Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 19, 20 of copending Application No. 18/238127 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are fully encompassed within co-pending application claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant claims
Claims of 18/238127
An electronic device comprising:
a sensing unit comprising a sensor that comprises a temperature sensor;
a memory storing one or more instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to:
obtain, based on data obtained from the sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device,
identify, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the data or the rotation angle, a stability of the sensor,
determine a reference rotation angle for keystone correction based on a temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor,
in response to the sensor being stable, compare the rotation angle and the reference rotation angle,
and in response to the rotation angle being greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, perform a keystone correction based on the rotation angle.
An electronic device comprising: a sensing unit comprising a sensor that comprises a temperature sensor;
a memory storing one or more instructions; and one or more processors configured to execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory to:
obtain, based on raw data obtained from the sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device,
identify, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the raw data or the rotation angle, whether the sensor is stable,
identify whether a temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor is greater than a reference temperature,
determine a reference rotation angle for keystone correction differently based on whether the temperature of the electronic obtained from the temperature sensor is greater than reference temperature,
in response to identifying that the sensor is stable, identify whether the rotation angle is greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, and
in response to identifying that the rotation angle is greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, perform a keystone correction based on the rotation angle.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises an acceleration sensor, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain, based on data obtained from the acceleration sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to a direction of gravity, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity comprises at least one of a pitch angle or a roll angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises an acceleration sensor, the one or more processors obtain, based on raw data obtained from the acceleration sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to a direction of gravity, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity comprises at least one of a pitch angle or a roll angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity.
3. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the sensor further comprises a distance sensor facing a projection surface, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain, based on data obtained from the distance sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface comprises a yaw angle.
3. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein the sensor further comprises a distance sensor facing a projection surface, the one or more processors obtain, based on raw data obtained from the distance sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface comprises a yaw angle.
4. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to correct an image projected onto the projection surface, by using at least one of the pitch angle, the roll angle, or the yaw angle.
4. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein the one or more processors correct an image projected onto the projection surface, by using at least one of the pitch angle, the roll angle, or the yaw angle.
5. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to identify the stability of the sensor based on comparing the difference value between a value at a time point t and a value of a time point t-k in the at least one of the data or the rotation angle to a threshold value.
5. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors identify whether the sensor is stable by identifying whether the difference value between a value at a time point t and a value of a time point t-k in the at least one of the raw data or the rotation angle is less than or equal to a threshold value.
6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to identify the sensor as being stable based on, for N times or more (where N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2), the difference value being less than or equal to the threshold value.
6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors identify that the sensor is stable in response to identifying, N times or more (where N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2), that the difference value is less than or equal to the threshold value.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: identify, based on the data, a motion of the electronic device, and obtain the rotation angle of the electronic device in response to identifying that there is no motion of the electronic device based on the data obtained by using the sensor.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors identify, based on the raw data, a motion of the electronic device, and obtain the rotation angle of the electronic device in response to identifying that there is no motion of the electronic device based on the raw data obtained by using the sensor.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: compare the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor and a reference temperature, based on the temperature of the electronic device being less than or equal to the reference temperature, set the reference rotation angle to an angle th1, and based on the temperature of the electronic device being greater than the reference temperature, set the reference rotation angle to an angle th2, the angle th1 being greater than the angle th2.
9. The electronic device of claim 8, wherein the one or more processors identify whether the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor is greater than a reference temperature, based on the temperature of the electronic device being less than or equal to the reference temperature, set the reference rotation angle to an angle th1, and based on the temperature of the electronic device being greater than the reference temperature, set the reference rotation angle to an angle th2, the angle th1 being greater than the angle th2.
9. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, in response to the rotation angle being less than the reference rotation angle, set the rotation angle to zero.
10. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, in response to the rotation angle being less than the reference rotation angle, set the rotation angle to zero.
10. An operation method of an electronic device, the operation method comprising: obtaining, based on data obtained from a sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device; identifying, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the data or the rotation angle, a stability of the sensor; determining a reference rotation angle for keystone correction based on a temperature of the electronic device obtained from a temperature sensor; in response to the sensor being stable, comparing the rotation angle and the reference rotation angle; and in response to the rotation angle being greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, performing a keystone correction based on the rotation angle.
