DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a second end of each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes is disposed outside of the freezing chamber” as claimed in claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Note: the second end of each mounting hole (illustrated by 20112 according to applicant specification) is not illustrated disposed outside of the freezing chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 15-16 and 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 15 calls for the limitation “a second end of each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes is disposed outside of the freezing chamber”, which limitation is indefinite as it is unclear as to how, the mounting holes that are provided inside the freezing chamber to mount the ice maker therein; comprises a portion thereof provided outside of the freezing chamber. The scope of the claim is unclear.
For examination, the limitation “a second end of each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes is disposed outside of the freezing chamber” will be interpreted as “a second end of each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes faces an outside of the freezing chamber” in accordance with para [0032] of applicant specification.
Claim 25 calls for the limitation “the hollow column”; which limitation lacks antecedent basis.
For examination purposes, claim 25 will be interpreted as if dependent from claim 24; since claim 24 requires “a hollow column”.
Claim(s) 16 and 26-27is/are indefinite for their dependency on an indefinite base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-19, 23, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryu (US 5749241 A).
Regarding claim 11:
Ryu discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 2 & 4-5), comprising:
a freezing chamber #21;
an ice making machine assembly (Fig. 4-5), wherein the ice making machine assembly includes an ice making machine main frame #10 and an ice tray assembly #8; and
a buckle structure #14 that secures the ice making machine assembly to a top of the freezing chamber (via #13; Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 12:
Ryu further discloses wherein the buckle structure includes a plurality of mounting holes #14 provided on a top of the ice making machine main frame (see Fig. 4-5).
Regarding claim 13:
Ryu further discloses a plurality of hanging posts #13 disposed on the top of the freezing chamber, wherein the plurality of hanging posts are engaged with the plurality of mounting holes (see Fig. 4-5 and corresponding description thereof).
Regarding claim 14:
Ryu further discloses wherein each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes has a first end facing an innermost side of the freezing chamber (see Fig. 4-5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated below).
Fig. 4-5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated
Regarding claim 15:
Ryu further discloses wherein a second end of each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes is disposed outside of the freezing chamber (see Fig. 4-5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated above), and wherein a width of the first end is greater than a width of the second end (the width of the first end, that includes the width of the groove defined by #15, is greater than a width of the second end).
Regarding claim 16:
Ryu further discloses wherein each hanging post of the plurality of hanging posts includes a hole that passes through the second end (see Fig. 4-5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated above).
Regarding claim 17:
Ryu further discloses wherein the ice making machine assembly includes a hanging post #13 having a column (Fig. 5), wherein the column includes a first protruding portion #13A provided at an end of the column (Fig. 5), and wherein an outer diameter of the first protruding portion is larger than the mounting hole (see Fig. 5: #13A operates to hold #10 in the mounting hole #14).
Regarding claim 18:
Ryu further discloses wherein each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes includes a first hole section and a second hole section that are connected (see Fig. 5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated below).
Fig. 5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated
Regarding claim 19:
Ryu further discloses wherein the first hole section includes a width that gradually decreases and a width of the second hole section remains unchanged (see Fig. 5 of Ryu Reproduced and Annotated above).
Regarding claim 23:
Ryu discloses a refrigerator (Fig. 2), comprising:
a freezing chamber #21;
an ice making machine assembly (Fig. 4-5), wherein the ice making machine assembly includes an ice making machine main frame #10 and an ice tray assembly #8;
a buckle structure #14 that secures the ice making machine assembly to a top of the freezing chamber (via #13; Fig. 4-5), wherein the buckle structure includes a plurality of mounting holes provided on a top of the ice making machine main frame (see at least Fig. 4: #14 is provided in plurality); and
a plurality of hanging posts #13 disposed on the top of the freezing chamber (Fig. 4-5), wherein the plurality of hanging posts are engaged with the plurality of mounting holes (see Fig. 4-5 and corresponding description thereof).
Regarding claim 28:
Ryu further discloses wherein the ice making machine main frame includes an air guide #26 connected to a freezing air duct (see Fig. 2 and corresponding description thereof), and wherein an inclined baffle (See Fig. 2 of Ryo Reproduced and Annotated below) is disposed at an outlet of an induced air duct, the inclined baffle used to guide cold air to the ice tray assembly.
