DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. DE 102024201644.6, filed on 02/22/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[Page 8, Lines 9-10]: As written it reads “The components comprise in particular the RX electronics, the magnetic electronics, etc.”. However, this is the first indication of the term “RX”, therefore the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
[Page 11, Lines 25-26]: As written it reads “The equipment room 4 also includes a helium compressor MREF for magnetic cooling”. However, this is the first indication of the term “MREF” therefore, the term should be spelled out to provide clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 6, as written this claim reads “wherein the mechanically preset swivel angle is configured to determine an alignment of a longitudinal axis of the gantry in a direction of the longitudinal axis of an upper body of the patient”. However, the examiner believes “the mechanical preset swivel angle” should be “the adjustment mechanism”. The examiner believes it would make more sense for “an adjustment mechanism” to determine an alignment of a longitudinal axis of the gantry in a direction of the longitudinal axis of an upper body of the patient rather than a mechanically preset swivel angle performing this determination.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, as written it reads "wherein the carrier includes a buffer configured to vibrationally decouple the gantry from a floor on which the carrier is positionable”, however it is unclear what the scope of the term “vibrationally decouple” means in this context. In this case, this term can be interpreted to mean that 1) a vibration causes the carrier to detach from the gantry; 2) the buffer prevents vibration from passing through the system. The examiner recommends clarifying what this term means in the context of the magnetic resonance imaging system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Biber US 2022/0308140 A1 “Biber”.
Regarding claim 14, Biber teaches "A method for configuring a magnetic resonance imaging system, comprising:” (“FIG. 4 shows a possible flow diagram of an inventive method for supporting an adjustment of a shim parameter of a magnetic resonance apparatus 10” [0117]. Therefore, FIG. 4 represents a method for configuring a magnetic resonance imaging system.);
“providing a patient seat on which a patient is positionably seatable in an at least a semi-upright position before imaging” (“The patient 15 can be positioned for an imaging examination on a patient support apparatus 16” [0104]. As shown in FIG. 1, the patient 15 is seated in a semi-upright position. Therefore, the method carried out by the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 (see FIG. 1) involves providing a patient seat on which a patient is positionably seatable in an at least a semi-upright position before imaging.);
“providing a carrier including a vertical translation mechanism configured to arrange a gantry of a scanner of the magnetic resonance imaging system in a predetermined vertical position” (“The magnetic resonance apparatus 10 comprises a magnet unit 13 and an imaging region 14 that is embodied to image an examination object 15, such as e.g. the head of the patient 15. The imaging region 14 in the present example is embodied in a cylindrical shape and is enclosed on its outer circumference by the magnet unit 13. […] It is conceivable for the magnet unit 13 to be able to be positioned by means of a positioning apparatus 11 in a spatial direction Z, a spatial direction X and/or a spatial direction Y in order to match the imaging region 14 to the diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15” [0104] and “In the present example the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 further has position encoders 23a, 23b and 23c (23a-c), which are embodied to determine a movement of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 and/or the magnet unit 13 along a movement path. For this the position encoders 23a-c can in particular be connected to an actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11” [0109].
As shown in FIG. 1, the y-axis is a vertical axis. The position encoder 23c, in this case, moves the magnetic resonance apparatus vertically along the y-axis. Therefore, the scanner includes a carrier (i.e. positional encoders 23a-23c) having a vertical translation mechanism (i.e. positional encoder 23c) configured to arrange the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) in a predetermined vertical position (i.e. along the y-axis). Therefore, the method carried out by the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 (see FIG. 1) involves providing a carrier (i.e. positional encoders 23a-23c) including a vertical translation mechanism (i.e. positional encoder 23c) configured to arrange a gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) of a scanner of the magnetic resonance imaging system (i.e. 10) in a predetermined vertical position.); and
“connecting the gantry to the carrier such that the gantry of the scanner is configured to be displaceable in a vertical direction so that a head of the patient is insertable into a patient opening of the gantry for imaging” (See [0104], [0109] above and “An opening of the angled arrangement can in this case represent an access to the imaging region 14 of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10” [0113]. In this case, the positioning apparatus 11 (i.e. gantry) supports the magnet unit 13 and the imaging region 14. As shown in FIG. 2, for example, the patient 15, including their head, is positioned within an opening in the imaging system 14 for imaging. Additionally, since the position encoders 23a-c are connected to an actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11 (see [0109]), the method involves connecting the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) to the carrier (i.e. position encoders 23a-c) such that the gantry (i.e. 11) of the scanner (i.e. 10) is configured to be displaceable in a vertical direction (i.e. using the position encoder 23c) so that a head of the patient (i.e. patient 15) is insertable into a patient opening (i.e. within the imaging system 14) of the gantry (i.e. 11) for imaging (see FIG. 2).).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by Biber US 2022/0308140 A1 “Biber” and further in view of Dutto et al. US 2009/0289633 A1 “Dutto”.
