DDETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment to claim 17, is responsive to the non-final action filed on 2026-05-21. The objection to claim 17 is now withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed 2026-08-20 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding applicant arguments to independent claims 1, 10 and 20 rejected under 35 USC § 103 sharing the same limitations. Applicant argues the combination of Lin (US-20240414256-A1) and Sei (US-20200130320-A1) fail to disclose the invention as claimed:
“A holder and support apparatus for a mobile electronic device, the holder and support apparatus comprising: an attachment base portion for attachment to the mobile electronic device, comprising a frame and a covering material applied over at least a portion of the frame; and a support portion pivotally coupled to the attachment base portion.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Lin as shown in fig. 1 discloses a ring kickstand attachment for a mobile device, comprising a frame and a support pivotally coupled to the base. Examiner concedes Lin does not explicitly disclose the frame having a covering material over at least a portion of the frame. However, Sei discloses a method for laminating a variety of structures to include phone accessories (Sei, par. 55; The plastic laminated structure according to the present invention can be suitably used for body sheet steel of vehicles, a case of electronic devices such as mobile phones and tablets instead of metal plates such as aluminum plate and magnesium plate), sei further discloses the surface treatment process is not limited to coatings, and other functional layers can be applied to cover or decorate the main surface (Sei par. 96; The coating 31 as the surface treatment layer 30 can be applied onto the main surface of the plate member. However, the surface treatment layer 30 is not limited to coatings. Any other functional layers which can be applied onto and cover the main surface of the plate member or decorate the main surface of the plate member can be used as the surface treatment layer 30.). Therefore, under the broadest most reasonable interpretation the combination of Lin in view of Sei teaches the invention as claimed.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the motivation to combine is found in the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art and further suggested by Sei as its process can be performed to laminate mobile accessories and reduce the manufacturing costs of the laminated parts. Furthermore, sei teaches the surface treatment layer can be done by utilizing any other functional layer which can be decorative, prompting one of ordinary skill in the art to use different materials for surface treatment as a design choice that is not merely decorative but functional.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US-20240414256-A1) in view of Sei (US-20200130320-A1).
For examination purposes, claims 1-9 referring to an apparatus, claims 10-19 referring to an apparatus and claims 20 referring to a method are henceforth grouped together for claims mirroring the same limitations or which disclose analogous art to the invention as claimed.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Lin discloses a holder and support apparatus for a mobile electronic device, the holder and support apparatus comprising: an attachment base portion for attachment to the mobile electronic device, comprising a frame and a covering material applied over at least a portion of the frame; and a support portion pivotally coupled to the attachment base portion (Lin, figs. 1-5, par. 23; a ring kickstand including an annular base 1, and a ring buckle 3 assembled in an inner hole of the annular base 1 and rotatably connected to the annular base 1 on one side).
