DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on February 21, 2025. Claims 1-28 are pending. Claims 1 and 14 are independent.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “100” has been used to designate both a “modular satellite testing platform system” and a “modular satellite” at least in paragraph [0092] of the specification. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
power storage units 29 in paragraph [0110].
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0093], line 2, “system 1” should read “system 100”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13, line 2 should be changed to:
datastore carried by the main body …
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher (US-20070029446-A1) in view of Patel (US-10261652-B1).
Regarding claim 1 Mosher teaches a modular satellite (see Mosher, Abstract, figures 1-2, paragraphs 64-65, regarding satellites based on a modular platform architecture) comprising:
a main body member (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 71 and 86, regarding modular platform 112, exemplary of a main body member);
at least one controller carried by the main body member and operable to perform a mission instruction (see Mosher, figure 3, paragraphs 67-69, regarding spacecraft processor 28 performing “command and control” (mission instructions));
a communication system carried by the main body member and in communication with the at least one controller and a client terminal (see Mosher, figure 3, paragraphs 67-69, regarding communications (system) functional element 32 contained in structural element 22 (main body member) in communication with spacecraft processor 28 (at least one controller) and a client terminal (needed to perform uplink and downlink communications);
a datastore carried by the main body member and operable to store data accessible by the at least one controller (see Mosher, figures 7-F and 9, paragraphs 102 and 118, regarding spacecraft processor panel module 320 comprising “the main command, telemetry, memory (datastore carried by frame 302 (main body member)) and data processing unit for the satellite”);
a power unit carried by the main body member and in communication with the at least one controller(see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 71, 76 and 86-87, regarding power subsystem 148 carried by modular platform 112 (main body member) in communication with processing module 134 (at least one controller) of command & data handling subsystem 132) ; and
at least one orbital camera carried by the main body member and operable to capture at least one image associated with the mission instruction, defined as a captured at least one image (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding “remote imaging missions (to) include, but are not limited to, infrared imaging, weather imaging, radar imaging, and visible imaging”, exemplary of deploying at least one orbital camera (payload subsystem 114) carried by a main body member (modular platform 112);
wherein the at least one controller is operable to detect at least one predetermined object in the captured at least one image, defined as a detected at least one predetermined object (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 129, regarding rendezvous missions to dock and/or inspect “another orbiting object” (predetermined object) would require detection of a predetermined object in a captured image to perform navigation guidance with respect to the detected predetermined object);
wherein the at least one controller is operable to identify the detected at least one predetermined object, defined as an identified at least one predetermined object (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 129, regarding rendezvous missions to dock and/or inspect “another orbiting object” (predetermined object) would require detection of a predetermined object in a captured image to perform navigation guidance with respect to the detected predetermined object, wherein, for example, an autonomous docking maneuver would also require identification by a controller of the at least one detected predetermined object as the target object of the autonomous rendezvous maneuver to the docking port (the identified target object);
Mosher does not teach wherein the at least one controller generates a mission analytics packet based upon the captured at least one image, the detected at least one predetermined object, the identified at least one predetermined object, and the mission instruction.
However, Patel remedies this shortfall with a teaching of generating mission analytics files (packets) for visualization output (for example, to a client terminal display) for monitoring and control of real-time mission progress during mission execution, (see Patel, Abstract, figure 1, col 1:lns 15-44 and col 2:lns 43-62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s effective filing date to modify the modular satellite of Mosher to further comprise the mission analytics generation of Patel because this improves upon satellite operations by streamlining and filtering mission critical parameters (for example, telemetry data) to operators in real-time for mission success, therefore, modified Patel enables wherein the at least one controller generates a mission analytics packet based upon the captured at least one image, the detected at least one predetermined object, the identified at least one predetermined object, and the mission instruction (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 129, regarding rendezvous missions to dock and/or inspect “another orbiting object” (predetermined object) would require detection of a predetermined object in a captured image to perform navigation guidance with respect to the detected predetermined object and mission analytics data packets (for example, telemetry data) to perform the rendezvous maneuver);
wherein the at least one controller is operable to store the mission analytics packet in the datastore (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 47-58, regarding analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller) and visual analytic repository 134, exemplary of a datastore for mission analytics files (packets)); and
wherein the at least one controller is operable to transmit the mission analytics packet to the client terminal (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:ln 47 thru col 5:ln 39, regarding display 160, exemplary of a client terminal receiving transmitted mission analytics packets generated by analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller)).