Regarding claim 1, Biber teaches “A magnetic resonance imaging system, comprising:” (“FIG. 1 shows a schematic diagram of an inventive magnetic resonance apparatus 10, which is suitable for an imaging examination of a head region of patient 15” [0094].
“a scanner comprising: (“The magnetic resonance apparatus 10 comprises a magnet unit 13 and an imaging region 14 that is embodied to image an examination object 15, such as e.g. the head of the patient 15. The imaging region 14 in the present example is embodied in a cylindrical shape and is enclosed on its outer circumference by the magnet unit 13. […] It is conceivable for the magnet unit 13 to be able to be positioned by means of a positioning apparatus 11 in a spatial direction Z, a spatial direction X and/or a spatial direction Y in order to match the imaging region 14 to the diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15” [0104]. In this case, the magnet unit 13 in combination with an imaging region 14 represents a scanner.);
“a gantry including a magnet system with a base field magnet and a patient opening” (see positioning apparatus 11 in [0104] above and “The magnet unit 13 has at least one magnet (not shown), which is embodied to create a magnetic field in the imaging region 14. The magnet can for example have a permanent magnet and/or an electromagnet based on a resistive coil, a superconductor and/or a high-temperature superconductor. The magnet unit 13 can in particular have a gradient coil (not shown) for creating magnetic gradient fields, which are used for a spatial encoding during imaging” [0105]; “An opening of the angled arrangement can in this case represent an access to the imaging region 14 of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10” [0113]. In this case, the positioning apparatus 11 supports the magnet unit 13 and the imaging region 14. As shown in FIG. 2, for example the patient 15 is positioned within an opening in the imaging system 14. Thus, the positioning apparatus 11 represents a gantry including a magnet system (i.e. magnet unit 13) with a base field magnet (i.e. at least one magnet) and a patient opening (i.e. within the imaging region 14, as shown in FIG. 2); and
“a carrier having a vertical translation mechanism configured to arrange the gantry in a predetermined vertical position” (See [0104] and “In the present example the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 further has position encoders 23a, 23b and 23c (23a-c), which are embodied to determine a movement of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 and/or the magnet unit 13 along a movement path. For this the position encoders 23a-c can in particular be connected to an actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11” [0109]. As shown in FIG. 1, the y-axis is a vertical axis. The position encoder 23c, in this case, moves the magnetic resonance apparatus vertically along the y axis. Therefore, the scanner includes a carrier (i.e. positional encoders 23a-23c) having a vertical translation mechanism (i.e. 23c) configured to arrange the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) in a predetermined vertical position (i.e. along the y-axis).); and
“a patient seat on which a patient is positionably seatable in an at least semi-upright position during imaging” (“The patient 15 can be positioned for an imaging examination on a patient support apparatus 16” [0104]. As shown in FIG. 1, the patient 15 is seated in a semi-upright position. Additionally, FIG. 1, shows that the positioning apparatus 11, moves horizontally (i.e. along the z-axis) by the position encoder 23a relative to the patient support apparatus 16. Therefore, the magnetic resonance imaging system includes a patient seat on which a patient is positionably seatable in an at least semi-upright position during imaging.).
