Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species B – FIG.8 with claims 1-11 in the reply filed on 9/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
For claim 1, this limitation is indefinite “curbing outputting of the other alarm when one alarm of the first alarm and the second alarm is output and a condition in which the other alarm is to be output is satisfied”. It is unclear which alarm or how many alarms are being claimed. Interpretation for rejection purposes is indicated below. Further it is not clear what condition is satisfied.
Dependent claims are rejected due to their dependency while other independent claims rejected under the same reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KUME et al. (JP 2023119561 A) in view of NISHIGUCHI et al. (JP 2023182401 A).
1. KUME discloses (abstract) a control device comprising:
a storage medium storing computer-readable instructions (i.e. storage medium (non-transitory tangible storage medium)); and
one or more processors connected to the storage medium (i.e. a processor programmed to perform one or more functions embodied by a computer program),
wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to perform:
recognizing an object which is present in a second lane adjacent to a first lane in which a mobile object is traveling and which is present near the mobile object (‘other vehicle grasping unit 73 grasps the relative position, relative speed, etc. of another vehicle traveling in an adjacent lane as a destination in a scene where an automatic lane change is performed’); [0023-0043]
outputting a first alarm when it is estimated that the mobile object is to move to the second lane in which the object is present in response to an operation performed by an occupant of the mobile object; (‘The notification requesting unit 72 outputs a notification implementation request to the HCU 100 so that the HCU 100 can perform notification in synchronization with the operating state of the automatic driving function. For example, when the end of the autonomous driving control is scheduled, the notification requesting unit 72 outputs to the HCU 100 a request for notification requesting a change of driving. In addition, notification requesting unit 72 outputs a request for performing notification related to an automatic lane change, which will be described later, to HCU 100. The notification requesting unit 72 causes the HMI system 10 to perform the implementation notification, standby notification, approval request notification, cancellation notice, cancellation notification, monitoring recommendation notification, alternative route proposal notification, etc. as notifications related to the automatic lane change (6 and 7). A virtual image display using the HUD 23 and a screen display using the meter display 21 are used for these notifications. Playback of an alert tone or message by the audio device 24 may be used as these alerts… the notification requesting unit 72 causes the HCU 100 to perform the cancellation notification and the alternative route proposal notification (S67 and S68). In this case as well, instead of, or together with the alternative route proposal notification, notification to suggest driving change to the driver may be performed… ’)
starting automatic lane change control for automatically changing a lane of the mobile object to the second lane in which the object is present in response to an operation performed by an occupant of the mobile object; (‘The notification requesting unit 72 outputs a notification implementation request to the HCU 100 so that the HCU 100 can perform notification in synchronization with the operating state of the automatic driving function. For example, when the end of the autonomous driving control is scheduled, the notification requesting unit 72 outputs to the HCU 100 a request for notification requesting a change of driving. In addition, notification requesting unit 72 outputs a request for performing notification related to an automatic lane change, which will be described later, to HCU 100 . The notification requesting unit 72 causes the HMI system 10 to perform the implementation notification, standby notification, approval request notification, cancellation notice, cancellation notification, monitoring recommendation notification, alternative route proposal notification, etc. as notifications related to the automatic lane change ( 6 and 7). A virtual image display using the HUD 23 and a screen display using the meter display 21 are used for these notifications. Playback of an alert tone or message by the audio device 24 may be used as these alerts.