Lin does not explicitly disclose a covering or laminated material applied over at least a portion of the frame. However, Sei discloses a method for producing a plastic laminated structure which can be used in the production of mobile accessories (Sei, par. 140; The plastic laminated structure according to the present invention which includes the smooth and rough surfaces arranged on its surface can be effectively used for vehicle body sheet steel, mobile phone cases, and the like).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would know to implement Sei’s techniques for fabricating plastic laminated structures to Lin’s method for manufacturing a plastic ring kickstand as a design choice to improve the appearance of the device and reduce production costs.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Lin discloses the holder and support apparatus of claims 1 and 10, wherein the frame of the attachment base portion comprises at least one magnetic element for engagement with a cooperative magnetic feature of the mobile electronic device. (Lin. Fig. 3, par. 29; The annular receiving slot 113 is assembled with a plurality of magnets 5 arranged in a ring shape along the annular receiving slot 113).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of claims 1 and 10, wherein the support portion comprises a ring-shaped element configured to allow a finger of a user to be inserted into an inner opening of the ring-shaped element (Lin, figs. 1-5, par. 23; a ring kickstand including an annular base 1, and a ring buckle 3).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of claim 1 and 10, wherein a coupling portion extends between the frame of the attachment base portion and the support portion (Lin. Fig. 3, par. 30; The shaft 30 extends through the through hole 311, and two ends of the shaft 30 are respectively rotatably engaged in the shaft holes 1331 in the opposite walls bounding the mounting slot 133).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of claims 4 and 16, wherein the pivotal coupling between the support portion and the attachment base portion is located at a position selected from at or around the inside diameter of the attachment base portion, at or around the outside diameter of the attachment base portion, in-line with a medial portion of the attachment base portion, on top of the attachment base portion, and/or at any position between said locations (Lin, figs. 1-3, par. 30; The rotation seat 31 defines a through hole 311. The shaft 30 extends through the through hole 311, and two ends of the shaft 30 are respectively rotatably engaged in the shaft holes 1331 in the opposite walls bounding the mounting slot 133. In the embodiment, the mounting slot 133 is defined in a wall bounding the inner hole of the inner ring body 13, and the rotation seat 31 of the ring buckle 3 is inserted into the mounting slot 133).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of claims 4 and 16, wherein the pivotal coupling provides a range of pivotal motion enabling various support configurations of the mobile electronic device on a support surface, including a portrait orientation, a landscape orientation, and/or an obliquely tilted orientation (Lin, fig. 2, par. 25; the ring buckle 3 is rotatably connected to the inner ring body 13 and can rotate about the shaft 30 relative to the outer ring body 11, as shown by the two-way arrow C in FIG. 2).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of Claim 4, wherein the pivotal coupling provides a range of pivotal motion enabling different support angles of the mobile electronic device relative to a support surface between 0° to 900 (Lin, fig. 2, par. 25; the sliders 131 are correspondingly inserted and slidably received in the annular slide slot 110, so as that the inner ring body 13 can rotate 360 degrees relative to the outer ring body 11 about the central axis of the annular base 1).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of Claim 1, wherein the covering material comprises a material selected from synthetic leather, natural leather, woven fabric, polycarbonate film, or a combination thereof (Lin, fig. 3, par. 34; the inner ring body 13 are all made of plastic material), examiner notes, Lin further discloses the plastic material will not form electromagnetic shielding, anticipating the use of other materials that do not generate electromagnetic shielding.
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of Claim 8, wherein the covering material is laminated to the frame (Sei, par. 140; The plastic laminated structure according to the present invention which includes the smooth and rough surfaces arranged on its surface can be effectively used for vehicle body sheet steel, mobile phone cases, and the like).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the laminated covering comprises at least one flexible formable sheet material (Sei, par. 53; The plastic laminated structure 1 can be suitably used in applications which require light weight and high flexural rigidity).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of Claim 13, wherein the laminated covering comprises multiple layers laminated and/or bonded over the frame of the attachment base portion (Sei, par. 59; the fiber-reinforced plastic can be constructed of a plurality of laminated layers as fiber sheets each of which includes the reinforcing fibers parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lin and Sei teach the holder and support apparatus of Claim 14, wherein the laminated covering comprises laminated layers selected from one or more of a polyurethane (PU) synthetic leather, a polycarbonate (PC) film, and/or a liner layer, and combinations thereof (Lin, fig. 3, par. 34; the inner ring body 13 are all made of plastic material), examiner notes, Lin further discloses the plastic material will not form electromagnetic shielding, anticipating the use of other materials that do not generate electromagnetic shielding.
Regarding claim 20, Lin discloses a method of manufacture of a holder and support apparatus for a mobile electronic device, the method comprising providing an attachment base portion, and applying a laminated covering over at least a portion of the attachment base portion (Lin, figs. 1-5, par. 23; a ring kickstand including an annular base 1, and a ring buckle 3 assembled in an inner hole of the annular base 1 and rotatably connected to the annular base 1 on one side).