However, Biber does not teach the patient seat “which is configured to be displaceable in a horizontal direction relative to the gantry”.
Dutto is within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention because it involves a magnetic resonance imaging system with a movable bench 40 (see FIG. 2).
Dutto teaches the patient seat “which is configured to be displaceable in a horizontal direction relative to the gantry” (“The transport system (30) also includes a trolley (31) which can slide along movement path defined by the track of the support structure (20) to move a patient positioned on a bench 40 into and out of the magnetic imaging area [R]” [0034]; “In accordance with one embodiment of the invention, the bench (40) comprises a non-reclinable support part (41), e.g., a fixed central part having a substantially horizontal position, with the respective reclinable support parts (42 and 43) rotatably coupled to the opposite extremities of the non-reclinable support part (41), to allow rotatably changing the position of the patient on the bench, for example, to position the patient in a slanted position” [0036]. As shown in FIG. 2, the reclinable support parts 42 and 43 of the bench 40 are in a slanted position. Furthermore, FIG. 2 shows that the bench 40 is on the trolley 31 such that is can slide (i.e. horizontally) along a movement path to move the patient into and our of the magnetic imaging area R (i.e. located within the u-shaped frame 15/gantry). Therefore, the patient seat (i.e. bench 40) is configured to be displaceable in a horizontal direction relative to the gantry.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic resonance imaging system of Biber such that the patient seat is configured to be displaceable in a horizontal direction relative to the gantry as disclosed in Dutto in order to allow for easy positioning of patient relative to the scanner. A moveable patient seat (i.e. bench) which is positionably seatable in at least semi-upright position is one of a finite number of devices which can be used to position a patient relative to a scanner with a reasonable expectation. Thus, modifying the magnetic resonance imaging system of Biber such that the patient seat is configured to be displaceable in a horizontal direction relative to the gantry as disclosed in Dutto would yield the predictable result of enabling easy positioning of a patient relative to a scanner such that magnetic resonance images can be acquired.
Regarding claim 2, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the carrier has a swivel mechanism configured to swivel the gantry about a horizontal swivel axis” (See [0109] as discussed in claim 1 above and “The positioning apparatus 11 can in particular have a rail system, a telescopic system and/or an articulated joint, which are embodied to set a position and/or an orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 and/or of the magnet unit 13 relative to the examination room 12 and/or the diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15. For example, the articulated joint of the positioning apparatus 11 can be embodied to rotate the magnet unit 13 in a direction of rotation Wx, a direction of rotation Wy and/or a direction of rotation Wz” [0104]. As shown in FIG. 1, the z-axis is in a horizontal direction. In this case, since the positioning apparatus 11 is connected to the positioning encoders 23a-c (i.e. carrier, see [0109]) and has an articulated joint to rotate the magnet unit 13 in a direction of rotation Wx, Wy and Wz, the carrier has a swivel mechanism (i.e. articulated joint in connection with the positioning encoders 23a-c) configured to swivel the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) about a horizontal swivel axis (i.e. Wz, for example).
Regarding claim 3, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Biber teaches "wherein the carrier has a lock configured to lock the gantry in a desired alignment relative to the horizontal swivel axis” (See [0104] as discussed in claim 2 above and “The positioning apparatus can further have an articulated joint and/or a hinge, which is embodied to set an orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus. The setting of the orientation can in particular comprise a rolling, a pitching and/or a yawing of the magnetic resonance apparatus, i.e. a rotation of the magnetic resonance apparatus and/or of the magnet unit about the first axis, the second axis and/or the third axis” [0022]. In this case, since the articulated joint and/or hinge is used to set (i.e. lock) the position and/or orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 relative to a diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15 (See [0104], [0022]), the articulated joint represents a lock configured to lock the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) in a desired alignment relative to the horizontal swivel axis. Therefore, the carrier (i.e. position encoders 23a-c) has a lock (i.e. articulated joint/drive, see [0109]) configured to lock the gantry in a desired alignment relative to the horizontal swivel axis.).
