DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see application, filed 06/23/2026, with respect to the 112 rejections and 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections above have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5 and 9-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 19/013,440 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because this instant application is broader in claim scope than the co-pending App’ 440.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al. (herein after will be referred to as Tian) (US 20240095965) in view of Zhang et al. (herein after will be referred to as Zhang) (US 20230177736).
Regarding claim 1, Tian discloses a mesh decoding device comprising:
a circuit that collectively sets duplicate vertices that are a plurality of vertices having identical coordinates in a decoded base mesh as a single vertex, and [See Tian [Abstract] Based on the prediction mode being determined as the intra prediction mode, duplicate vertices among the plurality of vertices in the base mesh are merged.]
Tian does not explicitly disclose
then rearranges the vertices of the base mesh.
However, Zhang does disclose
then rearranges the vertices of the base mesh. [See Ilola [Fig. 6] Vertex reordering (616) for mesh decoding. Also, see 0111, base mesh.]
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the device by Tian to add the teachings of Ilola, in order to improve upon coding efficiency [See Ilola [0077]].
Regarding claim 3, Tian (modified by Ilola) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Budagavi discloses
wherein the circuit decodes a list of the duplicate vertices from a bit stream of an I frame. [See Tian [0013] Index information that identifies the merged duplicate vertices is applied for intra.]
Regarding claim 4, Tian (modified by Ilola) disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Tian discloses
wherein the circuit calculates a list of the duplicate vertices by searching for the duplicate vertices from the base mesh. [See Tian [0013] Index information that identifies the merged duplicate vertices is applied for intra.]
Regarding claim 5, Tian (modified by Ilola)disclose the device of claim 1. Furthermore, Tian discloses
wherein after determining a list of the duplicate vertices, the circuit integrates all or some of the duplicate vertices to update Connectivity. [See Tian [0013] Index information that identifies the merged duplicate vertices is applied for intra.]
Regarding claim 9, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, see examiners rejection for claim 1 which is analogous and applicable for the rejection of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES T BOYLAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2486