DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Remarks, filed June 1st, 2026, has been fully considered and entered. Accordingly, claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-21 are pending in the case. Claims 5, 12, and 19 were cancelled. Claims 1, 8, and 15 were amended. Claims 1, 8, and 15 are the independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites, in part, “transmitting, by the EBN and without conversion, the electronic SFR to an aircraft operator” (emphasis added), which renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear how the electronic SFR is transmitted by the EBN to an aircraft operator without conversion. As such, the claim is indefinite, and the Examiner requests clarification from Applicant as the Specification (Paragraph [0017]) does not provide sufficient support to discern the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
At Step 1:
The claim is directed to a “method” and thus directed to a statutory category.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations directed to an abstract idea:
“populating, by a service seller, an electronics shop findings report (SFR) in a common message structure,” as drafted this recites a mentally performable process as an evaluation or judgement. One can mentally evaluate or judge populating a report.
“performing, by the airport operator, analysis on data retrieved from the electronic SFR,” as drafted this recites a mentally performable process as an evaluation or judgement. One can mentally evaluate or judge performing analysis on data.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim recites the following additional elements:
“transmitting, by the service seller, the electronic SFR to an electronic business network (EBN),” which is insignificant extra-solution activity as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
“receiving, by the EBN, the electronic SFR,” which is insignificant extra-solution activity as receiving of data (i.e. mere data gathering) such as 'obtaining information' and the particulars of the retrieved data are merely “selecting information … for collection, analysis, and display” as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
“transmitting, by the EBN an without conversion, the electronic SFR to an aircraft operator,” which is insignificant extra-solution activity as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
“directly ingesting and processing, within internal computer systems of the aircraft operator, the electronic SFR” which is insignificant extra-solution activity as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
With respect to the “receiving,” “transmitting,” “ingesting,” and “processing,” identified as insignificant extra-solution activity above when re-evaluated this element is well-understood, routine, and conventional as evidenced by the court cases in MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), “i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); … OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network);” and thus remains insignificant extra-solution activity that does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 2,
At Step 1:
The claim is directed to a “method” and thus directed to a statutory category.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim further recites limitations corresponding to the judicial exception recited in parent claim 1.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim recites the following additional elements:
“wherein the electronic SFR is formatted in Extensible markup language (XML),” which is insignificant extra-solution activity as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 3,
At Step 1:
The claim is directed to a “method” and thus directed to a statutory category.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations directed to an abstract idea:
“wherein the analysis is statistical analysis,” as drafted this recites a mentally performable process as an evaluation or judgement. One can mentally evaluate or judge performing statistical analysis.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 4,
At Step 1:
The claim is directed to a “method” and thus directed to a statutory category.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations directed to an abstract idea:
“wherein the analysis is performed by artificial intelligence (AI),” as drafted this recites a mentally performable process as an evaluation or judgement. One can mentally evaluate or judge performing analysis on data by using artificial intelligence.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 6,
At Step 1:
The claim is directed to a “method” and thus directed to a statutory category.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim recites the following limitations directed to an abstract idea:
“performing, by the EBN and as EBN analysis, analysis on data retrieved from the electronic SFR,” as drafted this recites a mentally performable process as an evaluation or judgement. One can mentally evaluate or judge performing analysis on data.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim does not recite any additional elements.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Regarding claim 7,
At Step 1:
The claim is directed to a “method” and thus directed to a statutory category.
At Step 2A, Prong One:
The claim further recites limitations corresponding to the judicial exception recited in parent claim 6.
At Step 2A, Prong Two:
The claim recites the following additional elements:
“transmitting, by the EBN and to the aircraft operator, a result of the EBN analysis,” which is insignificant extra-solution activity as identified in MPEP 2106.05(g) and does not provide integration into a practical application.
Viewing the additional limitations together and the claim as a whole, nothing provides integration into a practical application.
At Step 2B:
The conclusions for the mere implementation using a computer are carried over and does not provide significantly more.
Looking at the claim as a whole does not change this conclusion and the claim is ineligible.
