DETAILED ACTION
Claims 12-31 are pending in this office action.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on April 30th, 2026. The applicant’s remark and amendments to the claims were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 12 and 22 have been amended. As a result, claims 12-31 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to the non-statutory double patenting rejection have been considered and the rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12 and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument regarding to the 35 U.S.C 101 rejections of claims 12-31 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Claims 12 and 22 are directed to the abstract idea of managing sales associated activities and access to sales information including displaying sales trends, verifying task completion within a time window, and restricting access based on role. Applicant indicates that the amended limitations cannot be perform in the human mind and instead require a receipt of sales data from a remote server, automatic tracking of elapsed time using a device timer and a transmission of a time-stamped completion message to the remote server. However, the recited amended limitations—which indicate a relative change in product sales from a remote server, allow a sales associate to verify task completion, display elapsed time within a window, and restrict user access based on role—are merely steps of observing displays, reviewing access restrictions, and making validation decisions, which constitute a mental process.
In regards, Step 2A, Part 1, the amended claim recites, indicate a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server, allow a sales associate to confirm the completion of a task verification at a particular time by verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device, and restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate. The amended limitations of indicating a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server and the coordinated operations between the GUI, a device timer and a remote server, comprising transmission of a time-stamped completion message and enforcement of role-based access to sales data does not recite specific technological implementations. These limitations are directed to analyzing and perform a decision which is considered be an abstract idea. The amended claims merely recite generic mobile device, graphical user interface, remote server, and timer functionality used to implement that business practice without reciting any specific improvement to computer functionality. Thus, the claim still recite a mental process.
In Step 2A, Part 2, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claims 12 and 22 recite the additional elements of, “provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends, and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server”. The additional elements of provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends and responsive to the confirmation causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server is merely data gathering, and these activities are gathering, analyzing, and providing data to a user which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activities. The specification does not disclose a particular technological solution to a technical problem in the operation of a computer or mobile device. The recited steps amount to instructions to apply the abstract idea using generic computer components and conventional networking. This does not impose meaningful limits on the judicial exception.
In Step 2B, each claim fails recite significantly more than the abstract idea. The claims also do not include additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include merely data gathering (“…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends, and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server”) are well recognized by the courts a well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed are consider insignificant extra solution activity similar to court case laws cited in MPEP (See MPEP 2106.05(d))(II)(i) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 (USPQ2d at 1362 ( utilizing an intermediary computer to forward Information); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; x. Requiring that the abstract idea of creating a contractual relationship that guarantees performance of a transaction (a) be performed using a computer that receives and sends information over a network, or (b) be limited to guaranteeing online transactions, because these limitations simply attempted to limit the use of the abstract idea to computer environments, buySAFE Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1354, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1095-96 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). As such, they are not patent eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Rejections of claims 13-21, and 21-31 are maintained for the similar reasons presented previously and in view of their respective independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 12-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 12
Step 1: Claim 12 is directed to a method which is a series of steps, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. Claim 12 is directed towards a method comprising of instructions to configuring a graphical user interface (GUI) of a mobile device to indicate a relative change in product sales by allow a sales associate to confirm the completion of a task verification at a particular time, wherein the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed; and provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends.
Step 2A, Part 1 : Claim 12 recites “indicate a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server”.
The claim limitation of “indicate a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server” recited above cover a mental process. For example, the “indicate a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server” in claim 12, is a process that under broadest interpretation, covers mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, other than the “remote server”, the context of this claim encompasses in this limitation merely includes show a relative change of a product sales being displayed from a computer in which a user can track and analyze based on the change of the product sales. For example, the system is merely displaying sales data in which the individual can indicate a relative change by analyzing and tracking the change in the sales data, which is considered a mental process under the ground of abstract ideas.
Also, the claimed limitation of, “allow a sales associate to confirm the completion of a task verification at a particular time, wherein: the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device” in claim 12, is a process that under broadest interpretation, covers mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, other than the “graphical user interface” and “mobile device”, the context of this claim encompasses in this limitation merely includes sales associate to confirm the completion of a task at a specific time by and verifying how much has as elapsed by observing from the graphical user interface how much time has elapsed by the mobile device, which is considered a mental process under the ground of abstract ideas.
