DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bequette (US 2006/0033353).
Bequette disclose a bedslide for use in a cargo box of a truck (60) comprising a bedslide deck (216), as shown in Figures 1-24. At least a portion of the bedslide deck (216) is configured to be movable into and out of the cargo box of the truck, as shown in Figures 1-24. At least one receiver (219) extends through the bedslide deck (216), as shown in Figure 24 and disclosed in paragraph [0065]. A periphery of an opening of the at least one receiver (219) extends through a top surface of the bedslide deck (216), as shown in Figure 24 and disclosed in paragraph [0065].
In reference to claim 16, the bedslide deck (216) includes a plurality of receivers (219), as shown in Figure 23. Each of the receivers (219) is spaced apart from each other and extends through the bedslide deck (16), as shown in Figure 24 and disclosed in paragraph [0065].
In reference to claim 18, the at least one receiver (219) extends through one side of the bedslide deck (216) to an opposite side of the bedslide deck (216), as shown in Figure 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bequette (US 2006/0033353) in view of Sosnowich et al. (US 2020/0406986).
Bequette does not disclose the claimed shape.
Sosnowich et al. teaches forming receivers (81) with quadrilateral shaped openings, as shown in Figure 9A.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the at least one receiver of Bequette as a quadrilateral shaped opening, as taught by Sosnowich et al., with a reasonable expectation for success as an obvious design choice that does not alter the function or operation of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-14, 19, and 20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 1 is the combination of the bed slide deck with a receiver, the base bracket attached to the support bracket, and the carrier bracket assembly having a receiver post sized to fit into the receiver, which is not found in the prior art of record. The closest prior art, the parent patent, does not claim the base bracket is attached to the support bracket. Other art lacks the specifics of the carrier bracket in combination with a bedslide deck.
The primary reason for indicating allowable subject matter of claim 19 is the receiver post is telescopingly fitted into and oriented coincident with a portion of the support post defining a first orientation of the receiver post and a second orientation where the receiver post is positionable adjacent the base bracket and fitted into and orientation transverse to another portion of the support post, which is not found in the prior art of record. The closest prior art, US 2019/0351837, discloses a receiver post (21) that pivots from a transverse position, as shown in Figure 2, to a position where the receiver post surrounds the support post (29), as shown in Figure 6. The receiver post is not telescopingly fitted into a portion of the support post.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Murray (US 2019/035187) is the closest prior art for the bike rack of claims 19 and 20. Harris et al. (US 9,828,045) discloses a tire carrier mounted in a cargo box of a truck.
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 October 8, 2026