Notice of AIA Status
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggests along the lines of “Control Device, Control Method, And Storage Medium for Displaying Lane Change Operations.”
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Page 7, ln. 17 states: “MPU 60”. If the MPU is a “map positioning unit” then please change accordingly. If the MPU is not a “map positioning unit” then appropriate correction is required.
Throughout the specification, there are multiple mentions of terms such as “image” and “object” with improper antecedent basis. For clarity, appropriate correction is highly recommended.
Within the abstract, “in a case in which the adjacent lane is a second lane connected to the first lane and widening ahead of a location , an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which the second lane has not been recognized when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display.” is stated and should be changed to “in a case in which the adjacent lane is a second lane connected to the first lane and widening ahead of a location, an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which the second lane has not been recognized when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display.” (remove the ‘space’ after “location”) For clarity, appropriate correction is highly recommended.
Claim Interpretation (Broadest Reasonable Interpretation)
In regard to claims 1 & 8-9, the limitation of recognize a situation around a moving body is interpreted to include any possible situation around any moving body. The limitation of widening ahead of a location where the moving body is traveling in a proceeding direction of the moving body is interpreted to mean when one lane opens up to include more than one lane or when any moving body uses the additional space warranted on a roadway including the shoulder of a highway, during a turn-around, when one lane enters a larger roundabout, or when entering/exiting a highway when one lane is attached to an exit or entrance ramp. The limitation of even in a case in which a recognizer has not recognized the second lane is difficult to understand as the limitation is unclear as to how one would display an image without first recognizing the image as will be further described within the 112(b) rejection below. As such, the recognizer may be interpreted to be a human occupant that is unable to view an aspect of a lane which is viewed by a sperate sensor and then displayed.
These interpretations are used when making the following objections and rejections, as such this section should not be interpreted to be its own objection or rejection, merely Examiner’s interpretation as to the claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to due to missed punctuation, specifically, claim 7 states to automatically perform a lane change or and should be changed to to automatically perform a lane change, or (Added a “,” after change).
Claim 8 is objected to due to missed punctuation, specifically, claim 8 states A control method for causing a computer to execute and should be changed to A control method for causing a computer to execute: (Added a “:” after execute).
Claim 9 is objected to due to missed punctuation, specifically, claim 9 states A storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute and should be changed to A storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute: (Added a “:” after execute).
Appropriate correction is highly recommended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 & 8-9 recites the limitation of multiples of “an image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 1 & 8-9 recites the limitation of multiples of “an object”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation of “an image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation of “an object”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation of multiples of “an image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation of multiples of “an object”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of multiples of “an image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of multiples of “an object”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation of “a lane change” when claim 1 also recites “a lane change”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation of “an image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation of multiples of “an object”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation of “a lane change” when claim 1 also recites “a lane change”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of multiples of “an image”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of multiples of “an object”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of multiples of “a recognized lane”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation of “a lane change” when claims 1 & 6 also recite “a lane change”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
All of the further recitations using “the” i.e. “the image,” “the object,” “the recognized lane,” and “the lane change” are unclear as to which previously cited limitation they are referring to. Appropriate correction is required. Please also correct any further limitations introduced multiple times with “a” and “the” that Examiner may have missed.
Claims 1 & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the claim limitation of an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which a recognizer has not recognized the second lane when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display is indefinite because one having ordinary skill in the art would understand that any image that is displayed must inherently be recognized before the image can be displayed. Thus, by displaying an image, the contents of the image are recognized. Even when looking to the instant specification as to an understanding of this limitation, the specification is silent. The recognizer itself is described as follows: “The recognizer 110 recognizes states of the location, the speed, the acceleration, … For example, the recognizer 110 recognizes a lane in which the vehicle M is traveling (traveling lane). For example, the recognizer 110 recognizes a traveling lane by comparing the pattern of a road division line (for example, an array of solid lines and dashed line) obtained from the second map information 62 with the pattern of the road division line around the vehicle M recognized from images captured by the camera 10. … The recognizer 110 may recognize a traveling lane by recognizing traveling path boundaries (road boundaries) including road division lines, road shoulders, curbstones, median strips, guardrails, and the like without being limited to road division lines. In this recognition, the location of the vehicle M acquired from the navigation device 50 or processing results of the INS may be added. The recognizer 110 recognizes stop lines, obstacles, red lights, toll gates, and other road events. When recognizing a traveling lane, the recognizer 110 recognizes the location and the posture of the vehicle M with respect to the traveling lane. For example, the recognizer 110may recognize a deviation of a reference point in the vehicle M from the center of the lane and an angle formed with respect to a line of the centers of the lane of the vehicle M in the proceeding direction as the relative location and a posture of the host vehicle M with respect to the traveling lane. Instead of this, the recognizer 110 may recognize a location or the like of a reference point in the vehicle M with respect to any side end part (road division line or road boundary) of the traveling lane as the relative location of the vehicle M with respect to the traveling lane. … The processor 152 causes a display of the HMI 30 to display the lane included in recognition results of the recognizer 110 (for example, images captured by the camera 10). For example, the display is a display provided at a location which is easy for a driver to visually recognize. For example, the processor 152 converts the environment, objects, and the like around the vehicle M, such as lanes and preceding vehicles, recognized by the recognizer 110 into images and causes the display to display the images of the environment, the objects, and the like after conversion.”
