DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 21, 2026. It is noted that the withdrawn claims were amended in order to indirectly depend on claim 1, therefore, when the elected claims are considered to be in condition for allowance, rejoinder will be considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kumar et al (US 2002/0161162).
With regards to claim 1, Kumar teaches a composition used for primers (0002) and that is a two pack coating composition (abstract) (reading on a multi-component system) that contains acetoacetate containing acrylic polymers (0036), acetoacetate containing polyester compounds (0051), and an epoxy resin (abstract). Kumar further teaches the addition of ketimine (0003).
With regards to claim 2, Kumar teaches the ratio of the ketimine to the acetoacetate groups to be 0.3 to 2.5 (0018).
With regards to claims 3 and 5, Kumar teaches the epoxy resin to contain acetoacetate (abstract).
With regards to claim 4, Kumar teaches the ketimine to be formed from methyl ethyl ketone and an amine (0065).
With regards to claim 6, Kumar teaches the composition to include a polyester having acetoacetoxy functional groups (0051).
With regards to claim 7, Kumar teaches the composition to include caprolactone groups (0040).
With regards to claim 8, Kumar teaches the epoxy to have at least one epoxy group and at least one acetoacetate functional group (0006) reading on a difunctional compound.
With regards to claim 9, Kumar teaches the curable composition to contain an organosilane compound (0016).
With regards to claim 10, Kumar teaches the composition to contain an epoxy and ketimine compound (0066-0067).
With regards to claim 11, Kumar teaches the composition to cure under ambient conditions (0003) reading on moisture.
With regards to claim 12, Kumar teaches the composition to adhere to metal (0002).
With regards to claim 13, Kumar teaches the addition of a solvent (0002).
With regards to claim 14, Kumar teaches the composition to be formed by mixing the components (0010) and to dry and cure the paints (0003).
Conclusion
/JESSICA WHITELEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763