Regarding claim 7, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1 including wherein the at least one orbital camera is configured to filter at least one wavelength of light from light received thereby to define a filtered light (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding “remote imaging missions (to) include, but are not limited to, infrared imaging, weather imaging, radar imaging, and visible imaging”, exemplary of deploying at least one orbital camera (payload subsystem 114) carried by a main body member (modular platform 112), wherein “the wavelength (via optical filtering), resolution, field of view, and timing of images are mission specific and vary considerably”, such as for example, infrared imaging of a defined filtered light of a specific wavelength); wherein the at least one orbital camera senses the filtered light to generate sensed light data (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding infrared imaging, exemplary of sensed filtered light data from at least one orbital camera); and wherein the captured at least one image is defined by the sensed light data (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding infrared imaging, exemplary of a captured image defined by the sensed light data).
Regarding claim 8, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1, including wherein the mission instruction is an original mission instruction (see Mosher, paragraph 132, regarding response space missions, for example, tactical imagery of current battlefield, with an original mission instruction to perform reconnaissance); wherein the captured at least one image is stored in the datastore (see Mosher, figures 7-F and 9, paragraphs 102 and 118, regarding spacecraft processor panel module 320 comprising “the main command, telemetry, memory (datastore carried by frame 302 (main body member), for example, to store imagery data) and data processing unit for the satellite”); wherein the at least one controller is operable to generate at least one additional mission instruction based upon the original mission instruction (see Mosher, paragraph 132, regarding response space missions, for example, tactical imagery of current battlefield, with an original mission instruction to perform reconnaissance, with an additional mission instruction for surveillance/tracking after identifying an enemy asset); wherein the at least one orbital camera is operable to capture at least one additional image associated with the additional mission instruction, defined as a captured at least one additional image (see Mosher, paragraph 132, regarding response space missions, for example, tactical imagery of current battlefield, with an original mission instruction to perform reconnaissance, with an additional mission instruction for surveillance/tracking after identifying an enemy asset captured in a subsequent/additional image of the at least one orbital camera); wherein the at least one controller is operable to detect at least one additional predetermined object in the captured at least one additional image, defined as a detected at least one additional predetermined object (see Mosher, paragraph 132, regarding response space missions, for example, tactical imagery of current battlefield, with an original mission instruction to perform reconnaissance, with an additional mission instruction for surveillance/tracking after identifying an enemy asset captured in a subsequent/additional image of the at least one orbital camera, wherein the detected enemy asset is a predetermined object); wherein the at least one controller is operable to identify the detected at least one additional predetermined object, defined as an identified at least one additional predetermined object (see Mosher, paragraph 132, regarding response space missions, for example, tactical imagery of current battlefield, with an original mission instruction to perform reconnaissance, with an additional mission instruction for surveillance/tracking after identifying an enemy asset captured in a subsequent/additional image of the at least one orbital camera), wherein the detected and identified enemy asset is a predetermined object); wherein the at least one controller is operable to generate an additional mission analytics packet based upon the additional mission instruction and the captured at least one additional image (see Mosher, paragraph 132 and Patel, col 1:lns 15-44 and col 2:lns 43-62, regarding response space missions, for example, tactical imagery of current battlefield, with an original mission instruction to perform reconnaissance, with an additional mission instruction for surveillance/tracking after identifying an enemy asset captured in a subsequent/additional image of the at least one orbital camera, that generates mission analytics data packets (for example, telemetry data) to perform the surveillance/tracking); wherein the at least one controller is operable to store the additional mission analytics packet in the datastore (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 47-58, regarding analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller) and visual analytic repository 134, exemplary of a datastore for mission analytics files (packets)); and wherein the at least one controller is operable to transmit the additional mission analytics packet to the client terminal (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:ln 47 thru col 5:ln 39, regarding display 160, exemplary of a client terminal receiving transmitted mission analytics packets generated by analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller)).
