DETAILED ACTION
This is in reply to an application filed on February 21, 2025 regarding Application No. 19/059,978. Claims 1-12 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicants’ claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). A certified copy of the KR 10-2024-0051333 application filed in Korea on April 17, 2024 has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office. Please note that the Office has included the art unit number on the IDS.
Claim Objections
Claims 3-4 and 8-12 are objected to for the reasons discussed below.
Claim 3: “the first input signal or the second input signal is activated as ON state” (last 2 lines) should be changed to “the first input signal or the second input signal is activated as an ON state”.
Claim 8: “(1) a head unit… and (2) display device” (ll. 1-2) may need to be changed to “[[(]]1) a head unit… and [[(]]2) display device” since features in parenthesis are not part of the claim language.
Claim 9: “the head unit further includes microcontroller unit (MCU)” (l. 2) should be changed to “the head unit further includes a microcontroller unit (MCU)”.
Claim 12: “The method of claim 8, wherein:… monitoring the DC voltages includes monitoring a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device” (ll. 1 and 3-4) may need to be changed to “The method of claim 8, wherein:… the method further comprises monitoring the DC voltages, wherein monitoring the DC voltages includes monitoring a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device” since “monitoring the DC voltages” was not previously recited, or “The method of claim [[8]]9, wherein:… monitoring the DC voltages includes monitoring a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device” since “monitoring the DC voltages” was previously recited in claim 9. For purposes of examination, the claim language is interpreted as discussed below.
Claims 4 and 9-12: these claims depend from an objected to base claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Shu in CN 112937464 A (hereinafter Shu; August 21, 2025 IDS reference – an original copy and translation of the abstract was provided by Applicants; an original copy and full machine translation thereof is/was provided with the first Office action mailed in response to the filing of the instant application).
Regarding claim 1, Shu teaches:
A display control apparatus (510 and 520 in FIG. 5), comprising (Shu: FIG. 5 and p. 7, last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit [of the first POC circuit 512] is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable…. Correspondingly, the second POC circuit [522] can analyze the high-level signal and transmit it to the electronic switch [521], so that the onboard power supply is effective, that is, it can be understood that the electronic switch [521] is turned on, so that the on-board power supply can supply power to the display.”))
a head unit (510) configured to output an image signal (display data image signal) and a control signal (power control signal) (Shu: FIG. 5 and p. 7, ¶ 5 (“The above-mentioned second POC filter circuit filters the signal sent by the coaxial cable, analyzes the power signal, and sends it to each power circuit in the display to turn the display on or off.”), ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”), 6th to the last ¶ (“The… second POC circuit 522 analyzes the power signal from the signal sent [from control host 510] by the coaxial cable, and sends it to the switching device 521….”), and 4th to the last ¶ (“The… deserializer 524 analyzes the display data from the signal sent [from control host 510] by the coaxial cable and sends it to the screen 523 for display.”) and, see also see also FIGs. 3-4 and p. 7, last ¶); and
a display device (520) configured to receive the image signal and the control signal and output the image signal (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 7, 5th to the last ¶ (“The… switching device 521 [of display device 520] sends the power signal [from control host 510] to the screen power supply circuit 525, the backlight power supply circuit 526, and the deserializer power supply circuit 527 to turn on… the screen power supply, the backlight power supply and the deserializer power supply….”), and 4th to the last ¶ (“The… deserializer 524 analyzes the display data from the signal sent [from control host 510] by the coaxial cable and sends it to the screen 523 for display.”), and p. 8, ¶ 10/6th to the last ¶ (“… [T]he deserializer 524 [of display device 520] sends the backlight control signal [transmitted by serializer 513 of control host 510] to the backlight power circuit 526, which is then transmitted to the backlight power circuit 526. The backlight control signal is analyzed, and the screen 520 is driven to display the display data.”)),
wherein the head unit includes a direct current (DC) voltage generator (512) configured to output at least two types of DC voltages (POWER and GND voltages) (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 6, ¶ 5 (“… FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of the structure of the abovementioned first POC circuit; the above-mentioned first POC circuit may include a control signal conversion circuit and a first POC filter circuit….”), 6th to the last ¶ (POWER voltage and GND), and 3rd to the last ¶ (“… [A]s shown in FIG. 3, the above-mentioned first POC filter circuit may include [frequency filters] that [m]ake[] the POWER DC voltage signal with clean, low ripple and low noise that enters the coaxial line.”), and p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”), see also FIGs. 2-3), and