Regarding claim 4, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the carrier has a swivel angle limiter configured to limit an angle of rotation of the gantry relative to the horizontal swivel axis” (See [0104] as discussed in claim 2 above and “The positioning apparatus can further have an articulated joint and/or a hinge, which is embodied to set an orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus. The setting of the orientation can in particular comprise a rolling, a pitching and/or a yawing of the magnetic resonance apparatus, i.e. a rotation of the magnetic resonance apparatus and/or of the magnet unit about the first axis, the second axis and/or the third axis” [0022]. In this case, since the articulated joint sets the position and/or orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 relative to a diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15 (See [0104], [0022]), the articulated joint limits an angle of rotation of the gantry relative to the horizontal swivel axis (i.e. Wz) such that is can be positioned to the diagnostically relevant region of the patient 15. Thus, the carrier (i.e. position encoders 23a-c) has a swivel angle limiter (i.e. articulated joint/hinge) configured to limit an angle of rotation of the gantry relative to the horizontal swivel axis.).
Regarding claim 5, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the swivel mechanism has an adjustment mechanism configured to define a mechanically preset swivel angle, which is achieved by a swivel movement” (“In the present example the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 further has position encoders 23a, 23b and 23c (23a-c), which are embodied to determine a movement of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 and/or the magnet unit 13 along a movement path. For this the position encoders 23a-c can in particular be connected to an actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11. The movement path can for example represent a predetermined transport direction of the actuating drive and/or a movement along a guide of the rail system and/or of the telescopic system” [0109]; “A position encoder can be embodied to output a signal that is proportional to a position of the position encoder along a measurement path. For example, the position encoder can be positioned on an actuating drive and/or a motor. The position encoder can be embodied in particular to determine a change of location and/or change of angle, such as e.g. a horizontal shift, a vertical shift, a tilt and/or turn, transmitted to the magnetic resonance apparatus and/or magnets” [0028].
Therefore, since the position encoders (i.e. 23a-c, the carrier) connected to the actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11 (i.e. the gantry) are configured to determine a change of angle of the magnetic resonance apparatus/magnet along a movement path, the movement path representing a predetermined transport direction of the actuating drive, the swivel mechanism (i.e. articulated joint/drive) has an adjustment mechanism configured to define a mechanically preset swivel angle (i.e. identified by position encoders 23a-c), which is achieved by a swivel movement (i.e. along rotations angles Wx, Wy and Wz).
Regarding claim 6, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 5 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the mechanically preset swivel angle is configured to determine an alignment of a longitudinal axis of the gantry in a direction of the longitudinal axis of an upper body of the patient” (“The positioning apparatus 11 can in particular have a rail system, a telescopic system and/or an articulated joint, which are embodied to set a position and/or an orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 and/or of the magnet unit 13 relative to the examination room 12 and/or the diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15. For example, the articulated joint of the positioning apparatus 11 can be embodied to rotate the magnet unit 13 in a direction of rotation Wx, a direction of rotation Wy and/or a direction of rotation Wz” [0104]. As shown in FIG. 1, the magnet unit 13 (i.e. attached to the positioning apparatus 11 (i.e. gantry) is oriented such that is aligns with the upper body of the patient 15.Therefore, since the articulated joint is able to rotate the magnet unit 13 along directions Wx, Wy, and Wz to align the orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 (i.e. magnet unit 13 and imaging region 14 contained on the positioning apparatus 11, gantry) to the diagnostically relevant region of the patient 15, the mechanically preset swivel angle is configured to determine an alignment of a longitudinal axis of the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11 holding the magnet unit 13 and the imaging region 14) in a direction of the longitudinal axis of an upper body of the patient.).