Finally, the claimed limitation of “restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate” in claim 12, is a process that under broadest interpretation, covers mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, other than the “mobile device, graphical user interface”, the context of this claim encompasses in this limitation merely includes an supervisor individual to be able restrict access to another sales associates by providing table with a paper and pen and then indicating which individual is unable to access to sales data, which is considered a mental process under the ground of abstract ideas. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers abstract idea that includes a series of steps that recite mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” under the grouping of abstract ideas ((Concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Part 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 12 recite the additional elements of, “…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends, and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server”. The additional elements of provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends and responsive to the confirmation causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server is merely data gathering, and these activities are gathering, analyzing, and providing data to a user which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activities. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: The claim do not include additional elements that sufficient to amount to significantly more than judicial exception. The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include merely data gathering (“…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends, and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server”) are well recognized by the courts a well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed are consider insignificant extra solution activity similar to court case laws cited in MPEP (See MPEP 2106.05(d))(II)(i) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 (USPQ2d at 1362 ( utilizing an intermediary computer to forward Information); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; x. Requiring that the abstract idea of creating a contractual relationship that guarantees performance of a transaction (a) be performed using a computer that receives and sends information over a network, or (b) be limited to guaranteeing online transactions, because these limitations simply attempted to limit the use of the abstract idea to computer environments, buySAFE Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1354, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1095-96 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the necessary steps to “…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends” is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements including, “…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends” are recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (See MPEP 2106.05(d))(II)(i) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 (USPQ2d at 1362 ( utilizing an intermediary computer to forward Information); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; x. Requiring that the abstract idea of creating a contractual relationship that guarantees performance of a transaction (a) be performed using a computer that receives and sends information over a network, or (b) be limited to guaranteeing online transactions, because these limitations simply attempted to limit the use of the abstract idea to computer environments, buySAFE Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1354, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1095-96 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea one particular environment, does not add significantly more (See MPEP 2106.05(b)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 13 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 13 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer”, which is merely utilizing a database to hold a catalog of information in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 14 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 14 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “hosting a database that is accessible by the sales associate and inaccessible by a customer “ in which merely stores database information unauthorized from the customer and only accessible to a sales associate in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 15 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 15 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to allow the sales associate to provide a mobile point-of-sale platform for purchases at a retail location”, which is merely utilizing a graphical user interface to provide information for purchases for a retail store and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 16 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 16 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “configuring a server to allow other sales associates at a retail location on other mobile devices to access the server via other GUIs” which merely utilizing a graphical user interface to allow other sales associates at the retail access the server of the other graphical user interface in the company in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 17 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 17 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the mobile device to provide a customized and personal shopping experience for one or more customers while maintaining mobility in a retail location” which merely utilizes a mobile device to provide customizable experience for the user at the retail location in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 18 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 18 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…the mobile device is configured to leverage at least one mobile technology, customer online social networking, customer rewards programs, marketing data, sales data, and reference materials” which merely utilizing a mobile device to provide mobile technology, customer online social networking, customer rewards programs, marketing data, sales data, and reference materials in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 19 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 19 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to cause a server to query a database to return selected pages” which merely utilizing a graphical user interface to obtain data from a database for selected pages in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 20 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 20 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to cause a server to display reference materials at the GUI” which merely utilizes the graphical user interface to display a reference materials in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 21 is dependent on claim 12 and includes all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claim 21 recites the same abstract of claim 12. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to cause a server to display reference materials at other GUIs at a retail location” which merely utilizing a graphical user interface to display materials at other graphical user interface in the retail stores
in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 22
Step 1: Claim 22 is directed to a method which is a series of steps, which is one of the statutory categories of invention. Claim 22 is directed towards a computer implemented method comprising of instructions to generating, via a mobile device operating according to a mobile application (app),a graphical user interface (GUI);indicating, via the GUI, a relative change in product sales; allowing a sales associate to confirm, via the GUI, the completion of a task verification at a particular time, wherein the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed; and providing the sales associate with sales activities via the GUI, wherein the sales activities are accessible via one or more multichannel processing and support systems, and one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends.
Step 2A, Part 1 : Claim 22 recites “indicating, via the GUI, a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server”.
The claim limitation of “indicating, via the GUI, a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server” recited above cover a mental process. For example, the “indicating, via the GUI, a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server” in claim 22, is a process that under broadest interpretation, covers mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, other than the “remote server” and “GUI”, the context of this claim encompasses in this limitation merely includes show a relative change of a product sales being displayed from a computer in which a user can analyze and track the changes of the product sales. For example, the system is merely displaying sales data in which the individual can indicate a relative change by observing the sales data, which is considered a mental process under the ground of abstract ideas.
Also, the claimed limitation of, “allowing a sales associate to confirm, via the GUI, the completion of a task verification at a particular time, wherein: the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device” in claim 22, is a process that under broadest interpretation, covers mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, other than the “GUI” and “mobile device”, the context of this claim encompasses in this limitation merely includes sales associate to confirm the completion of a task at a specific time by and verifying how much has as elapsed by observing from the graphical user interface how much time has elapsed by the mobile device, which is considered a mental process under the ground of abstract ideas.
