DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 17 a computer readable medium is written as being dependent on claim 6, a method claim. It is believed that the dependency on claim 6 is as typo and should be dependent on claim 16. For the purpose of examination, claim 17 is being interpreted as being depending on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter without significantly more.
Step 1: Is the Claim to a Process, Machine, Manufacture or Composition of Matter?
Claims 1-14 recite a series of steps for controlling a computer applied to a game system. Thus, these claims are to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Claims 15-17 recite a computer readable medium with a stored computer program that is used to control a computer. The claim does not recite the phrase “non-transitory”, therefore under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim can read on a transitory form of signal transition, such as a propagating electrical or electromagnetic signal or carrier wave. A transitory, propagating signal does not fall within any statutory category. Mentor Graphics Corp. v. EVE-USA, Inc., 851 F.3d 1275, 1294, 112 USPQ2d 1120, 1133 (Fed. Cir. 2017); Nuijten, 500 F.3d at 1356-1357, 84 USPQ2d at 1501-03. Therefore, claims 15-17 do NOT meet step 1.
Claims 18-20 recite a gaming system that includes a processor and memory. Thus, the claims are to a machine, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A: Prong One: Does the Claim Recite an Abstract Idea?
Claim 1 recites: A method comprising:
displaying a task completion condition of a current level and a task progress bar in a level completion interface, the task progress bar comprising an i th stage goal and an i th goal achievement reward corresponding to the i th stage goal, and the task progress bar corresponding to a first progress value;
displaying a second progress value, the second progress value being a progress value obtained by updating the first progress value based on the task completion condition; and
displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, an (i+1) th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar.
Claim 15 recites: One or more computer readable media storing computer executable instructions that, when executed, configure a data processing system to perform a method comprising:
displaying a task completion condition of a current level and a task progress bar in a level
completion interface, the task progress bar comprising an ith stage goal and an ith goal achievement reward corresponding to the ith stage goal, and the task progress bar corresponding to a first progress value;
displaying a second progress value, the second progress value being a progress value obtained by updating the first progress value based on the task completion condition; and
displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar.
Claim 18 recites: A system, comprising:
a processor; and
memory storing computer executable instructions that, when executed by the processor,
configure the system to perform:
displaying a task completion condition of a current level and a task progress bar in a level completion interface, the task progress bar comprising an ith stage goal and an ith goal achievement reward corresponding to the ith stage goal, and the task progress bar corresponding to a first progress value;
displaying a second progress value, the second progress value being a progress value obtained by updating the first progress value based on the task completion condition; and
displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar.
The examiner finds that the foregoing underlined elements recite: (a) a mental process because they can be performed in the human mind; and/or (b) a certain method of organizing human activity because they describe managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, and following rules or instructions). The method is merely reciting displaying information via progress bars which can easily be drawn with a pen on a piece of paper, i.e. task completion charts. Furthermore, they can also be considered rules/instructions for displaying game play information to a player, i.e. what tasks a player needs to complete to earn a reward. The only structure recited in the claims are generic computer components.
Step 2A: Prong Two: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Integrate The Abstract Idea Into a Practical Application?
The elements that are underlined above are the additional elements.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements: displaying, merely adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the abstract idea. It is also noted, that the displaying steps can be considered extra or post solution activity with respect to the abstract idea of conveying information. Note no actual display was claimed.
The examiner finds that each of the following additional elements: processor and memory, i.e. a computer, does no more than generally link the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use because it/they is/are merely an incidental or token addition to the claim that does not alter or affect how the process steps of the game software are performed.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For example, there is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology.
Step 2B: Does the Claim Recite Additional Elements That Amount to Significantly More Than the Abstract Idea?
