DETAILED ACTION
3. Claims 1-22, filed on 2/21/2025, are pending in this office action.
Priority
4. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of prior-filed US application 18/333,782, now US Patent 12,259,871, filed 6/13/2023, which claims benefit of a prior-filed US application 17/558,240, now US Patent 11,720,544, filed 12/21/2021, which claims benefit of a prior-filed US application 16/383,468, now US Patent 11,238,028, filed 4/12/2019, under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
5. Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2 contains two periods at the end of the sentence. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 17-20 are directed towards "computer program product"; however, computer program product may reasonably be construed to include signals or carrier waves, as no language in the specification is recited that limits a computer program product to statutory subject matter, and may then be reasonably interpreted as being embodied in non-statutory embodiments, such as carrier waves, wireless signals, and the like. In order to overcome this rejection, applicant may amend Claim 17 to positively recite a "non-transitory" computer readable storage medium in place of “tangible” computer readable storage medium, or amend claims 17-20 to recite “non-transitory computer program product”.
Double Patenting
9. Claims 1, 9, and 17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 13 of US Patent 12,259,871. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims, if allowed, would improperly extend the “right to exclude” already granted in the patent.
The subject matter claimed in the instant application is fully disclosed in the patent and is covered by the patent since the patent and the application are claiming common subject matter, as follows:
US Patent 12,259,871
Instant Application
Claim 1,
A method processing signals from a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the method comprising:
receiving, from each of the plurality of groups, a message packet from the first sensor and an additional message packet from each of the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located, wherein the message packet includes a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor, and wherein the additional message packet includes at least one additional sensor identifier and sensor data from a corresponding one of the at least one additional sensor;
associating the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups;
obtaining calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier, wherein the obtaining of the calibration information comprises: determining a correction for the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups using a calibration table, at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor;
obtaining additional calibration information for the at least one additional sensor based on at least one additional sensor identifier, the additional calibration information being specific to the at least one additional sensor having the at least one additional sensor identifier, wherein the obtaining of the additional calibration information comprises: determining an additional correction for the at least one additional sensor of each of the plurality of groups using the calibration table, at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor;
and providing corrected first sensor data and corrected additional sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, the additional sensor data, the additional calibration information for the at least one additional sensor, and the data and calibration information for the first sensor, comprising:
applying the correction to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups to obtain the corrected first sensor data; and applying the additional correction to the additional sensor data for each of the plurality of groups to obtain the corrected additional sensor data.
Claim 1,
A method processing signals from a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the method comprising:
receiving, from each of the plurality of groups, a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor and at least one additional sensor identifier and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located;
associating the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups;
obtaining calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier;
providing corrected first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, a first sensor identifier, the at least one additional sensor identifier, and additional sensor data;
and applying a correction for the first sensor to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups, wherein the correction is determined based on the at least one additional sensor identifier, and the additional sensor data..
Claim 7,
A system for processing data for a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the system comprising: a processor configured to:
receive, from each of the plurality of groups, a message packet from the first sensor and an additional message packet from each of the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located, wherein the message packet includes a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor, and wherein the additional message packet includes at least one additional sensor identifier and sensor data from a corresponding one of the at least one additional sensor;
associate the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier;
obtain calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier, wherein the obtaining of the calibration information comprises to: determine a correction for the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups using a calibration table, at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor;
obtain additional calibration information for the at least one additional sensor based on at least one additional sensor identifier, the additional calibration information being specific to the at least one additional sensor having the at least one additional sensor identifier, wherein the obtaining of the additional calibration information comprises to: determine an additional correction for the at least one additional sensor of each of the plurality of groups using the calibration table, at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor;
and provide corrected first sensor data and corrected additional sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, the additional sensor data, the additional calibration information for the at least one additional sensor, and the calibration information for the first sensor, comprising to:
apply the correction to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups to obtain the corrected first sensor data; and apply the additional correction to the additional sensor data for each of the plurality of groups to obtain the corrected additional sensor data; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions.