Finally, the claimed limitation of “restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate” in claim 22, is a process that under broadest interpretation, covers mental process, but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, other than the “mobile device, graphical user interface”, the context of this claim encompasses in this limitation merely includes an supervisor individual to be able restrict access to another sales associates by providing table with a paper and pen and then indicating which individual is unable to access to sales data, which is considered a mental process under the ground of abstract ideas. If a claim limitations, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers abstract idea that includes a series of steps that recite mental processes but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” under the grouping of abstract ideas ((Concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgement, and opinion). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Part 2: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, claim 22 recite the additional elements of, “…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends, and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server”. The additional elements of provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends and responsive to the confirmation causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server is merely data gathering, and these activities are gathering, analyzing, and providing data to a user which is considered to be insignificant extra solution activities. An example of pre-solution activity is a step of gathering data for use in a claimed process, e.g., a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions, which is recited as part of a claimed process of analyzing and manipulating the gathered information by a series of steps in order to detect whether the transactions were fraudulent (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: The claim do not include additional elements that sufficient to amount to significantly more than judicial exception. The insignificant extra-solution activities identified above, which include merely data gathering (“…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends, and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server”) are well recognized by the courts a well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed are consider insignificant extra solution activity similar to court case laws cited in MPEP (See MPEP 2106.05(d))(II)(i) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 (USPQ2d at 1362 ( utilizing an intermediary computer to forward Information); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; x. Requiring that the abstract idea of creating a contractual relationship that guarantees performance of a transaction (a) be performed using a computer that receives and sends information over a network, or (b) be limited to guaranteeing online transactions, because these limitations simply attempted to limit the use of the abstract idea to computer environments, buySAFE Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1354, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1095-96 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Thus, the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using generic computer components to perform the necessary steps to “…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends” is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept (See MPEP 2106.05(f). The additional elements including, “…provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device, wherein the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends” are recognized by the courts as well-understood, routine, and conventional activities when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (See MPEP 2106.05(d))(II)(i) i. Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 (USPQ2d at 1362 ( utilizing an intermediary computer to forward Information); iv. Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015); OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1363, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; iv. Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93; x. Requiring that the abstract idea of creating a contractual relationship that guarantees performance of a transaction (a) be performed using a computer that receives and sends information over a network, or (b) be limited to guaranteeing online transactions, because these limitations simply attempted to limit the use of the abstract idea to computer environments, buySAFE Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1354, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1095-96 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). Employing well-known computer functions to execute an abstract idea, even when limiting the use of the idea one particular environment, does not add significantly more (See MPEP 2106.05(b)). The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 23 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 23 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer”, which is merely utilizing a database to hold a catalog of information in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 24 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 24 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “hosting a database that is accessible by the sales associate and inaccessible by a customer “ in which merely stores database information unauthorized from the customer and only accessible to a sales associate in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 25 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 25 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to allow the sales associate to provide a mobile point-of-sale platform for purchases at a retail location”, which is merely utilizing a graphical user interface to provide information for purchases for a retail store and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 26 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 26 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “configuring a server to allow other sales associates at a retail location on other mobile devices to access the server via other GUIs” which merely utilizing a graphical user interface to allow other sales associates at the retail access the server of the other graphical user interface in the company in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 27 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 27 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the mobile device to provide a customized and personal shopping experience for one or more customers while maintaining mobility in a retail location” which merely utilizes a mobile device to provide customizable experience for the user at the retail location in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 28 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 28 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…the mobile device is configured to leverage at least one mobile technology, customer online social networking, customer rewards programs, marketing data, sales data, and reference materials” which merely utilizing a mobile device to provide mobile technology, customer online social networking, customer rewards programs, marketing data, sales data, and reference materials in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 29 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 29 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to cause a server to query a database to return selected pages” which merely utilizing a graphical user interface to obtain data from a database for selected pages in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 30 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 30 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to cause a server to display reference materials at the GUI” which merely utilizes the graphical user interface to display a reference materials in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Claim 31 is dependent on claim 22 and includes all the limitations of claim 22. Therefore, claim 31 recites the same abstract of claim 22. The claim recites the additional limitation of “…configuring the GUI to cause a server to display reference materials at other GUIs at a retail location” which merely utilizing a graphical user interface to display materials at other graphical user interface in the retail stores
in which further elaborates on the abstract idea and therefore, does not amount to significantly more.
Accordingly, claims 12-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 12, 17-22, and 27-31 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application Publication 2009/0285483 issued to Guven et al. (hereinafter as “Guven”) in view of WO 01/61552 issued to Bemer et al. (hereinafter as “Bemer”) in view of U.S Patent 6,779,018 issued to Yamashita et al. (hereinafter as “Yamashita”) in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0191554 issued to Singh et al. (hereinafter as “Singh”).
Regarding claim 12, Guven teaches a method, comprising: configuring a graphical user interface (GUI) of a mobile device to: indicate a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server (Guven: [0032]; The viewing device may include a hardware device such as a cell phone, a personal digital assistant, a specially designed scanning device or other suitable device. [0036]; Information about the product, the avatar, the avatar's role and scripts are provided through communication with a back-end. A back-end communication module 114 provides two-way communication with a retailer's back-end module 120. [0040];
Product information and updates (block 127) receive information from a database/server 302 or other information source. Information sources may include sales information 316 (e.g., 20% off or sales data for that product, e.g., sales have increased on this product by 50% over the last six months). [0044]; The avatar could indicate how “hot” the product is…extent of sales, etc.,);
provide the sales associate with sales activities via access to one or more multichannel processing and support systems via the mobile device (Guven: [0037]; The user input 106 may also provide the user with a method for entering feedback, such as, user reviews on the product in the form of text, audio, video, etc. The very act of the user pointing the device 102 at a product also constitutes user input. User input 106 may include the time period of interaction of the user with a product and optionally the user identification (such as the cell phone number). Thus, user input 106 also enables the user to leave their "footprints" on a product and leave their opinions or messages at a product. [0040]; Product information and updates (block 127) receive information from a database/server 302 or other information source. An enterprise service (retail integration framework) 314 manages a plurality of information sources for a particular establishment or establishments. Information sources may include sales information 316 (e.g., 20% off or sales data for that product, e.g., sales have increased on this product by 50% over the last six months). [0043]; As a result, consumers could point phones to different areas of a store and view at a glance (through auras overlaid on products for example) which are the hot products in the store receiving most reviews, which products have been seen/commented on by their friends, etc. [0055]; In this position, the user can engage in a structured conversation with the avatar 504. If the person associated with the avatar 504 is online, the user can request a live conversation. If the person consents, the interaction shifts to a live conversation. Other interactions are also contemplated, such as text messaging, email, etc {Examiner correlates the consumer as the sales associate, as Guven indicates on [0046], “a remote advisor/salesperson/support person 352 could provide the shopper live help through an avatar”}), wherein
the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends (Guven: [0039]-[0040]; Blocks 126 and 127 may handle the request for product information by putting a user directly in contact with a customer service representative through block 350. Customer service representatives may be virtually generated in the form of an avatar (in block 126) or may be live representatives and provided from a remote customer service pool 352. Product information and updates (block 127) receive information from a database/server 302 or other information source. An enterprise service (retail integration framework) 314 manages a plurality of information sources for a particular establishment or establishments. Information sources may include sales information 316 (e.g., 20% off or sales data for that product, e.g., sales have increased on this product by 50% over the last six months). [0044]; The avatar could be a virtual advisor giving the shopper a summary of the product (its reviews on the web, its sales, related products, what else people bought when they bought this product etc.). The avatar could indicate how “hot” the product is in terms of number of reviews, extent of sales {The user is asking information that is disclosed on representative side in such that the sales trend is hidden from the user and the user is requesting information on their end in which would require authorization information to be retrieve}).
