DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim foreign priority based on a application filed in JAPAN on 03/28/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/21/25 and 12/08/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue et al (U.S. 2022/0306150) and further in view of Tamura et al (U.S. 2022/0067398).
As per claims 1,5 and 6 Inoue disclosed a mobile object control device comprising:
A processor that executes instructions to:
recognize a surrounding situation including a first marking line for defining a movement path along which a mobile object is moving, on the basis of an output of a detection device that detects a surrounding situation of the mobile object [a first recognizer configured to recognize a road marking for partitioning a traveling lane of a vehicle on the basis of an output of a detection device that has detected a surrounding situation of the vehicle] (Paragraph. 0007);
recognize a second marking line for defining a movement path around the mobile object from map information on the basis of positional information of the mobile object [second recognizer configured to recognize a road marking for partitioning the traveling lane on the basis of map information] (Paragraph. 0007);
determine whether the first marking line and the second marking line deviate from each other [a determiner configured to determine whether or not there is misrecognition in the first recognizer on the basis of one or both of a curvature change quantity of a first road marking recognized by the first recognizer and an angle formed by the first road marking and a second road marking recognized by the second recognizer] (Paragraph. 0007);
select at least one of the first marking line and the second marking line on the basis of a determination result [a process of determining that there is misrecognition in one or both of the first recognizer 132 and the second recognizer 134 when there is a difference between the recognition result of the first recognizer 132 (the first road marking) and the recognition result of the second recognizer 134 (the second road marking) in a comparison result of the comparator 152 and the like] (Paragraph. 0066); and
control movement of the mobile object on the basis of the marking line selected [an object recognition device 16, a communication device 20, a human machine interface (HMI) 30, a vehicle sensor 40, a navigation device 50, a map positioning unit (MPU) 60, a driver monitor camera 70, driving operation elements 80, an automated driving controller 100, a travel driving force output device 200, a brake device 210, and a steering device 220. Such devices and equipment are connected to each other by a multiplex communication line such as a controller area network (CAN) communication line, a serial communication line, or a wireless communication network] (Paragraph. 0031),
wherein the processor, when determination is made that the first marking line and the second marking line deviate from each other, selects the first marking line when a degree of parallelism of a plurality of first marking lines recognized simultaneously present in a moving direction of the mobile object is equal to or greater than a threshold [when a determination process is performed using the markings LL1 and LL2, the misrecognition determiner 154 determines that the markings match if a degree of deviation between the markings is less than a threshold value and determines that the markings do not match (or that there is a difference) if the degree of deviation between the markings is greater than or equal to the threshold value] (Paragraph. 0068), and a height of a road surface is decreasing and [a branch point-related movement event for causing the vehicle M to move to a lane in a destination direction at a branch point of a road, a merge point-related movement event for causing the vehicle M to move to a lane of a main road at a merge point, a takeover event for ending automated driving and performing switching to manual driving, and the like] (Paragraph. 0050), and
select the second marking line when [ the determiner determines that there is misrecognition in the first road marking when the degree of deviation of the curvature change quantity is greater than or equal to a prescribed value or the angle is greater than or equal to a prescribed angle] (Paragraph. 0009); the degree of parallelism is equal to or greater than the threshold [determines that the markings match if a degree of deviation between the markings is less than a threshold value and determines that the markings do not match (or that there is a difference) if the degree of deviation between the markings is greater than or equal to the threshold value] (Paragraph. 0068) Examiner interpreted the “Parallelism” as markings match.
selects the second marking line when the degree of parallelism of a plurality of first marking lines recognized simultaneously is less than the threshold
However, Inoue did not disclose the height of the road surface of the is decreasing.
In the same field of endeavor Tamura disclosed, “In addition, the positions of the left and right front wheels FW and the left and right rear wheels RW are specified using the positional relationship between the position measurement unit 4 and the front wheels FW and the rear wheels RW stored in advance in the memory unit 52. Then, among the road map information stored in the memory unit 52, from the information on the road surface profile within a range forward of the current position by a predetermined distance L1 (for example, 200 m), information of a place having a height difference of the road surface on which the front wheel FW and the rear wheel RW are in contact with the ground, that is, information of a place having a vertical gradient, and information of a place having a height difference of the road surface on which the right wheel and the left wheel are in contact with the ground, that is, information of a place having a horizontal gradient, are extracted” (Paragraph. 0053).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date was made to have incorporated In addition, the positions of the left and right front wheels FW and the left and right rear wheels RW are specified using the positional relationship between the position measurement unit 4 and the front wheels FW and the rear wheels RW stored in advance in the memory unit 52. Then, among the road map information stored in the memory unit 52, from the information on the road surface profile within a range forward of the current position by a predetermined distance L1 (for example, 200 m), information of a place having a height difference of the road surface on which the front wheel FW and the rear wheel RW are in contact with the ground, that is, information of a place having a vertical gradient, and information of a place having a height difference of the road surface on which the right wheel and the left wheel are in contact with the ground, that is, information of a place having a horizontal gradient, are extracted as taught by Tamura in the method and system of Inoue to increase the efficiency of the automation of the vehicle.
