DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-5 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 4-5 of copending Application No. 19/055,907. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the scope of the invention of the presented application are presented and disclosed within copending Application No. 19/055,907. The copending application provides a narrowed connection process and assembly as it further requires the addition of a cutting-grasping unit in addition to the entire process and assembly of the claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boggs et al. (US 4,239,187 A).
Regarding claim 1, Boggs et al. discloses a thin metal strip winding method comprising: a thin metal strip manufacturing step of manufacturing a thin metal strip (Fig. 4; Col. 3, Ln. 37-49, filament 4 corresponding to a thin metal strip) by flying the thin metal strip from a flight tube (Fig. 4; Col. 4, Ln. 24-31, deflector plate 18 corresponding to a flight tube); a cutting and grasping step of performing cutting and grasping any portion of the thin metal strip flying from the flight tube (Fig. 4; Col. 4, Ln. 11-23); and a thin metal strip winding step of winding the thin metal strip by winding up the ribbon around the winding roll by causing the winding roll rotation unit to rotate, wherein the thin metal strip manufacturing step and the thin metal strip winding step of winding the thin metal strip are performed simultaneously (Fig. 1-2; Col. 3, Ln. 37-68, wherein the filament 4 is wound as it is produced).
Regarding claim 2, Boggs et al. discloses wherein the winding roll set on the winding roll rotation unit is a winding roll after being used with a small amount of a thin metal strip left thereon (Fig. 1-2; Col. 3, Ln. 37-49; Col. 4, Ln. 24-66, winding wheel 5, 28 corresponding to a winding roll rotation unit with a winding roll).
Regarding claim 3, Boggs et al. discloses a thin metal strip winding system comprising: a flight tube which causes a thin metal strip to fly (Fig. 4; Col. 3, Ln. 37-49; Col. 4, Ln. 24-31, filament 4 deflecting through deflector plate 18); a winding roll rotation unit on which a winding roll with a thin metal strip remaining thereon is set (Fig. 1-2; Col. 3, Ln. 37-49; Col. 4, Ln. 24-66, winding wheel 5, 28 corresponding to a winding roll rotation unit with a winding roll); a connecting unit which connects the any portion of the thin metal strip flying from the flight tube and a leader as a ribbon, the leader being a to-be-connected portion of the thin metal strip remaining on the winding roll (Fig. 1-2; Col. 3, Ln. 37-68, gripping element 7 holding material end for connection to the wheel 5); and a winding unit which winds up the ribbon around the winding roll by causing the winding roll rotation unit to rotate, wherein manufacturing of a thin metal strip by flying the thin metal strip from the flight tube and winding of the thin metal strip by winding up the ribbon around the winding roll at the winding unit are performed simultaneously (Col. 4, Ln. 11-66).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boggs et al. (US 4,239,187 A) as applied to claims 1-3 above, and further in view of Mishra et al. (US 7,094,048 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Boggs et al. discloses the claimed invention except for the leader ribbon being connected to a remaining ribbon for winding. However, Mishra et al. teaches wherein the connecting unit is configured to connect the leader and the ribbon in a state where the leader and the ribbon are disposed vertically or horizontally (Col. 10, Ln. 18-54, wherein the cutting and adhering operation between two ribbon ends are described; Col. 14, Ln. 25-40, wherein the holding of the ribbons are described). While a specific disposition of the leader and the ribbon are not necessarily disclosed, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose the ribbon either vertically or horizontally, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70, and MPEP 2144.04 (VI) C. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to have incorporated the operation and mechanisms of joining an end of the lead ribbon and the end of the remaining ribbon in order to provide a means for continuous winding operation. One skilled in the art merely requires the addition of the adhering assembly between the forming of the ribbon and the winding.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references refer to a winding assembly of a material strip which provides a means for cutting and joining said ribbon.
ERMIA E. MELIKA
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/ERMIA E. MELIKA/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619