Regarding claim 9, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 8, including wherein the at least one orbital camera is operable to capture the at least one image associated with the mission instruction and the at least one additional image associated with the at least one additional mission instruction simultaneously (see Mosher, paragraph 132, regarding modular platform supporting a plurality of payloads, for example, multiple camera payloads, than can simultaneously capture images for reconnaissance and/or surveilling/tracking of multiple predetermined objects (a plurality of mission instructions)).
Regarding claim 10, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1, including wherein the at least one controller is operable to receive a mission analytics packet request from the client terminal (see Patel, figure 2, col 7:lns 13-36, regarding interface selector 240 with selection icons representing desired (mission) analytics to be viewed, exemplary of at least one controller receiving a mission analytics packet request from a client terminal); and wherein the at least one controller is operable to retrieve data from the datastore responsive to the mission analytics packet request (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 47-58, regarding analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller) and visual analytic repository 134, exemplary of a datastore for mission analytics files (packets) whereby, for example, data retrieval is performed responsive to a mission analytics packet request).
Regarding claim 11, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1, including wherein the at least one controller performs a relevancy process to determine at least one relevancy parameter constraint based upon the mission instruction (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 18-58, regarding asset filter 114, exemplary of performing a relevancy process); wherein the at least one controller is operable to compare data in the mission analytics packet to the at least one relevancy parameter constraint (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 18-58, regarding asset filter 114, performing a relevancy process by comparing selected with unselected assets to determine which associated mission analytics to use for presentation); wherein at least a portion of the data in the mission analytics packet is identified based on the comparison of the data in the mission analytics packet to the at least one relevancy perimeter constraint, defined as relevant data (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 18-58, regarding asset filter 114, performing a relevancy process by comparing selected with unselected assets to determine which associated mission analytics to use for presentation, wherein the associated mission analytics is exemplary of defined relevant data); and wherein the at least one controller is operable to remove data from the mission analytics packet that is not identified as the relevant data (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 18-58, regarding asset filter 114, performing a relevancy process by comparing selected with unselected assets to determine which associated mission analytics to use for presentation, wherein the associated mission analytics not selected is exemplary of discarded/removed data not identified as relevant data).
Regarding claim 12, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1, including wherein the at least one controller is operable to identify expired data by comparing an age associated with at least one portion of the data stored in the datastore to a predetermined age constraint (see Patel, figure 6, col 12:ln 30 thru col 13:ln 35, regarding “After the valid time period has expired, the time manager 650 notifies the system that the projected future world state is no longer valid and that a new projection is required”, exemplary of identifying expired data); and wherein the at least one controller is operable to delete the expired data (see Patel, figure 6, col 12:ln 30 thru col 13:ln 35, regarding “After the valid time period has expired, the time manager 650 notifies the system that the projected future world state is no longer valid and that a new projection is required”, exemplary of updating expired data by deleting/replacing aged data).
Regarding claim 13, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1, including further comprising an archive datastore caried by the main body member and operable to store archive data accessible by the at least one controller (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 47-58, regarding analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller) and visual analytic repository 134, exemplary of, for example, an archive datastore for mission analytics files (packets)); wherein the at least one controller is operable to identify matured data by comparing an age associated with at least one portion of the data stored in the datastore to a predetermined age constraint (see Patel, figure 6, col 12:ln 30 thru col 13:ln 35, regarding “After the valid time period has expired, the time manager 650 notifies the system that the projected future world state is no longer valid and that a new projection is required”, exemplary of identifying matured data); and wherein the at least one controller is operable to transfer the matured data from the datastore to the archive datastore (see Patel, figure 6, col 12:ln 30 thru col 13:ln 35, regarding “After the valid time period has expired, the time manager 650 notifies the system that the projected future world state is no longer valid and that a new projection is required”, exemplary of transferring matured/expired data to an archive datastore by deleting/replacing aged data).