Claim 9,
A system for processing data for a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the system comprising: a processor configured to:
receive, from each of the plurality of groups, a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor and at least one additional sensor identifier and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located;
associate the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier;
obtain calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier;
provide corrected first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, a first sensor identifier, the at least one additional sensor identifier, and additional sensor data;
and apply a correction for the first sensor to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups, wherein the correction is determined based on the at least one additional sensor identifier, and the additional sensor data; and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions.
Claim 13,
A computer program product for processing signals from a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the computer program product being embodied in a tangible non-transitory computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for:
receiving, from each of the plurality of groups, a message packet from the first sensor and an additional message packet from each of the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located, wherein the message packet includes a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor, and wherein the additional message packet includes at least one additional sensor identifier and sensor data from a corresponding one of the at least one additional sensor;
associating the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups;
obtaining calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier, wherein the obtaining of the calibration information comprises: determining a correction for the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups using a calibration table, at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor;
obtaining additional calibration information for the at least one additional sensor based on at least one additional sensor identifier, the additional calibration information being specific to the at least one additional sensor having the at least one additional sensor identifier, wherein the obtaining of the additional calibration information comprises: determining an additional correction for the at least one additional sensor of each of the plurality of groups using the calibration table, at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor;
and providing corrected first sensor data and corrected additional sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, the additional sensor data, the additional calibration information for the at least one additional sensor, and the calibration information for the first sensor, comprising:
applying the correction to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups to obtain the corrected first sensor data; and applying the additional correction to the additional sensor data for each of the plurality of groups to obtain the corrected additional sensor data.
Claim 17,
A computer program product for processing signals from a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the computer program product being embodied in a tangible computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for:
receiving, from each of the plurality of groups, a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor and at least one additional sensor identifier and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located;
associating the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups;
obtaining calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier;
providing corrected first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, a first sensor identifier, the at least one additional sensor identifier, and additional sensor data;
and applying a correction for the first sensor to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups, wherein the correction is determined based on the at least one additional sensor identifier, and the additional sensor data.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 1, 5-9, 13-17, and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamashita et al. (US Publication 2017/0372601 A1) in view of Chen et al. (US Publication 2015/0369656 A1)
As per claim 1, Yamashita teaches A method processing signals from a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the method comprising: (see Abstract)
receiving, from each of the plurality of groups, a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor and at least one additional sensor identifier and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located; (paragraph 0041, 0051, server nodes are divided into partial clusters, clusters interpreted as groups, the clusters being sensors located nearby, paragraph 0043, 0060, clusters including identification information of each node and cluster)
associating the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups; paragraph 0044, 0048, 0051, sensor nodes within clusters are associated together)
obtaining calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, (paragraph 0052, 0062, 0093, a calibration reference value is obtained for sensor nodes within clusters, calibration reference value interpreted as calibration information)
providing corrected first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, a first sensor identifier, the at least one additional sensor identifier, and additional sensor data; (paragraph 0054, 0076, a calibration process is performed for sensing values of sensors to correct sensor values)
and applying a correction for the first sensor to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups, wherein the correction is determined based on the at least one additional sensor identifier, and the additional sensor data. (paragraph 0054, 0076, a sensing value is corrected by adding a calculated error value of the sensor for each collection period)
Yamashita does not explicitly indicate the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier.
Chen teaches the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier. (paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0047, calibration model for each sensor within a sensor group is maintained in a database).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Yamashita’s method of controlling and calibrating sensor data from sensor nodes organized into clusters with Chen’s ability to obtaining calibration model values for each sensor of a group of sensors for sensor standardization and correction. This gives the user the ability to assign calibration reference values for individual sensors within sensor clusters for a calibration process. The motivation for doing so would be to better perform instrument standardization and calibration of sensors (paragraph 0001, 0010).
