DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application 19/060,007 filed 2/21/2025 which is a CON of application 18/740,760 (US PATENT 12239114), which is a CIP of 18/621,354 (US PATNET 12349667).
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-12 and 14-16 previously rejected. Claim 13 previously withdrawn. Claims 17-22 new.
In response to the terminal disclaimer filed 1/12/2026, the previous rejection of claims 14-16 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,239,114 B1 (hereinafter ‘114) is withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. (Specifically see Figs 17-24 illustrating elected Species II).
wherein at least three of the plurality of pieces of reflective material are on a first side of the body
wherein the hook is fixedly attached to a rear side of the body by a shank and the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is attached to the surface of the rear side of the body
wherein the eyelet is attached to a top side of the body and the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is attached to the surface of the top side of the body
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 18: “The lure of claim[[s]] 17…”
Claim 20 appears to be a duplicate of claim 19. Recommend deleting one of the two claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 11-12, 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blicha (US 5,564,220)(hereinafter Blicha).
RE Claim 1: Blicha discloses a lure (10) comprising:
a body (11) having a surface (outer surface of 11);
an eyelet (15) attached to the body (11)(Fig 1); and
a hook (13) fixedly attached to the body (11) by a shank (Figs 1-3);
wherein a plurality of pieces of reflective material (16 on right/left sides) are attached to the surface (outer surface of 11) of the body (11);
wherein a first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is at a first angle (angle formed with respect to vertical, another with respect to horizontal)(Fig 6);
wherein a second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is at a first angle (angle formed with respect to vertical, another with respect to horizontal)(Fig 6); and
wherein the first angle of the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is different than the first angle of the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material (Fig 6).
RE Claim 2: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the first angle of the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is a compound angle and the first angle of the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is a compound angle (insomuch as Applicant’s first angle of the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is a compound angle, so is the first angle in Blicha and insomuch as Applicant’s first angle of the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is a compound angle so is the first angle in Blicha)(also see page 6-7 of the remarks dated 7/15/2024 of parent application 18/621,354 for discussion on compound angles).
RE Claim 3: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is the first angle away from a longitudinal axis of the lure (see annotated Fig 6 below, longitudinal axis of the lure would extend into the page) and
the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is the first angle away from the longitudinal axis of the lure (see annotated Fig 6 below, longitudinal axis of the lure would extend into the page).
RE Claim 4: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is a second angle away from a vertical axis of the lure (see Fig 6 reproduced and annotated below);
wherein the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is a second angle away from the vertical axis of the lure (see Fig 6 reproduced and annotated below); and
wherein the second angle of the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is different than the second angle of the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material (see Fig 6 reproduced and annotated below).
Fig 6. Reproduced and Annotated
RE Claim 5: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 4,
wherein a cartesian plane of the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is different than a cartesian plane of the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material (Fig 6).
RE Claim 6: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein at least two of the plurality of pieces of reflective material are on a first side of the body (22 and 16 on right side).
RE Claim 7: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 6,
wherein at least two of the plurality of pieces of reflective material are on a second side of the body (22 and 16 on left side).
RE Claim 11: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the body (11) has a plurality of panels (right and left sides) and each one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material (16) is attached to different one of the plurality of panels (16 on right side, 16 on left side)(also see col 2, ln 30-33).
RE Claim 12: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the reflective material is a sticker (16)(col 2, ln 30 -33).
RE Claim 19 and 20: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein at least three of the plurality of pieces of reflective material are on a first side of the body (insomuch as Applicant’s at least three of the plurality of pieces of reflective material are on a first side of the body, so are 16 and 22 in Blicha
RE Claim 21: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the hook is fixedly attached to a rear side of the body by a shank (hook 13) and the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is attached to the surface of the rear side of the body (insomuch as Applicant’s at least three of the plurality of pieces of reflective material are on a first side of the body, so are 16 and 22 in Blicha)(compare with Applicant’s Figs 17-24).
RE Claim 22: Blicha discloses the lure of claim 1,
wherein the eyelet (15) is attached to a top side of the body (Figs 1, 3, 4, 6) and the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is attached to the surface of the top side of the body (insomuch as Applicant’s first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is attached to the top side of the body, so is 16 and 22 in Blicha)(compare with Applicant’s Figs 17-24).
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 1/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argument that Blicha fails to teach the subject matter in claim 1 including “wherein the first angle of the first one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material is different than the first angle of the second one of the plurality of pieces of reflective material” is not persuasive.
Applicant notes, “As seen in Blicha, the jig body is pyramidally shaped, meaning that the angle of the left side of the main body portion and the right side of the main body portion are the same…” and “because the angle of the sides are the same, the angle of the strips 16 and eyes 22 would be the same.”
The examiner agrees with Applicant that the magnitude (value) of the aforementioned angles are the same, however, one is positive and one is negative.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 17-18 allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record does not disclose, either alone or in combination, the details of a first one of the at least two of the plurality of pieces of reflective material on the first side of the body has a first angle that is the same (emphasis added) as a first angle of a first one of the at least two of the plurality of pieces of reflective material on the second side of the body, along with the remaining limitations of the claim.
This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 dated 11/3/2025.
These documents present alternative designs similar in scope which illustrate relevant features in comparison to the Applicant’s submission. The cited prior art include various fishing lures and jig heads with reflective materials to attract prospective game fish.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA E GRABER/Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/TIMOTHY D COLLINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3644