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher (US-20070029446-A1) in view of Patel (US-10261652-B1) and further in view of Johnson (US-20220267032-A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 1, except further comprising a plurality of cover members carried by the main body member and movable between an opened position and a closed position; wherein each of the plurality of cover members includes a retention member; wherein the main body member includes a respective plurality of release members; wherein a retention line is extended between the retention member and a retention line connection point on the main body member adjacent to the release member; wherein the retention line is configured to be in contact with the release member when the cover member is in the closed position; wherein the retention line is moveable from a retention state to a released state; wherein when the retention line is in the retention state, the cover member is prevented from moving to the opened position; and wherein when the retention line is in the released state, the cover member is moveable from the closed position to the opened position.
However, Johnson remedies this shortfall with a teaching of a modular satellite deployer system utilizing door (cover member) release and ejector mechanisms to push one or more satellites (payloads) out of an enclosure in any desired sequence by heating a circular monofilament (retention) line (see Johnson, Abstract, figure 5, paragraphs 29 and 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s effective filing date to further modify the modular satellite of Mosher to further comprise the modular satellite deployer system of Johnson because this improves upon the deployment efficiency of a plurality of payloads from a single launcher system, therefore, further modified Mosher enables further comprising a plurality of cover members carried by the main body member and movable between an opened position and a closed position (see Johnson, figures 1-2, paragraphs 44-45, regarding door flaps 101 (cover members) carried by enclosure 100 (main body member) in closed position in figure 1 and opened position in figure 2); wherein each of the plurality of cover members includes a retention member (see Johnson, figure 5, paragraphs 29-30 and 51, regarding common circular element 500, exemplary of a retention member); wherein the main body member includes a respective plurality of release members (see Johnson, figure 5, paragraphs 29-30 and 51, regarding enclosure 100 (main body member) includes door flaps 101 (cover members) with common circular element 500 (respective plurality of release members)); wherein a retention line is extended between the retention member and a retention line connection point on the main body member adjacent to the release member (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding posts 600 (retention line connection point) and segments of circular element 500 (release members) demarcated by adjacent posts 600); wherein the retention line is configured to be in contact with the release member when the cover member is in the closed position (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding segment of circular element 500 (release member) connected to each door flap 101 (cover member) via post 600 when in closed position); wherein the retention line is moveable from a retention state to a released state (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding segment of circular element 500 (retention line) is intact (connected) when in retention state and disconnected (cut/moved) when in release state); wherein when the retention line is in the retention state, the cover member is prevented from moving to the opened position (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding segment of circular element 500 (retention line) is intact (connected) when in retention state that prevents door flap 101 (cover member) from moving to the opened position); and wherein when the retention line is in the released state, the cover member is moveable from the closed position to the opened position (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding segment of circular element 500 (retention line) disconnected (cut/moved) to a released state, thereby moving door flap 101 (cover member) from a closed position to an opened position).
Regarding claim 3, further modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 2, including wherein the release member is operable between a neutral state and a charged state; and wherein the charged state is defined as the release member being heated to a temperature suitable to cause the retention line to be severed (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding segment of circular element 500 (retention line/release member) is intact (connected) when in neutral state (no heating) and disconnected when in charged state that has two resistive heating cutting wire elements 501 and 502 heated to sever/cut the retention line).
Regarding claim 4, further modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 3, including wherein upon and while the retention line is severed, the cover member is moveable from the closed position to the opened position (see Johnson, figure 6, paragraph 52, regarding segment of circular element 500 (retention line) disconnected (cut/moved) to a released state, thereby moving door flap 101 (cover member) from a closed position to an opened position).
