DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/991,440 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a similar and broader scope from the ‘440 application.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/991,457 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a similar and broader scope from the ‘457 application.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/991,470 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a similar and broader scope from the ‘470 application.
Claims 1, 9 and 17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/065,315 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed invention simply claims a similar and broader scope from the ‘315 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
(f) An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
“artificial intelligence agent participant configured to analyze …” in claims 8 and 16. An example of corresponding structure can be found from fig. 1 element 108.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
In claims 17-20, the “computer readable storage medium” is understood and interpreted as excluding any transitory signal based on applicant’s definition in specification paras. 100-101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9-11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kairali (US 2024/0,297,960).
Referring to claims 1, 9 and 17, Kairali discloses a method that generates a graphical representation (fig. 3, streamed virtual meeting 304) of an artificial intelligence agent participant (fig. 1, participant 128) in a context of a collaboration session (fig. 3, virtual meeting 300), the method comprising:
executing the collaboration session for a plurality of participants (fig. 1, participants 128, 132, 134) to collaborate on a mission (para.0004, virtual/augmented/mixed reality) being completed within a geographical environment (fig. 1, location 106),
wherein the plurality of participants includes the artificial intelligence agent participant (fig. 1, participants 128, 134), a human participant (fig. 1, participant at device 104), and a robotic device participant (fig. 1, virtual controller 132);
determining a type (fig. 1, extended reality environment 126; para.0020) of the artificial intelligence agent participant;
generating an interaction environment (fig. 1, streamed virtual meeting 136) for the collaboration session;
generating, within the interaction environment for the collaboration session, a graphical representation (fig. 3, extended reality 304) for the artificial intelligence agent participant based on the type of the artificial intelligence agent participant; and
providing the interaction environment, including the graphical representation for the artificial intelligence agent participant, to a computing device (fig. 1, device 104/138) associated with the human participant.
As to claims 2, 10 and 18, Kairali discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the type of the artificial intelligence agent participant comprises a general-purpose (fig. 1, participant 128); and
the graphical representation for the artificial intelligence agent comprises a human-like graphical representation (fig. 1, through extended reality display 138).
As to claims 3, 11 and 19, Kairali discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
the type of the artificial intelligence agent participant comprises a specific-purpose type (fig. 1, robot/participant 132) based on a type of the robotic device participant; and
the graphical representation for the artificial intelligence agent comprises a robot-like graphical representation (fig. 1, through extended reality display 138) associated with the type of the robotic device participant.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 12-16 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The further limiting of “the artificial intelligence agent participant” in above mentioned dependent claims. The closest prior art on record does not disclose the same display and operation of the participant as claimed.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See M.P.E.P 707.05(c).
US 2026/0,220,394 discloses machine learning model-based meeting as in fig. 4.
US 12,413,436 discloses collaboration and cognitive analysis in a meeting environment.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to examiner Cheng-Yuan Tseng whose telephone number is (571)272-9772, and fax number is (571)273-9772. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday from 09:00 to 17:30 Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Alicia Harrington can be reached on (571)272-2330. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571)273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at (866)217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call (800)786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or (571)272-1000.
/CHENG YUAN TSENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2615