11. An operation method of an electronic device, the operation method comprising: obtaining, based on raw data obtained from a sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device; identifying, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the raw data or the rotation angle, whether the sensor is stable; identifying whether a temperature of the electronic device obtained from a temperature sensor is greater than a reference temperature; determining a reference rotation angle for keystone correction differently based on whether the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor is greater than the reference temperature; in response to identifying that the sensor is stable, identifying whether the rotation angle is greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle; and in response to identifying that the rotation angle is greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, performing a keystone correction based on the rotation angle.
11. The operation method of claim 10, wherein the sensor includes an acceleration sensor, wherein the obtaining the rotation angle of the electronic device comprises obtaining, based on data obtained from the acceleration sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to a direction of gravity, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity includes at least one of a pitch angle or a roll angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity.
12. The operation method of claim 11, wherein the sensor includes an acceleration sensor; wherein the obtaining the rotation angle of the electronic device comprises obtaining, based on raw data obtained from the acceleration sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to a direction of gravity, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity includes at least one of a pitch angle or a roll angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity.
12. The operation method of claim 11, wherein the sensor further includes a distance sensor facing a projection surface, wherein the obtaining the rotation angle of the electronic device comprises obtaining, based on data obtained from the distance sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface includes a yaw angle.
13. The operation method of claim 12, wherein the sensor further includes a distance sensor facing a projection surface, wherein the obtaining the rotation angle of the electronic device comprises obtaining, based on raw data obtained from the distance sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface includes a yaw angle.
13. The operation method of claim 12, wherein the performing the keystone correction comprises correcting an image projected onto the projection surface, by using at least one of the pitch angle, the roll angle, or the yaw angle.
14. The operation method of claim 13, wherein the performing the image processing for the keystone correction comprises correcting an image projected onto the projection surface, by using at least one of the pitch angle, the roll angle, or the yaw angle.
14. The operation method of claim 10, wherein the identifying the stability of the sensor comprises comparing the difference value between a value at a time point t and a value of a time point t-k in the at least one of the data or the rotation angle and a threshold value.
15. The operation method of claim 11, wherein the identifying whether the sensor is stable comprises identifying whether the difference value between a value at a time point t and a value of a time point t-k in the at least one of the raw data or the rotation angle is less than or equal to a threshold value.
15. The operation method of claim 14, wherein the identifying the stability of the sensor further comprises identifying the sensor as being stable based on, for N times or more (where N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2), the difference value being less than or equal to the threshold value.
16. The operation method of claim 15, wherein the identifying whether the sensor is stable further comprises identifying that the sensor is stable, in response to identifying, N times or more (where N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2), that the difference value is less than or equal to the threshold value.
16. The operation method of claim 10, further comprising identifying, based on the data, a motion of the electronic device, wherein the obtaining the rotation angle of the electronic device is in response to identifying that there is no motion of the electronic device.
17. The operation method of claim 11, further comprising identifying, based on the raw data, a motion of the electronic device, wherein the obtaining the rotation angle of the electronic device is in response to identifying that there is no motion of the electronic device.
17. The operation method of claim 10, further comprising comparing the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor and a reference temperature, wherein the determining the reference rotation angle comprises: based on the temperature of the electronic device being less than or equal to the reference temperature, setting the reference rotation angle to an angle th1; and based on the temperature of the electronic device being greater than the reference temperature, setting the reference rotation angle to an angle th2, the angle th1 being greater than the angle th2.
19. The operation method of claim 18, further comprising identifying whether the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor is greater than a reference temperature, wherein the determining the reference rotation angle comprises: based on the temperature of the electronic device being less than or equal to the reference temperature, setting the reference rotation angle to an angle th1; and based on the temperature of the electronic device being greater than the reference temperature, setting the reference rotation angle to an angle th2, the angle th1 being greater than the angle th2.
18. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for a computer to perform an operation method comprising: obtaining, based on data obtained from a sensor, a rotation angle of an electronic device; identifying, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the data or the rotation angle, a stability of the sensor; determining a reference rotation angle for keystone correction based on a temperature of the electronic device obtained from a temperature sensor; in response to the sensor being stable, comparing the rotation angle and the reference rotation angle; and in response to the rotation angle being greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, performing a keystone correction based on the rotation angle.
20. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium having recorded thereon a program for a computer to perform an operation method comprising: obtaining, based on raw data obtained from a sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device; identifying, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the raw data or the rotation angle, whether the sensor is stable; identifying whether a temperature of the electronic device obtained from a temperature sensor is greater than a reference temperature; determining a reference rotation angle for keystone correction differently based on whether the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor is greater than the reference temperature; in response to identifying that the sensor is stable, identifying whether the rotation angle is greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle; and in response to identifying that the rotation angle is greater than or equal to the reference rotation angle, performing a keystone correction based on the rotation angle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukano (Pub 20210144349) in view of Kimura (JP 2002079313 A).
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 18, Fukano discloses n electronic device comprising:
a sensing unit comprising a sensor that comprises a temperature sensor, (temperature sensor inherently disclosed since projector comprises an overheat indicator, see Para. [0033]. Alternately, examiner takes OFFICIAL NOTICE that overheating in projectors is measured using temperature sensors. One of ordinary skill in the art would use a temperature sensor for the benefit of allowing safe projector operation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate a temperature sensor to alert a user of unsafe operation);
a memory storing one or more instructions; and one or more processors configured to
execute the one or more instructions stored in the memory, (EEP-Rom 111 and CPU 11 fig 2 fig 2) to:
obtain, based on data obtained from the sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic
device, (Para. [0046] see inclinations in three axes in X, Y, and Z directions also see theta in Fig 3)
identify, based on a difference value for a preset time period in at least one of the data
or the rotation angle, a stability of the sensor, (see filtering detected values of rotation angles. The filtered reading indicates stability of the sensor reading the values Para. [0058][0115])
in response to the sensor being stable, compare the rotation angle and the reference
rotation angle, (Para. [0063] difference is more than a second threshold value);
and in response to the rotation angle being greater than or equal to the reference
rotation angle, perform a keystone correction based on the rotation angle, (Para. [0063] a notification which is given by displaying keystone correction which is performed on the basis of saved values).
However, determine a reference rotation angle for keystone correction based on a
temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kimura discloses determine a reference rotation angle for
keystone correction based on a temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor, (see page 7 1st paragraph: “Next, the distortion correction section 14 is provided with the angle detection section 13 is detected by the angle change less than 3 degrees compared with the previously detected angle step S11”. The previous detected angle is construed as a reference angle);
and in response to the rotation angle being greater than or equal to the reference
rotation angle, perform a keystone correction based on the rotation angle, (page 7 1st paragraph – 2nd paragraph: “Next, the distortion correction section 14 is provided with the angle detection section 13 is detected by the angle change less than 3 degrees compared with the previously detected angle (step S11. If the angle change is less than 3 degrees, it is considered that the installation work by the user is completed, and the process proceeds to the next step. If the angle change is 3 degree or more, this step is looped to monitor the end of the installation work. When it is determined that the installation work is completed by the above two steps, the distortion correction unit 14 input the angle information from the angle detection unit 13 (step S12) and corrects the trapezoidal distortion of the image according to the angle (Step S12)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Fukano by Kimura for the benefit of allowing images to be correctly displayed taking into account projector angle variation due to temperature thereby enhancing a user’s experience by automatically correcting projection images.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Fukano discloses wherein the sensor comprises an
acceleration sensor, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain, based on data obtained from the acceleration sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to a direction of gravity, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity comprises at least one of a pitch angle or a roll angle of the electronic device with respect to the direction of gravity, (see acceleration sensor 112 fig 2 and X, Y, and Z measurements Para. [0046]).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 12, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukano in view of Kimura in view of Cho (U.S. 8322863).
