DETAILED ACTION
Examiner Remarks
The English version of prior art references for the rejection are attached in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-10, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2022191064 A1 SUZUKI, TAKUYA et al. (hereafter Suzuki), and further in view of WO 2023200237 A1 JANG, HYEONG MOON et al. (hereafter Jang).
Regarding claim 1, Suzuki discloses A method for decoding a coded video bitstream (Fig.1), the method comprising: obtaining, by a device comprising a memory storing instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, a coded video bitstream (Fig.1, P.4 para.4th,P.34 para.3rd , P.53 para.4th ); determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a sequence-level temporal restoration flag for a picture sequence (P.47 para.3rd P.33 para.4th, filter information is the temporal restoration flag included in SPS that is a syntax structure containing syntax elements that apply to zero or more); when the sequence-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the picture sequence (P.6 para.2nd),
Suzuki fails to disclose determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, an index indicating a temporal resampling ratio; and decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating temporal resampling data based on the temporal resampling ratio.
However, Jang teaches determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, an index indicating a temporal resampling ratio (P.28 3rd, P.37 para.2nd, P.42 para.2nd , reference picture index is the claimed index from the prediction information of bitstream); and decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating temporal resampling data based on the temporal resampling ratio (P 44 para.2nd-P 45 para.1st ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method or decoding a coded video bitstream disclosed by Suzuki to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Jang, in order to provide a video encoding/decoding method and device with improved encoding/decoding efficiency, as identified by Jang.
Regarding claim 5, Suzuki discloses The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a picture-level temporal restoration flag for a current picture in the picture sequence; and when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the current picture (P.4 para.4th,P.34 para.3rd , P.53 para.4th, P.47 para.3rd P.33 para.4th ): Jang teaches determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a picture-level index indicating a picture-level temporal resampling ratio, and decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating picture-level temporal resampling data for the current picture based on the picture-level temporal resampling ratio (P 42 para.2nd).
Regarding claim 6, Suzuki discloses The method according to claim 5, further comprising: when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is disabled for the current picture, decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating sequence-level temporal resampling data for the picture sequence based on the temporal resampling ratio (P.41 para.2nd).
Regarding claim 7, Jang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein: when the sequence-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the picture sequence, the method further comprises: determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a picture-level temporal restoration flag for a current picture in the picture sequence; and when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the current picture: determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a picture-level index indicating a picture-level temporal resampling ratio, and decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating picture- level temporal resampling data for the current picture based on the picture-level temporal resampling ratio (P.17 para.1st, P.42 para.1st -P.43 para.1st ).
Regarding claim 8, Jang teaches The method according to claim 7, further comprising: when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is disabled for the current picture, decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating sequence-level temporal resampling data for the picture sequence based on the temporal resampling ratio (P.17 para.1st, P.42 para.1st -P.43 para.1st ).
Regarding claim 9, Jang teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein: when the sequence-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the picture sequence, the method further comprises: determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a picture-level temporal restoration flag for a current picture in the picture sequence; and decoding, by the device, the coded video bitstream by generating sequence-level temporal resampling data for the picture sequence based on the temporal resampling ratio (P.17 para.1st, P.42 para.1st -P.43 para.1st ).
Regarding claim 10, see the rejection for claim 1, Suzuki further discloses A method for encoding a video, the method comprising: obtaining, by a device comprising a memory storing instructions and a processor in communication with the memory, a video (Fig.1, P.4 para.4th,P.34 para.3rd , P.53 para.4th ); and Lee teaches encoding, by the device, the video into a coded video bitstream by downsampling based on the temporal resampling ratio ([57]-[69], [91]-[93]).
Regarding claim 19, see the rejection for claim 1.
Claim(s) 2, 11, 14-18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Jang, and further in view of US 20250234018 A1 LEE; Jin Young et al. (hereafter Lee).
Regarding claims 2, 11, 20, Lee teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein, the temporal resampling ratio is indicated by the index by: being equal to 2^(M+1), wherein M is an unsigned integer value of the index ([59]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Suzuki, Jang and Lee before him/her, to modify the method or decoding a coded video bitstream disclosed by Suzuki to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Jang and Lee, in order to provide a video encoding/decoding method and device with improved encoding/decoding efficiency, as identified by Jang, and a method and device for encoding/decoding a transformed image based on a region of interest to increase compression efficiency while maintaining machine mission performance, as identified by Lee.
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches The method according to claim 10, further comprising: determining, by the device based on the video, a picture-level temporal restoration flag for a current picture in the picture sequence; and when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the current picture: determining, by the device based on the video, a picture-level index indicating a picture-level temporal resampling ratio, and encoding, by the device, the video into the coded video bitstream by picture- level downsampling the current picture based on the picture-level temporal resampling ratio ([95]-[113]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches The method according to claim 14, further comprising: when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is disabled for the current picture, encoding, by the device, the video into the coded video bitstream by sequence-level downsampling the picture sequence based on the temporal resampling ratio ([95]-[113]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches The method according to claim 10, wherein: when the sequence-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the picture sequence, the method further comprises: determining, by the device based on the video, a picture-level temporal restoration flag for a current picture in the picture sequence; and when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the current picture: determining, by the device based on the video, a picture-level index indicating a picture-level temporal resampling ratio, and encoding, by the device, the video into the coded video bitstream by picture-level downsampling the current picture based on the picture-level temporal resampling ratio ([95]-[113]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches The method according to claim 16, further comprising: when the picture-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is disabled for the current picture, encoding, by the device, the video into the coded video bitstream by sequence-level downsampling the picture sequence based on the temporal resampling ratio ([95]-[113]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches The method according to claim 10, wherein: when the sequence-level temporal restoration flag indicates that temporal restoration is enabled for the picture sequence, the method further comprises: determining, by the device based on the video, a picture-level temporal restoration flag for a current picture in the picture sequence; and encoding, by the device, the video into the coded video bitstream by sequence- level downsampling the picture sequence based on the temporal resampling ratio ([95]-[113]).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, in view of Jang, and further in view of CN 117640929 A HUANG.
Regarding claims 3, 12, Huang teaches The method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining, by the device from the coded video bitstream, a temporal-remaining number indicating a number of pictures that are output after a last temporal resampling picture in the picture sequence (P 13 para.1st ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention having all the references Suzuki, Jang and Huang before him/her, to modify the method or decoding a coded video bitstream disclosed by Suzuki to include the teaching in the same field of endeavor of Jang and Huang, in order to provide a video encoding/decoding method and device with improved encoding/decoding efficiency, as identified by Jang, and improve the compression efficiency of the image frame with large noise intensity , as identified by Huang.
Regarding claims 4, 13, Suzuki discloses The method according to claim 3, wherein: the temporal-remaining number is an integer from 0 to the temporal resampling ratio (P 43, para.2nd).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: KR 20240026180 A, KR 20170129750 A, US 20240305829 A1.
/TRACY Y. LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487