Regarding claim 7, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the swivel mechanism includes a ratchet configured to enable the gantry to be pivoted in a plurality of different predetermined angular increments” (“In the present example the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 further has position encoders 23a, 23b and 23c (23a-c), which are embodied to determine a movement of the magnetic resonance apparatus 10 and/or the magnet unit 13 along a movement path. […] In an exemplary embodiment, a position encoder 23 is embodied as a toothed wheel generator, which is embodied to determine a deflection as a result of a movement of a toothed wheel drive of positioning apparatus 11” [0109]. In this case, the positioning apparatus 11 is connected to the positioning encoders 23a-c (i.e. carrier) and has an articulated joint to rotate the magnet unit 13 in a direction of rotation Wx, Wy and Wz,, therefore, the articulated joint in combination with the positioning encoders 23a-c, represents a swivel mechanism. A ratchet, as commonly understood by the examiner, is a mechanical device featuring a toothed wheel configured to rotate a device inserted thereto. In this case, since the position encoder 23 (i.e. containing position encoders 23a-c and connected to articulated joint of the positioning apparatus 11, thus representing the swivel mechanism) is embodied as a toothed wheel generator (see [0109]), the swivel mechanism includes a ratchet (i.e. toothed wheel generator) configured to enable the gantry (i.e. positioning apparatus 11) to be pivoted in a plurality of different predetermined angular increments.).
Regarding claim 8, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the swivel mechanism comprises: manual actuation, electrical actuation, and/or hydraulic actuation” (See [0109] as discussed in claim 7 above. In this case, the positioning apparatus 11 is connected to the positioning encoders 23a-c (i.e. carrier) and has an articulated joint to rotate the magnet unit 13 in a direction of rotation Wx, Wy and Wz,, Therefore, the articulated joint in combination with the positioning encoders 23a-c, represents a swivel mechanism. Additionally, since the position encoder 23 (i.e. containing position encoders 23a-c and connected to articulated joint of the positioning apparatus 11, thus representing the swivel mechanism) is embodied as a toothed wheel generator (see [0109]), the swivel mechanism comprises manual actuation (i.e. via the toothed wheel generator).).
Regarding claim 9, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 2 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the gantry is configured such that the gantry avoids an exertion of torque that causes a rotation of the gantry relative to the horizontal swivel axis of the swivel mechanism due to gravity alone in an intended arrangement” (See [0109] as discussed with respect to claim 7 above and “It is furthermore conceivable for the magnetic resonance apparatus to be supported tiltably and/or rotatably with regard to at least one axis in order to adjust an orientation of the magnetic resonance apparatus to a patient and/or an imaging examination. The alignment of the spatial location of the magnetic resonance apparatus can be done in this case manually by a user, semi-automatically by means of a remote control or fully automatically” [0051].
Therefore, since the positioning encoders 23a-c are connected to an actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11 (i.e. gantry) and the position encoder 23 is embodied as a toothed wheel generator to rotate positioning apparatus 11 such that the magnet unit 13 and the imaging region 14 are positioned/oriented to the diagnostically relevant region of the body of the patient 15 (see [0104]), the gantry is configured such that the gantry avoids an exertion of torque that causes a rotation of the gantry relative to the horizontal swivel axis of the swivel mechanism due to gravity alone in an intended arrangement.).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Track)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Base plate)][AltContent: textbox (Vertical carriers)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow]Regarding claim 11, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the carrier includes a base plate and vertical carriers having a smaller cross-section as compared to an area of the base plate” ([AltContent: arrow]
See the annotated FIG. 1 above. In this case, in order for the positional encoder 23c to move the magnet unit 13 along the track located therein, the two support arms must contain vertical carriers with a smaller cross-section as compared to an area of the base plate. Therefore, the carrier includes a base plate and vertical carriers having a smaller cross-section as compared to an area of the base plate.).
Regarding claim 12, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, and Biber further teaches "wherein the vertical translation mechanism comprises: a manual drive, a hydraulic drive, and/or an electric drive” (See [0109] as discussed in claim 7 above.
