DETAILED ACTION
Applicant(s) Response to Official Action
The response filed on September 1, 2026 has been entered and made of record. Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 9 – 12, 16, 19 and 20 have been amended. Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s submitted Replacement Specification have overcome the drawing objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed June 1, 2026. Accordingly, the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments see pages 7 – 11 with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHA et al., (US 2020/0141634 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of the newly discovered reference to resume playing the content from a point at which the content has been paused based on detecting that the at least one door is closed, as claimed in the amended Claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHA et al., (US 2020/0141634 A1) referred to as CHA hereinafter, and in view of PARK et al. (US 2019/0095167 A1) referred to as PARK hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, CHA teaches a refrigerator (Fig. 2, Par. [0049] the home appliance 100 may be various electronic devices including a display for displaying specific information and content such as a refrigerator), comprising:
a main body including a storage compartment (Par. [0103] The main body 10 may include an inner case (not illustrated) forming the storage compartments 11 to 13, an outer case (not illustrated) forming an exterior of the refrigerator);
at least one door coupled to the main body (Par. [0098] a plurality of doors 20, 30, 40, and 50, and hinges 60 connecting the doors 20 to 50 to the main body 10) to open or close the storage compartment (Par. [0107] The refrigerator compartment 11 may be coupled to a first door 20 of one side (e.g., the left side) of the refrigerator compartment 11, and a second door 30 adjacent to the first door 20 and located at the other side (e.g., the right side) of the storage compartment 11);
a display configured to display content (Par. [0049] the home appliance 100 may be various electronic devices including a display for displaying specific information and content, such as a refrigerator), the at least one door having the display (Fig. 2, door 30 has display 150, Par. [0099] The display 150 may be located on at least one door (e.g., at least one of the left door 20 and the right door 30) of the plurality of doors 20, 30, 40, and 50);
a door sensor configured to detect whether the at least one door is opened or closed (Par. [0051] The door sensor 110 may detect whether a refrigerator compartment door or a freezer compartment door of the refrigerator is opened or closed); and
a processor (Fig. 1, main processor 120) configured to:
determine whether the content being played on the display is a stop target (Par. [0056] The sub-processor 140 may control an operation of the display 150. Specifically, the sub-processor 140 may control power of the display 150 to be an on or off state (i.e. stop target)) based on detecting that the at least one door is opened (Par. [0206] sense whether the door is opened or closed (S1010));
pause the content being played based on determining that the content being played is the stop target (Par. [0207] the main processor 120 may generate a control signal for turning on or off (i.e. pause) the power of the sub-processor 140 based on the sensing information received from the door sensor 110 (S1020)); and
playing the content based on detecting that the at least one door is closed (Par. [0208] turn on or off the power of the sub-processor 140 by controlling the power control element 130 according to the control signal (S1030)).
CHA does not specifically teach resume playing the content. Therefore, CHA fails to explicitly teach resume playing the content from a point at which the content has been paused based on detecting that the at least one door is closed.
However, PARK teaches resume playing the content from a point at which the content has been paused (Fig. 5, Par. [0218] The image source controller 250 may receive the door opening/closing signal through the door open signal receiver 240 and perform the operation for protecting video contents when the doors 102 provided in the display device 10 are opened. The image source controller 250 may determine whether the door 102 is opened, and may stop the transmission of the image frame data (i.e. pause) to the plurality of display apparatuses 100 when it is determined that the door 102 is opened. Thereafter, when the external intrusion is eliminated or terminated, the image source controller 250 may resume the transmission of the image frame data to the display device 10) based on detecting that the at least one door is closed (Par. [0207] When the door 102 is closed, the predetermined voltage passes through the door switch 300 and may be applied to the image source device 200 through the door open signal transmitter 180 and the door open signal transmission line L3, where the plurality of display apparatuses 100 may receive the image frame data from the image source device 200 through the image data transmission line L1 (see FIG. 5) and display the image corresponding to the received image frame data from the image source device 200 (See Par. [0085]). Par. [0364] when it is determined that the doors 102 of the plurality of display apparatuses 100 are not opened (NO in 1430), the image source device 200 may also determine whether the system intrusion is terminated (1460)).
References CHA and PARK are considered to be analogous art because they relate to display devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would recognize the advantage of further specifying resume playing of the content based on door signal as suggested by PARK in the invention of CHA in order to stop transmission of the content data to the plurality of display apparatuses in response to receiving of the door opening signal and resume transmission of image after elimination of intrusion (See PARK, Par. [0218]).
Regarding Claim 6, CHA in view of PARK teaches claim 1. CHA further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to determine whether the content includes a video (Par. [0154] the main processor 120 may display a video application screen on the display 150 by executing an application (e.g., a video application)), and determine that the content as the stop target based on determining that the content includes the video ((Par. [0056] The sub-processor 140 may control an operation of the display 150. Specifically, the sub-processor 140 may control power of the display 150 to be an on or off state (i.e. stop target)).
Method Claims 11 and 16 are drawn to the method of using the corresponding apparatus claimed in Claims 1 and 6. Therefore method Claims 11 and 16 correspond to apparatus Claims 1 and 6 and are rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-10, 12-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claims 2 and 12 specifically define determining whether the content is a real-time video, and determine the content as the stop target in response to determining that the content is not the real-time video that is not readily taught or suggested by the prior art uncovered during search or made of record. Claims 7 and 17 specifically define determining that the content as the stop target, based on an amount of pixel data change of the content including the video being greater than or equal to a reference value. Claims 8 and 18 specifically define determine that the display is abnormally terminated, based on the display being turned off in a state where the at least one door is closed. Claims 3-5, 7-10, 13-15 and 17-20 are allowed for the reasons above by virtue of their respective dependencies.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Brian T. Pendleton, can be reached on (571) . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Susan E. Hodges/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425