wherein the display device includes a circuit (521-527) configured to generate an output signal (image display output signal) based on a first input signal (e.g., display data image and backlight control vehicle input signals) and a second input signal (DC voltage generator voltage input signal) (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 6, 3rd to the last ¶ (“… [A]s shown in FIG. 3, the above-mentioned first POC filter circuit may include [frequency filters] that [m]ake[] the POWER DC voltage signal with clean, low ripple and low noise that enters the coaxial line.”), p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”) and last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable…. Correspondingly, the second POC circuit [522] can analyze the high-level signal and transmit it to the electronic switch [521], so that the onboard power supply is effective, that is, it can be understood that the electronic switch [521] is turned on, so that the on-board power supply can supply power to the display.”), and p. 8, ¶ 1 (“The above vehicle power supply supplies power to the display, which can specifically include the following processes:”), ¶ 2 (“The vehicle power supply supplies power for the screen power supply, the backlight power supply and the deserializer power supply in the display, and the above-mentioned power supply circuits supply power for the screen and/or the deserializer.”), ¶ 4 (“… [I]n addition to outputting the power control signal, the processor 511 of the control host [510] can also output the display data signal to the serializer 513, and the serializer 513 loads the display data to the first POC circuit 512. The above coaxial cable is used for transmission.”), ¶ 5 (“Correspondingly, the deserializer 524 in the display [520] can also be directly connected to the above-mentioned coaxial cable and obtain the above-mentioned display data from it.”), ¶ 7 (“When the electronic switch [521] supplies power to the deserializer power circuit [527], that is, after the deserializer [524] receives the power signal, the display data obtained from the coaxial cable can be sent to the screen [523].”), ¶ 9 (“ After the screen power supply circuit [525] is powered, it can control the screen [523] to light up, and the backlight power supply circuit [526] can drive the screen [523] to display the display data sent by the deserializer [524].”), ¶ 10 (“Based on the vehicle display control system shown in FIG. 5,… the processor 511 in the control host 510 may also output a backlight control signal, which is sent to the serializer 513, and is transmitted by the serializer 513. The controller 513 loads the backlight control signal into the coaxial cable, transparently transmits it to the deserializer 524, and the deserializer 524 sends the backlight control signal to the backlight power circuit 526, which is then transmitted to the backlight power circuit 526. The backlight control signal is analyzed, and the screen 520 is driven to display the display data.”), and ¶ 11 (“… [T]he foregoing backlight control signal may be a PWM (Pulse Width Modulation, pulse width modulation) signal. The deserializer [524] can parse the PWM signal from the coaxial cable and send it to the backlight power circuit [526].”), see also FIGs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Shu teaches:
The display control apparatus of claim 1, wherein:
the first input signal comprises at least two types of vehicle signals (e.g., display data image and backlight control vehicle input signals) (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 8, ¶ 7 (“… [A]fter the deserializer [524] receives the power signal, the display data obtained from the coaxial cable can be sent to the screen [523].”), ¶ 10 (“… [T]he processor 511 in the control host 510 may also output a backlight control signal, which is sent to the serializer 513, and is transmitted by the serializer 513. The controller 513 loads the backlight control signal into the coaxial cable, transparently transmits it to the deserializer 524….”)),
the second input signal comprises a voltage signal by the DC voltage generator (DC voltage generator voltage input signal) (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 6, 3rd to the last ¶ (“… [A]s shown in FIG. 3, the above-mentioned first POC filter circuit may include [frequency filters] that [m]ake[] the POWER DC voltage signal with clean, low ripple and low noise that enters the coaxial line.”), and p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”) and last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable….”), see also FIGs. 2-3), and
the circuit is configured to receive the first input signal and the second input signal and output a signal for activating the display device (screen power supply circuit 525 signal) as an ON state when at least one of the first input signal or the second input signal is activated as ON state (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 6, 3rd to the last ¶ (“… [A]s shown in FIG. 3, the above-mentioned first POC filter circuit may include [frequency filters] that [m]ake[] the POWER DC voltage signal with clean, low ripple and low noise that enters the coaxial line.”), p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”), 6th to the last ¶ (“The… second POC circuit 522 analyzes the power signal from the signal sent by the coaxial cable, and sends it to the switching device 521….”), 5th to the last ¶ (“The… switching device 521 sends the power signal to the screen power supply circuit 525… to turn on… the screen power supply….”), and last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable…. Correspondingly, the second POC circuit [522] can analyze the high-level signal and transmit it to the electronic switch [521], so that the onboard power supply is effective, that is, it can be understood that the electronic switch [521] is turned on, so that the on-board power supply can supply power to the display.”), and p. 8, ¶ 4 (“… [I]n addition to outputting the power control signal, the processor 511 of the control host can also output the display data signal to the serializer 513, and the serializer 513 loads the display data to the first POC circuit 512. The above coaxial cable is used for transmission.”), ¶ 5 (“Correspondingly, the deserializer 524 in the display [520] can also be directly connected to the above-mentioned coaxial cable and obtain the above-mentioned display data from it.”), ¶ 9 (“ After the screen power supply circuit [525] is powered, it can control the screen [523] to light up….”), ¶ 10 (“… [T]he processor 511 in the control host 510 may also output a backlight control signal, which is sent to the serializer 513, and is transmitted by the serializer 513. The controller 513 loads the backlight control signal into the coaxial cable, transparently transmits it to the deserializer 524….”), see also FIGs. 2-3 and p. 6, last ¶ (“… [T]he control host may output a power control signal to load the first POC circuit. After the display is turned on, the control host may also input display data to the serializer 213….”)).
