This is the First Office action on the Merits from the examiner in charge of this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2023/0108392 to Hong et al (hereinafter Hong).
Hong discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator 1,1’ comprising (such as shown in Figs. 1-29): a main body 10 including a first storeroom and a second storeroom formed under the first storeroom; a first door 20,20a,20b arranged to open or close the first storeroom and including: a first door body 40 (Figs. 3-4) having a first upper cap 42 and a first lower cap 44, a first panel 50,50c (Figs. 3, 10-11) detachably coupled to a front side of the first door body 40 and having an upper trim 53 at an upper portion of the first panel, and a first fixer 424d (Figs. 14 & 25), and a second door 20c,30 arranged to open or close the second storeroom and including: a second door body 40 having a second upper cap 42 and a second lower cap 44, a second panel 50b,50d detachably coupled to a front side of the second door body 40 and having a lower trim 54 at a lower portion of the second panel, and a second fixer 545b (Fig. 17), and wherein a lower portion of the first panel 50,50c is coupled to the first lower cap 44 (Fig. 16), the first fixer 424d is inserted into the upper trim 53 of the first panel downward through the first upper cap 42 (Figs. 14 & 25), an upper portion of the second panel 50b,50d is coupled to the second upper cap 42 (Fig. 13), and the second fixer 545b is inserted into the lower trim 54 of the second panel upward through the second lower cap 44 (Fig. 17).
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12259179. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11280542. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each discloses a refrigerator comprising: a main body including a first storeroom and a second storeroom formed under the first storeroom; a first door arranged to open or close the first storeroom and including: a first door body having a first upper cap and a first lower cap, a first panel detachably coupled to a front side of the first door body and having an upper trim at an upper portion of the first panel, and a first fixer, and a second door arranged to open or close the second storeroom and including: a second door body having a second upper cap and a second lower cap, a second panel detachably coupled to a front side of the second door body and having a lower trim at a lower portion of the second panel, and a second fixer, and wherein a lower portion of the first panel is coupled to the first lower cap, the first fixer is inserted into the upper trim of the first panel downward through the first upper cap, an upper portion of the second panel is coupled to the second upper cap, and the second fixer is inserted into the lower trim of the second panel upward through the second lower cap; wherein a handle is formed on each of a bottom side of the first door body and a top side of the second door body.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11428457. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each discloses a refrigerator comprising: a main body including a first storeroom and a second storeroom formed under the first storeroom; a first door arranged to open or close the first storeroom and including: a first door body having a first upper cap and a first lower cap, a first panel detachably coupled to a front side of the first door body and having an upper trim at an upper portion of the first panel, and a first fixer, and a second door arranged to open or close the second storeroom and including: a second door body having a second upper cap and a second lower cap, a second panel detachably coupled to a front side of the second door body and having a lower trim at a lower portion of the second panel, and a second fixer, and wherein a lower portion of the first panel is coupled to the first lower cap, the first fixer is inserted into the upper trim of the first panel downward through the first upper cap, an upper portion of the second panel is coupled to the second upper cap, and the second fixer is inserted into the lower trim of the second panel upward through the second lower cap; wherein a handle is formed on each of a bottom side of the first door body and a top side of the second door body.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 6-9, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11313612. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each discloses a refrigerator comprising: a main body including a first storeroom and a second storeroom formed under the first storeroom; a first door arranged to open or close the first storeroom and including: a first door body having a first upper cap and a first lower cap, a first panel detachably coupled to a front side of the first door body and having an upper trim at an upper portion of the first panel, and a first fixer, and a second door arranged to open or close the second storeroom and including: a second door body having a second upper cap and a second lower cap, a second panel detachably coupled to a front side of the second door body and having a lower trim at a lower portion of the second panel, and a second fixer, and wherein a lower portion of the first panel is coupled to the first lower cap, the first fixer is inserted into the upper trim of the first panel downward through the first upper cap, an upper portion of the second panel is coupled to the second upper cap, and the second fixer is inserted into the lower trim of the second panel upward through the second lower cap; wherein a handle is formed on each of a bottom side of the first door body and a top side of the second door body.
Claims 1-6 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11047613. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because each discloses a refrigerator comprising: a main body including a first storeroom and a second storeroom formed under the first storeroom; a first door arranged to open or close the first storeroom and including: a first door body having a first upper cap and a first lower cap, a first panel detachably coupled to a front side of the first door body and having an upper trim at an upper portion of the first panel, and a first fixer, and a second door arranged to open or close the second storeroom and including: a second door body having a second upper cap and a second lower cap, a second panel detachably coupled to a front side of the second door body and having a lower trim at a lower portion of the second panel, and a second fixer, and wherein a lower portion of the first panel is coupled to the first lower cap, the first fixer is inserted into the upper trim of the first panel downward through the first upper cap, an upper portion of the second panel is coupled to the second upper cap, and the second fixer is inserted into the lower trim of the second panel upward through the second lower cap; wherein a handle is formed on each of a bottom side of the first door body and a top side of the second door body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, and shows structures similar to various elements of applicant’s disclosure.
HVT
June 1, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637