The term recognizer could be understood to be a human operator even when looking to the specification for understanding. Appropriate correction is required.
For one example of how one would display an unrecognized portion of a lane while a portion of the lane is recognized, Examiner cites You et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,552,523 B2) titled “Apparatus and method for generating virtual lane, and system for controlling lane keeping of vehicle with the apparatus.” Within You et al. a virtual lane is generated and displayed when a portion of the lane is unrecognizable by the vehicle. The virtual lane is generated by a virtual lane algorithm described as “a nonrecognition/misrecognition case of the lane is analyzed based on measured data and a virtual lane algorithm is configured and verified based on an index generated based on the analysis, thereby improving reliability of logic.” Thus, You et al. teaches cause the display to display, … an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which a recognizer has not recognized the second lane when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display. (See Abstract, “Disclosed are an apparatus and a method for generating a virtual lane, which correct or estimate an undetected lane depending on detection of a lane at each side and a system for controlling lane keeping of a vehicle with the apparatus. The apparatus for generating a virtual lane according to the present invention includes: a lane detection judging unit configured to judge whether both lanes of a front road are normally detected based on a front image; a lane correction unit configured to generate a virtual lane by correcting one lane based on the other lane when it is judged that the one lane of both lanes is not normally detected; and a lane estimation unit configured to generate the virtual lane by estimating both lanes based on previously detected lane information when it is judged that either lane is not normally detected.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tayama et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,436,600 B2 Hereinafter referred to as Tayama). For clarity, all claim limitations are bolded and the direct cites to the prior art are illustrated below. The entirety of the cited prior art reference(s) are relevant, however, the directly cited portions contain the best teachings of the claim limitations. Many figures are cited to, however, for brevity the most relevant figures are shown and may be referenced below.
Regarding claim 1, Tayama teaches A control device comprising: a storage medium storing computer-readable instructions; and at least one processor connected to the storage medium, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: (FIG. 1; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile.") recognize a situation around a moving body; (Col. 7, ll. 19-31; "Further, to obtain information regarding traffic situations around the own vehicle, the information input unit 8 is connected with cameras, various kinds of sensors, communication equipment for communication with the outside, and the like mounted on the own vehicle. For example, the information input unit 8 can obtain information of a position, a route, and a travel state of another vehicle through vehicle- to-vehicle communication with the other vehicle traveling, parking, or stopping around the own vehicle and/or can obtain latest traffic information regarding travel situations of other vehicles, road situations, and the like through radio communication with a traffic information center via the internet or public broadcasting.") cause a display to display a lane included in the recognized surrounding situation; (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof.") cause the display to display, in a case in which a target route of the moving body is on a side of a lane adjacent to a first lane where the moving body is traveling, an image in which an image of an object of movement display showing movement of the moving body to the lane side is superimposed on an image of an object of the adjacent lane; (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof." & Col. 8, ll. 60-66; "The front windshield 15 may be divided into several display areas to use the entire surface or a part thereof as the first display device 3. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, a main display area 31 is defined as a wide view area including a center section of the front windshield 15 to project an image that is superimposed to actual scenery viewed through the front windshield 15." & Col. 11, ll. 29-35; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 30 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39.") and cause the display to display, in a case in which the adjacent lane is a second lane connected to the first lane and widening ahead of a location where the moving body is traveling in a proceeding direction of the moving body, an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which a recognizer has not recognized the second lane when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-25; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images." & Col. 2, ll. 8-19; "According to the automated driving vehicle disclosed in Patent Literature 1, on a screen of a display portion, the 10 vehicle is displayed as a mark having a rectangle added to a base of an isosceles triangle that indicates a travel direction thereof and a direction of lane change is displayed as a curved arrow in a simulated manner. With such simple marks, it is difficult to make an occupant recognize travel 15 states of the own vehicle and other vehicles such as a travel speed and an inter-vehicle distance, and a specific route for lane change. Accordingly, there may be a fear that uneasiness of the occupant cannot be sufficiently released or reduced" & Col. 11, ll. 29-35; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 30 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39.")