Regarding claim 5, Shu teaches:
The display control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the head unit is configured to transmit a signal obtained by overlapping the image signal, the control signal, and a voltage signal by the DC voltage generator with each other to the display device (Shu: FIGs. 4-5, p. 6, ¶ 4 (“POC (Power Over Coaxia) is a technology based on coaxial cable signal transmission, coaxial control, and power superimposition, that is, coaxial power supply.”), 6th to the last ¶ (POWER voltage and GND), and 3rd to the last ¶ (“… [A]s shown in FIG. 3, the above-mentioned first POC filter circuit may include [frequency filters] that [m]ake[] the POWER DC voltage signal with clean, low ripple and low noise that enters the coaxial line.”), p. 7, ¶ 4 (“… [T]he second POC circuit included in the above-mentioned display may include: a second POC filter circuit. The second filter circuit may adopt the same structure as the first POC filter circuit, as shown in FIG. 4, which is a schematic diagram of the connection between the first POC circuit and the second POC filter circuit, and the coaxial cable may be COAX cable, COAX is a coaxial cable interface….”), ¶ 5 (“The above-mentioned second POC filter circuit filters the signal sent by the coaxial cable, analyzes the power signal, and sends it to each power circuit in the display to turn the display on or off.”), ¶ 6 (“The second POC filter circuit can filter the input signal, that is, filter out the AC signal and noise signal in the coaxial cable, so as to analyze the signal transmitted by the coaxial cable with clean, low ripple and low ripple. Noisy POWER DC voltage signal.”), ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”), last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable….”) and p. 8, ¶ 4 (“… [I]n addition to outputting the power control signal, the processor 511 of the control host [510] can also output the display data signal to the serializer 513, and the serializer 513 loads the display data to the first POC circuit 512. The above coaxial cable is used for transmission….”)).
Regarding claim 8, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 1 above.
However, it is noted that claim 8 differs from claim 1 above in that the following are recited:
A method of operating a display control apparatus comprising (1) a head unit including a direct current (DC) voltage generator and (2) display device, the method comprising.
Shu teaches:
A method of operating a display control apparatus comprising (1) a head unit including a direct current (DC) voltage generator and (2) display device, the method comprising (i.e., method as claimed corresponding to the display control apparatus of claim 1 above; claim 1 above, see also Shu: FIG. 7 and p. 10, ¶¶ 4-6 and ¶ 8 (“In the vehicle display method…, the control host converts the power control signal into the power signal through the first POC circuit and loads it into the coaxial cable and sends it to the display. The display sends the signal from the coaxial cable through the second POC circuit. Analyze the power signal and send it to each power circuit in the display to turn the display on or off….”)).
Regarding claim 10, this claim is rejected under similar rationale as claim 3 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu.