4. As per claim 2 Inoue-Tamura disclosed wherein the map information includes height information and curve degree information of the movement path, and
the processor is configured to select the second marking line when the height of the road surface of the movement path is decreasing according to a road slope based on the height information and the curve degree information (Tamura, Paragraph. 0030). Claim 2 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
5. As per claim 3 Inoue-Tamura disclosed wherein the height information is a height at a center of the movement path (Tamura, Paragraph. 0030). Claim 3 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
6. As per claim 4 Inoue-Tamura disclosed wherein the processor is configured to select the second marking line when the first marking line recognized deviates from the second marking line to an inside of a turn (Paragraph. 0009) and when the height of the road surface of the movement path is decreasing even when the degree of parallelism of the plurality of first marking lines is equal to or greater than the threshold (Tamura, Paragraph. 0053). Claim 4 has the same motivation as to claim 1.
Claim Interpretation - 35 USC § 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first recognizer configured to” in at least claim 1
“a second recognizer configured to” in at least claim 1
“a determiner configured to” in at least claim 1
“a selector configured to” in at least claim 1
“a movement controller configured to” in at least claim 1
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Specifically, corresponding structure in the specification includes:
There is no corresponding structure provided in the specification.
There is no corresponding structure provided in the specification.
There is no corresponding structure provided in the specification.
There is no corresponding structure provided in the specification.
There is no corresponding structure provided in the specification.
If the specification fails to disclose sufficient corresponding structure, materials, or acts that perform the entire claimed function, then the claim limitation is indefinite because the applicant has in effect failed to particularly point out and distinctly claim the invention as required by 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. In re Donaldson Co., 16 F.3d 1189, 1195, 29 USPQ2d 1845, 1850 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (en banc). See MPEP 2163.03, section VI.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Response to applicant’s argument as follows.
A. Applicant argued that prior did not disclose, “selecting the first marking line when a degree of parallelism of a plurality of first marking lines recognized simultaneously present in moving direction of the mobile object is equal to or greater than a threshold and a height of a road surface of the movement path of the mobile object is not decreasing”.
As to applicant’s argument Inoue disclosed, “a control device includes a first recognizer configured to recognize a road marking for partitioning a traveling lane of a vehicle on the basis of an output of a detection device that has detected a surrounding situation of the vehicle, a second recognizer configured to recognize a road marking for partitioning the traveling lane on the basis of map information, and a determiner configured to determine whether or not there is misrecognition in the first recognizer on the basis of one or both of a curvature change quantity of a first road marking recognized by the first recognizer and an angle formed by the first road marking and a second road marking recognized by the second recognizer” (Abstract).
B. Applicant argued that prior art did not disclose selecting the second marking line when the degree of parallelism of a plurality of first marking lines recognized simultaneously is equal to or greater than the threshold and the height of the road surface is decreasing.
As to applicant’s argument Inoue disclosed, “the misrecognition determiner 154 determines that the markings match if a degree of deviation between the markings is less than a threshold value and determines that the markings do not match (or that there is a difference) if the degree of deviation between the markings is greater than or equal to the threshold value. The deviation may be, for example, deviation at a horizontal position (in the Y-axis direction in FIG. 4) (for example, a deviation quantity W1 between the markings LL1 and LL2 in FIG. 4), a difference at a vertical position (a length of a distance in the X-axis direction), or a combination thereof. The deviation may be a curvature change quantity difference between the markings LL1 and LL2 or an angle formed by the markings LL1 and LL2 (hereinafter referred to as a separation angle)” (Paragraph. 0068).
C. Applicant argued that prior art did not disclose, “selecting the second marking line when the degree of parallelism of a plurality of first marking lines recognized simultaneously is less than the threshold when a determination is made that the first marking lines and the second marking line deviate from each other.
As to applicant’s argument Inoue disclosed, the misrecognition determiner 154 compares degrees of deviation between the curvature change rates of the markings LL1 and LL2. In this case, the misrecognition determiner 154 acquires how much the marking LL1 deviates from the marking LL2 as a reference. For example, the misrecognition determiner 154 derives an absolute value of a value obtained by subtracting the curvature change rate of the marking LL1 from the curvature change rate of the marking LL2 on the basis of the position (X1, Y1) of the vehicle M as a degree of deviation in the curvature change rate. The misrecognition determiner 154 derives the degree of deviation in the above-described curvature change rate using the curvature change rates of the markings RL1 and RL2. The comparator 152 may derive the above-described degree of deviation (Paragraph. 0075).
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
examiner should be directed to Adnan Mirza whose telephone number is (571)-272-3885.
10. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday to Friday during normal
business hours. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the
examiner’s supervisor, Faris Almatrahi can be reached on (313)-446-4821.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status
information for un published applications is available through Private PAIR only. For
more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you
have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business
Center (EBC) at (866)-217-9197 (toll-free).
/ADNAN M MIRZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667