Regarding claim 2, Tayama teaches The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: identify that the second lane is present in the proceeding direction of the moving body on the basis of road information and cause the display to display an image of an object of the second lane. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 11, ll. 59-65; "Owing to that the picture image 40 of the own vehicle is superimposed to the scenery 39 taken by the front cameras 60 16, 16 as described above, it is possible for the occupant to recognize, visually and more easily, situations (e.g., positional relation, orientation, and the like) of the own vehicle travelling on the road along the scheduled travel course on the relatively small display screen 34.")
Regarding claim 3, Tayama teaches The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: cause the display to display an image of an object of the second lane and an image of an object of the movement display at the same time. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 11, ll. 29-40; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39. Since a lane location in front of the travelling own vehicle can be recognized at high accuracy with the front cameras 16, 16, it is relatively easy to perform accurate positioning of the symbol image 37' with respect to the taken scenery 39 projected to the behavior display area 35a.")
Regarding claim 4, Tayama teaches The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: cause the display to display an image of an object of the movement display after the display is caused to display an image of an object of the second lane. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 11, ll. 29-40; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39. Since a lane location in front of the travelling own vehicle can be recognized at high accuracy with the front cameras 16, 16, it is relatively easy to perform accurate positioning of the symbol image 37' with respect to the taken scenery 39 projected to the behavior display area 35a.")
Regarding claim 5, Tayama teaches The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: execute auto lane change control of causing the moving body to automatically perform a lane change to the second lane; (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 13, ll. 12-24; "FIGS. 11A and 11B schematically illustrate screens for prior notice displayed respectively at the first and second display devices 3, 4 in advance in a case that the own vehicle with automated driving performs lane change from an overtaking lane to a cruising lane. A symbol image 44 indicating a travel course for the lane change is displayed at the first display device 3 in addition to the symbol image 37 indicating the scheduled travel course. Similarly, a symbol image 44' indicating the travel course for the lane change is displayed as well at the second display device 4 in addition to the symbol image 37' indicating the scheduled travel course. The symbol images 44, 44' may be displayed instead of the symbol images 37, 37") and cause the display to display an image of an object of the second lane and an image of an object of the movement display in a superimposed manner in a case in which the auto lane change control is executed. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 13, ll. 58-67; "Further, at the first display device 3, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46. Similarly, at the second display device 4 as well, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46'. As described later, the virtual image 46, 46' is displayed so that the virtual vehicle of the own vehicle travels on the arrow of the symbol image 44, 44' indicating the travel course for lane change as having the arrow as the trajectory therefor.")