Independent claims 8 and 15 and dependent claims 9-11, 13-14, 16-18, and 20-21 correspond to and recite the same judicial exception as claims 1-4, and 6-7, except that in claim 8 at Step 1, the claim is directed to a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” and thus directed to the statutory category of machine, and in claim 15 at Step 1, the claim is directed to a “system” and thus directed to the statutory category of machine. Therefore, claims 8-11, 13-18, and 20-21 are rejected accordingly.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, 13-18, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papa et al. (US 2019/0026964 A1) in view of O’Malley et al. (US 2022/0237959 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Papa teaches a computer-implemented method, comprising:
populating, by a service seller, an electronic shop findings report (SFR) in a common message structure (see Papa, Paragraph [0035], “Data from multiple sources such as shop findings, cost analytics, and invoices are scanned and received by input component 106.” [Data from multiple sources such as shop findings may be scanned (i.e., populating an electronic shop findings report by a service seller).]);
However, Papa does not explicitly teach:
populating, by a service seller, an electronic shop findings report (SFR) in a common message structure;
O’Malley teaches:
populating, by a service seller, an electronic shop findings report (SFR) in a common message structure (see O’Malley, Paragraph [0035], “The device 120 may be further configured to process the image(s) of the label information to extract the engine module data and/or the LRU data. The device 120 is also configured to transmit the engine module data and/or the LRU data, once obtained, to the data acquisition and transmission unit 114 via a communication path 124. … the device 120 is configured to enforce that a proper data format is used to enter the data to the memory 116.” Paragraph [0036], “The data may be stored in the memory 116 using any suitable format including, but not limited to, in an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file.” [The engine module data and LRU data may be processed in a proper data format, which may be stored in an Extensible markup language (XML) file (i.e., common message structure).]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Papa (teaching analytics system for aircraft line-replaceable unit maintenance optimization) in view of O’Malley (teaching system and method for tracking engine and aircraft component data), and arrived at a method that incorporates Extensible markup language. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination for the purposes of improving tracking engine and aircraft component data (see O’Malley, Paragraph [0003]). In addition, both the references (Papa and O’Malley) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor, such as aircrafts. The close relation between both the references highly suggests an expectation of success.
The combination of Papa, and O’Malley further teaches:
transmitting, by the service seller, the electronic SFR to an electronic business network (EBN); receiving, by the EBN, the electronic SFR (see Papa, Paragraph [0039], “FIG. 3 illustrates an artificial intelligence based system 100 that includes a data conversion component 302 which can convert unstructured archived data to structured data that can be analyzed by the machine learning component through employment of optical character recognition (OCR) component 402, as illustrated in FIG. 4.” [The image files (i.e., electronic SFR) are transmitted and received by the data conversion component of the artificial intelligence system (i.e., electronic business network).] Also, see O’Malley, Paragraph [0034], “one or more client devices 120 are adapted to communicate with the data acquisition and transmission unit 114. … Each device 120 is configured to connect to the data acquisition and transmission unit 114 via a communication path 124,” Paragraph [0035], “Each device 120 is configured to read the labels 108 a, 108 b to obtain the label information associated therewith. The device 120 is then configured to extract the engine module data and/or the LRU data from the label information. … The device 120 is also configured to transmit the engine module data and/or the LRU data, once obtained, to the data acquisition and transmission unit 114 via a communication path 124. … The data acquisition and transmission unit 114 may in turn store the received data in the memory 116.” [The device is configured to transmit the engine module data and LRU data to the data acquisition and transmission unit, and the data acquisition and transmission unit is configured to receive the engine module data and LRU data.]);
transmitting, by the EBN and without conversion, the electronic SFR to an aircraft operator; directly ingesting and processing, within internal computer systems of the aircraft operator, the electronic SFR and performing, by the aircraft operator, analysis on data retrieved from the electronic SFR (see Papa, Paragraphs [0042]-[0045], “Users can actively identify which words or phrases are important or are synonyms to complement machine learning. FIG. 7 illustrates an example, non-limiting method 700 for building dynamic and interactive wordcloud that has drag and drop functionality. … FIG. 9 illustrates graph 900 for workscope clustering to identify cost errors. Graph 900 has three different cost levels and one data point that is misplaced but is difficult to identify without applying workscope clustering. LRU 902 depicts an improperly applied workscope only visible by manually reading and recognizing the issues,” [The user (i.e., aircraft operator) has access to the data, thus, indicating the electronic SFR was transmitted, by the EBN and without conversion. The user (i.e., aircraft operator) may interact with the data regarding the shop findings, thus, indicating the electronic SFR is directly ingested and processed within the internal computer systems of the aircraft operator.]).
Regarding claim 2, Papa in view of O’Malley teaches all the limitations of claim 1. O’Malley further teaches:
wherein the electronic SFR is formatted in Extensible markup language (XML) (see O’Malley, Paragraph [0036], “The data may be stored in the memory 116 using any suitable format including, but not limited to, in an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file.” [The data may be stored in an Extensible markup language (XML) file.]).
Regarding claim 3, Papa in view of O’Malley teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Papa further teaches:
wherein the analysis is statistical analysis (see Papa, Paragraph [0034], “Such classification can employ a probabilistic and/or statistical-based analysis (e.g., factoring into the analysis utilities and costs) to determinate an action to be automatically performed.” [Statistical analysis may be implemented.]).
