CTNF 19/059,727 CTNF 85659 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 AIA Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP2024-030635 , filed on 02/29/2024 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2025 and 07/21/2025 were compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Ueda (US 2009/0016639 A1) hereinafter Ueda . Regarding Claim 1, Ueda teaches an image processing apparatus comprising one or more processors and/or circuitry which function as: an input unit that inputs an image signal (fig.1-2; processor 26, 30 with input unit 201); an extracting unit that extracts a first signal in a predetermined first frequency band from the image signal (fig.11-12; multiple frequency bands); and an adjusting unit that adjusts an amplitude of the first signal so that the amplitude falls within a predetermined amplitude range (fig.12-14C; adjusting an amplitude of a signal). Regarding Claim 2, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adjusting unit adjusts an amplitude of the first signal that is greater than a predetermined first threshold value to fall within a predetermined amplitude range (fig.12-14C; Para.0150; predetermined threshold value to fall within a amplitude range). Regarding Claim 3, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the adjusting unit adjusts the amplitude of the first signal to fall within the amplitude range by attenuating the amplitude of the first signal in a case where the amplitude of the first signal is over the amplitude range (fig.12-14C), and amplifying the amplitude of the first signal in a case where the amplitude of the first signal is below the amplitude range (fig.12-14C; Para.0150; predetermined threshold value to fall within a amplitude range). Regarding Claim 4, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the extracting unit further extracts a second signal in a second frequency band different from the first frequency band from the image signal, and the adjusting unit further attenuates an amplitude of the second signal (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175). Regarding Claim 5, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further function as: a first detection unit that detects a skin region in an image represented by the image signal (fig.12); and a synthesis unit that synthesizes the image signal and an adjusted image signal adjusted by the adjusting unit in accordance with a result of detection by the first detection unit (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175). Regarding Claim 5, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the first detection unit detects a probability of a skin region in the image represented by the image signal, and the synthesis unit performs synthesis based on the probability (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175; skin tone improvement process). Regarding Claim 7, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first frequency band is a hig h frequency band (fig.11-12). Regarding Claim 8, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further function as: a second detection unit that detects a face region in an image represented by the image signal; and a selection unit that selects the first frequency band to be extracted by the extracting unit in accordance with a size of the face region detected by the second detection unit (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175; size of the face region by 30b). Regarding Claim 9, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the extracting unit extracts a signal in a low frequency band (fig.11-12), a signal in a medium frequency band, and a signal in a high frequency band from the image signal; and the selection unit selects one of the low frequency band, the medium frequency band, and the high frequency band as the first frequency band (fig.11-12). Regarding Claim 10, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim9, wherein the selection unit selects a frequency band on a lower frequency side from the low frequency band, the medium frequency band, and the high frequency band as the size of the face region increases (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175; size of the face). Regarding Claim 11, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 9, wherein, in a case where the size of the face region is less than a threshold, the selection unit selects a frequency band on a higher frequency side than when the size of the face region is equal to or greater than the threshold (fig.12-14C; Para.0150; predetermined threshold for detecting face). Regarding Claim 12, Ueda teaches the image processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors and/or circuitry further function as: a first detection unit that detects a skin region in an image represented by the image signal (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175), wherein the extracting unit and the adjusting unit perform processing on an image signal in the detected skin region (fig.12-14C; Para.0150-0175; skin tone improvement process and detection). Regarding Claim 13, Ueda teaches same reason as Claim 1. Regarding Claim 14, Ueda teaches same reason as Claim 1. Regarding Claim 15, Ueda teaches same reason as Claim 1. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FAYEZ A BHUIYAN whose telephone number is (571)270-1562. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00 - 6:00 M-F. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Lin Ye can be reached on 571-272-7372. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /FAYEZ BHUIYAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2639 /LIN YE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/059,727 Page 2 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/059,727 Page 3 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/059,727 Page 4 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/059,727 Page 5 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/059,727 Page 6 Art Unit: 2638 Application/Control Number: 19/059,727 Page 7 Art Unit: 2638