Regarding claim 6, Tayama teaches The control device according to claim 1, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: cause the display to display an image including a first image of an object of the moving body, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof.") a second image of an object of the second lane, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 13, ll. 12-24; "FIGS. 11A and 11B schematically illustrate screens for prior notice displayed respectively at the first and second display devices 3, 4 in advance in a case that the own vehicle with automated driving performs lane change from an overtaking lane to a cruising lane. A symbol image 44 indicating a travel course for the lane change is displayed at the first display device 3 in addition to the symbol image 37 indicating the scheduled travel course. Similarly, a symbol image 44' indicating the travel course for the lane change is displayed as well at the second display device 4 in addition to the symbol image 37' indicating the scheduled travel course. The symbol images 44, 44' may be displayed instead of the symbol images 37, 37") and a third image of an object of the movement display associated with the first image and the second image in a case in which the moving body is scheduled to perform a lane change to the second lane (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 13, ll. 58-67; "Further, at the first display device 3, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46. Similarly, at the second display device 4 as well, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46'. As described later, the virtual image 46, 46' is displayed so that the virtual vehicle of the own vehicle travels on the arrow of the symbol image 44, 44' indicating the travel course for lane change as having the arrow as the trajectory therefor.") and an occupant of the moving body is notified of the lane change to the second lane even in a case in which the second lane is unrecognizable because the moving body is present at a predetermined distance before a starting point of the second lane. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 12, ll. 56-67; "According to the present invention, before an automobile with automated driving performs a travel behavior to be deviated from or out of a normal scheduled travel course, the travel behavior about to be performed is previously noticed to a driver and another occupant in a manner of being easy to be recognized intuitively and instantaneously. In the present embodiment, the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2 evaluates and determines, in accordance with previously-set programs stored in the automated driving information storing unit 9, whether the travel behavior being different from the scheduled travel behavior is to be performed and how the own vehicle behaves." & Col. 2, ll. 8-19; "According to the automated driving vehicle disclosed in Patent Literature 1, on a screen of a display portion, the 10 vehicle is displayed as a mark having a rectangle added to a base of an isosceles triangle that indicates a travel direction thereof and a direction of lane change is displayed as a curved arrow in a simulated manner. With such simple marks, it is difficult to make an occupant recognize travel 15 states of the own vehicle and other vehicles such as a travel speed and an inter-vehicle distance, and a specific route for lane change. Accordingly, there may be a fear that uneasiness of the occupant cannot be sufficiently released or reduced")
Regarding claim 7, Tayama teaches The control device according to claim 6, wherein the processor executes the computer-readable instructions to: cause the display to display an image of an object of the recognized lane; (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof.") and cause the display to display an image of an object of the movement display indicating that the moving body will move to the second lane after the display is caused to display an image of an object of the second lane on the basis of information indicating that the second lane acquired from a navigation device is present, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 7, ll. 19-31; "Further, to obtain information regarding traffic situations around the own vehicle, the information input unit 8 is connected with cameras, various kinds of sensors, communication equipment for communication with the outside, and the like mounted on the own vehicle. For example, the information input unit 8 can obtain information of a position, a route, and a travel state of another vehicle through vehicle- to-vehicle communication with the other vehicle traveling, parking, or stopping around the own vehicle and/or can obtain latest traffic information regarding travel situations of other vehicles, road situations, and the like through radio communication with a traffic information center via the internet or public broadcasting." & Col. 13, ll. 58-67; "Further, at the first display device 3, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46. Similarly, at the second display device 4 as well, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46'. As described later, the virtual image 46, 46' is displayed so that the virtual vehicle of the own vehicle travels on the arrow of the symbol image 44, 44' indicating the travel course for lane change as having the arrow as the trajectory therefor.") even in a case in which the second lane is not included in a recognized lane when the moving body has arrived at a location a first distance from the second lane in a case in which an occupant of the moving body is issuing an instruction to cause the moving body to automatically perform a lane change or cause the display to display an image of an object of the movement display at a timing when an image of an object of the second lane is displayed, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 12, ll. 56-67; "According to the present invention, before an automobile with automated driving performs a travel behavior to be deviated from or out of a normal scheduled travel course, the travel behavior about to be performed is previously noticed to a driver and another occupant in a manner of being easy to be recognized intuitively and instantaneously. In the present embodiment, the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2 evaluates and determines, in accordance with previously-set programs stored in the automated driving information storing unit 9, whether the travel behavior being different from the scheduled travel behavior is to be performed and how the own vehicle behaves." & Col. 13, ll. 1-11; "The evaluation and determination by the automated driv-ing control unit 7 are performed based on a variety of information obtained through the information input unit 8 such as a current position and a travel state of the own vehicle, road situations therearound, situations of other vehicles or objects, and the like. The unscheduled travel behavior determined by the automated driving