Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pierce (2021/0010326).
Pierce discloses the use of a hem bar(450) with sensor to indicate and obstacle (20) being in the way of the lowering of the shade with the motor, one or more processors (par. 20) determining, a motor shaft rotation of a motor shaft in a
motor; determining, by the one or more processors, a shade tube rotation of a shade tube that moves a window shade over a path; the hem bar having sensors enabling processor to determine and compare the predetermined location of the hem bar/shade end versus the real location of the hem bar/shade end when encountering an obstacle (par. 37-57).
The claimed method steps would have been the obvious method steps of determining an obstacle exists in the path of the window shade with Pierce et al’s disclosed method steps of determining an obstacle existing in the path of the window shade operation.
Per claim 2, Pierce et al further discloses the step of determining, by the one or more processors, a change in at least one of current, vibration, temperature or torque in the motor; and determining, by the one or more processors, that the obstacle exists in the path of the window shade, based on the change in at least one of the current, the vibration, the temperature or the torque in the motor (par. 20, 32, 41, 57).
Per claims 3-8, Pierce et al further discloses the steps of the determining the motor shaft rotation of the motor shaft in the motor is based on data from an encoder that interfaces with the motor, wherein the encoder measures rotation between the motor and the window shade tube, wherein the determining the shade tube rotation of the shade tube that moves the window shade over the path is based on data from an encoder that interfaces with the window shade tube, wherein the encoder interfaces with a control module, wherein the encoder measures rotation between a control
module and the window shade tube, wherein the encoder includes a floating gear, a magnetic wheel, a hall effect sensor and an encoder collar (par. 32, 41).
Per claim 9, Pierce et al further discloses the step of the determining the shade tube rotation of the shade tube that moves the window shade over the path is based on data from an encoder that interfaces with a hembar at the end of the window shade(per the sensors).
Per claims 10-12, Pierce et al further discloses the step of a spring accentuating movements of the motor in response to the window shade impacting the obstacle, wherein a bracket includes a spring(par. 49), wherein the bracket supports the motor, and wherein the spring interfaces with the motor, receiving motor movement data from an accelerometer(par. 20), further comprising analyzing the data from the accelerometer along with the data from an encoder.
Per claim 13-15, Pierce et al further discloses the method steps of implementing a proactive measure, in response to the determining that the obstacle exists in the path of the window shade, further comprising stopping the motor, in response to the
determining that the obstacle exists in the path of the window shade, reversing the motor, in response to the determining that the obstacle exists in the path of the window shade (par 46-47, 51, 56-57).
Per claims 17-20, Pierce et al further shows the steps of storing one or more baseline waveforms associated with at least one of: an accelerometer, current and encoder; and determining the obstacle exists based on a change in the one or more baseline waveforms, further comprising: determining that the change in the one or more baseline waveforms is similar to one or more historical waveforms(predetermined data/settings); determining that the change in the one or more baseline waveforms is not relevant, in response to the one or more historical waveforms not being previously relevant; and determining that the change in the one or more baseline waveforms is relevant, in response to the one or more historical waveforms being previously relevant, wherein the determining the shade tube rotation is impacted by kinetic energy from the hembar traveling up the window shade to the shade tube, determining, by one or more processors, a change in at least one of current, vibration, temperature or torque in the motor; and determining, by the one or more processors, that an obstacle exists in a path of a window shade, based on the change in at least one of the current, the vibration, the temperature or the torque in the motor.
Per claim 16, Pierce et al does not show the step of retracting the window shade, in response to an increase in heat from the motor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify Pierce et al’s disclose steps of operating the opening/closing of the shade to show the step of retracting the window shade, in response to an increase in heat from the motor with a reasonable expectation of success in order to response to the shade being tugged/stuck and protect the motor against overheating due to excessive power drain.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art shows different shade operating systems with obstacle detecting sensors.
/PHI D A/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633