Guven does not explicitly teach allow a sales associate to confirm the completion of a task verification at a particular time, wherein the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed;
However, Bemer teaches allow a sales associate to confirm the completion of a task verification at a particular time (Bemer: Determining Information About a Task to be Performed, pg.23, lines 9-14; Further, information about a task to be performed can also be provided to computer 22 by computer 22 itself. In one embodiment, computer 22 uses a clock (such as internal clock 64 described in relation to FIG. 3) to track the amount of time that has elapsed since a task was last performed, and can use this information to output a prompt to an employee to perform the task once a particular amount of time has elapsed. Verifying that a Task has been Performed, Pg. 65, lines 20-23; Later, after receiving information indicating whether the assigned task was completed, computer 22 updates field 116 to store the time the assigned task was completed (e.g., record 120B), wherein
the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed (Bemer: Further, information about a task to be performed can also be provided to computer 22 by computer 22 itself. In one embodiment, computer 22 uses a clock (such as internal clock 64 described in relation to FIG. 3) to track the amount of time that has elapsed since a task was last performed, and can use this information to output a prompt to an employee to perform the task once a particular amount of time has elapsed. Verifying that a Task has been Performed, Pg. 65, lines 20-23; Later, after receiving information indicating whether the assigned task was completed, computer 22 updates field 116 to store the time the assigned task was completed (e.g., record 120B)});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to verify a completion of a task in such indication of a completion of task can be used as a measurement of customer satisfaction (See: Bemer: pg. 53, lines 17-22). In addition, the references (Guven and Bemer) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven and Bemer are mobile point-of-sale platforms in which allow other sales associates communicate with users for feedback.
The modification of Guven and Bemer teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Guven and Bemer does not explicitly teach the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device; and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server.
Yamashita does not explicitly teach in the context of sales activities. However, Yamashita teaches the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device (Yamashita, Abstract; “The client device starts obtaining time when it displays predetermined information provided by the server device and stops obtaining time when a response to displayed predetermined information is input”. Col 3, lines 39-41; obtains a time period between the output of predetermined information and the input of the response by using the timer; Col 11, lines 53-57; Then, the operation time obtaining Section 23 retrieves the current time kept by the inner timer (step S211) and calculates the operation time which is the gap between the current time retrieved now and the time retrieved in Step S207); and
responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server (Yamashita: Col 9, lines 5-9; The client device 2 comprises a CPU 2A, a memory 2B, an inputting device 2C, a displaying device 2D, a communication device 2E, a disc drive 2F and the like as hardware for realizing each of the Sections 21 to 27. Col 10, lines 7-11; The communication processing Section 27 also sends the encoded capsule data and the program capsule data given from the communication Scheduling Section 25 to the Server device 1 through the Internet 3. Col 10, lines 53-56; Next, the operation time certifying Section 13 certifies the operation time obtained in the client device 2 based on the decoded capsule data and the check result by the program checking Section 15. Col 13, lines 18-22; And the operation time certifying section 13 in the server device 1 certifies the operation times in the four client devices 2 of A to D as 13t, 14t, 14t, and 15t respectively based on the received encoded capsule data and program capsule data);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer with the further teachings of Yamashita because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to verify the completion of the operation in such prevent tampering of the data (See: Yamashita: Col 2, lines 60-62). In addition, the references (Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita are associated to client and server systems with automated time measurement and reporting.
The modification of Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita does not explicitly teach restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate.
However, Singh teaches restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate (Singh: [0018]-[0019]; Also, the presentation subsystem 121 can restrict the users from access to certain workflow applications by considering the user's role. According to an exemplary embodiment, users are grouped or classified by their roles—e.g., sales agent, implementer, system administrator, etc. [0025]; to determine that particular role, and connects to the presentation rules database 205 for specific screen display rules for the determined role. For example, rules can be used to determine whether a year-to-date sales report should appear on the screen. [0027]; Along with displaying the relevant useful information to the user, the presentation subsystem 121 can prohibit a user from viewing restricted data as per the role of the user. For example, a sales person should not be allowed to view a peer's sales funnel on which the compensation depends, but can view the peer's work queue (case information). Also, a sales manager may not be privy to the tasks of a user who is an administrator, as confidential data may be present).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer with the further teachings of Yamashita and Singh because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to improve the security by limiting access to the data depending on the role and level of the organization of the user (See: Singh: [0034). In addition, the references (Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh are associated to client and server systems with data reporting.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising configuring the mobile device to provide a customized and personal shopping experience for one or more customers while maintaining mobility in a retail location (Guven: [0043]; A consumer would also be able to use their phone to leave reviews or ratings on any product or department in the store or simply indicate “I was here” through user input 106. As a result, consumers could point phones to different areas of a store and view at a glance (through auras overlaid on products for example) which are the hot products in the store receiving most reviews, which products have been seen/commented on by their friends, etc. This could leverage social networking technology in the store while making the in-store experience more collaborative and fun. The whole store would become a virtual multimedia blog that would be accessible via Augmented Reality. In one embodiment, Lotus™ tools could be leveraged for collaboration—and Retail Integration Framework for information on the in-store inventory (price, promotion, location, availability, etc) {See Guven [0040]; Support documents 322 may be included to provide information about assembly, warranties, how to use, how to replace the batteries, how to purchase this item again, how to replace this item should it break during its lifetime, etc. [0042]; Information sources may also include campaign and promotion information 312. This includes discounts, coupons, rebates, membership points, and/or any other promotional information}).