Regarding claims 3 and 12, the combination discloses claims 2 and 11. However, a
distance sensor is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Cho discloses wherein the sensor further comprises a
distance sensor facing a projection surface, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to obtain, based on data obtained from the distance sensor, a rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface, and wherein the rotation angle of the electronic device with respect to the projection surface comprises a yaw angle, (col. 12 lines 53-61). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Cho for the common purpose of allowing keystone operations to be implemented based on supplemental sensors thereby enhancing the accuracy of keystone correction.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, Fukano discloses the electronic device of claim 3 and 13, wherein the one or more processors correct an image projected onto the projection surface, by using at least one of the pitch angles, the roll angle, or the yaw angle, (keystone correction based on acceleration sensor reading in X, Y, Z directions S10 and S11 Fig 5 and Para. [0046] showing different angles in X, Y, and Z directions).
Claim(s) 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukano in view of Kimura in view of Tsuji (Pub 20130107227).
Regarding claims 5 and 14, the combination discloses claims 1 and 10 including
whether a sensor is stable. However, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to identify the stability of the sensor based on comparing the difference value between a value at a time point t and a value of a time point t-k in the at least one of the data or the rotation angle to a threshold value is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Tsuji discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to identify the stability of the sensor based on comparing the difference value between a value at a time point t and a value of a time point t-k in the at least one of the data or the rotation angle to a threshold value., (Para. [0038] angles below a certain threshold are selected for averaging thereby ensuring accelerometer error is reduced thereby ensuring stable accelerometer readings. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Tsuji for the common purpose of allowing sensor values to be compared overtime and selecting values that fall below a threshold thereby eliminating erroneous sensor values.
Claim(s) 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Fukano in view of Kimura in view of Tsuji in view of Ono (Pub 20150350615).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, the combination discloses claims 5 and 14. However,
wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to identify the sensor as being stable based on, for N times or more (where N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2), the difference value being less than or equal to the threshold value is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ono discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to identify the sensor as being stable based on, for N times or more (where N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2), the difference value being less than or equal to the threshold value, (Para. [0078]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Ono for the common purpose of providing an alternative means of determining sensor values to be compared overtime and selecting values based on a threshold thereby eliminating erroneous sensor values.
Claim(s) 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Fukano in view of Kimura in view of Ozawa (Pub 20200213568).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, the combination discloses claims 1 and 10. However,
determining an angle in response to identifying an electronic device is not in motion is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ozawa discloses wherein the one or more processors identify, based on the raw data, a motion of the electronic device, and obtain the rotation angle of the electronic device in response to identifying that there is no motion of the electronic device based on the raw data obtained by using the sensor, (Para. [0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Ozawa so that obtained sensor values are not influenced by device movement thereby keystone correction can be accurately determined.
Claim(s) 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Fukano in view of Kimura in view of Onishi (Pub 20070297066).
Regarding claims 8 and 17, the combination discloses claims 1 and 10. However, claims 8 and 17 are not disclosed.
Onishi discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to: compare the temperature of the electronic device obtained from the temperature sensor and a reference temperature, based on the temperature of the electronic device being less than or equal to the reference temperature, set the reference rotation angle to an angle th1, and based on the temperature of the electronic device being greater than the reference temperature, set the reference rotation angle to an angle th2, the angle th1 being greater than the angle th2, (relationship between temperature and angle of optical device Para. [0034] [0036] and correcting so that best optical performance is achieved Para. [0032]. Examiner further notes, based on design choice, the angle th1 and th2 may be set and stored in storage apparatus 3 Para. [0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Fokano by incorporating Onishi so that obtained sensor values are not influenced by temperature thereby keystone correction can be accurately determined.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Fukano in view of Kimura in view of Ohira (Pub 20230196946).
Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses claim 1. However, setting a
rotation angle to zero is not disclosed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ohira discloses wherein the one or more
processors are further configured to execute the one or more instructions to, in response to the rotation angle being less than the reference rotation angle, set the rotation angle to zero, (Para. [0056]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the combination by incorporating Ohira so that obtained angle values are not influenced by small movement thereby keystone correction can be accurately determined.
Conclusion
HUMAM M. SATTI
Examiner
Art Unit 2422
/JOHN W MILLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2422