The examiner finds that the additional elements do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea for the same reasons discussed above with respect to the conclusion that the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
It is noted that the dependent claims do not add any additional elements that amount to significantly more nor add in any practical application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-10, 15, 16, 18 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2024/0207736 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a method comprising: displaying a task completion condition of a current level (Li Fig. 8, the task the players need to complete is displayed, i.e. “track down and seal everyone”) and a task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 #240) in a level completion interface, the task progress bar comprising an i th stage goal and an i th goal achievement reward corresponding to the i th stage goal (Li ¶,0043, ¶0047, when the progress bar reaches a completion threshold the player unlocks a new skill, i.e. achievement reward) and the task progress bar corresponding to a first progress value (Li Fig. 2 #240, value of 25% unlock); displaying a second progress value (Li Fig. 2 #2102 #210), the second progress value being a progress value obtained by updating the first progress value based on the task completion condition (Li ¶0064-¶0072, when the player completes a specific task shown in #240, that percentage of completion of one task is added to progress bar #210 for the overall game level); and displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, an (i+1) th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 ¶0064-¶0072, the progress bar #210 shows goals to reach, i.e. hearts, and the skills that will be unlocked once the goal is achieved). Note that “i” can be 0 or 1 and also Li’s “first progress bar” #210 equates to applicant’s “second progress bar/value” and Li’s “second progress bar” #240 equates to applicant’s first progress bar/value.
Regarding claims 2, 16 and 19, Li discloses wherein the ith stage goal and the ith goal achievement reward are located at a tail of the task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 #240, wherein the reward is achieved if the player completes/fills the entire progress bar and unlocks reward/skill GG); and the displaying an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar comprises: displaying the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th goal achievement reward in a reset task progress bar, wherein the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th goal achievement reward are located at a tail of the reset task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 #240, ¶0063-¶0072) once a player achieves the progress threshold of a certain task they earn the reward, i.e. unlock a skill, the progress bar 240 is then reset to inform players of the completion of the next task to earn the next reward, i.e. skill to unlock, each reward & goal is indicted at the end of the progress bar).
Regarding claims 3, 17 and 20, Li discloses wherein the displaying the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th goal achievement reward in a reset task progress bar comprises: displaying, in a case that the (i+1)th stage goal exists, the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th goal achievement reward in the reset task progress bar; and the method further comprises: displaying, in a case that no (i+1)th stage goal exists, the task progress bar in a progress completion state, the progress completion state being configured for representing that the ith stage goal is a last stage goal (Li Fig. 2 #210, ¶0063-¶0072, this progress bar shows the last stage goal where there are no additional stage goals so that the players know when the overall tasks have been completed).
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses, wherein the ith stage goal and the ith goal achievement
Reward (Li Fig. 2 #2101) are located at a first location of the task progress bar, and the first location is located in a middle of the task progress bar; and the displaying an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar comprises: displaying the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th goal achievement reward at a second location of the task progress bar, the second location being located behind the first location (Li Figure 2, ¶0072, BB & AA are goal achievement rewards).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses, wherein the displaying a second progress value
comprises: determining a task that is completed for the first time of the current level based on the task completion condition, the task that is completed for the first time being configured for representing a task that is completed within the current level for the first time; and
updating, in a case that the task that is completed for the first time exists, the first progress
value by using a progress update value corresponding to the task that is completed for the first time, and displaying the second progress value (Li Fig. 2 #210 and #240, ¶0064-¶0072, bar #240 is filled as a task is completed for the first time and then bar #210 is also filled with that task’s progress).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses, wherein the determining a task that is completed for the
first time of the current level based on the task completion condition comprises: determining historical completed tasks of the current level; and determining the task that is completed for the first time of the current level based on the historical completed tasks and a completed task indicated by the task completion condition, wherein the task that is completed for the first time belongs to the completed task and does not belong to the historical completed tasks; and
the method further comprises: updating, in a case that the task that is completed for the first time exists, the historical completed tasks of the current level based on the task that is completed for the first time (Li ¶0064-¶0072, the game tracks which tasks have been completed “historical completed tasks” and which are being completed for the first time in order to unlock new skills for the player).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses, wherein the method further comprises:
displaying a first completion prompt around a task entry corresponding to the task that is