Regarding claim 2, Shu teaches:
The display control apparatus of claim 1, wherein the head unit further includes:
a processor (511 in FIG. 5) configured to receive a vehicle signal (corresponding to an enable, display data, or backlight control signal) (Shu: see FIG. 5, p. 6, ¶ 4 (“… EN is the enable signal output by the processor 211….”), p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”), and p. 8, ¶ 4 (“… [I]n addition to outputting the power control signal, the processor 511 of the control host can also output the display data signal to the serializer 513, and the serializer 513 loads the display data to the first POC circuit 512. The above coaxial cable is used for transmission.”) and ¶ 10 (“… [T]he processor 511 in the control host 510 may also output a backlight control signal, which is sent to the serializer 513, and is transmitted by the serializer 513. The controller 513 loads the backlight control signal into the coaxial cable, transparently transmits it to the deserializer 524, and the deserializer 524 sends the backlight control signal to the backlight power circuit 526, which is then transmitted to the backlight power circuit 526. The backlight control signal is analyzed, and the screen 520 is driven to display the display data.”)), and
a voltage detector (512) configured to monitor the DC voltages (Shu: monitor in monitoring the DC voltages for further transmission; FIGs. 3 and 5, p. 6, ¶ 5 (“… FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of the structure of the abovementioned first POC circuit; the above-mentioned first POC circuit may include a control signal conversion circuit and a first POC filter circuit….”), ¶ 9 (“When the state of the enable signal [EN] is high, the transistors Q1 and Q2 in Figure 3 are turned on and are in working state….”), ¶ 10 (“… [W]hen the state of the enable signal [EN] is at a high level, the POWER voltage is output to the first POC filter circuit through the transistor Q1, that is, the control signal conversion circuit converts the power control signal into a power signal.”), p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”) and last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal [EN] sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable….”)), and
wherein the processor is configured to transmit a signal (EN) for controlling levels of the DC voltages (corresponding to on and off working states) to the DC voltage generator (Shu: FIGs. 3 and 5, p. 6, ¶ 5 (“… FIG. 3 is a schematic diagram of the structure of the abovementioned first POC circuit; the above-mentioned first POC circuit may include a control signal conversion circuit and a first POC filter circuit….”), ¶ 9 (“When the state of the enable signal [EN] is high, the transistors Q1 and Q2 in Figure 3 are turned on and are in working state….”), and ¶ 10 (“… [W]hen the state of the enable signal [EN] is at a high level, the POWER voltage is output to the first POC filter circuit through the transistor Q1, that is, the control signal conversion circuit converts the power control signal into a power signal.”), p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”) and last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal [EN] sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable….”)).
However, it is noted that Shu does not teach:
the processor is a microcontroller unit,
but which would have been obvious to include since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use, such that Shu as modified teaches: a microcontroller unit (MCU) configured to receive a vehicle signal (processor, receive, and vehicle signal of Shu combined with the microcontroller unit (MCU) as discussed), and wherein the MCU is configured to transmit a signal for controlling levels of the DC voltages to the DC voltage generator (processor, transmit, signal for controlling levels of the DC voltages, and DC voltage generator of Shu combined with the MCU as discussed), for operations control.
Regarding claim 9, Shu is modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 2 above. Thus, claim 9 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 2 above.
Claims 4, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view of Seo et al. in US 2023/0401986 A1 (hereinafter Seo).
Regarding claim 4, Shu teaches:
The display control apparatus of claim 3.
However, it is noted that Shu does not teach:
wherein the display device further includes a power-on reset part configured to reset power of the display device by converting a voltage of the output signal by the circuit when a level of a voltage of the second input signal is equal to or greater than a threshold.
Seo teaches:
wherein a display device (102, 104, 110, 132, and 134 in FIG. 1) further includes a reset part (110) configured to reset power of the display device by converting a voltage of an output signal (image display output signal) by a circuit (that generates the output signal) when a level of a voltage of a second input signal (power source signal) is equal to or greater than a threshold (Seo: FIGs. 1 and 4, “[0021] The current monitoring unit 132 measures the amount of current that the display panel 104 is drawing. The current monitoring unit 132 generates a signal… that includes the current measurement and transmits or otherwise provides the signal to the current monitoring application 116. The current monitoring application 116 receives the current measurement from the current monitoring unit 132 and compares the current measurement with a threshold value associated with the current drawn by a correctly-functioning display panel. When the current monitoring unit 132 determines that the current measurement exceeds the threshold value, the current monitoring application 116 generates and transmits an indication message to the HUD controller 122. The HUD controller 122 responds to the indication message by generating a set of commands to shut off the light source 102 and/or reset the display panel 104.”, “[0022] The computing device 110 can include the processing unit 112 and the memory 114….”, “[0024]… [T]he HUD controller 122 within the memory 114 can be executed by the processing unit 112 in order to implement the overall functionality of the computing device 110….”, “[0031]… [T]he current monitoring unit 132 can be a measuring circuit (e.g., … a small resistor over which a voltage drop is detected…) that measures the current that the power source 130 provides to the display panel 104. In such instances, the current monitoring unit 132 can transmit the measurement of the current to the current monitoring application 116.… [T]he current monitoring application 116 can use the current measurement to determine whether the display panel 104 is malfunctioning….”, and “[0056]… [T]he HUD controller 122 can transmit the reset command to the power source 130 and/or an electronic control unit to stop the display panel 104 from drawing a current….”, see also [0028]-[0029], [0032]-[0033], [0053], and [0057]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Seo, such that Shu as modified teaches: wherein the display device further includes a power-on reset part configured to reset power of the display device by converting a voltage of the output signal by the circuit when a level of a voltage of the second input signal is equal to or greater than a threshold (display device, output signal, circuit, and second input signal of Shu combined with the display device, reset part, reset power, converting a voltage of an output signal by a circuit, level of a voltage of a second input signal, and threshold of Seo; it would have been obvious to include a “power-on reset part” since it would have been within the general skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to select features on the basis of their suitability for the intended use to provide a stable and adequate power supply after restart), to provide vehicle driving safety by resetting display device power when a display panel malfunctions.