The environment recognition unit 62 combines the locator information and map data acquired from the locator 35 with the detection information acquired from the perimeter monitoring sensor 30 to recognize the running environment of the own vehicle Am. The environment recognition unit 62 acquires vehicle speed information indicating the current running speed from the communication bus 99 as information indicating the state of the own vehicle Am. The environment recognition unit 62 has an other vehicle recognition unit 73 and a road information recognition unit 74 as sub-function units for recognizing the driving environment… The other vehicle grasping unit 73 grasps the relative positions and relative velocities of dynamic targets around the own vehicle such as other vehicles traveling around the own vehicle Am. The other vehicle grasping unit 73 grasps the relative position, relative speed, etc. of another vehicle traveling in an adjacent lane as a destination in a scene where an automatic lane change is performed, for example, to be described later, and determines the space in which the own vehicle Am can move. It is determined whether or not it exists in an adjacent lane… The above-described automatic driving ECU 50b can execute lane change by autonomous driving control while maintaining a state in which the driver is not obligated to monitor the surroundings. As a configuration for implementing such an automatic lane change, the behavior determination unit 63 is provided with sub-functions such as a section setting unit 76, a situation determination unit 77, a lane change control unit 78, and the like. In addition, the automatic driving ECU 50b further includes an operation control section 65… The section setting unit 76 sets a lane change section SLC (see FIG. 3) based on the set route set for the host vehicle Am. The lane change section SLC is a section that requires an automatic lane change by autonomous driving control in order to head to the destination set in the navigation ECU 38. The section setting unit 76 starts section setting processing (see FIG. 4), for example, based on the start of travel of the own vehicle Am by autonomous travel control...’)
automatically changing the lane of the mobile object to the second lane when it is determined that the lane change is possible; (‘Furthermore, when the control state information indicating that the autonomous driving control of area level 3 is in an operating state is acquired, the situation determination unit 77 determines whether or not it is possible to change the automatic lane based on the section-related information. to decide. In this case, the situation determination unit 77 grasps whether or not the lane change section SLC is congested based on the traffic congestion information. The situation determination unit 77 determines that the automatic lane change cannot be performed when the lane change section SLC is congested. On the other hand, when the lane change section SLC is not congested, the situation determination unit 77 determines that the automatic lane change can be performed…In addition, when the autonomous driving control of area level 3 is in an operating state, the situation determination unit 77 may use map data and road regulation information related to the lane change section SLC as section related information. Specifically, based on the detailed information of each lane recorded in the map data, the situation determination unit 77 assumes that the cruising speed of other vehicles running in, for example, an overtaking lane exceeds the speed limit. lane change (hereinafter referred to as an overspeed lane). Autonomous driving control, which does not allow the vehicle to exceed the speed limit, makes it difficult to change lanes to the overspeed lane. Therefore, if the lane change is to the overspeed lane, the situation determination unit 77 determines that the automatic lane change cannot be performed…In addition, the situation determination unit 77 grasps whether or not the lane is restricted in the lane change section SLC based on the road restriction information. If the lane is restricted, the situation determination unit 77 determines that the automatic lane change cannot be performed. In addition, when lane regulation occurs in the lane change section SLC, the section setting unit 76 may perform a process of changing the lane change section SLC to a non-restricted section…The lane change control unit 78 executes an automatic lane change in the lane change section SLC. If there is a space in the adjacent lane in which the vehicle Am can move, the lane change control unit 78 starts lateral movement of the vehicle Am toward the adjacent lane. On the other hand, when there is no space in the adjacent lane in which the vehicle Am can move, the lane change control unit 78 performs offset control. The offset control is a running control that shifts the lateral running position of the own vehicle Am from the approximate center of the own vehicle lane to the adjacent lane side. The lane change control unit 78 offsets the traveling position of the own vehicle Am toward the adjacent lane so that the own vehicle Am does not contact the section line between the lane of the own vehicle and the adjacent lane. After the start of the offset control, the lane change control unit 78 starts lateral movement across the lane line based on the driver's input of approval operation when there is a space in the adjacent lane in which the vehicle Am can move…’)
outputting a second alarm for notifying the occupant that the mobile object is not able to automatically change the lane to the second lane when it is determined that the lane change is not possible; and (‘The notification requesting unit 72 outputs a notification implementation request to the HCU 100 so that the HCU 100 can perform notification in synchronization with the operating state of the automatic driving function. For example, when the end of the autonomous driving control is scheduled, the notification requesting unit 72 outputs to the HCU 100 a request for notification requesting a change of driving. In addition, notification requesting unit 72 outputs a request for performing notification related to an automatic lane change, which will be described later, to HCU 100. The notification requesting unit 72 causes the HMI system 10 to perform the implementation notification, standby notification, approval request notification, cancellation notice, cancellation notification, monitoring recommendation notification, alternative route proposal notification, etc. as notifications related to the automatic lane change ( 6 and 7). A virtual image display using the HUD 23 and a screen display using the meter display 21 are used for these notifications. Playback of an alert tone or message by the audio device 24 may be used as these alerts…’).