Fig. 2 of Ryo Reproduced and Annotated
Regarding claim 29:
Ryu further discloses wherein the ice tray assembly includes an ice making tray frame (see rails that support the ice tray #8; Fig. 3-4) and an ice making tray #8 installed on the ice making tray frame, and wherein the ice making tray frame is detachably inserted into the ice making machine main frame (inherently present).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 5749241 A) in view of Schultz (US 2246457 A).
Regarding claims 20-22:
Ryu discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the hanging post includes a second protruding portion disposed outside the column; wherein the second protruding portion and the first protruding portion are arranged at intervals along an axial direction of the column; and wherein a distance between the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion is commensurate with a depth of the mounting hole.
Nonetheless, in the field of mounting structures, Schultz teaches a hanging post #10 including first and second protruding portions (#13 and #14) disposed outside the column (Fig. 1); wherein the second protruding portion and the first protruding portion are arranged at intervals along an axial direction of the column (Fig. 1); and wherein a distance between the first protruding portion and the second protruding portion is commensurate with a depth of a mounting hole #21 (see Fig. 7).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Ryu with the claimed arrangement above, in a similar manner as taught by Schultz.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have allowed the two protrusions to capture the housing of the ice making machine assembly so as to reduce rocking and undesired movement as suggested by Schultz.
Claim(s) 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 5749241 A).
Regarding claim 24:
Although Ryu discloses a hanging post #13 with a column (see Fig. 5), Ryu does not specifically disclose wherein the column is hollow.
However, making a lock protrusion (such as a latch bolt, deadbolt, or locking cam) hollow is known in the art to provides several engineering and manufacturing advantages (official notice).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Ryu with the column being hollow.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided the benefits of weight reduction, material cost savings, and optimized strength-to-weight ratios.
Regarding claim 25:
Ryu as modified discloses all the limitations.
Ryu as modified discloses wherein the top of the ice making machine main frame is provided with the hollow column (see rejection of claim 24 above). Ryu further discloses wherein the top surface of the ice making machine main frame has a hanging plate with a gap (see Fig. 5: hole #14 defines a gap on the uppermost plate of #10), and wherein the plurality of mounting holes are formed on the hanging plate (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 26:
Ryu as modified discloses all the limitations.
Ryu further discloses a door hingedly coupled to the freezing chamber (see Fig. 2), the door having a moveable end (inherently present); and an elastic stopper buckle #15 provided on a lower side of each mounting hole of the plurality of mounting holes close to the movable end of the door (from a lower side of each hole #14, elastic piece #15 is provided. Pieces #15 are relatively provided close to the movable end of the door).
Regarding claim 27:
Ryu as modified discloses all the limitations.
Ryu further discloses wherein the elastic stopper buckle has an inclined surface #16 that slopes toward a first end of the mounting hole (Fig. 5) and a stop surface disposed at a second end of the mounting hole (see top surface of #15), and wherein the stop surface prevents the hanging post from moving toward the first end relative to the mounting hole (see Fig. 4-5 and corresponding description thereof).
Note: the limitation “prevents the hanging post from moving toward the first end relative to the mounting hole” constitutes an intended use limitation that does not further limit the structure of the claimed invention. It has been held that “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987); MPEP 2114/Il.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu (US 5749241 A) in view of Zhao (US 20210222930 A1).
Regarding claim 30:
Ryu discloses all the limitations, except for wherein the ice making machine main frame is connected with an ice turning motor and ice detection rod, and wherein the ice turning motor is connected to the ice making tray and drives the ice making tray to turn over.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhao teaches wherein an ice making machine main frame is connected with an ice turning motor #19 and ice detection rod #21, and wherein the ice turning motor is connected to the ice making tray #23 and drives the ice making tray to turn over (Fig. 4-5; [0052]).
Thus, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date to have provided the apparatus of Ryu with the claimed configuration above, in a similar manner as taught by Zhao.
One of ordinary skills would have recognized that doing so would have provided the benefit of automatic ice harvesting with overfill protection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hosamani (US 20200166261 A1), Saito (US 20200103156 A1), Reddy (US 11397037 B2), Boorman (US 3832863 A), Pagnozzi (US 20220282898 A1), Fischl (US 11032928 B2), and Lim (US 20080173040 A1).
/LIONEL NOUKETCHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763