DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Himmel et al., WO 2023/244543.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, paragraph 0150 of Himmel discloses a vehicle seat cushion including a first plastic mesh 242 attached to a first edge of plastic mesh base 232 and a second plastic mesh 244 attached to the plastic mesh base 232 at a second edge. Paragraph 0150 discloses that the first and second plastic meshes, 242 and 244, include a plurality of three-dimensional filament loops composed of thermoplastic polymer. Additionally, paragraph 0150 discloses that the plurality of three-dimensional filament loops include a fused connections in which two loops are attached to each other.
Regarding claims 2-4 and 9-11, Applicant’s claims are not specific to the adhesive. Examiner is corresponding the Himmel plastic mesh base 232 as Applicant’s adhesive.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, paragraph 0151 include skin layers. Paragraph 0166 discloses a first skin layer disposed over the first face of the plastic mesh base. Paragraph 0167 discloses a skin layer disposed the second face of the plastic mesh base.
Regarding claim 8, paragraph 0150 discloses that the plastic mesh base includes a thermoplastic polymer. Thermoplastics are heat-activated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Himmel et al., WO 2023/244543.
Regarding claims 12-20, paragraph 0150 of Himmel discloses a vehicle seat cushion including a first plastic mesh 242 attached to a first edge of plastic mesh base 232 and a second plastic mesh 244 attached to the plastic mesh base 232 at a second edge. Paragraph 0150 discloses that the first and second plastic meshes, 242 and 244, include a plurality of three-dimensional filament loops composed of thermoplastic polymer. Additionally, paragraph 0150 discloses that the plurality of three-dimensional filament loops include a fused connections in which two loops are attached to each other. Paragraph 0157 discloses that the first plastic mesh, the plastic mesh base and the second plastic mesh are formed by compression molding. Himmel teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach that wherein heating the first mesh member, the second mesh member, and the adhesive at least partially melts the adhesive and does not melt the first mesh member and the second mesh member. It is reasonable to presume that the adhesive partially melts and does not melt the first mesh and the second mesh is inherent to Himmel. Said presumption is based upon Himmel’s disclosure of a vehicle seat cushion including a first plastic mesh 242 attached to a first edge of plastic mesh base 232 and a second plastic mesh 244 attached to the plastic mesh base 232 at a second edge. Paragraph 0150 discloses that the first and second plastic meshes, 242 and 244, include a plurality of three-dimensional filament loops composed of thermoplastic polymer. Additionally, paragraph 0150 discloses that the plurality of three-dimensional filament loops include a fused connections in which two loops are attached to each other. Paragraph 0157 discloses that the first plastic mesh, the plastic mesh base and the second plastic mesh are formed by compression molding.
Applicant’s claims are not specific to the adhesive. Examiner is corresponding the Himmel plastic mesh base 232 as Applicant’s adhesive. Paragraph 0151 include skin layers. Paragraph 0166 discloses a first skin layer disposed over the first face of the plastic mesh base. Paragraph 0167 discloses a skin layer disposed the second face of the plastic mesh base. Paragraph 0150 discloses that the plastic mesh base includes a thermoplastic polymer. Thermoplastics are heat-activated.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786