DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,249,411. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the present claims are a mere broadening of the previously allowed claims with some additional inherent steps claimed with regard to processing a prescription.
The subject matter of claim 1 is disclosed in claim 1 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 2 is disclosed in claim 2 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 3 is disclosed in claim 3 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 4 is disclosed in claim 4 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 5 is disclosed in claim 5 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 6 is disclosed in claim 6 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 7 is disclosed in claim 7 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 8 is disclosed in claim 8 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 9 is disclosed in claim 9 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 10 is disclosed in claim 10 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 11 is disclosed in claim 11 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 12 is disclosed in claim 12 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 13 is disclosed in claim 14 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 14 is disclosed in claim 15 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 15 is disclosed in claims 17 and 18 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 16 is disclosed in claim 16 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 17 is disclosed in claim 17 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 18 is disclosed in claim 18 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 19 is disclosed in claim 19 of US 12,249,411.
The subject matter of claim 20 is disclosed in claim 20 of US 12,249,411.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reese US 6,711,460.
Reese discloses a pharmacy automation system comprising:
(Re claim 1) “receive a prescription from a database, wherein the prescription comprises information of a prescribed medication” (510 figure 14, col 13-14 lines 50-3). “create a medication dispensing order based on the prescription” (530 figure 14, col 13-14 lines 50-3). “create a pick task for the medication dispensing order” (col 13-14 lines 50-3). “verify authenticity of one of a patient and a proxy” (520 figure 14). “notify in-network automatons to initiate the pick task” (‘robot’, col 13-14 lines 50-3). “retrieve the prescribed medication, using a robot, from a storage when the prescribed medication is available in a pharmacy” (‘drug retrieval robot’, col 13-14 lines 50-3). “fill a container with the prescribed medication” (col 17 lines 48-67). “verify authenticity of one of the patient and the proxy upon arrival to pick up the prescribed medication” (col 7 lines 20-24). “retrieve the container and hand over the container with the prescribed medication to one of the patient and the proxy” (col 7 lines 40-56).
(Re claim 2) “the prescription is in a form of one of an audio and a digital recording” (col 5 lines 13-23).
(Re claim 11). “the robot, verifying the authenticity of one of the patient and the proxy, is operable to check and approve an identification of one of the patient and the proxy” (col 7 lines 20-24).
(Re claim 12) “the identification is in a form of biometric data and/or a photograph” (col 7 lines 20-24).
(Re claim 13) “wherein the robot fills the container with a request amount of the prescribed medication as per the prescription” (col 10 lines 39-65).
(Re claim 14) “the robot is operable to retrieve a lid and seal the container upon filling the container with the prescribed medication” (col 18 lines 36-44).
(Re claim 15) “the robot is directed by a pharmacist from a remote location” (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese in view of Yered US 2006/0116905.
Reese discloses the system as rejected above and a card reader to enter prescription information (col 7 lines 8-24) and the use of smart cards with IP addresses to transmit information regarding the prescription (col 8 lines 20-28).
Reese does not disclose the prescription is in a form of an internet protocol (IP) address.
Yered teaches that the prescription is in a form of an internet protocol (IP) address (para 0116).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include that the prescription is in a form of an internet protocol (IP) address because it provides further identifiable information for the customer.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese in view of Haider et al. US 2008/0147518.
Reese disclose the system as rejected above and working with multiple different pharmacies (abstract).
Reese does not disclose that if the prescribed medication is not available in the pharmacy, the robot is configured to order a drug from a nearest pharmacy in network.
Haider teaches that if the prescribed medication is not available in the pharmacy, the robot is configured to order a drug from a nearest pharmacy in network (abstract, para 0019).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include that if the prescribed medication is not available in the pharmacy, the robot is configured to order a drug from a nearest pharmacy in network because it allows the patient to get their medication as soon as possible.
Claim(s) 5-10 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reese in view of Vu et al. US 2007/0192910.
Reese discloses the system as rejected above.
Reese does not disclose that the robot comprises a hardware device and a software to perform the internal mapping, wherein the internal mapping is a simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM).
Vu teaches that the robot comprises a hardware device and a software to perform the internal mapping, wherein the internal mapping is a simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM) (abstract, para 0105, 0237).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify Reese to include that the robot comprises a hardware device and a software to perform the internal mapping, wherein the internal mapping is a simultaneous localization and mapping because it allows for greater access to areas for both delivery and retrieval.
(Re claim 6) “the robot determines the prescribed medication from the prescription” (col 14 lines 45-57).
(Re claim 7) “the prescription is in a form of a prescription note or a medical card comprising a built-in memory chip containing at least information regarding the prescribed medication” (col 8 lines 43-57).
(Re claim 8) “the robot is further configured to upload an information of the patient and/or the proxy to a doctor directly or an intermediary, the intermediary comprising an online database containing a list of doctors or a cloud network” (156, 144 figure 1,2, col 20 lines 40-52).
(Re claim 9) Reese does not disclose that the hardware device comprises a rotary encoder and a laser.
Vu teaches that the hardware device comprises a rotary encoder and a laser (para 0051, 0162).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include that the hardware device comprises a rotary encoder and a laser because it helps with navigation and avoiding collisions.
(Re claim 10) “the software comprises a robot operating system” (abstract).
(Re claim 16) Reese does not disclose that the robot is further operable to track a current location of the patient.
Vu teaches that the robot is further operable to track a current location of the patient (para 0253).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include that the robot is further operable to track a current location of the patient because it allows for the robot to contact the patient faster.
(Re claim 17) Reese does not disclose that the robot is further operable to maneuver to the current location of the patient.
Vu teaches that the robot is further operable to maneuver to the current location of the patient. (abstract, claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include that the robot is further operable to maneuver to the current location of the patient because it allows direct delivery to the patient especially if the patient has mobility issues.
(Re claim 18) Reese does not disclose that the robot is further operable to deliver the prescribed medication at the current location of the patient.
Vu teaches that the robot is further operable to deliver the prescribed medication at the current location of the patient (para 0271).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include that the robot is further operable to deliver the prescribed medication at the current location of the patient because it allows direct delivery to the patient especially if the patient has mobility issues.
(Re claim 19,20) Reese does not disclose that the robot is further operable to communicate a schedule electronically to the patient in advance of time at which a delivery is to be made, wherein the schedule comprises at least a time and a location for a delivery of the prescribed medication and the robot is further operable to deliver the prescribed medication as per the schedule.
Vu teaches that the robot is further operable to communicate a schedule electronically to the patient in advance of time at which a delivery is to be made, wherein the schedule comprises at least a time and a location for a delivery of the prescribed medication and the robot is further operable to deliver the prescribed medication as per the schedule (figure 11A, 11B).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Reese to include hat the robot is further operable to communicate a schedule electronically to the patient in advance of time at which a delivery is to be made, wherein the schedule comprises at least a time and a location for a delivery of the prescribed medication and the robot is further operable to deliver the prescribed medication as per the schedule because it helps to maintain compliance with prescription medications.
Conclusion
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655