As per claim 5, Yamashita teaches receiving a message packet from the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups, the message packet including the first sensor identifier and the first sensor data; and receiving an additional message packet from each of the at least one additional sensor, the additional message packet including an identifier of the at least one additional sensor identifier and sensor data from a corresponding one of the at least one additional sensor. (paragraph 0048, 0054, 0063, identification information of each of the sensor nodes)
As per claim 6, Yamashita teaches the message packet includes a first sensor sensing time and the additional message packet includes an additional sensor sensing time. (paragraph 0078, time interval)
As per claim 7, Yamashita teaches the first sensor includes a multi-modality sensor for a first feature and a second feature such that first sensor data includes first feature data and second is feature data, wherein the at least one additional sensor includes a second feature sensor, and wherein the applying the correction further includes: aligning first sensor sensing time with the additional sensor sensing time for the second feature sensor; and extracting the first feature data from the first sensor data using second feature data from the second feature sensor in the additional sensor data. (paragraph 0103, 0116, multi-hop communication of sensors, paragraph 0078, time interval)
As per claim 8, Yamashita teaches the message packet for the first sensor and the at least one additional message packet for the at least one additional sensor for each of the plurality of groups is received via a single message bus. (paragraph 0108, packet format, and paragraph 0116, gateway)
As per claim 9, Yamashita teaches the A system for processing data for a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the system comprising: (see Abstract)
a processor configured to: (Figure 5 reference 12, processor)
receive, from each of the plurality of groups, a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor and at least one additional sensor identifier and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located; (paragraph 0041, 0051, server nodes are divided into partial clusters, clusters interpreted as groups, the clusters being sensors located nearby, paragraph 0043, 0060, clusters including identification information of each node and cluster)
associate the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups; paragraph 0044, 0048, 0051, sensor nodes within clusters are associated together)
obtain calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, (paragraph 0052, 0062, 0093, a calibration reference value is obtained for sensor nodes within clusters, calibration reference value interpreted as calibration information)
provide corrected first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, a first sensor identifier, the at least one additional sensor identifier, and additional sensor data; (paragraph 0054, 0076, a calibration process is performed for sensing values of sensors to correct sensor values)
apply a correction for the first sensor to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups, wherein the correction is determined based on the at least one additional sensor identifier, and the additional sensor data. (paragraph 0054, 0076, a sensing value is corrected by adding a calculated error value of the sensor for each collection period)
and a memory coupled to the processor and configured to provide the processor with instructions. (Figure 5 reference 13, memory)
Yamashita does not explicitly indicate the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier.
Chen teaches the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier. (paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0047, calibration model for each sensor within a sensor group is maintained in a database).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Yamashita’s method of controlling and calibrating sensor data from sensor nodes organized into clusters with Chen’s ability to obtaining calibration model values for each sensor of a group of sensors for sensor standardization and correction. This gives the user the ability to assign calibration reference values for individual sensors within sensor clusters for a calibration process. The motivation for doing so would be to better perform instrument standardization and calibration of sensors (paragraph 0001, 0010).
As per claim 13, Yamashita teaches receive a message packet from the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups, the message packet including the first sensor identifier and the first sensor data; and receive an additional message packet from each of the at least one additional sensor, the additional message packet including an identifier of the at least one additional sensor identifier and sensor data from a corresponding one of the at least one additional sensor. (paragraph 0048, 0054, 0063, identification information of each of the sensor nodes)
As per claim 14, Yamashita teaches the message packet includes a first sensor sensing time and the additional message packet includes an additional sensor sensing time. (paragraph 0078, time interval)
As per claim 15, Yamashita teaches the first sensor includes a multi-modality sensor for a first feature and a second feature such that first sensor data includes first feature data and second feature data, wherein the at least one additional sensor includes a second feature sensor, and wherein to apply the correction, the processor is further configured to: align first sensor sensing time with the additional sensor sensing time for the second feature sensor; and extract the first feature data from the first sensor data using second feature data from the second feature sensor in the additional sensor data. (paragraph 0103, 0116, multi-hop communication of sensors, paragraph 0078, time interval)