However, KUME fails to explicitly disclose:
curbing outputting of the other alarm when one alarm of the first alarm and the second alarm is output and a condition in which the other alarm is to be output is satisfied.
NISHIGUCHI teaches (abstract) in a similar field of invention, wherein (‘The caution vehicle determining unit 156 determines whether or not another vehicle (a caution vehicle) exists in a target area (described later) with the host vehicle M as a reference. When the caution vehicle determining unit 156 determines that a caution vehicle exists in the target area, it notifies the driver of the host vehicle M of this fact (warning vehicle notification function). For example, the caution vehicle determination unit 156 notifies the presence of the object in a first notification mode and/or a second notification mode. The first notification mode is notification by display, and the second notification mode is notification accompanied by an alarm. For example, the first notification mode is display of an indicator (an example of various display devices) by the HMI 30. For example, the second notification mode is for the HMI 30 to output an alarm sound through a speaker or a buzzer in addition to displaying an indicator. The HMI 30 is an example of a "notification unit"…), such that another alarm is stopped from operating once another alarm is operating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try stopping one alarm once another alarm is outputted in order to prevent confusion to a driver or passenger in vehicle.
2. (as explained above) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to perform curbing outputting of the other alarm when the one alarm is output for a first object which is the object and a condition in which the other alarm for the first object is to be output is satisfied.
3. (as explained above – one alarm may be operating at one time) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to perform not curbing the other alarm when the one alarm is output for a first object which is the object and a condition in which the other alarm for a second object other than the first object is to be output is satisfied.
4. KUME discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the first alarm is output when the occupant has performed an operation, and
wherein the second alarm is output when it is determined that the automatic lane change is not possible when a predetermined time elapses after the occupant has performed the operation.
(‘The cancellation advance notice and cancellation notice are notifications indicating that the automatic lane change cannot be performed when it is determined that the automatic lane change cannot be performed in the lane change section SLC. The advance notice of suspension and the suspension notification are performed during an automatic travel period during which the host vehicle Am continues to travel under autonomous travel control. The cancellation advance notice and cancellation notice are notifications related to the cancellation of the automatic lane change, and do not have content to announce the cancellation of the autonomous driving control… Furthermore, in the first embodiment, it is determined whether or not the vehicle Am can change lanes before the vehicle Am enters the lane change section SLC. Then, a cancellation advance notice indicating that the automatic lane change cannot be performed is performed before the own vehicle Am enters the lane change section SLC. According to the above, the driver can respond to the situation with time to spare. As a result, the convenience of automatic driving can be more ensured… In addition, in the second embodiment, the road information grasping unit 74 grasps the type of road on which the vehicle Am travels. When the type of road on which the vehicle is traveling is an ordinary road, that is, when the control period is for general road level 3, the implementation of the advance notice of suspension is restricted. Therefore, it is possible to avoid a situation in which the driver is early notified of the cancellation of the automatic lane change despite the possibility that the automatic lane change can be implemented on a general road where the situation of surrounding vehicles changes greatly… Further, in the second embodiment, the cancellation advance notice is canceled during the control period of general road level 3. Therefore, before entering the lane change section SLC, a notification indicating that the automatic lane change cannot be performed is not performed. According to the above, it is difficult for the driver to preliminarily start a driving operation before entering the lane change section SLC despite the possibility that the automatic lane can be changed. As a result, it is possible to ensure the convenience of automatic driving related to automatic lane changes… Furthermore, in the second embodiment, the HMI information acquisition unit 71 grasps whether or not the driver is performing the second task during the driving period under the autonomous driving control. Then, depending on whether or not the driver is performing the second task, the implementation timing of the cancellation notice is changed. According to the above, even if the driver is performing the second task, when it is difficult to change the automatic lane, the driver can resume surroundings monitoring and the like at an appropriate timing according to the stop notice notification…In the sixth modification of the second embodiment, when the driver is performing the second task, the implementation timing of the cancellation notice is adjusted later than when the driver is monitoring the surroundings. According to the above, a longer time can be secured for the second task, so the convenience of automatic driving is further improved.’)