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches the mobile device is configured to leverage at least one mobile technology, customer online social networking, customer rewards programs, marketing data, sales data, and reference materials (Guven: [0043]; A consumer would also be able to use their phone to leave reviews or ratings on any product or department in the store or simply indicate “I was here” through user input 106. As a result, consumers could point phones to different areas of a store and view at a glance (through auras overlaid on products for example) which are the hot products in the store receiving most reviews, which products have been seen/commented on by their friends, etc. This could leverage social networking technology in the store while making the in-store experience more collaborative and fun. The whole store would become a virtual multimedia blog that would be accessible via Augmented Reality. In one embodiment, Lotus™ tools could be leveraged for collaboration—and Retail Integration Framework for information on the in-store inventory (price, promotion, location, availability, etc) {See Guven [0040]; Support documents 322 may be included to provide information about assembly, warranties, how to use, how to replace the batteries, how to purchase this item again, how to replace this item should it break during its lifetime, etc. [0042]; Information sources may also include campaign and promotion information 312. This includes discounts, coupons, rebates, membership points, and/or any other promotional information}).
Regarding claim 19, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising configuring the GUI to cause a server to query a database to return selected pages (Guven: [0041]- [0042]; Information sources may further include social data 308. Social data 308 may include reviews from other users, product rating, recommendations from recommender systems and other information. This information may be stored in the database or searched from the web. For example, a web crawler 304 may search for product information in the form of user reviews and ratings and report back to a user pursuant to a user request).
Regarding claim 20, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising configuring the GUI to cause a server to display reference materials at the GUI (Guven: [0034], “providing product information to a consumer at a location in a store or during the product's lifetime at any location is illustratively shown. The system/method 100 provides an interactive experience where product information is preferably provided in real-time and in an entertaining way. [0041]- [0042], “Information sources may further include social data 308. Social data 308 may include reviews from other users, product rating, recommendations from recommender systems and other information. This information may be stored in the database or searched from the web. For example, a web crawler 304 may search for product information in the form of user reviews and ratings and report back to a user pursuant to a user request. [0054]- [0055], “other users or shoppers who are currently looking at the item/product may also be depicted in the space…the user can engage in a structured conversation with the avatar 504. If the person associated with the avatar 504 is online, the user can request a live conversation. If the person consents, the interaction shifts to a live conversation. Other interactions are also contemplated, such as text messaging, email, etc” Browsers and reviewers that are in the user's social network are may be rendered as avatars with an indication of social proximity).
Regarding claim 21, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising configuring the GUI to cause a server to display reference materials at other GUIs at a retail location (Guven: [0034], “providing product information to a consumer at a location in a store or during the product's lifetime at any location is illustratively shown. The system/method 100 provides an interactive experience where product information is preferably provided in real-time and in an entertaining way. [0041]- [0042], “Information sources may further include social data 308. Social data 308 may include reviews from other users, product rating, recommendations from recommender systems and other information. This information may be stored in the database or searched from the web. For example, a web crawler 304 may search for product information in the form of user reviews and ratings and report back to a user pursuant to a user request. [0054]- [0055], “other users or shoppers who are currently looking at the item/product may also be depicted in the space…the user can engage in a structured conversation with the avatar 504. If the person associated with the avatar 504 is online, the user can request a live conversation. If the person consents, the interaction shifts to a live conversation. Other interactions are also contemplated, such as text messaging, email, etc” Browsers and reviewers that are in the user's social network are may be rendered as avatars with an indication of social proximity).
Regarding claim 22, Guven teaches a computer-implemented method comprising: generating, via a mobile device operating according to a mobile application (app), a graphical user interface (GUI) (Guven: [0032]; The viewing device may include a hardware device such as a cell phone, a personal digital assistant, a specially designed scanning device or other suitable device. [0051]; In one embodiment, when the customer downloads and installs the application software onto their phone or scan device 102, the customers may be prompted to import an avatar or animated icon or image from another platform known to the application, to choose a new avatar from a list or create their own avatar);
indicating, via the GUI, a relative change in product sales according to sales data received from a remote server (Guven: [0032]; The viewing device may include a hardware device such as a cell phone, a personal digital assistant, a specially designed scanning device or other suitable device. [0036]; Information about the product, the avatar, the avatar's role and scripts are provided through communication with a back-end. A back-end communication module 114 provides two-way communication with a retailer's back-end module 120. [0040]; Product information and updates (block 127) receive information from a database/server 302 or other information source. Information sources may include sales information 316 (e.g., 20% off or sales data for that product, e.g., sales have increased on this product by 50% over the last six months). [0044]; The avatar could indicate how “hot” the product is…extent of sales, etc.,);
providing the sales associate with sales activities via the GUI (Guven:
[0032]; The viewing device may include a hardware device such as a cell phone, a personal digital assistant, a specially designed scanning device or other suitable device.