As per claim 16, Yamashita teaches the message packet for the first sensor and the at least one additional message packet for the at least one additional sensor for each of the plurality of groups is received via a single message bus. (paragraph 0108, packet format, and paragraph 0116, gateway)
As per claim 17, Yamashita teaches A computer program product for processing signals from a plurality of groups of sensors, each group including a first sensor and at least one additional sensor, the computer program product being embodied in a tangible computer readable storage medium and comprising computer instructions for: (see Abstract)
receiving, from each of the plurality of groups, a first sensor identifier and first sensor data from the first sensor and at least one additional sensor identifier and additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor, the first sensor and the at least one additional sensor of each group being co-located; (paragraph 0041, 0051, server nodes are divided into partial clusters, clusters interpreted as groups, the clusters being sensors located nearby, paragraph 0043, 0060, clusters including identification information of each node and cluster)
associating the first sensor data identifier with the at least one additional sensor identifier for each of the plurality of groups; paragraph 0044, 0048, 0051, sensor nodes within clusters are associated together)
obtaining calibration information for the first sensor based on the first sensor identifier and the at least one additional sensor identifier, (paragraph 0052, 0062, 0093, a calibration reference value is obtained for sensor nodes within clusters, calibration reference value interpreted as calibration information)
providing corrected first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups based on the first sensor data, a first sensor identifier, the at least one additional sensor identifier, and additional sensor data; (paragraph 0054, 0076, a calibration process is performed for sensing values of sensors to correct sensor values)
and applying a correction for the first sensor to the first sensor data for each of the plurality of groups, wherein the correction is determined based on the at least one additional sensor identifier, and the additional sensor data. (paragraph 0054, 0076, a sensing value is corrected by adding a calculated error value of the sensor for each collection period)
Yamashita does not explicitly indicate the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier.
Chen teaches the calibration information being specific to the first sensor having the first sensor identifier. (paragraphs 0023, 0025, 0047, calibration model for each sensor within a sensor group is maintained in a database).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine Yamashita’s method of controlling and calibrating sensor data from sensor nodes organized into clusters with Chen’s ability to obtaining calibration model values for each sensor of a group of sensors for sensor standardization and correction. This gives the user the ability to assign calibration reference values for individual sensors within sensor clusters for a calibration process. The motivation for doing so would be to better perform instrument standardization and calibration of sensors (paragraph 0001, 0010).
As per claim 20, Yamashita teaches receiving a message packet from the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups, the message packet including the first sensor identifier and the first sensor data; and receiving an additional message packet from each of the at least one additional sensor, the additional message packet including an identifier of the at least one additional sensor identifier and sensor data from a corresponding one of the at least one additional sensor. (paragraph 0048, 0054, 0063, identification information of each of the sensor nodes)
As per claim 21, Yamashita teaches the message packet includes a first sensor sensing time and the additional message packet includes an additional sensor sensing time. (paragraph 0078, time interval)
As per claim 22, Yamashita teaches the first sensor includes a multi-modality sensor for a first feature and a second feature such that first sensor data includes first feature data and second is feature data, wherein the at least one additional sensor includes a second feature sensor, and wherein the applying the correction further includes: aligning first sensor sensing time with the additional sensor sensing time for the second feature sensor; and extracting the first feature data from the first sensor data using second feature data from the second feature sensor in the additional sensor data. (paragraph 0103, 0116, multi-hop communication of sensors, paragraph 0078, time interval)
Allowable Subject Matter
12. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 2-4, 10-12, and 18-19 contain allowable subject matter over the prior art of record because the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest searching, for each of the plurality of groups and using the first sensor identifier, a database including at least one calibration table for the first sensor identifier; and determining the correction for the first sensor of each of the plurality of groups using the at least one calibration table, the at least one additional sensor identifier and the additional sensor data from the at least one additional sensor associated with the first sensor, as disclosed in dependent claim 2 and similarly in dependent claims 10 and 18. Specifically, the prior art of Yamashita in view of Chen teaches controlling and calibrating sensor data from sensor nodes organized into clusters and assigning calibration reference values for individual sensors within sensor clusters for a calibration process, but does not explicitly indicate determining correction for sensor data using a stored calibration table.
Claim 2-4, 10-12, and 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nourbakhsh (US Patent 10,054,534 B1)
Rasheed (US Publication 2016/0165193 A1)
/DANGELINO N GORTAYO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168