Regarding claim 7, Shu as modified teaches:
The display control apparatus of claim 2, wherein:
power of the display device is activated when at least one of a voltage signal output by the DC voltage generator of the head unit or a voltage signal of a vehicle signal (e.g., display data image or backlight control vehicle signal) received by the display device is a turned-on signal (Shu: FIG. 5, p. 6, 3rd to the last ¶ (“… [A]s shown in FIG. 3, the above-mentioned first POC filter circuit may include [frequency filters] that [m]ake[] the POWER DC voltage signal with clean, low ripple and low noise that enters the coaxial line.”), and p. 7, ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5….”), p. 7, last ¶ (“Based on the example in which the enable signal sent by the processor 511 in the control signal conversion circuit is at a high level, the voltage signal of the vehicle power supply is loaded to the first POC circuit 512, and is transmitted to the second POC circuit [522] through the coaxial cable…. Correspondingly, the second POC circuit [522] can analyze the high-level signal and transmit it to the electronic switch [521], so that the onboard power supply is effective, that is, it can be understood that the electronic switch [521] is turned on, so that the on-board power supply can supply power to the display [520].”), and p. 8, ¶ 1 (“The above vehicle power supply supplies power to the display [520], which can specifically include the following processes:”), ¶ 2 (“The vehicle power supply supplies power for the screen power supply [525], the backlight power supply [526] and the deserializer power supply [527] in the display [520], and the above-mentioned power supply circuits supply power for the screen [523] and/or the deserializer [524].”), ¶ 4 (“… [I]n addition to outputting the power control signal, the processor 511 of the control host [510] can also output the display data signal to the serializer 513, and the serializer 513 loads the display data to the first POC circuit 512. The above coaxial cable is used for transmission.”), ¶ 5 (“Correspondingly, the deserializer 524 in the display [520] can also be directly connected to the above-mentioned coaxial cable and obtain the above-mentioned display data from it.”), ¶ 7 (“When the electronic switch [521] supplies power to the deserializer power circuit [527], that is, after the deserializer [524] receives the power signal, the display data obtained from the coaxial cable can be sent to the screen [523].”), ¶ 9 (“ After the screen power supply circuit [525] is powered, it can control the screen [523] to light up, and the backlight power supply circuit [526] can drive the screen [523] to display the display data sent by the deserializer [524].”), and ¶ 10 (“… [T]he processor 511 in the control host 510 may also output a backlight control signal, which is sent to the serializer 513, and is transmitted by the serializer 513. The controller 513 loads the backlight control signal into the coaxial cable, transparently transmits it to the deserializer 524, and the deserializer 524 sends the backlight control signal to the backlight power circuit 526, which is then transmitted to the backlight power circuit 526. The backlight control signal is analyzed, and the screen 520 is driven to display the display data.”), see also FIGs. 2-3).
However, it is noted that Shu as modified does not teach:
the display device includes a monitor power supply configured to receive vehicle power, and
the power of the display device is reset without sensing a value of the voltage signal of the vehicle signal when a level of the voltage signal output by the DC voltage generator is equal to or greater than a threshold.