[0037]; The user input 106 may also provide the user with a method for entering feedback, such as, user reviews on the product in the form of text, audio, video, etc. The very act of the user pointing the device 102 at a product also constitutes user input. User input 106 may include the time period of interaction of the user with a product and optionally the user identification (such as the cell phone number). Thus, user input 106 also enables the user to leave their "footprints" on a product and leave their opinions or messages at a product. [0040]; Product information and updates (block 127) receive information from a database/server 302 or other information source. An enterprise service (retail integration framework) 314 manages a plurality of information sources for a particular establishment or establishments. Information sources may include sales information 316 (e.g., 20% off or sales data for that product, e.g., sales have increased on this product by 50% over the last six months)), wherein
the sales activities are accessible via one or more multichannel processing and support systems, and the one or more multichannel processing and support systems comprise authorized sales data trends (Guven: [0039]-[0040]; Blocks 126 and 127 may handle the request for product information by putting a user directly in contact with a customer service representative through block 350. Customer service representatives may be virtually generated in the form of an avatar (in block 126) or may be live representatives and provided from a remote customer service pool 352. Product information and updates (block 127) receive information from a database/server 302 or other information source. An enterprise service (retail integration framework) 314 manages a plurality of information sources for a particular establishment or establishments. Information sources may include sales information 316 (e.g., 20% off or sales data for that product, e.g., sales have increased on this product by 50% over the last six months). [0044]; The avatar could be a virtual advisor giving the shopper a summary of the product (its reviews on the web, its sales, related products, what else people bought when they bought this product etc.). The avatar could indicate how “hot” the product is in terms of number of reviews, extent of sales {The user is asking information that is disclosed on representative side in such that the sales trend is hidden from the user and the user is requesting information on their end in which would require authorization information to be retrieve}).
Guven does not explicitly teach allowing a sales associate to confirm, via the GUI, the completion of a task verification at a particular time, wherein the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed;
However, Bemer teaches allowing a sales associate to confirm, via the GUI, the completion of a task verification at a particular time (Bemer: Determining Information About a Task to be Performed, pg.23, lines 9-14; Further, information about a task to be performed can also be provided to computer 22 by computer 22 itself. In one embodiment, computer 22 uses a clock (such as internal clock 64 described in relation to FIG. 3) to track the amount of time that has elapsed since a task was last performed, and can use this information to output a prompt to an employee to perform the task once a particular amount of time has elapsed. Verifying that a Task has been Performed, Pg. 65, lines 20-23; Later, after receiving information indicating whether the assigned task was completed, computer 22 updates field 116 to store the time the assigned task was completed (e.g., record 120B), wherein
the task verification is associated with a task having a time duration during which the sales associate can verify the completion of the task, and the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed (Bemer: Further, information about a task to be performed can also be provided to computer 22 by computer 22 itself. In one embodiment, computer 22 uses a clock (such as internal clock 64 described in relation to FIG. 3) to track the amount of time that has elapsed since a task was last performed, and can use this information to output a prompt to an employee to perform the task once a particular amount of time has elapsed. Verifying that a Task has been Performed, Pg. 65, lines 20-23; Later, after receiving information indicating whether the assigned task was completed, computer 22 updates field 116 to store the time the assigned task was completed (e.g., record 120B)});
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to verify a completion of a task in such indication of a completion of task can be used as a measurement of customer satisfaction (See: Bemer: pg. 53, lines 17-22). In addition, the references (Guven and Bemer) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven and Bemer are mobile point-of-sale platforms in which allow other sales associates communicate with users for feedback.
The modification of Guven and Bemer teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Guven and Bemer does not explicitly teach the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device; and responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server.
Yamashita does not explicitly teach in the context of sales activities. However, Yamashita teaches the GUI indicates how much of the time duration has elapsed using a timer automatically tracked by the mobile device (Yamashita, Abstract; “The client device starts obtaining time when it displays predetermined information provided by the server device and stops obtaining time when a response to displayed predetermined information is input”. Col 3, lines 39-41; obtains a time period between the output of predetermined information and the input of the response by using the timer; Col 11, lines 53-57; Then, the operation time obtaining Section 23 retrieves the current time kept by the inner timer (step S211) and calculates the operation time which is the gap between the current time retrieved now and the time retrieved in Step S207); and
responsive to the confirmation, causing the mobile device to: transmit a time-stamped completion message to the remote server (Yamashita: Col 9, lines 5-9; The client device 2 comprises a CPU 2A, a memory 2B, an inputting device 2C, a displaying device 2D, a communication device 2E, a disc drive 2F and the like as hardware for realizing each of the Sections 21 to 27. Col 10, lines 7-11; The communication processing Section 27 also sends the encoded capsule data and the program capsule data given from the communication Scheduling Section 25 to the Server device 1 through the Internet 3. Col 10, lines 53-56; Next, the operation time certifying Section 13 certifies the operation time obtained in the client device 2 based on the decoded capsule data and the check result by the program checking Section 15. Col 13, lines 18-22; And the operation time certifying section 13 in the server device 1 certifies the operation times in the four client devices 2 of A to D as 13t, 14t, 14t, and 15t respectively based on the received encoded capsule data and program capsule data);
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer with the further teachings of Yamashita because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to verify the completion of the operation in such prevent tampering of the data (See: Yamashita: Col 2, lines 60-62). In addition, the references (Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita are associated to client and server systems with automated time measurement and reporting.
The modification of Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Guven, Bemer, and Yamashita does not explicitly teach restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate.
However, Singh teaches restrict access to the authorized sales data trends according to a role associated with the sales associate (Singh: [0018]-[0019]; Also, the presentation subsystem 121 can restrict the users from access to certain workflow applications by considering the user's role. According to an exemplary embodiment, users are grouped or classified by their roles—e.g., sales agent, implementer, system administrator, etc. [0025]; to determine that particular role, and connects to the presentation rules database 205 for specific screen display rules for the determined role. For example, rules can be used to determine whether a year-to-date sales report should appear on the screen. [0027]; Along with displaying the relevant useful information to the user, the presentation subsystem 121 can prohibit a user from viewing restricted data as per the role of the user. For example, a sales person should not be allowed to view a peer's sales funnel on which the compensation depends, but can view the peer's work queue (case information). Also, a sales manager may not be privy to the tasks of a user who is an administrator, as confidential data may be present).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer with the further teachings of Yamashita and Singh because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to improve the security by limiting access to the data depending on the role and level of the organization of the user (See: Singh: [0034). In addition, the references (Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh are associated to client and server systems with data reporting.