control unit 7 is performed unless the unscheduled travel behavior is cancelled by an occupant having viewed the prior notice displayed at the first and/or second display devices 3, 4 or switching is performed to manual driving." & Col. 2, ll. 8-19; "According to the automated driving vehicle disclosed in Patent Literature 1, on a screen of a display portion, the 10 vehicle is displayed as a mark having a rectangle added to a base of an isosceles triangle that indicates a travel direction thereof and a direction of lane change is displayed as a curved arrow in a simulated manner. With such simple marks, it is difficult to make an occupant recognize travel 15 states of the own vehicle and other vehicles such as a travel speed and an inter-vehicle distance, and a specific route for lane change. Accordingly, there may be a fear that uneasiness of the occupant cannot be sufficiently released or reduced." & Col. 8, ll. 4-17; "When a destination is input by a driver or another occupant before starting automated driving, the automated driving control unit 7 computes a travel route to the destination and proposes one or more candidates of the travel route. When an occupant confirms or selects one of the proposed travel routes, the automated driving control unit 7 controls the accelerating system 10, the steering system 11, the braking system 12, and the indicating system 13 in accordance with the travel route so that automated driving is started. Here, the automated driving control unit 7 performs switching between an automated driving mode and a manual driving mode in accordance with switching operation performed by an occupant.") even in a case in which the second lane is not included in a recognized lane when the moving body has arrived at a location a first distance from the second lane in a case in which an occupant of the moving body is issuing an instruction to cause the moving body to automatically perform a lane change. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 13 ln 58- Col. 14 ln. 20; "Further, at the first display device 3, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46. Similarly, at the second display device 4 as well, a virtual vehicle of the own vehicle that performs lane change is displayed as a moving image of a virtual image 46'. As described later, the virtual image 46, 46' is displayed so that the virtual vehicle of the own vehicle travels on the arrow of the symbol image 44, 44' indicating the travel course for lane change as having the arrow as the trajectory therefor. Here, it is preferable that the virtual images 46, 46' are displayed, for example, as being entirely translucent in while or a light color to the extent that at least outline of the own vehicle is recognizable so as to prevent misrecognition and confusion with an actual vehicle for the occupant. According to the above, the lane change of the own vehicle to be performed can be expected by the occupant intuitively and specifically in a visual manner. After determining to perform lane change from the over taking lane 38 to the cruising lane 41, the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2 instructs the display control unit 5 of the vehicle image display system 1 to display prior notice of the lane change. The display control unit 5 obtains, from the display information storing unit 6, image data necessary for displaying prior notice of the lane change. Then, the display control unit 5 perform necessary processes, so that the symbol images 44, 44' and the virtual images 46, 46' are generated and are transmitted to the first and second display devices 3, 4 to be displayed thereat.")
Regarding claim 8, Tayama teaches A control method for causing a computer to execute processing of recognizing a situation around a moving body, (FIG. 1; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 7, ll. 19-31; "Further, to obtain information regarding traffic situations around the own vehicle, the information input unit 8 is connected with cameras, various kinds of sensors, communication equipment for communication with the outside, and the like mounted on the own vehicle. For example, the information input unit 8 can obtain information of a position, a route, and a travel state of another vehicle through vehicle- to-vehicle communication with the other vehicle traveling, parking, or stopping around the own vehicle and/or can obtain latest traffic information regarding travel situations of other vehicles, road situations, and the like through radio communication with a traffic information center via the internet or public broadcasting.") processing of causing a display to display a lane included in the surrounding situation, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof.") processing of causing the display to display, in a case in which a target route of the moving body is on a side of a lane adjacent to a first lane where the moving body is traveling, an image in which an image of an object of movement display showing movement of the moving body to the lane side is superimposed on an image of an object of the adjacent lane, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof." & Col. 8, ll. 60-66; "The front windshield 15 may be divided into several display areas to use the entire surface or a part thereof as the first display device 3. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, a main display area 31 is defined as a wide view area including a center section of the front windshield 15 to project an image that is superimposed to actual scenery viewed through the front windshield 15." & Col. 11, ll. 29-35; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 30 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39.") and processing of causing the display to display, in a case in which the adjacent lane is a second lane connected to the first lane and widening ahead of a location where the moving body is traveling in a proceeding direction of the moving body, an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which the second lane has not been recognized in the recognizing processing when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-25; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images." & Col. 2, ll. 8-19; "According to the automated driving vehicle disclosed in Patent Literature 1, on a screen of a display portion, the 10 vehicle is displayed as a mark having a rectangle added to a base of an isosceles triangle that indicates a travel direction thereof and a direction of lane change is displayed as a curved arrow in a simulated manner. With such simple marks, it is difficult to make an occupant recognize travel 15 states of the own vehicle and other vehicles such as a travel speed and an inter-vehicle distance, and a specific route for lane change. Accordingly, there may be a fear that uneasiness of the occupant cannot be sufficiently released or reduced" & Col. 11, ll. 29-35; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 30 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39.")