Seo teaches:
a display device (102, 104, 110, 132, and 134 in FIG. 1) includes a monitor power supply configured to receive vehicle power (Seo: FIGs. 1 and 4, “[0021] The current monitoring unit 132 measures the amount of current that the display panel 104 is drawing. The current monitoring unit 132 generates a signal… that includes the current measurement and transmits or otherwise provides the signal to the current monitoring application 116. The current monitoring application 116 receives the current measurement from the current monitoring unit 132 and compares the current measurement with a threshold value associated with the current drawn by a correctly-functioning display panel. When the current monitoring unit 132 determines that the current measurement exceeds the threshold value, the current monitoring application 116 generates and transmits an indication message to the HUD controller 122. The HUD controller 122 responds to the indication message by generating a set of commands to… reset the display panel 104.”, “[0029] The power source 130 source provides power to the display panel 104…. [T]he power source 130 could be a vehicle battery that provides electrical power to various components of the vehicle… [or] a dedicated power source…. ”, and “[0031]… [T]he current monitoring unit 132 can be a measuring circuit that measures the current that the power source 130 provides to the display panel 104. In such instances, the current monitoring unit 132 can transmit the measurement of the current to the current monitoring application 116.… [T]he current monitoring application 116 can use the current measurement to determine whether the display panel 104 is malfunctioning….”, see also [0053]-[0055], [0056] (including: “At step 410,… upon… resetting the display panel 104, the HUD controller 122 can cause the current monitoring application 116 to return to step 404 to determine the current drawn by the display panel 104….”), and [0057]), and
a power of the display device is reset without sensing a value of a voltage signal of a vehicle signal (e.g., corresponding to 212-218 in FIG. 2) when a level of a voltage signal output by a voltage generator is equal to or greater than a threshold (Seo: without sensing in/corresponding to not displaying 212-218 indicators when the display device power is reset; FIGs. 1-2 and 4, “[0021] The current monitoring unit 132 measures the amount of current that the display panel 104 is drawing. The current monitoring unit 132 generates a signal… that includes the current measurement and transmits or otherwise provides the signal to the current monitoring application 116. The current monitoring application 116 receives the current measurement from the current monitoring unit 132 and compares the current measurement with a threshold value associated with the current drawn by a correctly-functioning display panel. When the current monitoring unit 132 determines that the current measurement exceeds the threshold value, the current monitoring application 116 generates and transmits an indication message to the HUD controller 122. The HUD controller 122 responds to the indication message by generating a set of commands to… reset the display panel 104.”, “[0029] The power source 130 source provides power to the display panel 104…. [T]he power source 130 could be a vehicle battery that provides electrical power to various components of the vehicle… [or] a dedicated power source…. “, [0039] (content 210 vehicle information indicators: current speed indicator 212, ecological efficiency (efficient fuel consumption) indicator 214, navigation direction indicator 216, and vehicle fuel gauge indicator 218), and “[0056]… [T]he HUD controller 122 can transmit the reset command to the power source 130 and/or an electronic control unit to stop the display panel 104 from drawing a current….”, see also [0031], [0053]-[0055], and [0057]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to include: the features taught by Seo, such that Shu as modified teaches: the display device includes a monitor power supply configured to receive vehicle power (display device of Shu as modified combined with the display device, monitor power supply, and receive vehicle power of Seo), and the power of the display device is reset without sensing a value of the voltage signal of the vehicle signal when a level of the voltage signal output by the DC voltage generator is equal to or greater than a threshold (power of the display device, voltage signal of the vehicle signal, and voltage signal output by the DC voltage generator of Shu as modified combined with the power of the display device, reset without sensing, value of a voltage signal of a vehicle signal, level of a voltage signal output by a voltage generator, and threshold of Seo), to provide vehicle driving safety by resetting display device power when a display panel malfunctions. (Seo: FIGs. 1-2 and 4, “[0028]… [T]he display panel 104 can malfunction by making substantially all of the regions transparent. In such instances, substantially all of the backlight 150 can pass through the display panel 104, where the resulting light pattern 152 provides an opaque screen (e.g., a “white screen”). When the display panel 104 malfunctions in this manner, the light pattern 152 can obscure the vision of the driver and become a hazard to the driver safely operating the vehicle. In such instances, the HUD controller 122 can respond to the malfunctioning display panel 104 by… shut[ting] off power to the light source 102 while the display panel 104 resets.”, and “[0056]… [T]he HUD controller 122 can transmit the reset command to the power source 130 and/or an electronic control unit to stop the display panel 104 from drawing a current [when the display panel malfunctions]….”)
Regarding claim 11, Shu is modified in the same manner and for the same reason set forth in the discussion of claim 4 above. Thus, claim 11 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 4 above.