Regarding claim 27, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising configuring the mobile device to provide a customized and personal shopping experience for one or more customers while maintaining mobility in a retail location (Guven: [0043]; A consumer would also be able to use their phone to leave reviews or ratings on any product or department in the store or simply indicate “I was here” through user input 106. As a result, consumers could point phones to different areas of a store and view at a glance (through auras overlaid on products for example) which are the hot products in the store receiving most reviews, which products have been seen/commented on by their friends, etc. This could leverage social networking technology in the store while making the in-store experience more collaborative and fun. The whole store would become a virtual multimedia blog that would be accessible via Augmented Reality. In one embodiment, Lotus™ tools could be leveraged for collaboration—and Retail Integration Framework for information on the in-store inventory (price, promotion, location, availability, etc) {See Guven [0040]; Support documents 322 may be included to provide information about assembly, warranties, how to use, how to replace the batteries, how to purchase this item again, how to replace this item should it break during its lifetime, etc. [0042]; Information sources may also include campaign and promotion information 312. This includes discounts, coupons, rebates, membership points, and/or any other promotional information}).
Regarding claim 28, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches the mobile device is configured to leverage at least one mobile technology, customer online social networking, customer rewards programs, marketing data, sales data, and reference materials (Guven: [0043]; A consumer would also be able to use their phone to leave reviews or ratings on any product or department in the store or simply indicate “I was here” through user input 106. As a result, consumers could point phones to different areas of a store and view at a glance (through auras overlaid on products for example) which are the hot products in the store receiving most reviews, which products have been seen/commented on by their friends, etc. This could leverage social networking technology in the store while making the in-store experience more collaborative and fun. The whole store would become a virtual multimedia blog that would be accessible via Augmented Reality. In one embodiment, Lotus™ tools could be leveraged for collaboration—and Retail Integration Framework for information on the in-store inventory (price, promotion, location, availability, etc) {See Guven [0040]; Support documents 322 may be included to provide information about assembly, warranties, how to use, how to replace the batteries, how to purchase this item again, how to replace this item should it break during its lifetime, etc. [0042]; Information sources may also include campaign and promotion information 312. This includes discounts, coupons, rebates, membership points, and/or any other promotional information}).
Regarding claim 29, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising querying a database, via the GUI, to return selected pages (Guven: [0041]- [0042]; Information sources may further include social data 308. Social data 308 may include reviews from other users, product rating, recommendations from recommender systems and other information. This information may be stored in the database or searched from the web. For example, a web crawler 304 may search for product information in the form of user reviews and ratings and report back to a user pursuant to a user request).
Regarding claim 30, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising causing a server, via the GUI, to display reference materials at the GUI (Guven: [0034], “providing product information to a consumer at a location in a store or during the product's lifetime at any location is illustratively shown. The system/method 100 provides an interactive experience where product information is preferably provided in real-time and in an entertaining way. [0041]- [0042], “Information sources may further include social data 308. Social data 308 may include reviews from other users, product rating, recommendations from recommender systems and other information. This information may be stored in the database or searched from the web. For example, a web crawler 304 may search for product information in the form of user reviews and ratings and report back to a user pursuant to a user request. [0054]- [0055], “other users or shoppers who are currently looking at the item/product may also be depicted in the space…the user can engage in a structured conversation with the avatar 504. If the person associated with the avatar 504 is online, the user can request a live conversation. If the person consents, the interaction shifts to a live conversation. Other interactions are also contemplated, such as text messaging, email, etc” Browsers and reviewers that are in the user's social network are may be rendered as avatars with an indication of social proximity).
Regarding claim 31, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention and Guven further teaches comprising causing a server, via the GUI, to display reference materials at other GUIs at a retail location (Guven: [0034], “providing product information to a consumer at a location in a store or during the product's lifetime at any location is illustratively shown. The system/method 100 provides an interactive experience where product information is preferably provided in real-time and in an entertaining way. [0041]- [0042], “Information sources may further include social data 308. Social data 308 may include reviews from other users, product rating, recommendations from recommender systems and other information. This information may be stored in the database or searched from the web. For example, a web crawler 304 may search for product information in the form of user reviews and ratings and report back to a user pursuant to a user request. [0054]- [0055], “other users or shoppers who are currently looking at the item/product may also be depicted in the space…the user can engage in a structured conversation with the avatar 504. If the person associated with the avatar 504 is online, the user can request a live conversation. If the person consents, the interaction shifts to a live conversation. Other interactions are also contemplated, such as text messaging, email, etc” Browsers and reviewers that are in the user's social network are may be rendered as avatars with an indication of social proximity).
Claims 13-14 and 23-24 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application Publication 2009/0285483 issued to Guven et al. (hereinafter as “Guven”) in view of WO 01/61552 issued to Bemer et al. (hereinafter as “Bemer”) in view of U.S Patent 6,779,018 issued to Yamashita et al. (hereinafter as “Yamashita”) in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0191554 issued to Singh et al. (hereinafter as “Singh”) in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2005/0040230 issued to Swartz et al. (hereinafter as “Swartz”).
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer.
