portion of 1 connecting with 2 in Figs. 1, 2), and the lower plate connecting portion integrally connected to the connecting plate; and
a connecting slot (14 or opening between two 11, Fig. 2) located on a side of the lower plate main body different from the lower plate connecting portion;
wherein a clamping space (space defined by 1, 2 and 3 including 31) is defined by the upper plate, the connecting plate and the lower plate, the concave arc structure is disposed facing the lower plate to form an opening (12, Fig. 2), and a notch (notch between two 11 in Fig. 2) of the connecting slot communicates with the opening.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the spring clip structure of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the upper plate further comprises: a positioning member (34, 32, Fig. 2) integrally connected to the concave arc structure, and the positioning member protruding into the clamping space.
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the spring clip structure of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the lower plate further comprises: two guide plates (two 11, Fig. 2) respectively and integrally connected to the lower plate main body, and the two guide plates connected to the lower plate main body to form the connecting slot.
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses the spring clip structure of claim 1, and Chen further discloses wherein the upper plate main body further comprises: at least one through hole (same as 35, Fig. 2) located adjacent to the concave arc structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagahata.
Regarding claims 5-7, Nagahata teaches the spring clip structure of claim 1. Nagahata does not explicitly teach wherein a clamping force of the spring clip structure is 0.5 N˜2 N; wherein a thickness of the lower plate is a, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.08mm≤α≤0.15mm; wherein an angle between the upper plate and the lower plate is θ, a width of the spring clip structure is ω, and the following condition is satisfied: 1°≤θ≤5°;or 1.5mm≤ω≤2.5mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a clamping force of the spring clip structure is 0.5 N˜2 N; wherein a thickness of the lower plate is a, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.08mm≤α≤0.15mm; wherein an angle between the upper plate and the lower plate is θ, a width of the spring clip structure is ω, and the following condition is satisfied: 1°≤θ≤5°;or 1.5mm≤ω≤2.5mm in Nagahata, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, a particular desirable and optimum range of force, thickness, angle and width can be discovered through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the usage of the spring clip structure, and those ranges does not yield any unexpected results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen.
Regarding claims 5-7, Chen teaches the spring clip structure of claim 1. Chen does not explicitly teach wherein a clamping force of the spring clip structure is 0.5 N˜2 N; wherein a thickness of the lower plate is a, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.08mm≤α≤0.15mm; wherein an angle between the upper plate and the lower plate is θ, a width of the spring clip structure is ω, and the following condition is satisfied: 1°≤θ≤5°;or 1.5mm≤ω≤2.5mm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a clamping force of the spring clip structure is 0.5 N˜2 N; wherein a thickness of the lower plate is a, and the following condition is satisfied: 0.08mm≤α≤0.15mm; wherein an angle between the upper plate and the lower plate is θ, a width of the spring clip structure is ω, and the following condition is satisfied: 1°≤θ≤5°;or 1.5mm≤ω≤2.5mm in Chen, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In this case, a particular desirable and optimum range of force, thickness, angle and width can be discovered through routine experimentation by one of ordinary skill in the art depending on the usage of the spring clip structure, and those ranges does not yield any unexpected results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-24 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Düll et al. (US 11,536,302) discloses a spring clip structure, comprising: an upper plate, comprising: an upper plate main body comprising an upper plate connecting portion; and a concave arc structure integrally and concavely disposed on the upper plate main body, and the concave arc structure located on a side of the upper plate main body different from the upper plate connecting portion; a connecting plate integrally connected to the upper plate, and the connecting plate connected to the upper plate connecting portion; and a lower plate integrally connected to the connecting plate, wherein the upper plate and the lower plate are disposed facing each other, and the lower plate comprises: a lower plate main body comprising a lower plate connecting portion, and the lower plate connecting portion integrally connected to the connecting plate; and a connecting slot located on a side of the lower plate main body different from the lower plate connecting portion; wherein a clamping space is defined by the upper plate, the connecting plate and the lower plate, the concave arc structure is disposed facing the lower plate to form an opening, and a notch of the connecting slot communicates with the opening; wherein the upper plate main body further comprises: at least one through hole located adjacent to the concave arc structure (see Figs. 1-4).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841