However, it is noted that claim 11 differs from claim 4 above in that the following is recited:
the display device comprises a circuit that is configured to generate the output signal.
Shu as modified by Seo teaches:
the display device comprises a power-on reset part and a circuit (521-527 in FIG. 5 of Shu) that is configured to generate the output signal (Shu: the display device comprises a circuit that is configured as claimed; FIG. 5 and p. 8, ¶ 9 (“ After the screen power supply circuit [525] is powered, it can control the screen [523] to light up, and the backlight power supply circuit [526] can drive the screen [523] to display the display data sent by the deserializer [524].”, see also p. 7, last ¶ and p. 8, ¶¶ 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 10-11); claims 4 (power-on reset part) and 8 (display device and output signal) above).
Claims 6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shu in view of Boo et al. in US 2024/0304127 A1 (hereinafter Boo), in further view of Asai in JP 2004-322738 A (hereinafter Asai; an original copy and full machine translation thereof (underline emphasis in the copy as downloaded) is/was provided with the first Office action mailed in response to the filing of the instant application).
Regarding claim 6, Shu as modified teaches:
The display control apparatus of claim 2, wherein:
the head unit and the display device are connected by a coaxial cable (Shu: FIGs. 2-5 and p. 7, ¶ 4 (“… The second filter circuit may adopt the same structure as the first POC filter circuit, as shown in FIG. 4, which is a schematic diagram of the connection between the first POC circuit and the second POC filter circuit, and the coaxial cable may be COAX cable….”) and ¶ 8 (“As a specific implementation of the embodiment of the present invention, based on the embodiment shown in FIG. 2, as shown in FIG. 5…”)).
However, it is noted that Shu as modified does not teach:
the voltage detector is configured to:
monitor a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device,
detect a voltage having a same value as a value of a DC voltage when the head unit and the display device are disconnected, and
detect a voltage of a smaller value than a value of a DC voltage generated by a resistor in the display device when the head unit and the display device are connected without an error.
Boo teaches:
a voltage detector (400 in FIG. 5) is configured to (Boo: FIG. 5, “[0055] The processor 400 detects whether a voltage supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off based on a voltage output from the power supply device 200….”, and “[0056]… [D]etecting whether a voltage supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off may be detecting whether the plug of the power supply device 200 was detached from the receptacle that makes an AC voltage provided to the power supply device 200….”, see also FIGs. 6-7B (voltage detector 410) and [0057]-[0061]):
monitor a state of a connection between an element (AC voltage receptacle) and another element (200 plug in FIG. 5) (Boo: FIG. 5 and “[0055] The processor 400 detects whether a voltage supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off based on a voltage output from the power supply device 200, and if it is detected that power supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off, provides a reset signal for resetting the plurality of drivers 120….”, and “[0056]… [D]etecting whether a voltage supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off may be detecting whether the plug of the power supply device 200 was detached from the receptacle that makes an AC voltage provided to the power supply device 200….”, see also FIG. 8 and [0060]-[0061]),
detect a voltage having a same value as a value of a voltage (predetermined voltage) when the element and the another element are disconnected (Boo: “[0058] The processor 400 may further include a detection circuit 410 including a determination part which determines whether a driving voltage output from the power supply device 200 coincides with the predetermined voltage, and an output part which, if it is determined that a driving voltage output from the power supply device 200 coincides with the predetermined voltage, outputs a reset signal to the plurality of drivers 120….” and “[0059] For example, it is assumed that an output voltage of the power supply device 200 is 19V, and the predetermined voltage is 17V. Here, as the plug of the power supply device 200 is separated from the receptacle providing an AC voltage, the output voltage of the power supply device 200 is gradually reduced from 19V. Then, when the output voltage of the power supply device 200 reaches 17V which is the predetermined voltage, the processor 400 outputs a reset signal to the plurality of drivers 120 of the display module….”, see also FIGs. 6-7B, [0057], and [0060]-[0061]), and
detect a voltage (e.g., less than 19V) of a smaller value than a value of a voltage (e.g., 19V) when the element and the another element are connected without an error (Boo: “[0058] The processor 400 may further include a detection circuit 410 including a determination part which determines whether a driving voltage output from the power supply device 200 coincides with the predetermined voltage, and an output part which, if it is determined that a driving voltage output from the power supply device 200 coincides with the predetermined voltage, outputs a reset signal to the plurality of drivers 120….” and “[0059] For example, it is assumed that an output voltage of the power supply device 200 is 19V, and the predetermined voltage is 17V. Here, as the plug of the power supply device 200 is separated from the receptacle providing an AC voltage, the output voltage of the power supply device 200 is gradually reduced from 19V. Then, when the output voltage of the power supply device 200 reaches 17V which is the predetermined voltage, the processor 400 outputs a reset signal to the plurality of drivers 120 of the display module….”, see also FIGs. 6-7B, [0057], and [0060]-[0061]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Boo, so a user can immediately turn off a display device. (Boo: FIG. 1 and “[0071]… [T]he… display device 1000… can immediately detect that the plug of the power supply device 200 is separated from the receptacle of the AC power, and simultaneously stop the driving operation of the light emitting elements [110] by the plurality of drivers 120….”, see also FIG. 7B and [0041]).