Regarding claim 5, further modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 2, including further comprising an attitude control system to monitor and control an orientation of the main body member (see Mosher, figures 4 and 6, paragraphs 71 and 90-91, regarding attitude control and determination subsystem 122 (attitude control system) for monitoring and control of modular platform 112 (main body member); wherein the attitude control system detects a movement force associated with the cover members being moved between the closed position and the open position (see Mosher, figure 6, paragraph 91, regarding IMU 238 of attitude control and determination subsystem 122 (attitude control system), capable of detecting movement/change of orientation of modular platform 112 (main body member), such as for example, resulting from on-board movement forces such as deployment of cover members (doors) between opened and closed positions); and wherein the attitude control system generates a counter force to counteract the movement force (see Mosher, figure 6, paragraph 91, regarding torque rods 214 and reaction wheels 218, actuator components 210 of attitude control and determination subsystem 122 (attitude control system), capable of generating counter forces to counteract detected movement/change of orientation of modular platform 112 (main body member), such as for example, resulting from on-board movement forces such as deployment of cover members (doors) between opened and closed positions).
Regarding claim 6, further modified Mosher teaches the modular satellite of claim 5, including further comprising a star tracker operable to track at least one star (see Mosher, figure 6, paragraph 91, regarding star tracker component 234 of various sensors 230 of attitude control and determination subsystem 122 (attitude control system); wherein each of the cover members includes a photovoltaic member (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 71 and 76, regarding solar panel module 152, exemplary of a photovoltaic member); and wherein the attitude control system is operable to orient the main body so that the photovoltaic members are oriented to face a direction of the at least one star (see Mosher, figure 3, paragraphs 67-68, regarding attitude control 44 (attitude control system) performing “pointing control, momentum management, and solar array (photovoltaic member) pointing”).
Claims 14-18 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher (US-20070029446-A1) in view of Patel (US-10261652-B1) and further in view of Sabripour (US-20260031899-A1).
Regarding claim 14, independent claim 14 is a modular satellite cooperation comprising: a plurality of modular satellites, wherein each of the modular satellites are identical to the modular satellite of independent claim 1 and taught by combined Mosher and Patel.
Sabripour teaches deployment of a constellation system of modular satellites that can be configured to route data through mesh network to facilitate point-to-point communications between cooperating satellites and/or ground stations (see Sabripour, Abstract, figure 1, paragraphs 9-12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s effective filing date to modify the modular satellite of combined Mosher and Patel to further comprise the modular satellite constellation of Sabripour because the cooperation of a plurality of modular satellites improves upon the remote sensing data throughput via a wider coverage area for mission objectives, therefore, further modified Mosher/Patel enables a modular satellite constellation comprising: a plurality of modular satellites (see Sabripour, paragraphs 9-12); and wherein each one of the plurality of modular satellites is operable to be in communication with at least one other modular satellite of the plurality of modular satellites to form a mesh network and to share and coordinate performance of the mission instruction (see Subripour, paragraphs 9-12, regarding utilization of a mesh network configured to route/communicate data through mesh network to facilitate mission performance/objective).
Regarding claim 15, further modified Mosher/Patel teaches the modular satellite cooperation of claim 14, including wherein each one of the modular satellites in the mesh network coordinates performance of the mission instruction with one another based upon the mission instruction and at least one mission performance factor (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding “remote imaging missions (to) include, but are not limited to, infrared imaging, weather imaging, radar imaging, and visible imaging”, wherein, for example, a performance factor can be proximity of satellite to target area to be sensed).
Regarding claim 16, further modified Mosher/Patel teaches the modular satellite cooperation of claim 15, including wherein each one of the modular satellites in the mesh network is operable to determine the at least one mission performance factor based upon the mission instruction (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding “remote imaging missions (to) include, but are not limited to, infrared imaging, weather imaging, radar imaging, and visible imaging”, wherein, for example, a performance factor can be proximity of satellite to target area to be sensed that can be derived by a satellite’s current position relative to the target area).
Regarding claim 17, further modified Mosher/Patel teaches the modular satellite cooperation of claim 16, including wherein each one of the modular satellites in the mesh network is operable to identify and share status data to at least one other modular satellite via the mesh network; and wherein each one of the modular satellites in the mesh network is operable to determine the at least one mission performance factor based upon the mission instruction and the status data (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding “remote imaging missions (to) include, but are not limited to, infrared imaging, weather imaging, radar imaging, and visible imaging”, wherein, for example, a performance factor can be proximity of satellite to target area to be sensed that can be derived by a satellite’s current position relative to the target area such that it would have been obvious that sharing status data to include the proximity performance factors would permit the identification of the most proximate satellite as the optimal satellite to perform the mission instruction).
