DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5-13, 15-20, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 12241281. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
The current claims require a latch for capturing a striker that comprises a pawl; a trigger; an input cam connected to the trigger; and an output cam positioned to contact the input cam, a motor and that each of the output cam and the input cam includes a plurality of teeth, each of the teeth having a flat bearing surface that intersects a curved ramp surface, the teeth of the output cam being configured to mesh with the teeth of the input cam such that rotation of the output cam about the second axis results in rotation of the input cam about the first axis.
These and other limitations are presented in the ‘281 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 13-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 requires that the pawl is maintained in the closed position by the striker, a bearing surface of the striker engages with a bearing surface of the pawl. At the instant, the limitation is indefinite since the striker will not maintain the pawl in the closed position. As described, is the trigger the one that maintains the pawl in the closed position by means of the bearing surface engaging the bearing surface of the pawl. Correction is required.
As to claims 13 and 22, the claims require the pawl and trigger moving. However, these elements can perform anything by themselves. The motor and the cams are not optional elements.
Therefore, in order to continue with the examination, the claims will be interpreted as including an input cam connected to the trigger, an output cam operationally connected to the input cam, a motor configured to rotate the output cam such that rotation of the output cam about the second axis results in rotation of the input cam about the first axis.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013113384 (DE 384) in view of US Pat No 10,294,695 to Garneau and US Pat No 6,619,085 to Hsieh.
Regarding claim 1, DE 384 discloses a latch for capturing a striker. The latch comprises a pawl (5) mounted to rotate between a closed position and an open position; a trigger (7) mounted to rotate about a first axis (8) between a locked position and an unlocked position, the trigger being biased to rotate toward the locked position and selectively positionable to contact the pawl when the pawl is in the closed position, thereby retaining the pawl in the closed position; an input cam (at 19, 20) connected to the trigger; and an output cam (9) positioned to contact the input cam.
The output cam is mounted to rotate about a second axis (defined by 12) and configured to rotate the input cam about the first axis.
A motor (11) is coupled for rotating the output cam about the second axis; wherein rotation of the motor about the second axis causes rotation of the trigger about the first axis, and wherein the first axis is non-parallel to the second axis.
First, DE 384 fails to disclose that the pawl is biased to rotate toward the open position and configured to capture the striker when in the closed position.
Garneau teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a pawl (125) being biased toward the open position (by spring 139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the pawl described by DE 384 with a spring, as taught by Garneau, in order to aid in the opening movement of the pawl.
Second, DE 384 fails to disclose that each of the output cam and the input cam includes a plurality of teeth, each of the teeth having a flat bearing surface that intersects a curved ramp surface, the teeth of the output cam being configured to mesh with the teeth of the input cam such that rotation of the output cam about the second axis results in rotation of the input cam about the first axis.
DE 384 discloses that the output cam (9) comprises a twisted teeth (15) that interact with a tooth (20) of the input cam.
Hsieh teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a movement connection between an output cam (7), that is operated by a motor (5), and an input cam (8) as one each includes a plurality of teeth, each of the teeth having a flat bearing surface that intersects a curved ramp surface, the teeth of the output cam being configured to mesh with the teeth of the input cam such that rotation of the output cam about the second axis results in rotation of the input cam about the first axis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide connection between the cams described by DE 384 each with corresponding plurality of teeth, as taught by Hsieh, in order to simplify the connection while performing the function of moving the lever.
As to claim 5, DE 384, as modified by Hsieh, will teach that the contact between the flat bearing surfaces of the output cam and the input cam prevent the trigger from returning to the locked position when the pawl is in the open position.
As to claim 7, DE 384, as modified by Hsieh, will teach DE 384, as modified by Hsieh, will teach that the teeth of the output cam and the input cam remain at least partially in physical contact during rotation of the trigger between the locked and unlocked positions.
As to claim 8, DE 384 discloses that the latch further comprises a spring (not shown) positioned to bias the trigger (7) toward the locked position.
As to claim 9, DE 384 discloses that the latch further comprises a spring (not shown) positioned to bias the pawl toward the open position (by biasing the trigger).
As to claim 10, DE 384 discloses that the pawl is maintained in the closed position by the trigger, by means of a bearing surface of the trigger engaging a bearing surface of the pawl.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013113384 (DE 384) in view of US Pat No 10,294,695 to Garneau, US Pat No 6,619,085 to Hsieh and further in view of US Pat No 6,437,532 to Koerwer.
DE 384, as modified by Garneau and Hsieh, fails to disclose that the latch further comprises a sensor positioned to detect the position of the input cam of the trigger.
Koerwer teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a sensor (8) that is positioned to detect the position of a cam member (5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch described by DE 384, as modified by Garneau and Hsieh, with a sensor, as taught by Koerwer, in order to detect the position of the cam and perform a function with respect to that information.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE 102013113384 (DE 384) in view of US Pat No 10,294,695 to Garneau, US Pat No 6,619,085 to Hsieh and further in view of US Pat Application Publication No 20070257496 to Spurr et al (Spurr).
DE 384, as modified by Garneau and Hsieh, fails to disclose that the latch further comprises a link connecting the pawl to the trigger, wherein the link is configured to prevent the trigger from moving to the locked position while the pawl is maintained in the open position.
Spurr teaches that it is well known in the art to provide a latch with a pin (8) that is configured to connect a pawl (14) to a trigger (16), wherein the link is configured to prevent the trigger from moving to the locked position while the pawl is maintained in the open position (by keeping the latch in the release position, fig 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the latch described by DE 384, as modified by Garneau and Hsieh, with a link, as taught by Spurr, in order to keep the latch in the released position.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 22, as interpreted above, would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 15-20 would also be allowed since the claims depend from claim 13 above.
Conclusion
/Carlos Lugo/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3675
July 4, 2026