However, it is noted that Shu as modified by Boo does not teach:
the DC voltage is a DC voltage generated by a resistor in the display device.
Asai teaches:
a value of a voltage generated by a resistor (36 in FIG. 3) in a display device (100) when a head unit (200) and the display device are connected (Asai: FIG. 3 and ¶¶ below [0024]-¶¶ above [0032] (including: “… Resistor 36 in the logic circuit 30 is a bias resistor for the transistor 35…. [W]hen the system is normal [when the wiring L1 is not broken (open)], the airbag control unit 30 generates an L-level signal and the transistor 201a is turned ON, so that the H-level second signal S2 turns ON the transistor 35, and the L-level third signal S3 is applied to the transistor 22 to turn it OFF, and the light-emitting diode 21 is extinguished.”), see also FIG. 1 and ¶¶ below [0009]- 1st ¶ of the following page (“FIG. 1 is a block diagram of a display device 100 that displays, for example, the operating status of an airbag control device 200. The control circuit 10 includes a microcomputer 11 and an EE PROM 12, a rewritable nonvolatile memory. The microcomputer 11 comprehensively controls vehicle instruments, including vehicle speed, coolant temperature, a fuel gauge, and various alarm indicators [not shown]. It receives detected information from various sensors [not shown] via input/output ports [input/output terminals], performs predetermined calculations, and then outputs display control signals to instruments on an instrument panel [not shown] within the vehicle cabin [not shown] via the input/output ports [input/output terminals] to control the display.”)).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include: the features taught by Asai, such that Shu as modified teaches: the voltage detector is configured to (voltage detector of Shu as modified combined with the voltage detector of Boo): monitor a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device (head unit and display device of Shu as modified combined with monitor, state of a connection, element, and another element of Boo), detect a voltage having a same value as a value of a DC voltage when the head unit and the display device are disconnected (head unit, display device, and DC voltage generator of Shu as modified combined with detect, voltage, same value, value of a voltage, element, another element, and disconnected of Boo), and detect a voltage of a smaller value than a value of a DC voltage generated by a resistor in the display device when the head unit and the display device are connected without an error (DC voltage generator, display device, and head unit of Shu as modified combined with detect a voltage of a smaller value and value of a voltage when the element and the another element are connected as claimed of Boo and the resistor, display device, head unit, and connected of Asai – i.e., detect a voltage as claimed where the resistor of Asai is included), to provide a bias resistor. (Asai: ¶¶ below [0024] (“…Resistor 36 in the logic circuit 30 is a bias resistor for the transistor 35….).
Regarding claim 12, Shu is modified in the same manner and for the same reasons set forth in the discussion of claim 6 above. Thus, claim 12 is rejected under similar rationale as claim 6 above.
However, it is noted that claim 12 differs from claim 6 above in that the following are recited:
monitoring the DC voltages includes monitoring a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device.
Shu as modified by Boo and Asai teaches:
monitoring the DC voltages includes monitoring a state of a connection between the head unit and the display device (Boo: monitoring voltages includes; FIG. 5, “[0055] The processor 400 detects whether a voltage supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off based on a voltage output from the power supply device 200, and if it is detected that power supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off, provides a reset signal for resetting the plurality of drivers 120….”, and “[0056]… [D]etecting whether a voltage supplied to the power supply device 200 was turned off may be detecting whether the plug of the power supply device 200 was detached from the receptacle that makes an AC voltage provided to the power supply device 200….”, see also FIGs. 6-8; claim 6 above (monitoring a state as claimed)).
Conclusion
/K. K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2626
/TEMESGHEN GHEBRETINSAE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2626 2/23/26