Regarding claim 9, Tayama teaches A storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to execute processing of recognizing a situation around a moving body, (FIG. 1; Col. 6, ll. 47-59; "The automated driving system 2 includes an automated driving control unit 7, an information input unit 8, and an automated driving information storing unit 9" & Col. 8, ll. 1-4; "The automated driving control unit 7 is structured with a microcomputer that includes a CPU, a ROM, and a RAM. The SPU executes a program stored in the ROM for performing automated driving of an automobile." & Col. 7, ll. 19-31; "Further, to obtain information regarding traffic situations around the own vehicle, the information input unit 8 is connected with cameras, various kinds of sensors, communication equipment for communication with the outside, and the like mounted on the own vehicle. For example, the information input unit 8 can obtain information of a position, a route, and a travel state of another vehicle through vehicle- to-vehicle communication with the other vehicle traveling, parking, or stopping around the own vehicle and/or can obtain latest traffic information regarding travel situations of other vehicles, road situations, and the like through radio communication with a traffic information center via the internet or public broadcasting.") processing of causing a display to display a lane included in the surrounding situation, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof.") processing of causing the display to display, in a case in which a target route of the moving body is on a side of a lane adjacent to a first lane where the moving body is traveling, an image in which an image of an object of movement display showing movement of the moving body to the lane side is superimposed on an image of an object of the adjacent lane, (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-29; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images. The display information storing unit 6 previously memorizes data files of various display patterns of images that indicate a behavior during automated driving or a previously noticed behavior of an own vehicle and programs of displaying thereof." & Col. 8, ll. 60-66; "The front windshield 15 may be divided into several display areas to use the entire surface or a part thereof as the first display device 3. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4A, a main display area 31 is defined as a wide view area including a center section of the front windshield 15 to project an image that is superimposed to actual scenery viewed through the front windshield 15." & Col. 11, ll. 29-35; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 30 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39.") and processing of causing the display to display, in a case in which the adjacent lane is a second lane connected to the first lane and widening ahead of a location where the moving body is traveling in a proceeding direction of the moving body, an image of an object of the second lane even in a case in which the second lane has not been recognized in the recognizing processing when the display is caused to display an image of an object of the movement display. (FIGs. 7-9, 11-14, & 16-26; Col. 8, ll. 18-25; "In the vehicle image display system 1 of the present embodiment, image displaying on the first display device 3 and the second display device 4 is controlled by the display control unit 5. Based on instructions and information received from the automated driving control unit 7 of the automated driving system 2, the display control unit 5 causes the first display device 3 and/or the second display device 4 to display necessary images." & Col. 2, ll. 8-19; "According to the automated driving vehicle disclosed in Patent Literature 1, on a screen of a display portion, the 10 vehicle is displayed as a mark having a rectangle added to a base of an isosceles triangle that indicates a travel direction thereof and a direction of lane change is displayed as a curved arrow in a simulated manner. With such simple marks, it is difficult to make an occupant recognize travel 15 states of the own vehicle and other vehicles such as a travel speed and an inter-vehicle distance, and a specific route for lane change. Accordingly, there may be a fear that uneasiness of the occupant cannot be sufficiently released or reduced" & Col. 11, ll. 29-35; "For example, as illustrated in FIG. 7B, the second display device 4 displays, in real time, a moving image of scenery 30 39 in front of the own vehicle taken by the front cameras 16, 16 at the behavior display area 35a of the monitor device 24. A symbol image 37' of the travel course of the own vehicle is displayed as being superimposed to an overtaking lane 38' of the taken scenery 39.")
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mimura (U.S. Patent No. 11,198,439 B2) teaches a vehicle control device, vehicle control method, and storage medium.
Nakamori et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,306,269 B2) teaches a lane recognition device.
Park et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,498,241 B2) teaches an AR display device for vehicle and method for operating same.
Minemura et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,418,302 B2) teaches a method and apparatus for recognizing road shape.
Terasawa (U.S. Patent No. 11,066,078 B2) teaches a vehicle position attitude calculation apparatus and vehicle position attitude calculation program.
USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800) 786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571) 272-1000.
/A.M.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RAMYA P BURGESS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661