Lin does not explicitly disclose a covering or laminated material applied over at least a portion of the frame. However, Sei discloses a method for producing a plastic laminated structure which can be used in the production of mobile accessories (Sei, par. 140; The plastic laminated structure according to the present invention which includes the smooth and rough surfaces arranged on its surface can be effectively used for vehicle body sheet steel, mobile phone cases, and the like).
Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would know to implement Sei’s techniques for fabricating plastic laminated structures to Lin’s method for manufacturing a plastic ring kickstand as a design choice to improve the appearance of the device and reduce production costs.
Other relevant prior art not relied upon
Balderston (US-20220094379-A1), ADAPTIVE SUPPORT ACCESSORY FOR MOBILE DEVICES, 2022. A universal quick-release vacuum connector includes a base removably attachable to an object. A vacuum formation-and-release actuator includes a movable anchor member that establishes a releasable vacuum connection with a reference surface. The anchor member includes a flexible outer seal member, a central hub integrally formed with the flexible outer seal member, and a vent port extending through the central hub. A vent port closure member closes or assists in closing a vent port inner end depending on the position of the anchor member relative to the base to establish a controlled pressure zone that maintains a negative pressure differential relative to an external ambient pressure. The releasable vacuum connection is releasable by virtue of the anchor member and the base being movable relative to each other in a manner that vents the controlled pressure zone while the base remains attached to the object.
Hughes et al. (US-20230228290-A1), UNIVERSAL QUICK-RELEASE VACUUM CONNECTOR, 2023. An adaptive support accessory for providing improved handling, positioning, mounting, and adapting of a mobile device is disclosed. The accessory includes a base attachable to a mobile device and a cap rotationally coupled to the base. The base includes an annular base protrusion centered about an axis of rotation. The cap includes an annular cap protrusion centered about the axis of rotation and disposed adjacent to the annular base protrusion. An aperture formed in the center of the accessory and defining an interior perimetric face provides an engagement feature configured for engaging one or more of a user's fingers, a plug, a mount, and a mounting structure. One or more supports attached to the cap may be configured to engage one or more of a user's fingers, a mount, and a mounting structure. One or more detachably attachable plugs provide additional mounting, adapting, and augmenting the accessory.
Foley et al. (US-20190221347-A1) FERROMAGNETIC ACCESSORIES FOR A HANDHELD DEVICE, 2019. FIG. 2A illustrates an improved ferromagnetic accessory, for example housing 200, for a handheld device according to at least a first embodiment of the present disclosure. The housing 200 includes a ferromagnetic layer 202 coupled to the housing 200 and forming a planar pattern of alternating areas defined by ferromagnetic material 204 and nonferromagnetic material 206. The ferromagnetic material 204 can be any ferromagnetic material, for example, 400 series stainless steel, and the nonferromagnetic material 206 can be any nonferromagnetic material, for example, any nonmetal material. In at least one embodiment, the nonferromagnetic material may be defined by the material of the housing 200 which may be, for example, a moldable material, for example, thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) or polycarbonate (PC). In an alternative embodiment, the nonferromagnetic material may be an air gap. In some illustrative embodiments of ferromagnetic layer 202, the total planar surface area of nonferromagnetic material 206 located within the bounds of the ferromagnetic layer 202 exceeds the total surface area of ferromagnetic material 204.
Zhang (US-11265035-B1), Mobile Device Holder, 2022. A mobile device holder includes an attachment assembly and a support assembly. The attachment assembly includes a magnet enclosed in a shell. When brought into proximity to a magnetic part of a mobile device, the magnet causes the mobile device holder to be attached to the mobile device by magnetic attraction. The magnet has a ring shape. Toward the center of the ring-shaped magnet, the attachment assembly has an accommodating recess. The support assembly includes a handle that is movable on a hinge in and out of the accommodating recess. The joint permits the handle to rotate about a first axis and a second axis not parallel to the first axis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIO R CAMPERO MIRAMONTES/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649