completed for the first time (Li Fig. 2 #210 & #240, the progress bars fill when the task is completed and the heart is highlighted when the task is completed).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses, one or more computer readable media storing computer executable instructions that, when executed, configure a data processing system to perform a method (Li Fig. 13) comprising: displaying a task completion condition of a current level and a task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 #240) in a level completion interface (Li Fig. 8, the task the players need to complete is displayed, i.e. “track down and seal everyone”), the task progress bar comprising an ith stage goal and an ith goal achievement reward corresponding to the ith stage goal (Li ¶,0043, ¶0047, when the progress bar reaches a completion threshold the player unlocks a new skill, i.e. achievement reward), and the task progress bar corresponding to a first progress value (Li Fig. 2 #240, value of 25% unlock); displaying a second progress value (Li Fig. 2 #2102 #210), the second progress value being a progress value obtained by updating the first progress value based on the task completion condition (Li ¶0064-¶0072, when the player completes a specific task shown in #240, that percentage of completion of one task is added to progress bar #210 for the overall game level); and displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 ¶0064-¶0072, the progress bar #210 shows goals to reach, i.e. hearts, and the skills that will be unlocked once the goal is achieved).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a system, comprising: a processor; and memory storing computer executable instructions (Li Fig. 13) that, when executed by the processor, configure the system to perform: displaying a task completion condition of a current level (Li Fig. 8, the task the players need to complete is displayed, i.e. “track down and seal everyone”) and a task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 #240) in a level completion interface, the task progress bar comprising an ith stage goal and an ith goal achievement reward corresponding to the ith stage goal (Li ¶,0043, ¶0047, when the progress bar reaches a completion threshold the player unlocks a new skill, i.e. achievement reward), and the task progress bar corresponding to a first progress value (Li Fig. 2 #240, value of 25% unlock); displaying a second progress value (Li Fig. 2 #2102 #210), the second progress value being a progress value obtained by updating the first progress value based on the task completion condition (Li ¶0064-¶0072, when the player completes a specific task shown in #240, that percentage of completion of one task is added to progress bar #210 for the overall game level); and displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar (Li Fig. 2 ¶0064-¶0072, the progress bar #210 shows goals to reach, i.e. hearts, and the skills that will be unlocked once the goal is achieved).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-14, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0207736 A1) in view of Chimes (US 2015/0306499 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Li lacks in disclosing a dragging operation on the task progress bar. Chimes teaches of a video game method in which a players may use a dragging operation from the controller on the task progress bar to see and replay various stage goals on the game display (Chimes Fig. 5, ¶0075, ¶0087). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the dragging operation of the task progress bar of Chimes in the invention of Li to display, in response to a dragging operation on the task progress bar, an (i+j)th stage goal and an (i+j)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+j)th stage goal in the task progress bar, j being an integer. By being able to see what past or future rewards/goals are available during game play, the player can determine if they wish to continue play or replay various game sections as taught by Chimes. This way a player knows what they need to do to accomplish winning the game.
Regarding claim 12, Li lacks in disclosing a repeated challenge control. Chimes teaches of a video game in which sections or events of a video game are highlighted/flagged and players may choose to replay these events when they did not reach the game goals in an early play of that game segment (Chimes Fig. 5, ¶0053, ¶0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to highlight, in a case that the second progress value does not reach the ith stage goal and the current level has uncompleted tasks, a repeated challenge control on the level completion interface, the repeated challenge control being configured to trigger to rechallenge the current level. By informing a player of flagged events or places in game play where they may not have done as well as expected, players can then focus on that area of game play for improvement to improve their score/rewards during a replay which makes players more interested in playing the game if they can correct their mistakes or try again to achieve a goal/reward.
Regarding claim 13, Li lacks in disclosing a repeated challenge control. Chimes teaches of a video game in which sections or events of a video game are highlighted/flagged and players may choose to replay these events when they did not complete or reach the game goals in an early play of that game segment (Chimes Fig. 5, ¶0053, ¶0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to highlight, in a case that the second progress value does not reach the ith stage goal and the current level has uncompleted tasks, a repeated challenge control on the level completion interface comprises:
determining, in a case that the second progress value does not reach the ith stage goal and the
current level has uncompleted tasks, a progress difference between the second progress value and
the ith stage goal and a quantity of uncompleted tasks of the current level; and highlighting, in a case that the quantity of uncompleted tasks is greater than or equal to the progress difference, the repeated challenge control on the level completion interface. By informing a player of flagged events or places in game play where they may not have done as well as expected or completed a challenge, players can then focus on that area of game play for improvement to improve their score/rewards during a replay which makes players more interested in playing the game if they can correct their mistakes or try again to achieve a goal/reward.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches of highlighting the completed tasks in a game including, a task indicator of the uncompleted tasks, the task indicator being task data that needs to be reached to complete the tasks (Li Fig. 2, ¶0070). Li lacks in disclosing a repeated challenge control and determining a display style of the repeated challenge control. Chimes teaches of a video game in which sections or events of a video game are highlighted/flagged and players may choose to replay these events when they did not complete or reach the game goals in an early play of that game segment (Chimes Fig. 5, ¶0053, ¶0064). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to determine, in a case that the quantity of uncompleted tasks is greater than or equal to the progress difference; determining a display style of the repeated challenge control based on a difference between actual task data of the uncompleted tasks and the task indicator, a significance degree of the display style being in a negative correlation with the difference; and highlighting the repeated challenge control based on the display style. The type of display style being used to highlight repeated challenge control is a mere design choice to relay information to the player. Any type of design style could be used to convey information to the player and is obvious to one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2024/0207736 A1) in view of Gupta et al. (US 12,020,280 B1).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses displaying stage goals and goal achievement awards via multiple progress bars. Li lacks in specifically mentioning that the rewards are presented via animation. Gupta teaches of a digital awards system in which digital animations are presented to users when they achieve a goal and earn a reward for various levels (Gupta Fig. 5, col. 1 lines 49-67). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to prior to the displaying an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar in Li, displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, a reward obtaining animation of the ith goal achievement reward; and the displaying an (i+1)th stage goal and an (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar comprises: displaying, in a case that the reward obtaining animation is displayed, the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th goal achievement reward corresponding to the (i+1)th stage goal in the task progress bar. For example, it would have been obvious to include an animation in the game of Li to increase player engagement and enjoyment, once a task was completed in order to inform the player that the player earned a reward, i.e. unlocked as skill. Animation is dynamic and effective visual content that is enjoyable to watch and makes players excited to engage with the game increasing motivation to continue playing.
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses wherein the task progress bar is reset in a case that the
second progress value reaches the ith stage goal (Li Fig. 2 #210 when the first task is achieved, the progress bar resets to show the achievement percentage of the next task assigned); Li lacks in disclosing animation. Gupta teaches of a digital awards system in which digital animations are presented to users when they achieve a goal and earn a reward for various levels (Gupta Fig. 5, col. 1 lines 49-67). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed, to in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, a reward obtaining animation of the iᵗʰ goal achievement reward comprises: stopping displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, the task progress bar, and displaying the reward obtaining animation of the ith goal achievement reward. For example, it would have been obvious to include an animation in the game of Li to increase player engagement and enjoyment, once a task was completed in order to inform the player that the player earned a reward, i.e. unlocked as skill. Animation is dynamic and effective visual content that is enjoyable to watch and makes players excited to engage with the game increasing motivation to continue playing.
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses, wherein the ith stage goal and the ith goal achievement
reward are located at a first location of the task progress bar, the (i+1)th stage goal and the (i+1)th
goal achievement reward are located at a second location of the task progress bar, the second
location being located behind the first location (Li Figure 2, ¶0072, BB & AA are goal achievement rewards). Li lacks in disclosing animation. Gupta teaches of a digital awards system in which digital animations are presented to users when they achieve a goal and earn a reward for various levels (Gupta Fig. 5, col. 1 lines 49-67). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to display in Li an animation when the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, thereby displaying a reward
obtaining animation of the ith goal achievement reward comprises: displaying, in a case that the second progress value reaches the ith stage goal, a reward obtaining animation of the ith goal achievement reward at the first position of the task progress bar. For example, it would have been obvious to include an animation in the game of Li to increase player engagement and enjoyment, once a task was completed in order to inform the player that the player earned a reward, i.e. unlocked as skill. Animation is dynamic and effective visual content that is enjoyable to watch and makes players excited to engage with the game increasing motivation to continue playing.
**The examiner notes that all the claims are directed towards the progress bars being displayed and the information being relayed to a player via the progress bars. No structure of the display is being claimed nor any interaction with the computer components. All displayed elements recited in the claims are considered non-functional descriptive material, i.e. printed matter, and are not being given patentable weight. There is no functional relationship to any display or computer component. Where a product merely serves as a support for printed matter, no functional relationship exists. These situations may arise where the claim as a whole is directed towards conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting product. Where the claim as a whole is directed to conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the intended computer system, and/or the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. Therefore, the details of what the progress bars are displaying do not amount to a patentable distinction from the prior art. See MPEP 2111.05.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
See all references listed on PTO-892. It is noted that the video game “Among Us” includes task bars and progress bars that are updated based on completion during game play, both of which have been well known throughout the art.
Conclusion
/JULIE K BROCKETTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3700