Regarding claim 18, further modified Mosher/Patel teaches the modular satellite cooperation of claim 16, including wherein coordination of performance of the mission instruction by the modular satellites in the mesh network includes causing at least one of the modular satellites in the mesh network to at least one of:
capture the at least one image associated with the mission instruction, defined as the captured at least one image (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 128, regarding “remote imaging missions (to) include, but are not limited to, infrared imaging, weather imaging, radar imaging, and visible imaging”, exemplary of deploying at least one orbital camera (payload subsystem 114) carried by a main body member (modular platform 112);
transmit and share the captured at least one image via the mesh network; receive the captured at least one image via the mesh network;
detect the at least one predetermined object in the captured at least one image based upon the mission instruction, defined as the detected at least one predetermined object;
transmit and share the detected at least one predetermined object via the mesh network;
receive the detected at least one predetermined object via the mesh network; identify the detected at least one predetermined object, defined as the identified at least one predetermined object;
transmit and share the identified at least one predetermined object via the mesh network;
receive the identified at least one predetermined object via the mesh network; generate the mission analytics packet based upon the captured at least one image, the detected at least one predetermined object, the identified at least one predetermined object, and the mission instruction;
store the mission analytics packet; and
transmit the mission analytics packet to the client terminal.
Regarding claim 26, further modified Mosher/Patel teaches the modular satellite cooperation of claim 14, including wherein each one of the plurality of modular satellites is operable to store the captured at least one image, the detected at least one predetermined object, and the identified at least one predetermined object (see Mosher, figure 4, paragraphs 86-87 and 129, regarding rendezvous missions to dock and/or inspect “another orbiting object” (predetermined object) would require detection of a predetermined object in a captured image to perform navigation guidance with respect to the detected predetermined object, wherein, for example, an autonomous docking maneuver would also require identification by a controller of the at least one detected predetermined object as the target object of the autonomous rendezvous maneuver to the docking port (the identified target object); and wherein data stored by each one of the plurality of modular satellites in the mesh network is accessible by at least another one of the plurality of modular satellites in the mesh network (see Sabripour, paragraph 10, regarding “the satellite devices can be configured to route data through mesh network to facilitate point-to-point communication’, exemplary of accessing/sharing data between a plurality of modular satellites in a mesh network).
Regarding claim 27, further modified Mosher/Patel teaches the modular satellite cooperation of claim 26, including wherein each one of the plurality of modular satellites is operable to receive a mission analytics packet request from the client terminal (see Patel, figure 2, col 7:lns 13-36, regarding interface selector 240 with selection icons representing desired (mission) analytics to be viewed, exemplary of at least one controller receiving a mission analytics packet request from a client terminal, for example, across/within a mesh network); and wherein each one of the plurality of modular satellites is operable to retrieve data stored by at least one of the plurality of modular satellites in the mesh network responsive to the mission analytics packet request (see Patel, figure 1, col 4:lns 47-58, regarding analytic aggregator 130 (at least one controller) and visual analytic repository 134, exemplary of a datastore for mission analytics files (packets) whereby, for example, data retrieval, for example, across/within a mesh network is performed responsive to a mission analytics packet request).
Claims 19-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mosher (US-20070029446-A1) in view of Patel (US-10261652-B1), in view of Sabripour (US-20260031899-A1) and further in view of Johnson (US-20220267032-A1).
Regarding claim 19-25 and 28, independent claim 14 is a modular satellite cooperation comprising: a plurality of modular satellites, wherein each of the modular satellites are identical to the modular satellite of independent claim 1 and taught by combined Mosher and Patel in view of Sabripour, and similarly, dependent claims 19-25 and 28 of independent claim 14 also performs the identical functions corresponding to dependent claims 2-8 and 11 of independent claim 1, respectively, therefore, claims 19-25 and 28 are also rejected under 35 USC § 103 for the same respective rationale as claims 2-8 and 11.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached form PTO-892.
Conclusion
/P.Y.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3661
May 29, 2026
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661