DETAILED ACTION
Claims 21-40 are pending in this office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on February 21, 2025, January 30, 2026, and June 16, 2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the CROSS-REFERENCES TO RELATED APPLICATIONS section needs updated to reflect applications that have matured into patents. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,277,245. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both application and patent claim a method for data protection and routing when using artificial intelligence models, comprising: storing provider restrictions that correspond to categories of restricted subject matter for providers of AI services, wherein the providers include a first provider and a second provider; receiving an input at a gateway, from an application executing on a user device, the application being configured to utilize a first model at the first provider; detecting, in the input, a first category of restricted subject matter; based on a management rule, modifying the input with a reversible transformation, including replacing a portion of the input with a contextual placeholder; injecting a prompt for inclusion with the input, the injected prompt related to the first category of restricted subject matter; routing the modified input and the injected prompt to the second provider; receiving an output from the second provider; modifying the output by at least: adding a message to the output related the injected prompt; and replacing the contextual placeholder with the portion of the input; causing the output to display on the user device.
The patent further teaches wherein the first category corresponds to a first provider restriction of the first provider; preventing transmission of a second input to the first provider; and causing the user device to receive an indication that the first provider does not allow the first category of restricted subject matter, wherein the indication also identifies the second provider as a destination for the second input as a result of the prevented transmission.
The instant application further teaches wherein a first provider restriction of the first provider corresponds to a first category of restricted subject matter.
It would have been obvious to add preventing transmission of a second input to the first provider; and causing the user device to receive an indication that the first provider does not allow the first category of restricted subject matter, wherein the indication also identifies the second provider as a destination for the second input as a result of the prevented transmission because the prevention step completes the method by routing the data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-32 and 34-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ardhanari et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0248268).
Regarding claim 21, 39, and 40, Ardhanari et al. teaches a method for data protection and routing when using artificial intelligence models, comprising: storing provider restrictions that correspond to categories of restricted subject matter for providers of AI services, wherein the providers include a first provider and a second provider, wherein a first provider restriction of the first provider corresponds to a first category of restricted subject matter (paragraph 0178 and 0194); receiving an input at a gateway, from an application executing on a user device, the application being configured to utilize a first model at the first provider (paragraph 0183); detecting, in the input, the first category of restricted subject matter (paragraph 0185); based on a management rule, modifying the input with a reversible transformation, including replacing a portion of the input with a contextual placeholder (paragraph 0185); injecting a prompt for inclusion with the input, wherein the injected prompt includes a disclaimer that addresses at least one of the categories of restricted subject matter (paragraph 0156); routing the modified input and the injected prompt to the second provider (paragraph 0156); receiving an output from the second provider (paragraph 0294); modifying the output by at least: adding a message to the output related to the injected prompt (fig. 26A, ref. num 2620); and replacing the contextual placeholder with the portion of the input (paragraph 0306); and causing the output to display on the user device (fig. 26B).
Regarding claim 22, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the injected prompt causes the input not to be blocked by the second provider (paragraph 0111).
Regarding claim 23, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the disclaimer relates to the user not using the output as medical or legal advice (paragraph 0156).
Regarding claim 24, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the disclaimer is based on multiple provider restrictions of the second provider (paragraph 0143).
Regarding claim 25, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the multiple provider restrictions of the second provider are received via an application programming interface (“API”) call (paragraph 0230).
Regarding claim 26, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the API call is made in an instance where a time threshold is exceeded with regard to at least one of the stored provider restrictions (paragraph 0198).
Regarding claim 27, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the multiple provider restrictions of the second provider are scraped from a website having terms of service of the second provider (paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 28, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the output or the modified output includes a portion of the disclaimer (paragraph 0143).
Regarding claim 29, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the modified output includes a field that includes the portion of the disclaimer (paragraph 0235).
Regarding claim 30, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the disclaimer is selected to satisfy system rules of the second provider (paragraph 0192).
Regarding claim 31, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein routing to the second provider is based on the second provider having a less stringent provider restriction corresponding to the first category of restricted subject matter than the first provider (paragraph 0270).
Regarding claim 32, Ardhanari et al. teaches further comprising causing logging of the input, the first category of restricted subject matter, the routing, and the reversible transformation (paragraph 0041).
Regarding claim 34, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein a second category of restricted subject matter applies to a second provider restriction from the second provider, wherein the second provider restriction is received based on scraping terms of service of the second provider (paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 35, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the categories of restricted subject matter include restricted vocational advice that is medical, legal, or financial in nature (paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 36, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the routing is based on determining which providers are allowed based on detecting the first category of restricted subject matter and an evaluation of multiple management rules (paragraph 0206).
Regarding claim 37, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the injected prompt includes an identifier that corresponds to at least one of a user, group, and tenant that submitted the input (paragraph 0199).
Regarding claim 38, Ardhanari et al. teaches wherein the replacing of the contextual placeholder with the portion of the input restores identical text to what was replaced by the contextual placeholder (paragraph 0183).
/BRANDON HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2433