DETAILED ACTION
Disposition of Claims
Claim 1 is pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Coon et al. (hereinafter "Coon") (US 2019/0216307).
Regarding Claim 1, Coon discloses a cordless endoscope assembly (Fig. 21, 1100; [0214]), comprising:
a housing (Figs. 21, 27 & 45, an otoscope assembly comprising 1104, 1120 and 1706; [0214] & [0236]) that defines an ergonomic handpiece (Figs. 44 & 45, 1706 of the otoscope assembly; [0236]) sized to be held between a palm and one or more fingers of a user's hand ([0170);
an endoscope tube (Fig. 25a, 1160; [0216]) that extends distally of the housing (see Fig. 25a);
an eyepiece (Fig. 25a, 1128; [0214]) that extends proximally of the housing (see Fig. 25a); and
electronics (Figs. 33 & 45, electronics comprising 1274 and 1714; [0226] & [0236]) housed in the housing (Figs. 33 & 45, 1274 and 1714 are housed in 1120 of the otoscope assembly and 1706 of the otoscope assembly, respectively; [0226] & [0236]) and configured to operate one or more light sources in the endoscope (Fig. 33, 1270; [0236]), the electronics comprising one or more batteries (Fig. 45, 1714; [0236]) and a printed circuit board (Fig. 33, 1274; [0226]),
wherein the housing includes a connector (Fig. 25a, 1170; [0216]) configured to removably couple with a cannula connector of a cannula (Fig. 21, 1124; [0216]) when the endoscope tube is inserted through the cannula ([0216]).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,737,648.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the current application limits a broader version of ‘648 and thus is anticipated by ‘648.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,239,286 in view of Coon et al. (hereinafter "Coon") (US 2019/0216307).
The claims of ‘286 disclose all of the limitations of the instant claim except for an eyepiece that extends proximally of the housing.
Regarding Claim 1, Coon discloses a cordless endoscope assembly (Fig. 21, 1100; [0214]), comprising:
a housing (Figs. 21, 27 & 45, an otoscope assembly comprising 1104, 1120 and 1706; [0214] & [0236]) that defines an ergonomic handpiece (Figs. 44 & 45, 1706 of the otoscope assembly; [0236]) sized to be held between a palm and one or more fingers of a user's hand ([0170);
an endoscope tube (Fig. 25a, 1160; [0216]) that extends distally of the housing (see Fig. 25a);
an eyepiece (Fig. 25a, 1128; [0214]) that extends proximally of the housing (see Fig. 25a); and
electronics (Figs. 33 & 45, electronics comprising 1274 and 1714; [0226] & [0236]) housed in the housing (Figs. 33 & 45, 1274 and 1714 are housed in 1120 of the otoscope assembly and 1706 of the otoscope assembly, respectively; [0226] & [0236]) and configured to operate one or more light sources in the endoscope (Fig. 33, 1270; [0236]), the electronics comprising one or more batteries (Fig. 45, 1714; [0236]) and a printed circuit board (Fig. 33, 1274; [0226]),
wherein the housing includes a connector (Fig. 25a, 1170; [0216]) configured to removably couple with a cannula connector of a cannula (Fig. 21, 1124; [0216]) when the endoscope tube is inserted through the cannula ([0216]).
The advantage of the eyepiece window is to provide magnification for enhanced viewing (Coon; [0183]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to someone with ordinary skill in the art to modify the cordless housing as disclosed by '286, to include the eyepiece window as taught by Coon, to provide magnification for enhanced viewing (Coon; [0183]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 2020/0094030) teaches a multimodal endoscope having a handle with a visualization component.
Zhao et al. (US 2019/0142256) teaches a portable endoscopic inspection system.
Demers et al. (US 2014/0336465) teaches an endoscope with a coherent fiber bundle.
Garcia et al. (US 2010/0191053) teaches a portable endoscope with interchangeable flexible insertion shafts.
Melder (US 2010/0145146) teaches an endoscopic digital recording system with removable screen.
Root et al. (US 2009/0076328) teaches an endoscope with an internal light source and power supply.
Schwartz et al. (US 2008/0200761) teaches an endotracheal intubation device.
Sundet et al. (US 2006/0100483) teaches an integrated viewing assembly for an endoscope.
Cane et al. (U.S. 5,762,605) teaches an ergonomic hand-held optical diagnostic instrument.
Lee et al. (U.S. 5,645,519) teaches an endoscopic instrument with a blade assembly.
Yoon (U.S. 5,632,717) teaches a penetrating endoscope.
Parent et al. (U.S. 4,258,721) teaches a self-contained portable hysteroscope.
/STEPHEN FLOYD LONDON/Examiner, Art Unit 3795