5. KUME discloses the control device according to claim 4, wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to perform:
outputting the first alarm in response to an operation performed by the occupant;
starting the automatic lane change control for automatically changing the lane of the mobile object to the second lane in which the object is present; and
curbing outputting of the second alarm when it is determined that the lane change is not possible and then outputting the second alarm again when the automatic lane change control is started in response to an operation performed by the occupant.
(‘The cancellation advance notice and cancellation notice are notifications indicating that the automatic lane change cannot be performed when it is determined that the automatic lane change cannot be performed in the lane change section SLC. The advance notice of suspension and the suspension notification are performed during an automatic travel period during which the host vehicle Am continues to travel under autonomous travel control. The cancellation advance notice and cancellation notice are notifications related to the cancellation of the automatic lane change, and do not have content to announce the cancellation of the autonomous driving control… Furthermore, in the first embodiment, it is determined whether or not the vehicle Am can change lanes before the vehicle Am enters the lane change section SLC. Then, a cancellation advance notice indicating that the automatic lane change cannot be performed is performed before the own vehicle Am enters the lane change section SLC. According to the above, the driver can respond to the situation with time to spare. As a result, the convenience of automatic driving can be more ensured… In addition, in the second embodiment, the road information grasping unit 74 grasps the type of road on which the vehicle Am travels. When the type of road on which the vehicle is traveling is an ordinary road, that is, when the control period is for general road level 3, the implementation of the advance notice of suspension is restricted. Therefore, it is possible to avoid a situation in which the driver is early notified of the cancellation of the automatic lane change despite the possibility that the automatic lane change can be implemented on a general road where the situation of surrounding vehicles changes greatly… Further, in the second embodiment, the cancellation advance notice is canceled during the control period of general road level 3. Therefore, before entering the lane change section SLC, a notification indicating that the automatic lane change cannot be performed is not performed. According to the above, it is difficult for the driver to preliminarily start a driving operation before entering the lane change section SLC despite the possibility that the automatic lane can be changed. As a result, it is possible to ensure the convenience of automatic driving related to automatic lane changes… Furthermore, in the second embodiment, the HMI information acquisition unit 71 grasps whether or not the driver is performing the second task during the driving period under the autonomous driving control. Then, depending on whether or not the driver is performing the second task, the implementation timing of the cancellation notice is changed. According to the above, even if the driver is performing the second task, when it is difficult to change the automatic lane, the driver can resume surroundings monitoring and the like at an appropriate timing according to the stop notice notification…In the sixth modification of the second embodiment, when the driver is performing the second task, the implementation timing of the cancellation notice is adjusted later than when the driver is monitoring the surroundings. According to the above, a longer time can be secured for the second task, so the convenience of automatic driving is further improved.’)
6. KUME discloses the control device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to perform outputting the other alarm when a condition in which the other alarm other than the one alarm is to be output is satisfied when a predetermined time elapses or the mobile object moves by a predetermined distance after the one of the first alarm and the second alarm has been output.