In this case, the position encoder 23a moves the magnetic resonance apparatus and/or magnet unit 13 along the z-axis (i.e. horizontal), the position encoder 23b moves the magnetic resonance apparatus and/or magnet unit 13 along the x-axis and the position encoder 23c moves the magnetic resonance apparatus and/or magnet unit 13 along the y-axis (i.e. vertical). Since the position encoders 23a-c can in particular be connected to an actuating drive which is embodied as a toothed wheel generator, the vertical translation mechanism comprises: a manual drive.).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Biber US 2022/0308140 A1 “Biber” and further in view of Dutto et al. US 2009/0289633 A1 “Dutto” as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeo JP 2009162273 A “Takeo”.
Regarding claim 13, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above, however, the combination does not teach "wherein the carrier includes a buffer configured to vibrationally decouple the gantry from a floor on which the carrier is positionable”.
Takeo is within a related field of endeavor to the claimed invention because it involves a vibration isolation device for performing vibration isolation on a precision instrument or the like (see [Page 1: Technical Field]).
Takeo teaches "wherein the carrier includes a buffer configured to vibrationally decouple the gantry from a floor on which the carrier is positionable” (“Therefore, it is conceivable to increase the vibration damping performance (damping performance) by interposing the cushioning material between the gantry and the floor in a form sandwiched from both sides. Furthermore, the above-mentioned cushioning material is sandwiched between the gantry and the floor side in a more tightly tightened state, thereby improving the adhesion between the cushioning material and the member sandwiching the cushioning material, and the vibration of the cushioning material itself. The absorption performance can be effectively exhibited” [Page 2: Tech-Problem: Para. 2]; “In order to achieve the above object, a vibration isolation device according to the present invention includes a gantry on which a vibration isolation object is mounted, a gantry support unit that elastically supports the gantry from the bottom side, a shock absorber, and the gantry. An interlocking mechanism including a pressing member that presses the buffer material by being substantially interlocked with the displacement of the gantry supported by the support unit, and a pressing force to the buffer material by amplifying the displacement amount of the pressing member” [Page 2, Tech-Solution: Para. 1].
In this case, the gantry support unit represents a carrier which elastically supports the gantry from the bottom side. Since a vibration isolation device (i.e. cushioning material/buffer material) is incorporated into the system including the gantry, the gantry support unit, and a shock absorber, this vibration isolation device represents a buffer configured to vibrationally decouple the gantry from a floor on which the carrier positionable.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the magnetic resonance imaging system of Biber in view of Dutto such that the carrier includes a buffer (i.e. vibration isolation device, see Takeo: [Page 2, Tech-Solution: Para. 1]), as disclosed in Takeo in order to isolate the gantry from external vibration. Providing a buffer material within a carrier is one of a finite number of techniques which can be used to vibrationally isolate (i.e. decouple) the gantry from a floor on which the carrier is positioned with a reasonable expectation of success. Thus, modifying the magnetic resonance imaging system of Biber in view of Dutto such that the carrier includes a buffer (i.e. vibration isolation device, see Takeo: [Page 2, Tech-Solution: Para. 1]), as disclosed in Takeo would yield the predictable result of improving the vibration damping performance without reducing the vibration isolation performance (see Takeo: [Page 3: Advantageous-Effects]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 10, Biber in view of Dutto discloses all features of the claimed invention as discussed with respect to claim 1 above. Although Biber discloses “For this the position encoders 23a-c can in particular be connected to an actuating drive of the positioning apparatus 11” [0109], Biber in view of Dutto does not teaches "wherein the carrier is configured to be separable from the gantry”.
Furthermore, during the examiner’s search no prior art references were found to teach the above limitation both alone or in combination with the other elements of claim 1 on which this claim depends.
Thus, claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Andrews et al. US 2017/0296289 A1 “Andrews” is pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure because it discloses “In some implementations, rather than a Y-shaped removable guide stem mechanism such as guide stem mechanism 506, the removable guide stem mechanism includes an X-shaped connection to aid in x,y adjustment. In this configuration, the x,y adjustment mechanism can include a slideable gantry with locking mechanisms such as a clamp or set screw. In another example, the x,y adjustment may include a screw drive, allowing a user to twist and adjust the displacement of the central position of the guide stern 506 in either or both the x direction and the y direction” [0086].
/KAITLYN E SEBASTIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3797