Swartz teaches comprising hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer (Swartz: [0070]; The database includes information about each profiled product in the database. Certain records in this database relate to characteristics that are inherent to the products. These records include “general types” of products, “characteristics” of the products, nutritional value of the products, potential uses of the products, advertisements associated with the products, expiration information and replenishment frequency history).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer with the teachings of Yamashita with the further teachings of Singh and Swartz because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to access the system and determine the inventory for more efficient use and less delay (See: Swartz: [0217]). In addition, the references (Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, Singh, and Swartz) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, Singh, and Swartz are associated to client and server systems with data reporting.
Regarding claim 14, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach comprising hosting a database that is accessible by the sales associate and inaccessible by a customer.
Swartz teaches comprising hosting a database that is accessible by the sales associate and inaccessible by a customer (Swartz: [0217]; After a customer logs onto the system, an identification code is sent from the remote terminal to a host computer associated with the merchant. The identification code identifies the particular customer. The host computer can then access files in the customer profile database associated with the customer. The host would send minimal information to the portable terminal or home computer such as updated prices, new product information, new product locations and new messages).
Regarding claim 23, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach comprising hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer.
Swartz teaches comprising hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer (Swartz: [0070]; The database includes information about each profiled product in the database. Certain records in this database relate to characteristics that are inherent to the products. These records include “general types” of products, “characteristics” of the products, nutritional value of the products, potential uses of the products, advertisements associated with the products, expiration information and replenishment frequency history).
Regarding claim 24, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach comprising hosting a database that is accessible by the sales associate and inaccessible by a customer.
Swartz teaches comprising hosting a database that is accessible by the sales associate and inaccessible by a customer (Swartz: [0217]; After a customer logs onto the system, an identification code is sent from the remote terminal to a host computer associated with the merchant. The identification code identifies the particular customer. The host computer can then access files in the customer profile database associated with the customer. The host would send minimal information to the portable terminal or home computer such as updated prices, new product information, new product locations and new messages).
Claims 15-16 and 25-26 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S Patent Application Publication 2009/0285483 issued to Guven et al. (hereinafter as “Guven”) in view of WO 01/61552 issued to Bemer et al. (hereinafter as “Bemer”) in view of U.S Patent 6,779,018 issued to Yamashita et al. (hereinafter as “Yamashita”) in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2010/0191554 issued to Singh et al. (hereinafter as “Singh”) in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2011/0231272 issued to Englund et al. (hereinafter as "Englund").
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach hosting a database of reference materials and operational information regarding a retailer.
Englund teaches comprising configuring the GUI to allow the sales associate to provide a mobile point-of-sale platform for purchases at a retail location (Englund: [0011]; With PayMaster mobile POS software application, every salesperson is a mobile cash register, thus ensuring immediate customer satisfaction, while building impulse sales and customer loyalty. The system (the scanner and iPod touch coupled with our PayMaster retail POS software), uses a touch screen interface to access nearly every feature a salesperson would need to help a guest, including purchases with credit, gift and debit cards, cash, and making returns).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Guven with the teachings of Bemer with the teachings of Yamashita with the further teachings of Singh and Englund because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such combination is to allow the system to provide effortless connectivity with minimal impact on the resources and without complex training and expensive technology when utilizing the device for customer experience (See: Englund: [0017]). In addition, the references (Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, Singh, and Englund) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, Singh, and Englund are associated to client and server systems with data reporting.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach comprising configuring a server to allow other sales associates at a retail location on other mobile devices to access the server via other GUIs.
Englund teaches comprising configuring a server to allow other sales associates at a retail location on other mobile devices to access the server via other GUIs (Englund: [0054]; The communications module 330 may receive requests from the retail mobile purchase software application running on any of the portable electronic devices 305, 306 307 through the central dispatch software application 320 and may also transmit back the response (from the existing retail purchase server) to the retail mobile purchase software application on the requesting portable electronic device through the central dispatch software application 320).
Regarding claim 25, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach comprising providing the sales associate a mobile point-of-sale platform via the GUI.
Englund teaches comprising providing the sales associate a mobile point-of-sale platform via the GUI (Englund: [0011]; With PayMaster mobile POS software application, every salesperson is a mobile cash register, thus ensuring immediate customer satisfaction, while building impulse sales and customer loyalty. The system (the scanner and iPod touch coupled with our PayMaster retail POS software), uses a touch screen interface to access nearly every feature a salesperson would need to help a guest, including purchases with credit, gift and debit cards, cash, and making returns).
Regarding claim 26, the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh teaches claimed invention, however the modification of Guven, Bemer, Yamashita, and Singh does not explicitly teach comprising configuring a server to allow other sales associates at a retail location on other mobile devices to access the server via other GUIs.
Englund teaches comprising configuring a server to allow other sales associates at a retail location on other mobile devices to access the server via other GUIs (Englund: [0054]; The communications module 330 may receive requests from the retail mobile purchase software application running on any of the portable electronic devices 305, 306 307 through the central dispatch software application 320 and may also transmit back the response (from the existing retail purchase server) to the retail mobile purchase software application on the requesting portable electronic device through the central dispatch software application 320).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2008/0021933 issued Tomomi Ono (hereinafter as “Ono”) teaches a job processing system equipped with a portable terminal apparatus and a job processing apparatus to create a receipt history and output the information after storing it in the job storage.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2006/0265285 issued to Hamasaki et al. (hereinafter as “Hamasaki”) teaches a processing system that categorize sales events and analyzes them to resolve the sales attempt according to the criteria that is require.
U.S Patent 9,996,665 issued to Millary et al. (hereinafter as “Millary”) teaches enabling collection by card payment utilizing a point of service transaction management system to assist health care facilities.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
7/21/2026
/ANDREW N HO/Examiner
Art Unit 2169
/SON T HOANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2169