(‘In the section setting process, the section setting unit 76 acquires route information from the navigation ECU 38 (S11). The section setting unit 76 extracts, as guidance reference points P2 (see FIG. 3), points at which a lane change is required from the set route indicated by the route information (S12). For example, a branch point leading to a junction, a branch point leading to an interchange serving as an exit, and the like are extracted as the guidance reference point P2. Furthermore, a branch point leading to an interchange that serves as an entrance to an expressway, a confluence point where the main road of the expressway joins, and the like may be extracted as the guidance reference point P2. The guidance reference point P2 is set at the end point where it becomes physically impossible to change lanes. The section setting unit 76 sets the lane change section SLC in the section on the near side of the guidance reference point P2 (S13). As an example, the section setting unit 76 sets the start point of the lane change section SLC (hereinafter referred to as the section start point P1, see FIG. 3) a predetermined distance (for example, 1 km) before the guidance reference point P2…
The section setting unit 76 determines whether the merging lane Lnd, which is the destination of the automatic lane change, is congested (see FIGS. 9C and 9D), and when the merging lane Lnd is not congested (FIGS. 9A and 9B). ), the lane change section SLC is set at a position closer to the terminal EL. The section setting unit 76 sets the length of the section of the disappearing merging lane LnG facing the merging lane Lnd (hereinafter, merging possible section) to a predetermined distance (for example, about 500 m to 1 km) or more than the section length of the lane change section SLC. Position adjustment of the lane change section SLC is performed only when it is long. In other words, if the merging section is short and there is no need to adjust the position of the lane change section SLC, the section setting unit 76 does not adjust the position of the lane change section SLC. Such an adjustment process corresponds to a process of setting a virtual rubber pole section that prevents a lane change in the first half of the merging section in terms of control…
The notification requesting unit 72 issues a determination request notification before the vehicle enters the merging section and before the lane change section SLC is set to the lost merging lane LnG when the vehicle lane is the lost merging lane LnG. An implementation request is output to HCU 100 . The judgment request notification may be performed only when the merging lane Lnd is congested. The determination request notification is, as described above, a notification to inquire of the driver whether or not it is permissible to set the setting position of the lane change section SLC in the vicinity of the terminal EL. The determination request notification is continued until the HMI information acquisition unit 71 grasps the input of the permission determination operation, or until the merging possible section reaches a predetermined distance or time.‘)
7. KUME discloses (i.e. driver performs these functions) The control device according to claim 1, wherein operations which are performed by the occupant of the mobile object and which serve as a trigger of the first alarm and the second alarm are operations on the same operator.
8. KUME discloses (i.e. driver performs these functions) The control device according to claim 7, wherein the operator is an operator for turning on a turn signal.
9. KUME discloses (i.e. alarm are outputted due to detection of objects in blind spots or other areas) The control device according to claim 1, wherein the first alarm is an alarm for notifying of the presence of another mobile object which is present in a blind spot on a lateral side of the mobile object which the occupant of the mobile object has difficulty in seeing when the other mobile object is present in the blind spot and the occupant turns on a turn signal such that the lane is changed to a lane in which the other mobile object is traveling.
10. As for claim 1, a control device comprising:
a storage medium storing computer-readable instructions; and
one or more processors connected to the storage medium, wherein the one or more processors execute the computer-readable instructions to perform:
recognizing an object which is present in a second lane adjacent to a first lane in which a mobile object is traveling and which is present near the mobile object;
outputting a first alarm when it is estimated that the mobile object is to move to the second lane in which the object is present in response to a first operation performed on an operator by an occupant of the mobile object;
starting automatic lane change control for automatically changing a lane of the mobile object to the second lane in which the object is present in response to a second operation performed on the operator by an occupant of the mobile object;
automatically changing the lane of the mobile object to the second lane when it is determined that the lane change is possible;
outputting a second alarm for notifying the occupant that the mobile object is not able to automatically change the lane to the second lane when it is determined that the lane change is not possible; and
outputting the first alarm in response to the first operation when the first operation is performed and the second operation is performed successive to the first operation and curbing outputting of the second alarm when it is determined that the lane change is not possible in response to the second operation performed successive to the first operation.
11. As for claim 1, a control method that is performed by a computer, the control method comprising:
recognizing an object which is present in a second lane adjacent to a first lane in which a mobile object is traveling and which is present near the mobile object;
outputting a first alarm when it is estimated that the mobile object is to move to the second lane in which the object is present in response to an operation performed by an occupant of the mobile object;
starting automatic lane change control for automatically changing a lane of the mobile object to the second lane in which the object is present in response to an operation performed by an occupant of the mobile object;
automatically changing the lane of the mobile object to the second lane when it is determined that the lane change is possible;
outputting a second alarm for notifying the occupant that the mobile object is not able to automatically change the lane to the second lane when it is determined that the lane change is not possible; and
curbing outputting of the other alarm when one alarm of the first alarm and the second alarm is output and a condition in which the other alarm is to be output is satisfied.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
CARLOS E. GARCIA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2686
/Carlos Garcia/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686 10/27/2026