Regarding claim 4, Papa in view of O’Malley teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Papa further teaches:
wherein the analysis is performed by artificial intelligence (AI) (see Papa, Paragraph [0034], “A support vector machine (SVM) is an example of a classifier that can be employed. … Other directed and undirected model classification approaches include, e.g., naïve Bayes, Bayesian networks, decision trees, neural networks, fuzzy logic models, and probabilistic classification models providing different patterns of independence can be employed.” [The analysis may be performed by a support vector machine, as well as other classification approaches (i.e., artificial intelligence).]).
Regarding claim 6, Papa in view of O’Malley teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Papa further teaches:
performing, by the EBN and as EBN analysis, analysis on data retrieved from the electronic SFR (see Papa, Paragraph [0041], “Text analytic and clustering algorithms are employed to determine causality between workscope, shop findings, applied service bulletins, costs, etc.” [Text analytics and clustering algorithms (i.e., analysis) may be performed on the converted data.]).
Regarding claim 7, Papa in view of O’Malley teaches all the limitations of claim 6. Papa further teaches:
transmitting, by the EBN and to the aircraft operator, a result of the EBN analysis (see Papa, Paragraph [0045], “an avatar component 1102, as illustrated in FIG. 11, can generate an avatar that interfaces with a user and provide suggestions to the user based on outputs of the AI model. For example, the avatar can remind the user that a set of LRU needs to be replaced and ask whether the user want the avatar to order replacements.” [The suggestions (i.e., a result of the EBN analysis) may be provided to the user (i.e., aircraft operator).]).
Regarding claims 8-11, 13-18, and 20-21, Papa teaches all of the limitations of claims 1-4, and 6-7, in method form rather than in computer-readable medium form and system form. Papa also discloses a computer-readable medium [0056] and system [0056]. Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claims 1-4, and 6-7, applies equally as well to those limitations of claims 8-11, 13-18, and 20-21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Arguments, filed June 1st, 2026, have been fully considered, but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of Applicant's Remarks that the amended claims are integrated into a practical application, and amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application because the invention merely uses the computer such as a “non-transitory, machine-readable media,” and “memory” to facilitate performance of the abstract idea, and the specification (paragraphs [0017] and [0019], as cited by the Applicant) does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the invention as claimed is an improvement, thus, it does not improve the functioning of the computer in any way (see MPEP 2106.04(d)(1)).
The limitations as claimed do not include limitations that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations as claimed are recited at a high-level of generality and amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer environment (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Applicant argues on page 9 of Applicant's Remarks that the cited references do not teach or suggest “an electronic shop findings report (SFR) in a common message structure that is transmitted by an electronic business network (EBN) and without conversion to an aircraft operator and directly ingest[ed] and process[ed], within internal computer systems of the aircraft operator.” (emphasis added). The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant’s specification discloses in paragraph [0018], “the described approach generates an electronic SFR by a service seller in a common message structure (e.g., Extensible Markup Language (XML)).” As shown, a common message structure is an Extensible Markup Language (XML). Accordingly, O’Malley discloses in paragraph [0036], “The data may be stored in the memory 116 using any suitable format including, but not limited to, in an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file.” As shown, O’Malley discloses storing data in an Extensible Markup Language (XML) file (i.e., a common message structure).
Accordingly, in addition to the cited portions above, Papa discloses in paragraphs [0042]-[0044], “Users can actively identify which words or phrases are important or are synonyms to complement machine learning. FIG. 7 illustrates an example, non-limiting method 700 for building dynamic and interactive wordcloud that has drag and drop functionality. … FIG. 9 illustrates graph 900 for workscope clustering to identify cost errors. Graph 900 has three different cost levels and one data point that is misplaced but is difficult to identify without applying workscope clustering. LRU 902 depicts an improperly applied workscope only visible by manually reading and recognizing the issues.” As shown, the AI system (i.e., Electronic Business network) may allow the user (i.e., aircraft operator) to interact with the information that was received such as the shop findings mentioned above in paragraph [0035] of Papa. Accordingly, the user (i.e., aircraft operator) has access to the data, thus, indicating the electronic SFR was transmitted, by the EBN and without conversion. Lastly, the user may interact with information regarding the shop findings, which indicates the data is directly ingested and processed within the internal computer systems of the aircraft operator.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Avery et al. (US 2007/0124222 A1), which discloses integrated materials management for commercial aircraft fleets including access to real-time on-board systems information.
Foxford et al. (US 2004/0138792 A1), which discloses a system and method that efficiently captures, stores, and reports aerospace maintenance, repair, and overhaul data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUSAM TURKI SAMARA/Examiner, Art Unit 2161
/APU M MOFIZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2161