DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 5, [0036], line 1, “163allow” is objected to for improper grammar, therefore it is suggested to change “163allow” to - -163 allow- -, line 2, “163to” is objected to for improper grammar, therefore it is suggested to change “163to” to - -163 to- -; [0037], line 1, “163are” is objected to for improper grammar, therefore it is suggested to change “163are” to - -163 are- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 8-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 8, line 7, “an” is objected to because it is the incorrect word used, therefore it is suggested to change “an” to - -the- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The preamble of claim 1 is drawn an edge guide attachment, however, the body of the claim is drawn to the combination of the edge guide attachment and drill guide therefore it is unclear as to the scope of the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the chuck assembly" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff (US 4,572,715) in view of Chen (US 5,062,747).
Regarding claim 1, Wolf discloses an edge guide attachment (18, 19; Fig. 1) for a drill guide (1), the drill guide (1) having a base (2) having a bottom defining a bottom plane, the edge guide attachment (19) comprising a first mounting arm (18) configured to mount to the base (2); a fence (19) having a workpiece abutment surface (22) extending below the bottom plane when mounted to the drill guide (1) such that the workpiece abutment surface (22) can engage an edge of the workpiece when the base (2) rests on surface of the workpiece, the fence (19) adjustably positionable along the first mounting arm (18).
Regarding claim 2, Wolff discloses further comprising a second mounting arm (18; Fig. 1) configured to mount to the base (2) in parallel relation to the first mounting arm (18), the fence (19) being movable relative to the second mounting arm (18).
Regarding claim 6, Wolff wherein the first and second mounting arms (18) extend through corresponding first and second apertures (23) through the workpiece abutment surface (22) when assembled.
Regarding claim 7, Wolff discloses further comprising first and second locking members (24) configured to releasably lock the fence (19) to the first and second mounting arms (18) to selectively fix the position of the fence (19) along the first and second mounting arms (18).
Regarding claim 8, Wolff discloses a drill guide system (1) comprising a drill guide including a base (2) having a bottom defining a bottom plane; first and second guides (3) operably attached to the base (2); a slide member (4) mounted to the guides (3) for sliding motion along the first and second guides (3) towards and away from the base (2); an edge guide attachment (18, 19).
Regarding claim 11, Wolff discloses wherein the chuck assembly (5) defines a drilling axis and the spacing is the spacing between the drilling axis when it is oriented orthogonal to the bottom plane and the workpiece abutment surface.
Wolff, however, does not disclose the following: a ruler fixably attachable to the base having measuring demarcations thereon for indicating a spacing of the abutment surface from a predetermined location of the drill guide, the fence being movable relative to the ruler when the ruler is attached to the base; wherein the ruler is located between the first and second mounting arms when assembled; wherein the base includes a mounting slot receiving an end of the ruler therein, when assembled; or wherein when the edge guide attachment is assembled with the base, the ruler remains fixed relative to the base as the fence is moved along the first mounting arm relative to the base.
Chen discloses a ruler (6; Fig. 1) fixably attachable to the base 3 having measuring demarcations (18) thereon for indicating a spacing of the abutment surface from a predetermined location of the drill guide (see Fig. 5). Chen discloses the ruler (6) located between the first and second mounting arms (A) when assembled, wherein the base (22) includes a mounting slot (23) receiving an end of the ruler (6) therein when assembled.
[AltContent: textbox (R)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a ruler fixably attachable to the base of Wolff having measuring demarcations thereon for indicating a spacing of the abutment surface from a predetermined location of the drill guide such that the fence being movable relative to the ruler when the ruler is attached to the base, to locate the ruler between the first and second mounting arms of Wolff when assembled, to provide the base of Wolff with a mounting slot receiving an end of the ruler therein when assembled, and wherein when the edge guide attachment is assembled with the base of Wolff, the ruler remains fixed relative to the base as the fence is moved along the first mounting arm relative to the base, in light of the teachings of Chen, in order to in measuring the center of an object.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolff/Chen as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Yu (US 2019/0358715 A1).
Wolff/Chef as modified discloses all of the claimed subject matter except for wherein the slide member has a drill chuck mounted thereto for rotation relative to the slide member about a chuck axis, the drill chuck having an input end that is engageable by the chuck of an external drill for driving the drill chuck for rotation about the chuck axis with the external drill.
Yu discloses a slide member (71; Fig. 3) has a drill chuck (73) mounted thereto for rotation ([0029]) relative to the slide member about a chuck axis, the drill chuck (73) having an input end that is engageable by the chuck of an external drill (82; Fig. 8) for driving the drill chuck (73) for rotation about the chuck axis with the external drill (82).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the slide member of Wolff in the combination of Wolff/Chen to provide a drill chuck mounted thereto for rotation relative to the slide member about a chuck axis, the drill chuck having an input end that is engageable by the chuck of an external drill for driving the drill chuck for rotation about the chuck axis with the external drill, in light of the teachings of Yu, in order to provide a rotatably mounted chuck.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references listed on the attached PTO-892 are cited to show drilling jigs/guides.
/JERMIE E COZART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
September 22, 2026